Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2018, 01:53:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 ... 484 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Mining OS] SimpleMining.net - Easy to use GPU MINING Operating System  (Read 717077 times)
Hostels
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 07:57:45 AM
 #3001

I'm still trying to figure out how to tell SMOS my WIFI password. I sure can't get a internet connection without it...

WiFi is NOT supported.
Check this: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1541084.msg17850860#msg17850860
Thank you

I use WIFI on SM OS
check this how to turn ON
https://maintenancecoder.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/configuring-wpawpa2-wifi-on-ubuntu-14-04-lts/

connect via SSH to your rig and configure Smiley
AND USE 20 HZ on your router for stable connect Tongue
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
enricosofie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 08:00:55 AM
 #3002

Hi,

Can I set 2 types of mining in one account?
I can only set one type (ethereum or zcash?)

regards,
Eric


Hi,

Can I mix RX480 and R9 290?
I have a rig with 4X RX480 and 1X R9 290.

regards,
Eric

No, you cant.
Different drivers (different OS version R and RX)


@enricosofie

Maeby this is a good opportunity for you to have 2 rigs

RX480s for ETH rig, using smOS "RX" image

and

R9-290 for ZEC rig, using smOS "R" image
npittas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 12:49:20 PM
 #3003

The option to OC each card is probably the most important thing for mixed card setups.
Since the mining revolution started again, last month, almost everyone is trying to buy 470s/480s and frankenriging with whatever card is available in the market.
I managed to get all of my six 470s from Amazon and Modded them according to their memory manufacturer.
As long as I was using windows I could OC them differently, to get each card's best stable Undervolt and Memory OC all in one mobo.
Last weekend I tried using simplemining.
But I managed only to use my 2 MSI's or my 2 Sapphire Reference. If I try to use all 6 of them, I must apply the lower acceptable OC/Powerlimit settings in order for the weakest card to not crash, but that will lower my Hashrate by +35Mhs

So By using windows and MSI AB I could do the following

3x Ref Sapphire 470 4Gb @ 1168/2000 86Mh/s (28.6 per card) 160W
2x MSI Gaming X 470 8Gb @1168/1900 53.81Mh/s (26.9 per card) 140W
1x Asus Expedition 570 4Gb @ 1100/1850 25.6Mh/s 80W
1x XFX 470 4Gb @ 1168/2000 28Mhs 75W

The sum is 193.41Mhs 455W

With simplemining I would have to go with all the cards @1100/1850 and 26Mh/s per card for a sum of 156Mh/s
Thats unacceptable for any real mining profit.

Now, I know a "real" miner would have bought all 6 cards from one manufacturer, but that's not a reason for not implementing such a feature in a mining OS.

Anyway, that's my opinion and I could be totaly wrong.

For the time being I am using 3 different mobos to mine with 2 x simplemining and 1 windows.

VFX Supervisor/Nuke Trainer
deadsix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 612
Merit: 500


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 01:48:42 PM
 #3004

The option to OC each card is probably the most important thing for mixed card setups.
Since the mining revolution started again, last month, almost everyone is trying to buy 470s/480s and frankenriging with whatever card is available in the market.
I managed to get all of my six 470s from Amazon and Modded them according to their memory manufacturer.
As long as I was using windows I could OC them differently, to get each card's best stable Undervolt and Memory OC all in one mobo.
Last weekend I tried using simplemining.
But I managed only to use my 2 MSI's or my 2 Sapphire Reference. If I try to use all 6 of them, I must apply the lower acceptable OC/Powerlimit settings in order for the weakest card to not crash, but that will lower my Hashrate by +35Mhs

So By using windows and MSI AB I could do the following

3x Ref Sapphire 470 4Gb @ 1168/2000 86Mh/s (28.6 per card) 160W
2x MSI Gaming X 470 8Gb @1168/1900 53.81Mh/s (26.9 per card) 140W
1x Asus Expedition 570 4Gb @ 1100/1850 25.6Mh/s 80W
1x XFX 470 4Gb @ 1168/2000 28Mhs 75W

The sum is 193.41Mhs 455W

With simplemining I would have to go with all the cards @1100/1850 and 26Mh/s per card for a sum of 156Mh/s
Thats unacceptable for any real mining profit.

Now, I know a "real" miner would have bought all 6 cards from one manufacturer, but that's not a reason for not implementing such a feature in a mining OS.

Anyway, that's my opinion and I could be totally wrong.

For the time being I am using 3 different mobos to mine with 2 x simplemining and 1 windows.


SO many things that I could point out here ...

193mh/s at 455W? That's impossible even if its just the GPU-z readings that you are accounting for (actual power draw is about 40% higher than GPUz readings).

7 X 26 = 182 so if on simplemining you are getting 156, one of your cards isnt working.

If you had ever used Linux and tried to tweak graphics cards settings like clocks or volts you would know why such a "feature" wasn't implemented. AMD linux drivers do not allow for such tweaks, unlike their windows drivers. Be thankful you get any tweakability at all, its quite a nifty trick that allows you to do it on SmOS or EthOS and is through implimenting a tool developed by one of the resident geniuses on this forum.

Also solutions like simplemining are for people who need to manage a large number of rigs, nothing could come close to the individual tweakability that Windows 10 offers.

So, yeah, good that you are open about the possibility of being totally wrong, coz you are.

The BEST Crypto exchange in India, where you can buy/sell/trade Bitcoin, BitcoinCash, Litecoin, Ethereum and Ripple, and use a credit card https://koinex.in/?ref=eaa2b3 Stay away, Horrible service.
Minimalist Indian Ethereum Exchange https://ethx.in/u/?ref=RAVIN14
Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1031


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 02:21:37 PM
 #3005

The option to OC each card is probably the most important thing for mixed card setups.
Since the mining revolution started again, last month, almost everyone is trying to buy 470s/480s and frankenriging with whatever card is available in the market.
I managed to get all of my six 470s from Amazon and Modded them according to their memory manufacturer.
As long as I was using windows I could OC them differently, to get each card's best stable Undervolt and Memory OC all in one mobo.
Last weekend I tried using simplemining.
But I managed only to use my 2 MSI's or my 2 Sapphire Reference. If I try to use all 6 of them, I must apply the lower acceptable OC/Powerlimit settings in order for the weakest card to not crash, but that will lower my Hashrate by +35Mhs

So By using windows and MSI AB I could do the following

3x Ref Sapphire 470 4Gb @ 1168/2000 86Mh/s (28.6 per card) 160W
2x MSI Gaming X 470 8Gb @1168/1900 53.81Mh/s (26.9 per card) 140W
1x Asus Expedition 570 4Gb @ 1100/1850 25.6Mh/s 80W
1x XFX 470 4Gb @ 1168/2000 28Mhs 75W

The sum is 193.41Mhs 455W

With simplemining I would have to go with all the cards @1100/1850 and 26Mh/s per card for a sum of 156Mh/s
Thats unacceptable for any real mining profit.

Now, I know a "real" miner would have bought all 6 cards from one manufacturer, but that's not a reason for not implementing such a feature in a mining OS.

Anyway, that's my opinion and I could be totaly wrong.

For the time being I am using 3 different mobos to mine with 2 x simplemining and 1 windows.

Impressive rig you have here... 7 cards and 455watts  Shocked Shocked Huh

Hard to believe, I must admit.... are you able to measure realtime powerdraw from the wall?

1x Asus Expedition 570 4Gb @ 1100/1850 25.6Mh/s 80W ?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas
npittas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 03:07:43 PM
 #3006


SO many things that I could point out here ...

193mh/s at 455W? That's impossible even if its just the GPU-z readings that you are accounting for (actual power draw is about 40% higher than GPUz readings).

7 X 26 = 182 so if on simplemining you are getting 156, one of your cards isnt working.

If you had ever used Linux and tried to tweak graphics cards settings like clocks or volts you would know why such a "feature" wasn't implemented. AMD linux drivers do not allow for such tweaks, unlike their windows drivers. Be thankful you get any tweakability at all, its quite a nifty trick that allows you to do it on SmOS or EthOS and is through implimenting a tool developed by one of the resident geniuses on this forum.

Also solutions like simplemining are for people who need to manage a large number of rigs, nothing could come close to the individual tweakability that Windows 10 offers.

So, yeah, good that you are open about the possibility of being totally wrong, coz you are.

You are totaly correct, I made the mistake of not including the 3 Sapphire but only 2, my bad. The wattage output is 535-540. and the hashrate for the simpleminingOS would be efectively 26Mh/s x 7 Cards 182Mh/s.

Those are the GPU-z readings. Software wise it could be wrong but I wanted to list the power config you can get for each of the cards. I did not include the full system output since that is per system, and I could have more or less depending on the PSU, Mobo, CPU, Drives etc.

I am not implying that it's anyone's fault that simpleminingOS or any other linux distribution has this limitation.
All I did was simply say that in my case, and in other MixAndMatch hardware cases, this can potentialy be a problem.
And since I was willing to pay for the OS and give the developer what he diserves for his work, I am now unable to do so.
If this is something that can be implemented on a working state, why not do it and lose money from potential buyers?

So 10Mh/s for someone with 2-3-4 rigs might not be an issue but for me it is.

Sorry if I jumped to conclusion before considering some other facts, but in the end, losing Hashpower and maybe Wattage control, is a problem.
I didn't knew that this OS is for people needed to manage big rig setups. I thought it was also for the rest of us, since most people with large number of rigs would have their own implementations.

So please tell me why was I TOTALY wrong again?

VFX Supervisor/Nuke Trainer
npittas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 03:13:53 PM
 #3007


Impressive rig you have here... 7 cards and 455watts  Shocked Shocked Huh

Hard to believe, I must admit.... are you able to measure realtime powerdraw from the wall?

1x Asus Expedition 570 4Gb @ 1100/1850 25.6Mh/s 80W ?

As mentioned from deadsix I was wrong, and forgot to add the 7th card so the power from the GPU-z and MSI AB was 535-540Watts

As for the Expedition edition, it really sucks as a card for hashing but it's not that power hangry if you don't put too much press on the GPU clock.

http://imgur.com/RKFPY87

VFX Supervisor/Nuke Trainer
lautre
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0

yolo


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 03:15:35 PM
 #3008

7gpu in dual mining and with core above 1150? you can multiply 535-540 by about two i guess

i have 6x 480 downclocked and downvolted and it use about 1050w of the wall
deadsix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 612
Merit: 500


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 03:21:07 PM
 #3009


Sorry if I jumped to conclusion before considering some other facts, but in the end, losing Hashpower and maybe Wattage control, is a problem.
I didn't knew that this OS is for people needed to manage big rig setups. I thought it was also for the rest of us, since most people with large number of rigs would have their own implementations.

So please tell me why was I TOTALY wrong again?

There's a hint in the name - SimpleMiningOS. Its plug and play, and offers a simple solution to people who do not want to get into the nitty grittys or tweak a lot, and simply want to get a few rigs online.
Also, its been free since inception about 3 months ago, and even though tytanik has declared a fee its still not being charged. Even when it will get charged, itll still be less than the % you give off to claymore for using his miner.

So yeah, Totally wrong for assuming this was a tinkerers OS, this is the SIMPLE Mining OS.

The BEST Crypto exchange in India, where you can buy/sell/trade Bitcoin, BitcoinCash, Litecoin, Ethereum and Ripple, and use a credit card https://koinex.in/?ref=eaa2b3 Stay away, Horrible service.
Minimalist Indian Ethereum Exchange https://ethx.in/u/?ref=RAVIN14
Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
lautre
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0

yolo


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 03:34:36 PM
 #3010

This distro is working well but every few hours (about 1.30-3h) i have one gpu (not sure if it's the same gpu or not) which go OFF (0% hashrate) and so the rig quickly restart ("-r 1" option) and it's good for few hours , it's a know issue (the gpu part..)?i have set default values and i have already tried to downclock the core, to reduce power, and with default settings, do i have a way to check details the problem?

h81 pro btc r2.0 (pcie gen AUTO but i don't have any settings about "4g encode")
6x 480 (3 samsung, 4 elpida) - default bios
monitor plugged to iGPU

i have this problem since i use simplemining

thanks


edit, :

Code:
-wd 1
-r 1
-epool stratum+tcp://xxxxxxxxxxxx:3589
-ewal xxxxxxxxxxxx.rig
-epsw x
-allpools 1
-dcoin dcr
-dpool stratum+tcp://xxxxxxxxxxxx:3854
-dwal xxxxxxxxxxxx.rig
-dpsw x
torgexx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 04:31:06 PM
 #3011

This distro is working well but every few hours (about 2-3h) i have one gpu (not sure if it's the same gpu or not) which go OFF (0% hashrate) and so the rig quickly restart ("-r 1" option??) and it's good for few hours , it's a know issue (the gpu part..)?i have set default values and i have already tried to downclock the core, to reduce power, and with default settings, do i have a way to check details the problem?

h81 pro btc r2.0 (pcie gen AUTO but i don't have any settings about "4g encode")
6x 480 (3 samsung, 4 elpida) - default bios
monitor plugged to iGPU

i have this problem since i use simplemining

thanks
I have same problem Sad
got error "Failed to set new fan speed, check if miner has root access!
Failed to set new fan speed, check if miner has root access!
Failed to set new fan speed, check if miner has root access!
Failed to set new fan speed, check if miner has root access!"
my config is "-epool eu2.ethermine.org:4444 -ewal $walletETH.$rigName -esm 0 -epsw x -allpools 1 -dpool http://siamining.com:9980/miner/header?address=$walletSC -dcoin sia -dcri 15  -mport -3333 -tt 65 -tstop 75 -r 1"

When some of GPU reach "-tstop value" - it is stopping and never starting again Sad
please help
npittas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 05:13:29 PM
 #3012

7gpu in dual mining and with core above 1150? you can multiply 535-540 by about two i guess

i have 6x 480 downclocked and downvolted and it use about 1050w of the wall

I dont dual mine, at least not yet. ETH only for now.

So calculating the wattage based on every card's software-based consumption is so inaccurate?

I haven't got my KillAWatt yet, but I assumed that 200w for Risers, SSD, CPU/Mobo, plus whatever the software says + 10% would be at least in the ballpark. Well, not a real problem but, I do have to get my electric skills cleaned up.

VFX Supervisor/Nuke Trainer
thedue
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 667
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 06:28:28 PM
 #3013

Any update on nvidia support? Would love to combine my nvidia rigs with my ETH rigs and make all my rigs simpleminingOS

+1

another one waiting , due latest raise of some coins , i love nvidia rigs more and more.
+1
 i have 4 rig with 1060.



+1

let´s generate some pressure for Tytus  Grin

citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1031


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 06:36:30 PM
 #3014

Any update on nvidia support? Would love to combine my nvidia rigs with my ETH rigs and make all my rigs simpleminingOS

+1

another one waiting , due latest raise of some coins , i love nvidia rigs more and more.
+1
 i have 4 rig with 1060.


+1

let´s generate some pressure for Tytus  Grin

A very good candidate for the NVIDIA miner in smOS is EWBF ZEC miner.

Of course some may argue that those NVIDIA beast like 1080ti does ETH with Claymore pretty well too.

===
Version 0.3.3b.

EWBF's Zcash cuda miner.
Expected speeds 435 sols/s gtx1070. 295 gtx1060 6G. Stock settings.
Writen for pascal gpus but works on cards with at least 1Gb memory, and Compute Capability 2 and higher.
Miner contain dev fee 2%.
I will support a miner if people will be interested in it.
Sorry for my bad english  Sad

Version 0.3.3b
Added option --pec power efficiency calculator.
Added option --fee developer fee control.
Use miner --help command for more information.

Version 0.3.2b
Increased speed up to 2%, depends on card model. some cards not give any speed changes.
Reduced gpu memory usage.
Improved stability.

Windows x64
https://mega.nz/#F!usQh2bTa!3qp_PaiO-dw3F0mpvLXynA
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9EPp8NdigFianNlcUh0YWFhOVE

Linux x64
https://mega.nz/#F!aop0BLaR!qQUGG6C2ZhE2zAC0XAlMSw
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9EPp8NdigFibDl2MmdXaTFjWDQ
===

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas
InCryptoWeTrust
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 06:40:30 PM
 #3015

 It will be perfect to add support for nvidia cards.

Провозим компьютерные комплектующие из EUR через склады LT & FIN в РФ.
telegram: @incryptowetrust chat: ttps://t.me/joinchat/AAAAAEFNJ5uxJQqQBD_myQ
voidbringer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 01:59:04 AM
 #3016

7gpu in dual mining and with core above 1150? you can multiply 535-540 by about two i guess

i have 6x 480 downclocked and downvolted and it use about 1050w of the wall

I dont dual mine, at least not yet. ETH only for now.

So calculating the wattage based on every card's software-based consumption is so inaccurate?

I haven't got my KillAWatt yet, but I assumed that 200w for Risers, SSD, CPU/Mobo, plus whatever the software says + 10% would be at least in the ballpark. Well, not a real problem but, I do have to get my electric skills cleaned up.


Really, the only way you can measure a system is "at the wall"  by using a KillAWatt.    There is so much more that goes into it than what you see in a tool like GPU-Z.   Usually you will see 100-150W per card used, depending on the card and how much it is undervolted.  (Remember, it is also the power draw from the riser as well)  So yes, you will likely be at 1000W or so with a 7GPU 470 rig if you did some high end undervolting.

Now as far as your tweaking issues, one thing to keep in mind is that anything you can do in something like afterburner, you can also do on the card's bios itself.   So once you know each card's sweet spot, you can technically work some bios magic and have those as the default settings on the card itself.   Modding a bios is nowhere near as easy as the windows tools... windows is made to be easy!  It can be a pain, and you can also brick your card doing it, but the OS itself is more suited for a stand-alone mining operation.   So in the end, you can get those tasty hashrates you want, even with a mix-and-match setup, if you apply those settings in the bios itself.    I initially was using all of the OC settings in SmOS, but changed them all to bios-mods as I added more rigs.
fittsy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438
Merit: 252



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2017, 03:42:51 AM
 #3017

Tytanick,

I would like to suggest we add support in the interface for Claymore EthMan passwords.  Version 12.5 of Claymore ZCash and 9.4 of ETH Dual Miner introduced EthMan 3.0.
EthMan 3.0 introduced password security.

Like this:

-mpsw password

This helps add another layer of security.  If I add this flag to Claymore config now it throws errors.

MinerParts - 8 GPU Riserless motherboard with Intel 3855 CPU - 1600w fully modular power supply
Best quality PCIe Powered Risers Shop on Amazon - Shop on eBay - or ship direct at MinerParts.com <- best for international or crypto purchases
Zimmsquad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 05:29:38 AM
 #3018

I would like to see an option, maybe when you hover over the reset rig restart counter button, the last time you reset the counter, I keep forgetting and am curious actually how many restarts I have had
fonyo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 284
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 30, 2017, 05:57:16 AM
 #3019

I would like to see an option, maybe when you hover over the reset rig restart counter button, the last time you reset the counter, I keep forgetting and am curious actually how many restarts I have had

Let's say this was implemented and I hovered over. Nothing would have happened as hovering a finger over a tablet is not really a thing yet. Cheesy Jokes aside, it would be a good feature but don't forget there are people who only use PCs for certain tasks but not for this. I think I initially used the SMOS site on PC for a minute and never since.

willi9974
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1018


Escrow Treuhandservice


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 06:01:07 AM
 #3020

Good morning,

one question: if i have a asrock Mainboard and i will user e PCI-E extender will the smOS working with cards in the extender?

Link to the adapter
https://www.amazon.de/express-slots-external-adapter-Multiplier/dp/B01L74AKBQ

my mainboard
Asrock Z97 Anniversary Mainboard Socket 1150 (Intel Z97, 4x DDR3, 4x USB 3.0, 6x SATA III)


Best regards
Willi

Treuhandservice | Miner Hosting
BTC: 1LN5rmoZF7RA4Wo3cjvLg3G7iR7PrLuoEg ETH: 0x5d598ba7b9b9ce1b8695a5f7e62c8b45d35200b7
My Solo Block 385022, 394940, 394946, 395087, 396941, 399709, 401934
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 ... 484 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!