Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2018, 01:23:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 [180] 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 ... 478 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Mining OS] SimpleMining.net - Easy to use GPU MINING Operating System  (Read 713700 times)
Tummler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 09:09:31 PM
 #3581

Hi,
Is there any update from today because from 1 hour my rigs are super unstable restarting a milion times , and different GPUs are hanging non-stop.
They were super stable and i doubt its a hardware problem on both of them at the same time.
Its for sure the OS.

Same problem here. My rigs were rock solid before this morning, often going weeks without rebooting. Now, my rigs with RX 470 cards are very unstable. They will run for a bit, and then one card will experience a brief jump up in processing speed and then crash. It almost seems like the problem is occurring when a card switches over to mine for Claymore.

I have one rig with RX 580 cards, and it does not seem to be affected.

At least in my case, I think it was a problem on Nanopool's end. I switched back to Dwarfpool, and my problems with unstable rigs subsided.

From Nanopool's DAG epoch clock, I'm guessing it reset sometime last night. Perhaps it is a problem related to that.

EDIT: I spoke too soon. Immediately after I clicked on the post button, I went back and checked my rigs, and one just crashed after one of the cards dropped to 0 mh/s.
1532093022
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532093022

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532093022
Reply with quote  #2

1532093022
Report to moderator
1532093022
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532093022

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532093022
Reply with quote  #2

1532093022
Report to moderator
fair bitcoin games | pvp - pve - solo pve games | faucet |
Free satoshi code btcoon500
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532093022
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532093022

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532093022
Reply with quote  #2

1532093022
Report to moderator
1532093022
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532093022

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532093022
Reply with quote  #2

1532093022
Report to moderator
1532093022
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532093022

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532093022
Reply with quote  #2

1532093022
Report to moderator
JohnJamesRambo13
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 09:23:32 PM
 #3582

I have a few questions.

1. Does anyone know why SmOS doesn't seem to be able to overclock the RX 460?  No matter what values I put in it won't overclock or underclock it.  For the RX 480 and RX 580 I am able to do it just fine.  It seems to be rig specific.  It will work in a rig with one card but in mobos with multiple cards it won't overclock and just says "Invalid OC values: core1850 memory: , skipping OC" and defaults to 1750.  I know it is stable up until 1900 or so in Windows.

2. Is it normal that the Powerstage setting doesn't seem to do anything?  I can put it at 0 and the rigs don't really seem to notice a difference.  Does it work?  How much power can you save using it?  When I measured it with a Kill-A-Watt I didn't really notice much difference.  When I lower powerstage with an rx480 rig it works down to 4 but all lower stages don't reduce power usage.

1130w at power state 6, 1062w at 4, 0-3 are all 1060 also.  Do you know what might be going on?  

It is stable and hashes at all levels of powerstage even 0.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1271


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 09:28:01 PM
 #3583

smOS is changing some of my card's core clock speeds without any input.

The snapshot below is a of a rig running 7 RX 570s, all with stock bios, and no OC settings applied (ever) via the Dashboard.



As you can see, two of them have switched from the default 1128 to 1191.

This seemingly happens at random to different GPUs across all of my rigs.

The change to 1191 is not random, however. A couple of my rigs currently have some GPUs with a custom bios which has a default core clock of 1191. The rig in the photo has not ever had anything but cards with the stock bios connected. I have also manually input 1191 as the core clock on other rigs of mine, but I have never applied an OC to the rig in the picture.

Changing the core clock settings in smOS does not seem to have any effect. It will change the clock upon startup, but it may change again before mining even starts, without any notice in the terminal.

edit: 1128 is not even the stock clock according to MSI spec sheet, it is actually 1268. So why is smOS automatically downclocking my cards???

it is using linux drivers not windows  which may vary a bit

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1002


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 09:56:03 PM
 #3584

You're correct, SM OS is pretty awesome, but...  Undecided

1) His frustration isn't an isolated incident. FOr someone new getting into mining, or trying out an advanced miner like this one, the broken english in the miner can be very confusing. That coupled with the seemingly arcane commands that one needs to enter to get a pool lined up can become quite frustrating. Seriously, look at the following text: "Default config: -wd 1 -r 1 -epool stratum+tcp://eth-eu.dwarfpool.com:8008 -ewal $walletETH/$rigName -esm 0 -epsw x -allpools 1 -mport -3333." For the uninitiated that can be intimidating, especially when there are virtually no comprehensible explanations for what each command does, and how it has to be structured.

That's insane. You can't ask the guy who is making the OPERATING SYSTEM to teach you how to setup your MINER. Each miner has a different syntax and if the user isn't willing to learn the basics on how to connect to a pool then he's just lazy.

What did you expect from the operating system? You want the OS to create a wallet for you as well? Do you want it to register an account on the exchange as well? Do you want it to create a bank account for you and deposit money in it? If anyone expects to plug an USB in the computer and have everything else done automatically he's crazy.



It's like selling someone a gun and whining when he won't give you lessons on using it...

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
viperman2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 10:05:33 PM
 #3585

Pretty sad that no answers on the issue with cards dropping to 0 mh/s from Tytanick.
ddsilveira
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 10:11:42 PM
 #3586

Ok something is obviously wrong with SMOS after 1098 update, my cards hangs randomly, they drop to 0MH/s and then rig restarts. This never happend to me before, Tyt can you please take a look at this issue? from what I can see I am not the only one struggling with SMOS stability issues after patch 1098. Thanks.


In my case, I have a theory ... I have 2 diferents memory values in my rig for diferent cards. What I believe is hapening, its if the system is rebooted for any cause, the gpu order is mixed, and the wrong memory clock are applied. That causes fails on different VGAs ... For final test, I get all the cards for the lower memory clock and now I'm waiting to see whats going to hapen.

Any sugestion?
supersporttdi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 10:22:24 PM
 #3587

I have some RX570's that had no overclocking set at all that ran solid no crashes or reboots for a few days. I made a change and reloaded the miner with 1098 and now I'm getting GPU FAULT PROTECTION across the screen then eventually a crash and reboot. 1098 is the only change that made a difference. i switched back to claymore 9.4 and that made no difference.
Sequoia93
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 10:26:04 PM
 #3588

smOS is changing some of my card's core clock speeds without any input.

The snapshot below is a of a rig running 7 RX 570s, all with stock bios, and no OC settings applied (ever) via the Dashboard.



As you can see, two of them have switched from the default 1128 to 1191.

This seemingly happens at random to different GPUs across all of my rigs.

The change to 1191 is not random, however. A couple of my rigs currently have some GPUs with a custom bios which has a default core clock of 1191. The rig in the photo has not ever had anything but cards with the stock bios connected. I have also manually input 1191 as the core clock on other rigs of mine, but I have never applied an OC to the rig in the picture.

Changing the core clock settings in smOS does not seem to have any effect. It will change the clock upon startup, but it may change again before mining even starts, without any notice in the terminal.

edit: 1128 is not even the stock clock according to MSI spec sheet, it is actually 1268. So why is smOS automatically downclocking my cards???

it is using linux drivers not windows  which may vary a bit

Well that may explain why they seem to default to 1128. But I'm still unsure as to why the core clock would be changed, sometimes after booting/passing the "OC Phase" of startup, but before/just as mining starts.


On another note, one of my rigs spits this out before eventually booting:



Then mines at a severely reduced hashrate, sometimes with as little as 2 or as many as 6 cards, eventually crashing and rebooting.
viperman2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 10:29:42 PM
 #3589

If this is not fixed by tomorrow morning i guess i'll make my own Ubuntu distro like i did for my Nvidia rigs.
This auto updating should be optional in my opinion.
supersporttdi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 10:34:57 PM
 #3590

If this is not fixed by tomorrow morning i guess i'll make my own Ubuntu distro like i did for my Nvidia rigs.
This auto updating should be optional in my opinion.

For the life of me I can't find where to skip or disable the auto-update feature either. What's the point of offering older builds if it just updates to the newest as soon as it boots?
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1002


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 10:55:41 PM
 #3591

If this is not fixed by tomorrow morning i guess i'll make my own Ubuntu distro like i did for my Nvidia rigs.
This auto updating should be optional in my opinion.

I use a customized Arch-based image - but if you don't wanna do that, IMO, give EthOS a try. Auto-update is not only fucking stupid from the POV of possible breakage, but if this OS is ever super popular, the mechanism will almost certainly be compromised and malicious updates pushed to all the poor bastards who use it.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1271


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 11:01:48 PM
 #3592

Pretty sad that no answers on the issue with cards dropping to 0 mh/s from Tytanick.

okay  show a screen shot of your rigs

with your clocks

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Tummler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 11:47:40 PM
 #3593

Ok something is obviously wrong with SMOS after 1098 update, my cards hangs randomly, they drop to 0MH/s and then rig restarts. This never happend to me before, Tyt can you please take a look at this issue? from what I can see I am not the only one struggling with SMOS stability issues after patch 1098. Thanks.


In my case, I have a theory ... I have 2 diferents memory values in my rig for diferent cards. What I believe is hapening, its if the system is rebooted for any cause, the gpu order is mixed, and the wrong memory clock are applied. That causes fails on different VGAs ... For final test, I get all the cards for the lower memory clock and now I'm waiting to see whats going to hapen.

Any sugestion?

I am experiencing the problem, and I have the same OC settings for all cards.
Tummler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 11:52:29 PM
 #3594

If this is not fixed by tomorrow morning i guess i'll make my own Ubuntu distro like i did for my Nvidia rigs.
This auto updating should be optional in my opinion.

I use a customized Arch-based image - but if you don't wanna do that, IMO, give EthOS a try. Auto-update is not only fucking stupid from the POV of possible breakage, but if this OS is ever super popular, the mechanism will almost certainly be compromised and malicious updates pushed to all the poor bastards who use it.

I share your opinion on auto updates. I had perfectly stable rigs for over a month, and now that is out the window. I understand if Tytanick decides that he will only help troubleshoot rigs that are completely up to date, but for those of us that have a good thing going, let us be.
xleejohnx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 676
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 15, 2017, 12:14:16 AM
 #3595

If this is not fixed by tomorrow morning i guess i'll make my own Ubuntu distro like i did for my Nvidia rigs.
This auto updating should be optional in my opinion.

I use a customized Arch-based image - but if you don't wanna do that, IMO, give EthOS a try. Auto-update is not only fucking stupid from the POV of possible breakage, but if this OS is ever super popular, the mechanism will almost certainly be compromised and malicious updates pushed to all the poor bastards who use it.

I wish I had the ability to make something like that!

As I see a super coin as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions. ~philipma1957
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1002


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 15, 2017, 12:20:49 AM
 #3596

If this is not fixed by tomorrow morning i guess i'll make my own Ubuntu distro like i did for my Nvidia rigs.
This auto updating should be optional in my opinion.

I use a customized Arch-based image - but if you don't wanna do that, IMO, give EthOS a try. Auto-update is not only fucking stupid from the POV of possible breakage, but if this OS is ever super popular, the mechanism will almost certainly be compromised and malicious updates pushed to all the poor bastards who use it.

I share your opinion on auto updates. I had perfectly stable rigs for over a month, and now that is out the window. I understand if Tytanick decides that he will only help troubleshoot rigs that are completely up to date, but for those of us that have a good thing going, let us be.

Yeah - plus the OTHER security issues in the OS that have nothing to do with the auto-update... Cheesy

If this is not fixed by tomorrow morning i guess i'll make my own Ubuntu distro like i did for my Nvidia rigs.
This auto updating should be optional in my opinion.

I use a customized Arch-based image - but if you don't wanna do that, IMO, give EthOS a try. Auto-update is not only fucking stupid from the POV of possible breakage, but if this OS is ever super popular, the mechanism will almost certainly be compromised and malicious updates pushed to all the poor bastards who use it.

I wish I had the ability to make something like that!

EthOS may be for you, then!

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1271


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 15, 2017, 12:56:49 AM
 #3597

okay lots of testing of beta nvidia build.

I can get 95 watts on gigabyte 1070 itx cards

pretty good compared  to 150 stock.


the clocking does not work for my msi 1070 itx cards

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
HolyHatred
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 15, 2017, 01:35:24 AM
 #3598

Hey im having an issue where when the miner starts up the miner says there are no gpus for the miner.
the os it self see's 4 on the rig. any suggestions?
-droid-
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 1001



View Profile
June 15, 2017, 02:55:24 AM
 #3599

was going to switch to this on my NVidia rigs, but with no zec support ill hold off for now
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1271


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 15, 2017, 03:15:07 AM
 #3600

so I will run 2 gigabyte 1070  itx cards on eth

hoping to get more support in a few days

ewbf_ 3.4   

 would be nice

better clocks

would be nice

I can only do 2 cards  on a mobo that did 4 amd cards

so being able to do 4 cards would be nice.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 ... 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 [180] 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 ... 478 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!