Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 05:04:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3193 (80.5%)
Bank transfer / USD - 408 (10.3%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 367 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 3966

Pages: « 1 ... 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 [286] 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 ... 1123 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [150+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 4292654 times)
Evan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 497



View Profile
December 04, 2012, 06:09:16 PM
 #5701

tealover, it is still pretty simple, you only need use up-to-date software instead of phoenix which has no development for months :-). I recommend you GUIminer (poclbm backend) or cgminer, both works perfectly with Stratum.

Stratum protocol supports more workers without problems. But latest miners can manage more gpus at once and they unfortunately don't allow entering worker name per gpu...

Edit: Still, as I said, if you prefer phoenix, use Stratum proxy and everything will be the same as previously. You can use own worker names for every miner instance as well...

Slush my Friend.... Can you please give us more Graphs?

Maybe on the statistics page that allows us to see the Per Worker like hash/earning it would be nice to see the differant profitability of each miner i run Tongue

I am poor, but i do work for Coin Smiley
1PtHcavXoakgNkQfEQdvnvEksEY2NvwaLM
1510981475
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981475

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981475
Reply with quote  #2

1510981475
Report to moderator
1510981475
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981475

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981475
Reply with quote  #2

1510981475
Report to moderator
1510981475
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981475

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981475
Reply with quote  #2

1510981475
Report to moderator
The money raised from these ads will be used to pay for improved forum software and other useful stuff.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510981475
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981475

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981475
Reply with quote  #2

1510981475
Report to moderator
1510981475
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981475

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981475
Reply with quote  #2

1510981475
Report to moderator
1510981475
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981475

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981475
Reply with quote  #2

1510981475
Report to moderator
CheezWiz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30



View Profile
December 05, 2012, 03:01:26 AM
 #5702

Slush.. or anyone

I am having a difficult time getting my head around the stratum stuff. I am trying to figure out if I will still be able to mine as I have been.
One of my mining locations requires that I mine Via SSH tunnels. So I setup my home router to be an SSH end-point and I run Putty on my miner and open SSH tunnels back to my home router.

So with Phoenix I mine with http://127.0.0.1:8332 which redirects via Putty to http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332 via my home router.
When running CGMiner it first connects via the above, but then gets new info and tries to connect to api-stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333.

I need to get that last connection to go out my SSH tunnel. So I setup a new tunnel http://127.0.0.1:3333 to http://api-stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 and changed the miner address to http://127.0.0.1:3333 but that does not seem to connect.

Is stratum not connecting via http?

Any ideas how to get what I had before to work with CGMiner and Stratum?

-------------
Cheez\/\/iz
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
December 05, 2012, 03:10:04 AM
 #5703

Is it possible to change the login/email address of an account? I am about to delete a domain I don't really use...

Thanks Slush!

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
December 05, 2012, 08:17:38 AM
 #5704

Is stratum not connecting via http?

No, it is plain TCP socket.

Quote
Any ideas how to get what I had before to work with CGMiner and Stratum?

Make tunnel from localhost:3333 to stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 (yes, this one, really) and point cgminer to "stratum+tcp://localhost:3333".

Evan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 497



View Profile
December 05, 2012, 03:33:52 PM
 #5705

Slush,

Is there a reasonable way to figure out BTC per share or BTC per Mhash/s or Khash/s

Just trying to figure out how i want my set up to be with for my 400 Mhash/s stuff :*(

I am poor, but i do work for Coin Smiley
1PtHcavXoakgNkQfEQdvnvEksEY2NvwaLM
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 887



View Profile
December 05, 2012, 03:47:56 PM
 #5706

Is there a reasonable way to figure out BTC per share or BTC per Mhash/s or Khash/s

Try the handy calculator here: https://bitclockers.com/calc

In a no-fee pay-per-share scheme today, you can expect approximately 0.00000727 BTC/share.

For reference, consider this example of a slightly overclocked 5870 GPU:

hashrate: 400Mhps
power: 180W
daily earnings: 0.05849695 BTC ($0.77)
power cost ($0.15/kWH): $0.65
net profit: $0.77 - $0.65 = $0.12

In other words, if you are running a 5870 today you are earning only $0.12/day with it (assuming your electricy cost is $0.15/kWh). And that doesn't include the cost of running the host PC ... if you include that, you are actually losing money by mining. If your electricity is free, your 5870 is bringing in $0.77/day (edit: 0.0585 BTC/day; thanks for catching that, deeplink).

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
deeplink
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


In cryptography we trust


View Profile
December 05, 2012, 03:50:52 PM
 #5707

Is there a reasonable way to figure out BTC per share or BTC per Mhash/s or Khash/s

Try the handy calculator here: https://bitclockers.com/calc

In a no-fee pay-per-share scheme today, you can expect approximately 0.00000727 BTC/share.

For reference, consider this example of a slightly overclocked 5870 GPU:

hashrate: 400Mhps
power: 180W
daily earnings: 0.05849695 BTC ($0.77)
power cost ($0.15/kWH): $0.65
net profit: $0.77 - $0.65 = $0.12

In other words, if you are running a 5870 today you are earning only $0.12/day with it (assuming your electricy cost is $0.15/kWh). And that doesn't include the cost of running the host PC ... if you include that, you are actually losing money by mining. If your electricity is free, your 5870 is bringing in $0.77/day (0.585 BTC/day).


...your 5870 is bringing in $0.77/day (0.0585 BTC/day).

FTFY
CheezWiz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30



View Profile
December 05, 2012, 05:09:33 PM
 #5708

Is stratum not connecting via http?

No, it is plain TCP socket.

Quote
Any ideas how to get what I had before to work with CGMiner and Stratum?

Make tunnel from localhost:3333 to stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 (yes, this one, really) and point cgminer to "stratum+tcp://localhost:3333".

Thanks Slush, up and running!

-------------
Cheez\/\/iz
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
December 05, 2012, 05:29:18 PM
 #5709

Is it possible to change the login/email address of an account? I am about to delete a domain I don't really use...

Just send email request to info@bitcoin.cz from OLD mailbox and I'll do the change manually.

keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
December 06, 2012, 04:13:26 AM
 #5710

Is it possible to change the login/email address of an account? I am about to delete a domain I don't really use...

Just send email request to info@bitcoin.cz from OLD mailbox and I'll do the change manually.
Thanks! I sent the email.

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
PetrovMichael
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
December 07, 2012, 07:43:11 PM
 #5711

Hi Slush

many thanks for the support and stratum proxy

may be you can modify https://mining.bitcoin.cz/stats/ to show shares per worker per round

for example, last round you gave the data

#   Block found at   Duration   Total shares   Your BTC reward   Block #   Block value   Validity
15104   2012-12-07 17:36:25   0:43:42   1655459   0.04892136   211270   25.28510000    89 confirmations left

modify like below

#   Block found at   Duration   Total shares  Pool Ghash/s   Block #   Block value   Validity
15104   2012-12-07 17:36:25   0:43:42   1655459   2700.550 211270   25.28510000    89 confirmations left

Worker shares Worker Mhash/s Worker BTC reward
32684 5238.4 0.04892136


the question is because i can't find/understand i loosing about 25% shares sent to the stratum proxy ( calculate worker shares sent to stratum proxy and compare to account data Average hashrate in last 10 rounds: 5341 Mhash/s )

many thanks

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
December 07, 2012, 07:52:21 PM
 #5712

the question is because i can't find/understand i loosing about 25% shares sent to the stratum proxy ( calculate worker shares sent to stratum proxy and compare to account data Average hashrate in last 10 rounds: 5341 Mhash/s )

If you see these shares as accepted, they don't get lost. The 10-round hashrate is just long-term indicator and it needs some time to calibrate.

About your proposed changes - website definitely need some update, unfortunately it's quite difficulty to make right now, because of internal database limitations.

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
December 08, 2012, 03:09:12 AM
 #5713

fyi, I've added support to my pool monitor MPoolMonitor for Slush's pool.  Windows only.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=86502.0

M

I'm X-Fueled.  Are you? 
Tip for NiceHash: use their wallet to decrease fees!  Check out Helium!  Referral for Cryptopia.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
December 08, 2012, 03:25:06 AM
 #5714

fyi, I've added support to my pool monitor MPoolMonitor for Slush's pool.  Windows only.

Thanks!

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
December 10, 2012, 02:40:06 AM
 #5715

Today I finally disabled port 8332 on URL mining.bitcoin.cz. Mining is now officially available on api.bitcoin.cz:8332, api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 (getwork) and stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 (stratum).

URL mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 is deprecated over one and half year, so people had a lot of time to upgrade. If you still have connection issues, please upgrade your miner (old GUIminer had "mining.bitcoin.cz" hardcoded) or update your configs.

Yuhfhrh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
December 11, 2012, 03:52:15 AM
 #5716

8 and a half hours since last block solved at slush lol



Edit:
And then 3 blocks in a row to make up for it... blows my mind how that always seems to work out.
and247
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
December 11, 2012, 09:59:35 AM
 #5717

Hello Slush,

first of all, thank for your pool, nice work ... although I am mining just for fun (some funny 20 MHash/s  Smiley ) and to learn things, I believe that even users like me could be useful for the whole bitcoin and help it grow Wink

And I have a question regarding Stratum proxy, which should allow older miners to use Stratum protocol seamlessly. However, for some reason, this is not working for the miner I am using.

The problem is the target - when I connect to the pool using getwork protocol, the miner reports current target as:
Target = 00000000ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
but when I use the Stratum proxy, the miner reports truncated target:
Target = 00000000ffff00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

Theoretically, this should work fine, since hashes, that meet either one of this target are valid, but practically, this does not work for the miner I am using. In the first case, the miner finds hash every few minutes. But in the second case, the miner never finds a hash (I left it running for more than 30 hours). So there certainly is a bug in older miner, but since I cannot use any newer, I wanted to use Stratum proxy.

My question for Slush's Stratum proxy therefore is - why is the pool returning full (untruncated) target in "getwork" response, but Stratum proxy is returning different target (truncated) in "getwork" response. Is this possible to fix, so that my miner does not see any difference, whether connecting to the pool directly, or via the proxy?

thanks...
PetrovMichael
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
December 12, 2012, 05:19:01 PM
 #5718

may be my observation will be useful.

https://mining.bitcoin.cz/accounts/profile/ Average hashrate in last 10 rounds: 5385 Mhash/s.

BUT, observed that when the round is over and a new started -  for about the first 5-10 minutes, shows the performance drop to 4000-4500 Gh/s and later, after the period - shows again about 5200-5400.

when round is long enough

#   Block found at   Duration   Total shares   Your BTC reward          Block #   Block value

15178   2012-12-12 10:07:25   0:55:52   2237452   0.05047476          211918   25.63530000

if round short

15184   2012-12-12 17:11:35   0:08:05   325031   0.04545748          211952   25.05010000

15181   2012-12-12 13:25:39   0:02:45   107333   0.04141353          211934   25.04100000

reward decreased compare to average

i measured shares sent to stratum proxy - IMHO speed stable (by my calculation), so, i'm thinking the question is send/receive shares to the pool

if can make things better, thanks for the advice
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
December 12, 2012, 05:36:57 PM
 #5719

BUT, observed that when the round is over and a new started -  for about the first 5-10 minutes, shows the performance drop to 4000-4500 Gh/s and later, after the period - shows again about 5200-5400.

"* The calculation is based on the number of shares so far, which may not be accurate for slow workers."

I should add: "it is inaccurate on the beginning of the round also for fast workers".

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
December 12, 2012, 05:40:45 PM
 #5720

The problem is the target - when I connect to the pool using getwork protocol, the miner reports current target as:
Target = 00000000ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
but when I use the Stratum proxy, the miner reports truncated target:
Target = 00000000ffff00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

Yes, I know there's some miner who has such problem. The easier solution is just to rewrite target in the proxy to 00000000fff...fffff . Then it should work good enough.

Of course the cleanest solution is to fix that miner.

Quote
My question for Slush's Stratum proxy therefore is - why is the pool returning full (untruncated) target in "getwork" response, but Stratum proxy is returning different target (truncated) in "getwork" response. Is this possible to fix, so that my miner does not see any difference, whether connecting to the pool directly, or via the proxy?

To be honest, that "full" target used by getwork pools was my mistake introduced two years ago, which everybody copy&pasted into their pool implementations. Real diff1 is 00000000ffff00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000, which I fixed in Stratum protocol. Fortunately normal getwork miners works with this without a problem, except your one...

Pages: « 1 ... 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 [286] 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 ... 1123 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!