Bitcoin Forum
June 19, 2018, 12:51:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3231 (80.4%)
Bank transfer / USD - 415 (10.3%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 371 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 4015

Pages: « 1 ... 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 [441] 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 ... 1142 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [2.5+ EH] Slush Pool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 4327301 times)
kanta
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 06:25:22 PM
 #8801

Well, like I said a couple pages ago. I did buy this 7970 with bitcoin mining in mind, but at the end of the day, I'm not doing it to try to make money off of it, the card cost too much for that. I'm doing it because it's a curiosity, and the primary purpose of my machine is to max out all the games I play.
1529412673
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529412673

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529412673
Reply with quote  #2

1529412673
Report to moderator
1529412673
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529412673

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529412673
Reply with quote  #2

1529412673
Report to moderator
1529412673
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529412673

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529412673
Reply with quote  #2

1529412673
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529412673
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529412673

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529412673
Reply with quote  #2

1529412673
Report to moderator
1529412673
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529412673

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529412673
Reply with quote  #2

1529412673
Report to moderator
minerapia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 07:25:56 PM
 #8802

Slush,
one of the stratum servers seems to have some sort of connection problems with database. Even tho my miner is sending hashes, which are accepted allright, workers "Last share at" increases upto around 15 minutes. then (I presume the connection gets restored) all the sudden "Last share at" decreases back to zero. Refreshing web pages shows "Last share at" going 15->13->9->7->3->0 in less than a minute.

If you use cgminer you can specify failover pools you can do api2.bitcoin,cz, stratum.bitcion,cz, stratum2.bitcoin.cz, etc all at the same time.  This seemed to have stopped these for me.

Eric
I had to manually switch to stratum2, and it only happened to one of the workers. (automatic "backup" on another startum server isnt working, because work is being delivered from/to miner)
It used to happen to different worker (and i had all my workers on stratum.bitcoin.cz), but I have restarted all my workers ever since. so its bout luck if your miner lands on that specific stratum.
If youre really lucky you can get nice block reward as you submit 15 minutes of work in less than a minute Wink
but usually this resolves in around 15 minutes.

donations -> btc: 1M6yf45NskQxWXknkMTzQ8o6wShQcSY4EC
                   ltc: LeTpCd6cQL26Q1vjc9kJrTjjFMrPhrpv6j
Smerks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 07:55:19 PM
 #8803

I am surprised you still get a chance to play games lol. When I discovered Mining my gaming days seemed to of come to an end, fuck , I bought a 7970 and have only played 1 frickin' game lol, cs:go, and that was to check that I hadn't fucked my card! haha. I needs me bitcoins!!

LOL Im glad Im not the only one who did that. The one good thing is playing WoW isnt really affected by mining much I get around 600Mhash while in WoW. Seems WoW is more dependent on processor for some odd reason, probably old code mixed with new, etc etc.
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 07:57:18 PM
 #8804


Pool hopping exists, but it's a gamble on slush. You would have to be trying to predict how much longer the block will take and get yourself in long enough before the end to get a sufficiently high score, and you would need to be operating under the assumption that whichever pool you hop from isn't going to have a short block just as you hopped out or you just jumped away from a nice short block. I'm content staying in one place, letting my pc mine away whenever I'm not playing games, although I'm off all day today and all these short blocks are making me not want to start up a game lol

Oddly I was on another pool for about 2 days.  There was a lucky day over there yet I still couldn't make what I get here.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 08:10:02 PM
 #8805

....
I had to manually switch to stratum2, and it only happened to one of the workers. (automatic "backup" on another startum server isnt working, because work is being delivered from/to miner)....
[/quote]

One of the reasons I finally made a forum account was to address this that keeps popping up...
There is absolutely no difference between using stratum/stratum2/stratum3 they all round robin to the same IP's.
The only possible thing changing it could do is force your dns to round robin to another of the ip's, if it isnt already in your dns cache otherwise it does nothing.
You can put one of these IP's directly in of which I have done due to noticing 2 ip's sometimes not being able to connect in.

they all resolve to a random one of these

Name:    stratum.bitcoin.cz stratum2.bitcoin.cz stratum3.bitcoin.cz
Addresses:  54.225.116.174
          54.225.117.74
          54.225.116.40
          54.215.3.101
          54.215.3.102
          54.225.116.221
          54.225.68.97
          54.215.3.103
          54.215.3.100
rsbriggs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 264
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 08:24:55 PM
 #8806

Can be using IP addresses directly in cgminer?  How config file entry look?

   ⚡⚡ PRiVCY ⚡⚡   ▂▃▅▆█ PRiVCY ($PRIV) is a new PoW/PoS revolutionary privacy project  ☞ Best privacy crypto-market! █▆▅▃▂
    Own Your Privacy! ───────────────── WebsiteGithub  |  Bitcointalk  |  Twitter  |  Discord  |  Explorer ─────────────────
   ✯✯✯✯✯                 ✈✈✈[Free Airdrop - Starts 9th June][Bounty]✈✈✈ ║───────────║ Wallet ➢ Windows  |  macOS  |  Linux
minerapia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 08:30:45 PM
 #8807

Can be using IP addresses directly in cgminer?  How config file entry look?

"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "http://1.2.3.4:3333",
      "user" : "username",
      "pass" : "password"
   }
]

donations -> btc: 1M6yf45NskQxWXknkMTzQ8o6wShQcSY4EC
                   ltc: LeTpCd6cQL26Q1vjc9kJrTjjFMrPhrpv6j
rsbriggs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 264
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 08:54:52 PM
 #8808

cgminer 3.1.1 says for this entry:  Pool 1 invalid URL.   Trying many IPs - not work.  Have 10 hostnames in cgminer.conf - all working fine.

Am thnking Windows cgminer not taking IP addresses.   Am also thinking is Windows issue having different gethostbyname() function call to UNIX:

gethostbyname Function in the API

The gethostbyname function uses the WSALookupServiceBegin function to query SVCID_INET_HOSTADDRBYNAME as the service class GUID. ...
Returns addressing information from HOSTENT in CSADDR_INFO structures, port information is defaulted to zero. Note that this routine does not resolve host names that consist of a dotted IPv4 address.

   ⚡⚡ PRiVCY ⚡⚡   ▂▃▅▆█ PRiVCY ($PRIV) is a new PoW/PoS revolutionary privacy project  ☞ Best privacy crypto-market! █▆▅▃▂
    Own Your Privacy! ───────────────── WebsiteGithub  |  Bitcointalk  |  Twitter  |  Discord  |  Explorer ─────────────────
   ✯✯✯✯✯                 ✈✈✈[Free Airdrop - Starts 9th June][Bounty]✈✈✈ ║───────────║ Wallet ➢ Windows  |  macOS  |  Linux
minerapia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 09:18:30 PM
 #8809

atm cant try cgminer but bfgminer is working just fine with:
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "http://54.225.68.97:3333",
      "user" : "username.worker",
      "pass" : "pass",
      "pool-priority" : "0"
   }
]

if you wanna add more ips then go for:
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "http://54.215.3.102:3333",
      "user" : "username.worker",
      "pass" : "pass",
      "pool-priority" : "0"
   },
   {
      "url" : "http://54.225.68.97:3333",
      "user" : "username.worker",
      "pass" : "pass",
      "pool-priority" : "1"
   }
]

etc....
NB. cgminer doesnt have "pool-priority"
NB2. this is tested in windows7

donations -> btc: 1M6yf45NskQxWXknkMTzQ8o6wShQcSY4EC
                   ltc: LeTpCd6cQL26Q1vjc9kJrTjjFMrPhrpv6j
bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 09:32:20 PM
 #8810

cgminer 3.1.1 says for this entry:  Pool 1 invalid URL.   Trying many IPs - not work.  Have 10 hostnames in cgminer.conf - all working fine.

Am thnking Windows cgminer not taking IP addresses.   Am also thinking is Windows issue having different gethostbyname() function call to UNIX:

gethostbyname Function in the API

The gethostbyname function uses the WSALookupServiceBegin function to query SVCID_INET_HOSTADDRBYNAME as the service class GUID. ...
Returns addressing information from HOSTENT in CSADDR_INFO structures, port information is defaulted to zero. Note that this routine does not resolve host names that consist of a dotted IPv4 address.


That BOLD part is saying you cant use direct IP's. I am not familiar with cgminer in the unix environment so cant help beyond that. However if you know UNIX you can edit the hosts which is generally located in /etc aka vi /etc/hosts and add something like 54.225.68.97 ip1.slush.local
54.225.117.74 ip2.slush.local

may have to hup inetd. then use ip1.slush.local in cgminer script. see if that works. I haven't messed with unix resolving in a long time so I am just going by memory.
stephengillon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 10:22:29 PM
 #8811

What are your guys pings to the server, i feel i get less shares on this new server then the previous on short blocks (granted difficulty has got up 1-2 times since then)
Im from ontario, canada just for refrence.

stratum1.bitcoin.cz i ping about 75ms

api.bitcoin.cz:8332 i ping about 120ms

i obvously use stratum address, i also tried directly towards some of the listed ip address's its the same as stratum address.


with a tracert to the server i get some timing out after it hits amazons servers, anyone else?

Accepting donations for help: 1GxiMYdPd4snJyNhwamwhx1Q2PGhNkhAFQ
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2013, 10:56:05 PM
 #8812

What are your guys pings to the server, i feel i get less shares on this new server then the previous on short blocks (granted difficulty has got up 1-2 times since then)
Im from ontario, canada just for refrence.

stratum1.bitcoin.cz i ping about 75ms

api.bitcoin.cz:8332 i ping about 120ms

i obvously use stratum address, i also tried directly towards some of the listed ip address's its the same as stratum address.

with a tracert to the server i get some timing out after it hits amazons servers, anyone else?

Each of those domain names is actually a pool of several IPs. When pinging the name you'll be pinging only one of those IPs. A better approach would be to ping each of the IPs individually.

Also, tracing the route is somewhat irrelevant - the route may change numerous times even while you're still connected. In addition the route on the way to that IP may not be the same as the route back (e.g. packets sent from your computer will take one route to the destination but packets sent back to your computer may travel in a different way). On top of that some providers may block various kinds of packets - many (home/wireless) routers block ping by default as a semi-DoS attack prevention.

rsbriggs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 264
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 11:14:56 PM
 #8813

cgminer 3.1.1 says for this entry:  Pool 1 invalid URL.   Trying many IPs - not work.  Have 10 hostnames in cgminer.conf - all working fine.

Am thnking Windows cgminer not taking IP addresses.   Am also thinking is Windows issue having different gethostbyname() function call to UNIX:

gethostbyname Function in the API

The gethostbyname function uses the WSALookupServiceBegin function to query SVCID_INET_HOSTADDRBYNAME as the service class GUID. ...
Returns addressing information from HOSTENT in CSADDR_INFO structures, port information is defaulted to zero. Note that this routine does not resolve host names that consist of a dotted IPv4 address.


That BOLD part is saying you cant use direct IP's. I am not familiar with cgminer in the unix environment so cant help beyond that. However if you know UNIX you can edit the hosts which is generally located in /etc aka vi /etc/hosts and add something like 54.225.68.97 ip1.slush.local
54.225.117.74 ip2.slush.local

may have to hup inetd. then use ip1.slush.local in cgminer script. see if that works. I haven't messed with unix resolving in a long time so I am just going by memory.

Am familiar with UNIX/Linux and variants but using Windows7 to mine.
Edited c:/windows/system32/drivers/etc/hosts file, added list.  Can use ip1-9.slush.com now to specify IP.

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#   127.0.0.1       localhost

54.225.116.174      ip1.slush.com
54.225.117.74      ip2.slush.com
54.225.116.40      ip3.slush.com
54.215.3.101      ip4.slush.com
54.215.3.102      ip5.slush.com
54.225.116.221      ip6.slush.com
54.225.68.97      ip7.slush.com
54.215.3.103      ip8.slush.com
54.215.3.100      ip9.slush.com

   ⚡⚡ PRiVCY ⚡⚡   ▂▃▅▆█ PRiVCY ($PRIV) is a new PoW/PoS revolutionary privacy project  ☞ Best privacy crypto-market! █▆▅▃▂
    Own Your Privacy! ───────────────── WebsiteGithub  |  Bitcointalk  |  Twitter  |  Discord  |  Explorer ─────────────────
   ✯✯✯✯✯                 ✈✈✈[Free Airdrop - Starts 9th June][Bounty]✈✈✈ ║───────────║ Wallet ➢ Windows  |  macOS  |  Linux
rsbriggs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 264
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 11:16:52 PM
 #8814

What are your guys pings to the server, i feel i get less shares on this new server then the previous on short blocks (granted difficulty has got up 1-2 times since then)
Im from ontario, canada just for refrence.

stratum1.bitcoin.cz i ping about 75ms

api.bitcoin.cz:8332 i ping about 120ms

i obvously use stratum address, i also tried directly towards some of the listed ip address's its the same as stratum address.

with a tracert to the server i get some timing out after it hits amazons servers, anyone else?

Probably disabling ICMP packets like ping as anti-DOS measure, or just not wanting to allow spying on architecture.

   ⚡⚡ PRiVCY ⚡⚡   ▂▃▅▆█ PRiVCY ($PRIV) is a new PoW/PoS revolutionary privacy project  ☞ Best privacy crypto-market! █▆▅▃▂
    Own Your Privacy! ───────────────── WebsiteGithub  |  Bitcointalk  |  Twitter  |  Discord  |  Explorer ─────────────────
   ✯✯✯✯✯                 ✈✈✈[Free Airdrop - Starts 9th June][Bounty]✈✈✈ ║───────────║ Wallet ➢ Windows  |  macOS  |  Linux
stephengillon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 11:38:30 PM
 #8815

What are your guys pings to the server, i feel i get less shares on this new server then the previous on short blocks (granted difficulty has got up 1-2 times since then)
Im from ontario, canada just for refrence.

stratum1.bitcoin.cz i ping about 75ms

api.bitcoin.cz:8332 i ping about 120ms

i obvously use stratum address, i also tried directly towards some of the listed ip address's its the same as stratum address.

with a tracert to the server i get some timing out after it hits amazons servers, anyone else?

Each of those domain names is actually a pool of several IPs. When pinging the name you'll be pinging only one of those IPs. A better approach would be to ping each of the IPs individually.

Also, tracing the route is somewhat irrelevant - the route may change numerous times even while you're still connected. In addition the route on the way to that IP may not be the same as the route back (e.g. packets sent from your computer will take one route to the destination but packets sent back to your computer may travel in a different way). On top of that some providers may block various kinds of packets - many (home/wireless) routers block ping by default as a semi-DoS attack prevention.


I know how DNS works, and maybe you should fully read the post before replying.

as i was simply asking for others results on ping to compare, and if anyone has a fully successful trace route.

Accepting donations for help: 1GxiMYdPd4snJyNhwamwhx1Q2PGhNkhAFQ
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2013, 11:47:44 PM
 #8816

What are your guys pings to the server, i feel i get less shares on this new server then the previous on short blocks (granted difficulty has got up 1-2 times since then)
Im from ontario, canada just for refrence.

stratum1.bitcoin.cz i ping about 75ms

api.bitcoin.cz:8332 i ping about 120ms

i obvously use stratum address, i also tried directly towards some of the listed ip address's its the same as stratum address.

with a tracert to the server i get some timing out after it hits amazons servers, anyone else?

Each of those domain names is actually a pool of several IPs. When pinging the name you'll be pinging only one of those IPs. A better approach would be to ping each of the IPs individually.

Also, tracing the route is somewhat irrelevant - the route may change numerous times even while you're still connected. In addition the route on the way to that IP may not be the same as the route back (e.g. packets sent from your computer will take one route to the destination but packets sent back to your computer may travel in a different way). On top of that some providers may block various kinds of packets - many (home/wireless) routers block ping by default as a semi-DoS attack prevention.


I know how DNS works, and maybe you should fully read the post before replying.

as i was simply asking for others results on ping to compare, and if anyone has a fully successful trace route.



Quoting an earlier comment ... Smiley
To be quoting American TV hero Homer Simpson  ....D'oh....

oroboras
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 12:11:24 AM
 #8817

18195    2013-05-25 00:08:17    7:13:34    Processing...

About bloody time!! Phew, what a hard block to crack!
bitjoint
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333
Merit: 250


Commander of the Hodl Legions


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 12:44:22 AM
 #8818

18195    2013-05-25 00:08:17    7:13:34    Processing...

About bloody time!! Phew, what a hard block to crack!

That one took ages. I went out for dinner and when I returned I was like... wtf
Gamelord
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 12:55:45 AM
 #8819

I have noticed my average has gone down a bit lately.  Is this because we have more miners on lately or did the difficulty change or is it just my bad luck? 

It also appears that I got the short end of the stick on a couple blocks.  Not sure if it is on my end or not.

Anyone else notice the same or is it me?
oroboras
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 01:01:24 AM
 #8820

luck went down because of the long time to crack a couple of blocks today. over 11 hours for 2 of them. More than counterbalancing the rapid ones we found.
Pages: « 1 ... 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 [441] 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 ... 1142 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!