Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2018, 10:19:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 [161] 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 ... 375 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 833203 times)
Paulizei
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 10:45:07 AM
 #3201

Hi there, I'd really like to change to Bitminter. So far, I've just a test machine mining on this pool.

As I have a few smaller workers (120-180Mhps), my question is, if I will be able to see if they're working properly.

At the moment with only an Radeon 6450 (30Mhps), I can see shares continously beeing submitted, but speed calculation shows 0Mhps most of the time. For a few seconds it jumps up to 180Mhps.

Is this specific to (very, very) small miners, e.g. will my 120-180Mhps miners show more correctly? Any ideas?

Thanks in advandce
1529662746
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529662746

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529662746
Reply with quote  #2

1529662746
Report to moderator
1529662746
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529662746

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529662746
Reply with quote  #2

1529662746
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
deforse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 10:54:24 AM
 #3202

Hi, not only to you. I have a HD6870 an hashrate ah ~300. On the site it is shown somehow ~220, to ~350. I think it is normal. The site is calculating somewhere in the middle.
Paulizei
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 11:02:24 AM
 #3203

Hi, not only to you. I have a HD6870 an hashrate ah ~300. On the site it is shown somehow ~220, to ~350. I think it is normal. The site is calculating somewhere in the middle.

Thanks for your reply. I recognized that calulations are correct. But 'supervising' a bunch of small miners by the provided live stats (my account -> workers seems) not really praticable.

Is there any kind of workaround? Haven't had a closer look at cgminer api but perhaps the bitminter api works better?
killerstorm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 11:12:19 AM
 #3204

How did it happen that BitMinter mined an empty block?

http://bitminter.com/block/btc/0000000000000102878eb2b5dbf4a440832df801543047600cc7916f4a8c15bb

colored coins proof-of-concept: private currencies, stock/bond p2p exchange

Tips and donations: 16v13Fa9cPmfFzpm9mmbWwAkXY4gyY6uh4
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1042


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 11:16:54 AM
 #3205

Hi, not only to you. I have a HD6870 an hashrate ah ~300. On the site it is shown somehow ~220, to ~350. I think it is normal. The site is calculating somewhere in the middle.

Thanks for your reply. I recognized that calulations are correct. But 'supervising' a bunch of small miners by the provided live stats (my account -> workers seems) not really praticable.

Is there any kind of workaround? Haven't had a closer look at cgminer api but perhaps the bitminter api works better?
The pool API is based on the shares you submit, since that is all the pool knows, so it's accuracy over a short period of time is quite unreliable - finding shares is statistically random.

My cgminer API, on the other hand, reports the counted hashes done by the devices
(or with ICA and MMQ, it counts successful hashes and reasonably accurately estimates valid aborted hashes if configured correctly)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2013, 11:18:03 AM
 #3206


Maybe because FinCEN / DHS / whatever will now hunt down the miners including SR transactions and DrHaribo doesn't want to take any chances with this? Wink just kidding. I would be interested too. Maybe their bitcoind had just restarted and there was no transaction to include in the block at that very moment?
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1042


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 11:19:08 AM
 #3207


Indeed ....

http://blockchain.info/block-index/386791/0000000000000102878eb2b5dbf4a440832df801543047600cc7916f4a8c15bb

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142
Merit: 1238


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 11:33:23 AM
 #3208

Hi, not only to you. I have a HD6870 an hashrate ah ~300. On the site it is shown somehow ~220, to ~350. I think it is normal. The site is calculating somewhere in the middle.

Thanks for your reply. I recognized that calulations are correct. But 'supervising' a bunch of small miners by the provided live stats (my account -> workers seems) not really praticable.

Is there any kind of workaround? Haven't had a closer look at cgminer api but perhaps the bitminter api works better?
The pool API is based on the shares you submit, since that is all the pool knows, so it's accuracy over a short period of time is quite unreliable - finding shares is statistically random.

My cgminer API, on the other hand, reports the counted hashes done by the devices
(or with ICA and MMQ, it counts successful hashes and reasonably accurately estimates valid aborted hashes if configured correctly)


 So write a good gui like the doctors and then come to poach this pool while you are at it make a nice simple litecoin pool  with  a sane easy set up and you will get plenty of customers. You post here a lot take my advice don't waste time posting, write some code that competes with the doctor.  In all the world no one has a pool that is  as simple as the the doctor's is to run.  Just him.  So if you really want the Doctors customers go write some code.  If you really want to be ahead of the curve do it for litecoin.  You could be the only pool in the world like the Doctors but for litecoin not bitcoin.

 There are millions of us with GPUS  just do it and stop posting here until you can come back and say "I did what philipma1957 told me to do I read this post and realized he was correct I was wasting time trying to steal the doctors pool by posting on his thread instead I wrote the greatest gui for both litecoin and bitcoin".

 I only write this because it is true if you can write 2 pools with easy gui like the doctors gui is you would steal his customers.  As you would be superior since you had one for litecoin and one for bitcoin.  Until you do this stop wasting time. I would never switch to your pool unless you wrote a gui like the doctors for both bitcoin and litecoin.   KANO  I am doing you a favor just think how many gpus will move from the doctor to run on your god-like litecoin pool.  In under 6 months there will be millions of gpus looking for a litcoin pool to run. (Asics)  

 So please stop posting here asking us to move to your pool until you do as I say.    Once you take your ego out of the picture you would realize I am giving you good business advice.  Best regards Phil

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sgravina
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 449
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 11:51:45 AM
 #3209


This happened to a block eclipse mined about a month ago.  I'm curious.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 11:57:38 AM
 #3210


When a block change happens, Bitminter creates a empty block template so that there is no need to wait on bitcoind's getblocktemplate call. This allows miners to receive faster block change notifications which in theory should reduce the time miners are working on invalid work.

With the latest release candidate of bitcoind though, the latency for getblocktemplate should be minimal, which should lessen the need to make empty blocks in the first place.

Another strategy, which is employed by eloipool, is to have the pool server constantly create new block templates and just pull off of the top of the stack when a template is needed.
Paulizei
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 12:42:36 PM
 #3211

Thanks for your reply. I recognized that calulations are correct. But 'supervising' a bunch of small miners by the provided live stats (my account -> workers seems) not really praticable.

Is there any kind of workaround? Haven't had a closer look at cgminer api but perhaps the bitminter api works better?
The pool API is based on the shares you submit, since that is all the pool knows, so it's accuracy over a short period of time is quite unreliable - finding shares is statistically random.

My cgminer API, on the other hand, reports the counted hashes done by the devices
(or with ICA and MMQ, it counts successful hashes and reasonably accurately estimates valid aborted hashes if configured correctly)

Thanks for your input, kano. Even my very, very slow 30Mhps-test-miner is running 24x7. Therefore calculations could be made on a reliable basis, I think. But even after some days figures on the live-stats page don't seem to become more realistic.

(I hope I don't start any shitstorm with this:) Mining with this tiny "rig" on other pools showed always nearly accurate figures there.

So I don't think submitting shares (and therefore providing enough data for exact speed calcs) is the point. At least to me (n00b) it seem's like it's more a question about the background processes running on DrHaribos servers.

With deforse mining at around 300Mbps and having the same issues it's seems not an good idea to change to this pool as I have about 8 miners with 120-180Mbps and need to see if all of them are doing their job, right?
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1042


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 12:51:51 PM
 #3212

Hi, not only to you. I have a HD6870 an hashrate ah ~300. On the site it is shown somehow ~220, to ~350. I think it is normal. The site is calculating somewhere in the middle.

Thanks for your reply. I recognized that calulations are correct. But 'supervising' a bunch of small miners by the provided live stats (my account -> workers seems) not really praticable.

Is there any kind of workaround? Haven't had a closer look at cgminer api but perhaps the bitminter api works better?
The pool API is based on the shares you submit, since that is all the pool knows, so it's accuracy over a short period of time is quite unreliable - finding shares is statistically random.

My cgminer API, on the other hand, reports the counted hashes done by the devices
(or with ICA and MMQ, it counts successful hashes and reasonably accurately estimates valid aborted hashes if configured correctly)


 So write a good gui like the doctors and then come to poach this pool while you are at it make a nice simple litecoin pool  with  a sane easy set up and you will get plenty of customers. You post here a lot take my advice don't waste time posting, write some code that competes with the doctor.  In all the world no one has a pool that is  as simple as the the doctor's is to run.  Just him.  So if you really want the Doctors customers go write some code.  If you really want to be ahead of the curve do it for litecoin.  You could be the only pool in the world like the Doctors but for litecoin not bitcoin.

 There are millions of us with GPUS  just do it and stop posting here until you can come back and say "I did what philipma1957 told me to do I read this post and realized he was correct I was wasting time trying to steal the doctors pool by posting on his thread instead I wrote the greatest gui for both litecoin and bitcoin".

 I only write this because it is true if you can write 2 pools with easy gui like the doctors gui is you would steal his customers.  As you would be superior since you had one for litecoin and one for bitcoin.  Until you do this stop wasting time. I would never switch to your pool unless you wrote a gui like the doctors for both bitcoin and litecoin.   KANO  I am doing you a favor just think how many gpus will move from the doctor to run on your god-like litecoin pool.  In under 6 months there will be millions of gpus looking for a litcoin pool to run. (Asics)  

 So please stop posting here asking us to move to your pool until you do as I say.    Once you take your ego out of the picture you would realize I am giving you good business advice.  Best regards Phil
I don't have a pool you fool.
It an inherent part of how pools work ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1042


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 12:57:11 PM
 #3213

Thanks for your reply. I recognized that calulations are correct. But 'supervising' a bunch of small miners by the provided live stats (my account -> workers seems) not really praticable.

Is there any kind of workaround? Haven't had a closer look at cgminer api but perhaps the bitminter api works better?
The pool API is based on the shares you submit, since that is all the pool knows, so it's accuracy over a short period of time is quite unreliable - finding shares is statistically random.

My cgminer API, on the other hand, reports the counted hashes done by the devices
(or with ICA and MMQ, it counts successful hashes and reasonably accurately estimates valid aborted hashes if configured correctly)

Thanks for your input, kano. Even my very, very slow 30Mhps-test-miner is running 24x7. Therefore calculations could be made on a reliable basis, I think. But even after some days figures on the live-stats page don't seem to become more realistic.

(I hope I don't start any shitstorm with this:) Mining with this tiny "rig" on other pools showed always nearly accurate figures there.

So I don't think submitting shares (and therefore providing enough data for exact speed calcs) is the point. At least to me (n00b) it seem's like it's more a question about the background processes running on DrHaribos servers.

With deforse mining at around 300Mbps and having the same issues it's seems not an good idea to change to this pool as I have about 8 miners with 120-180Mbps and need to see if all of them are doing their job, right?
No, I was comparing a pool API to a miner API (in this case I was referring to the cgminer API)
If you are talking about the DrHaribo miner API, then it should be accurate also.

The problem (again) with any pool API is it only knows about shares.
You get one (1diff) of them on average every ~4 billion hashes.
The miner can usually count single hashes so of course it will be way more accurate and over a much shorter period of time.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Paulizei
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 01:05:45 PM
 #3214

No, I was comparing a pool API to a miner API (in this case I was referring to the cgminer API)

The miner can usually count single hashes so of course it will be way more accurate and over a much shorter period of time.

Agree, but my point is, is there a way to see many small miners working properly on the website?

My problem could be related to the very small hashrat, my testminer provides. If this would be the case for 120-180Mhps miners too, I wouldn't recognize if one of it fails ...or at least to late.

P.S.: All others figures (e.g. 'Your Ghps' on the live stats page) are totally ok! I'd like to change to this pool but simply need to find a simple way to see if my miners are working - which is the case on at least some other pools.
Paulizei
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 02:28:37 PM
 #3215

Any ideas? Anybody?

Before I can change my miners I need to know where I can get useful (near live) stats about my miners performance from...
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 02:32:33 PM
 #3216

Any ideas? Anybody?

Before I can change my miners I need to know where I can get useful (near live) stats about my miners performance from...

The webpage has it, if you can get to it.  My monitoring program (windows only) has it (see link in sig), but it pulls the data from the API from the website, so if the website is down, won't help.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Paulizei
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 02:37:55 PM
 #3217

Any ideas? Anybody?

Before I can change my miners I need to know where I can get useful (near live) stats about my miners performance from...

The webpage has it, if you can get to it.  My monitoring program (windows only) has it (see link in sig), but it pulls the data from the API from the website, so if the website is down, won't help.

M


Website doesn't work for me (live stats and my account->workers show 0Mhps most of the time, jumping up to about 600% of my 'real' hashrate for some seconds)

I'll try your api client and really appreciate you help. Hope that'll fix it for me (thus api usage 'costs' 0.5% as I've seen)
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 02:48:43 PM
 #3218

Any ideas? Anybody?

Before I can change my miners I need to know where I can get useful (near live) stats about my miners performance from...

The webpage has it, if you can get to it.  My monitoring program (windows only) has it (see link in sig), but it pulls the data from the API from the website, so if the website is down, won't help.

M


Website doesn't work for me (live stats and my account->workers show 0Mhps most of the time, jumping up to about 600% of my 'real' hashrate for some seconds)

I'll try your api client and really appreciate you help. Hope that'll fix it for me (thus api usage 'costs' 0.5% as I've seen)

I'm too cheap to turn on the API as well, so I don't know if it won't jump all over the place.  I'm working on some enhancement/changes that'll require some testing, so I'll be turning it back on soon.  All my app does is show what the API reports, it doesn't do any math itself.  So if the API is hosed too, then this won't help.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Paulizei
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 02:52:37 PM
 #3219

Any ideas? Anybody?

Before I can change my miners I need to know where I can get useful (near live) stats about my miners performance from...

The webpage has it, if you can get to it.  My monitoring program (windows only) has it (see link in sig), but it pulls the data from the API from the website, so if the website is down, won't help.

M


Website doesn't work for me (live stats and my account->workers show 0Mhps most of the time, jumping up to about 600% of my 'real' hashrate for some seconds)

I'll try your api client and really appreciate you help. Hope that'll fix it for me (thus api usage 'costs' 0.5% as I've seen)

I'm too cheap to turn on the API as well, so I don't know if it won't jump all over the place.  I'm working on some enhancement/changes that'll require some testing, so I'll be turning it back on soon.  All my app does is show what the API reports, it doesn't do any math itself.  So if the API is hosed too, then this won't help.

M

I'll give it a try. Looks exactly like what I need. Thanks a lot and if can help testing or something, give me a hint!
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 03:45:40 PM
 #3220

Any ideas? Anybody?

Before I can change my miners I need to know where I can get useful (near live) stats about my miners performance from...

The webpage has it, if you can get to it.  My monitoring program (windows only) has it (see link in sig), but it pulls the data from the API from the website, so if the website is down, won't help.

M


Website doesn't work for me (live stats and my account->workers show 0Mhps most of the time, jumping up to about 600% of my 'real' hashrate for some seconds)

I'll try your api client and really appreciate you help. Hope that'll fix it for me (thus api usage 'costs' 0.5% as I've seen)

I'm too cheap to turn on the API as well, so I don't know if it won't jump all over the place.  I'm working on some enhancement/changes that'll require some testing, so I'll be turning it back on soon.  All my app does is show what the API reports, it doesn't do any math itself.  So if the API is hosed too, then this won't help.

M

I'll give it a try. Looks exactly like what I need. Thanks a lot and if can help testing or something, give me a hint!


If the API reports wild results as well, I can add an average over an hour value that shows as well as what the API report.  That should help normalize your value.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Pages: « 1 ... 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 [161] 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 ... 375 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!