Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 05:38:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE][TUTORIAL][XMR,ETH,ETN]How To Mod Bios RX470/570/480/580 VEGA Mining 💰  (Read 164770 times)
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile
November 26, 2017, 09:26:03 PM
 #481

Well like I say it's crashing after 5 minutes and I can't use the ROCm kernel anyway (or amdgpu-pro driver either because I'm using Debian now but apparently you don't need that).

When you say it's 0.5Mh/s below Windows do you mean with or without the dag fix?

even with DAG fix the hashrates I get is 0.4-0.5 lower on same card same clocks on win 10.

Just to add to this now that I got it working and have some data...I've been testing 1 of my cards in Linux and it gets 28.5 (reported by Claymore's miner) using practically the same settings (-10MHz on the memory because 2060 seemed unstable), as opposed to 29.5 reported by Claymore in Windows.

GPU # 1 in this screenie:

https://i.imgur.com/pyOzP3i.png

However, the actual effective 24hr avg hash rate on the pool side (AFTER losses from stale shares and Claymore's fee) is consistently slightly higher than the reported hash rate in Windows. Meanwhile the actual effective hash rate of the Windows cards is 5% or more below the reported hash rate.

https://i.imgur.com/pB7tvSo.jpg

That said, Windows does actually seem more stable. I mined for over a month with no signs of stopping until I shut down the rig on purpose to do some maintenance. In Linux it crashes every once in a while even with a slightly lower mem clock and slightly higher power use and temps (so I'm assuming core voltage is slightly higher but I have no way to check for sure). Also no way to monitor GPU memory errors so I'm not sure if the crashes are due to memory clocks/timings or a lack of core voltage.
1513100338
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513100338

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513100338
Reply with quote  #2

1513100338
Report to moderator
1513100338
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513100338

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513100338
Reply with quote  #2

1513100338
Report to moderator
1513100338
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513100338

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513100338
Reply with quote  #2

1513100338
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513100338
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513100338

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513100338
Reply with quote  #2

1513100338
Report to moderator
heavyarms1912
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 05:14:40 AM
 #482

Well like I say it's crashing after 5 minutes and I can't use the ROCm kernel anyway (or amdgpu-pro driver either because I'm using Debian now but apparently you don't need that).

When you say it's 0.5Mh/s below Windows do you mean with or without the dag fix?

even with DAG fix the hashrates I get is 0.4-0.5 lower on same card same clocks on win 10.

Just to add to this now that I got it working and have some data...I've been testing 1 of my cards in Linux and it gets 28.5 (reported by Claymore's miner) using practically the same settings (-10MHz on the memory because 2060 seemed unstable), as opposed to 29.5 reported by Claymore in Windows.

GPU # 1 in this screenie:

https://i.imgur.com/pyOzP3i.png

However, the actual effective 24hr avg hash rate on the pool side (AFTER losses from stale shares and Claymore's fee) is consistently slightly higher than the reported hash rate in Windows. Meanwhile the actual effective hash rate of the Windows cards is 5% or more below the reported hash rate.

https://i.imgur.com/pB7tvSo.jpg

That said, Windows does actually seem more stable. I mined for over a month with no signs of stopping until I shut down the rig on purpose to do some maintenance. In Linux it crashes every once in a while even with a slightly lower mem clock and slightly higher power use and temps (so I'm assuming core voltage is slightly higher but I have no way to check for sure). Also no way to monitor GPU memory errors so I'm not sure if the crashes are due to memory clocks/timings or a lack of core voltage.

For me linux has been more stable than windows.  I believe it depens on the BIOS mod.  The linux drivers don't like some mod value in GPU bios and tends to override them with some value in the driver (or so is what I have read; the powerplay table entries to be precise)  This might not play well with rest of modded values in GPU bios.  I am not an expert though.
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 05:53:48 PM
 #483

Yeah I've noticed that. I can set 950mv in each dpm state and the card will actually use 950mv in windows, but with the same BIOS in Linux it will use stock voltages of around 1150mv. To get around this I've edited the BIOS to just go ahead and use stock voltages for the higher dpm states but added a 287mv negative global offset...but for some reason dpm state 6 is still bugged. If I switch to that state I see the "AvgPwr" show as around 50W (which tells me it is using less than idle voltage) and it will crash. It should be at around 850 - 863mv in that state, just like it does for states 3, 4, 5, etc. but for some reason it doesn't.

It's a real pain in the ass and I haven't ruled that out as a cause for the instability (briefly switching to state 6 for whatever reason). I wish the driver would just do what it's supposed to according to the BIOS but nope. It does what it wants and what it wants is to be a dick.
Recon200
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 04:57:24 AM
 #484

Hello everyone, how many memory errors are allowed per day? 20 is it a lot or is it normal?

sorry for my bad english...
Pennywis3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 08:07:02 AM
 #485

You should not have any memory errors.

Its the main cause for invalid shares and general instability.

You should aim for 0 here, try lowering mem clocks or a different strap.
Bakhtra
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 107


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 09:34:33 AM
 #486

Hello everyone, how many memory errors are allowed per day? 20 is it a lot or is it normal?
I think memory error still good. Whats BAD is hardware error (if using sgminer).
heavyarms1912
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 04:08:24 PM
 #487

Yeah I've noticed that. I can set 950mv in each dpm state and the card will actually use 950mv in windows, but with the same BIOS in Linux it will use stock voltages of around 1150mv. To get around this I've edited the BIOS to just go ahead and use stock voltages for the higher dpm states but added a 287mv negative global offset...but for some reason dpm state 6 is still bugged. If I switch to that state I see the "AvgPwr" show as around 50W (which tells me it is using less than idle voltage) and it will crash. It should be at around 850 - 863mv in that state, just like it does for states 3, 4, 5, etc. but for some reason it doesn't.

It's a real pain in the ass and I haven't ruled that out as a cause for the instability (briefly switching to state 6 for whatever reason). I wish the driver would just do what it's supposed to according to the BIOS but nope. It does what it wants and what it wants is to be a dick.

Yup.  I haven't got into the details with the states.  Just figured it's iffy.
Anyways if you feel adventurous to play aroud with the pp table entries,
https://github.com/kobalicek/amdtweak
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


⛏ Indeed Miners ⛏


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 06:08:03 PM
 #488

Hello everyone, how many memory errors are allowed per day? 20 is it a lot or is it normal?
Totally fine.

Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏How to Mine AEON (Cryptonote-light) + Miners Downloads ⛏
Guides:How to Mine ⚡Electroneum + Miners Downloads ⛏

Need bios mod, performance timings or help? Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│ETH 0xA266f3158E84A70Cd2AD2cE9F0Da3143C0392A73│BTC  36aU6vUWxTG7UigKEpZzXmB6k6jy2D7xVY
willi9974
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Escrow Treuhandservice


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 11:20:09 PM
 #489

Hello all,

i get my 6 new cards today and i have the question: can i mod my own bios or is a better bios in the forum for more hashrate and lower the power?

i have sapphire rx 570 nitro+ OC 4GB with Elpida Memory



Ist the best way to use your way frome side one in this topic or search a better Bios in the forum and what hashrate are possible with this card by what power drow

Best Regards
Willi

Treuhandservice | Miner Hosting
BTC: 1LN5rmoZF7RA4Wo3cjvLg3G7iR7PrLuoEg ETH: 0x50AA4cB1134F0b3617b0C64BddCE438Ab2550411
My Solo Block 385022, 394940, 394946, 395087, 396941, 399709, 401934
infojunkiePHD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 02:18:55 AM
 #490

Hello all,

i get my 6 new cards today and i have the question: can i mod my own bios or is a better bios in the forum for more hashrate and lower the power?

i have sapphire rx 570 nitro+ OC 4GB with Elpida Memory



Ist the best way to use your way frome side one in this topic or search a better Bios in the forum and what hashrate are possible with this card by what power drow

Best Regards
Willi

I just got 3 of these cards (Yay NewEgg Black Friday Deals!) same elpida memory.  I used the PBE one-click timings on the bios and I'm pretty happy with them.   I'm sure there are better timings out there, but the current numbers aren't too bad and with a new baby I just don't have time to tweak.

I'm getting ~780 with a modest overclock (1250/1970) with SGMiner.  Claymore could get over 800 with the same OC, but it wasn't running stable/reliably.  I'm sure SGminer can match it, I just haven't found the right settings yet.

I haven't checked my power yet as I'm not finished with the build.
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


⛏ Indeed Miners ⛏


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 09:07:45 AM
 #491

Hello all,

i get my 6 new cards today and i have the question: can i mod my own bios or is a better bios in the forum for more hashrate and lower the power?

i have sapphire rx 570 nitro+ OC 4GB with Elpida Memory



Ist the best way to use your way frome side one in this topic or search a better Bios in the forum and what hashrate are possible with this card by what power drow

Best Regards
Willi
Sure mod it, you can use whatever guide you want, but at least don't use stock timing straps... You can use the Eliovp timings strap.

Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏How to Mine AEON (Cryptonote-light) + Miners Downloads ⛏
Guides:How to Mine ⚡Electroneum + Miners Downloads ⛏

Need bios mod, performance timings or help? Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│ETH 0xA266f3158E84A70Cd2AD2cE9F0Da3143C0392A73│BTC  36aU6vUWxTG7UigKEpZzXmB6k6jy2D7xVY
litmus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 06:28:33 PM
 #492

Hello all,

i get my 6 new cards today and i have the question: can i mod my own bios or is a better bios in the forum for more hashrate and lower the power?

i have sapphire rx 570 nitro+ OC 4GB with Elpida Memory



Ist the best way to use your way frome side one in this topic or search a better Bios in the forum and what hashrate are possible with this card by what power drow

Best Regards
Willi

I just got 3 of these cards (Yay NewEgg Black Friday Deals!) same elpida memory.  I used the PBE one-click timings on the bios and I'm pretty happy with them.   I'm sure there are better timings out there, but the current numbers aren't too bad and with a new baby I just don't have time to tweak.

I'm getting ~780 with a modest overclock (1250/1970) with SGMiner.  Claymore could get over 800 with the same OC, but it wasn't running stable/reliably.  I'm sure SGminer can match it, I just haven't found the right settings yet.

I haven't checked my power yet as I'm not finished with the build.
I really think you're better off performing your own BIOS save (so you have the backup if it ends up being necessary to revert), and the new "one click timing" option makes it so easy to try and test that you'll appreciate having done it yourself for the learning experience.  The main concern is having your particular models specific BIOS saved though... , but you could also receive the wrong file if you don't mod it yourself (from the BIOS you know is 100% correct that you just retrieved from you GPU).. accidents happen.

I just did it myself last night with this threads guidance and gained 12 Mh/s between my two GPU (8gb · ellesmere rx 480 113-d0090101-100 samsung · k4g80325fb and 4gb · ellesmere rx 570 113-2e366fu-o53 elpida · edw4032babg). I can help via PM if you need.

sister1001
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 07:05:22 PM
 #493

The project is an advanced rolling control. The participants should develop the situation.
willi9974
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Escrow Treuhandservice


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 08:08:39 AM
 #494

So now i have time to edit my sapphire rx 570 nitro+ OC 4GB with Elpida Memory bios :-)

I will save my bios and edit it with SRB Polaris editor V3, but what for a strap must i copy to the higher one?

or i copy this elpida strap from the webside (http://indeedminers.czechian.net/timings.html)?

Strap: 777000000000000022AA1C00315A5436A0550F15B68C1506004082007C041420CA8980A9020004C 01712262B612B3715

What is the best way?

Best regards
Willi


Treuhandservice | Miner Hosting
BTC: 1LN5rmoZF7RA4Wo3cjvLg3G7iR7PrLuoEg ETH: 0x50AA4cB1134F0b3617b0C64BddCE438Ab2550411
My Solo Block 385022, 394940, 394946, 395087, 396941, 399709, 401934
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


⛏ Indeed Miners ⛏


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 08:42:56 AM
 #495

So now i have time to edit my sapphire rx 570 nitro+ OC 4GB with Elpida Memory bios :-)

I will save my bios and edit it with SRB Polaris editor V3, but what for a strap must i copy to the higher one?

or i copy this elpida strap from the webside (http://indeedminers.czechian.net/timings.html)?

Strap: 777000000000000022AA1C00315A5436A0550F15B68C1506004082007C041420CA8980A9020004C 01712262B612B3715

What is the best way?

Best regards
Willi
That's the Eliovp strap. Copy it to 1750 and 2000, you might not be able to run it on more than 2000MHz.

Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏How to Mine AEON (Cryptonote-light) + Miners Downloads ⛏
Guides:How to Mine ⚡Electroneum + Miners Downloads ⛏

Need bios mod, performance timings or help? Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│ETH 0xA266f3158E84A70Cd2AD2cE9F0Da3143C0392A73│BTC  36aU6vUWxTG7UigKEpZzXmB6k6jy2D7xVY
bit1070
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 05:26:33 PM
 #496

Hello..

can you pm me for Sapphire RX470 4Gb Mining Edition with samsung memory for bios mod.

Thanks
vanlong
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 11:51:18 AM
 #497

Hello everyone
Please help me
i have a MSI Gaming X RX570 but it is Vram Samsung.
I tried Polaris 1.6 and mod timming but in VRAM bios have 3 vendor. Maybe Polaris cannot read bios have 3 Vram
Like this
http://2.pik.vn/2017e2bece2c-da84-4b0b-9639-05b3c8d40a82.jpg
ncshca
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 07:32:17 PM
 #498

Hi,

I recently bought few MSI RX 580 Armor 4G OC hynix, after a few hours, I only got 23MH/s on ethash, which is really bad.
I tried everything I knew besides changing the motherboard.
The best result I got, is 23MH/s with PolarisBiosEditor1.6.4 one click patch.
Does anybody have any ideas?
Thanks
ncshca
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 07:43:28 PM
 #499

I tried all the BIOS from anorak website, they only gave 22MH/s per card.
I tried also 777000000000000022CC1C00CE615C45C0571016B30CD50900400700140514207A8900A00300000 010103139962C3617, but miner crashed right the way.
baga105
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 08:28:36 PM
 #500

Are the Eliovp straps better than those in "one click timing" (Ubermix) ?


▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!