Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 08:13:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 [264] 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 327169 times)
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile
November 03, 2017, 07:53:08 PM
 #5261

Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley
I want to participate and create web site with rig control (like on simplemining.net)
I can create website that manages rigs, website can generate full config bash file.
Modifications needed for nvOS is to make on boot to download new config from server and every few minutes make some requests to server to send statistics (hashrate / temreratures / miner console /etc ) and in reply server will return commands if rig must reboot or redownload config (by user request)

So i can make server part easily, who will participate? With whom i can talk about that?
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

I think that its a really good idea, for non pro users and can be use as alternative for simplemining or ethos, but first of all we (all users of this rigs) should we have server  with some ddos protection or even CDN (can be ovh + cloudflare) if ofcourse it will be in "public" zone, because i can be also avalibe only in your local network...
I can put it on my server for start without ddos protection.
For start i need to communicate with some linux side developers =)

For getting new config simple wget can be used (ex wget http://address.com/get_config/user_login(from config)/mac_address(from system)/config.sh ) which will be generated on the fly based on user config on website (miner selection with parameters, overclocking etc, and all other configuration options which are available now)


fullzero?

simplemining's business structure is to make money out of it, hence the need for central server so they can control it.

nvOC is free/open source so there is no need for central server and download of config files from the central server.

There is no registered business and no liability nor inspiration to run secure server with ddos protection, fall back system, etc.

What happens if someone hacks your server and distribute/push new config files and make every nvOC rig mine for them? Will you compensate?

The idea of web interface is great and sooner or later will be implemented into nvOC but not as an interface to central server but local one. I should be able to login to my server's IP web interface and manage my rig trough any web browser.
I think we should steer the developement toward this.
Furthermore, we can add master/slave interfaces so that if you have multiple rigs, you will have one master to control all slave rigs.

Right?
Totally right leenoox,
Exactly what I had in mind for it.

@Dangerd,
Sent you a pm and asked some questions with no reply
I'm handling nvoc web info,
And would love to help and make it better

1511295216
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295216

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295216
Reply with quote  #2

1511295216
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511295216
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295216

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295216
Reply with quote  #2

1511295216
Report to moderator
1511295216
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295216

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295216
Reply with quote  #2

1511295216
Report to moderator
1511295216
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295216

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295216
Reply with quote  #2

1511295216
Report to moderator
Stubo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
November 03, 2017, 09:09:17 PM
 #5262

Hi,
I make a try with nvOC.
In the configuration file, I see where I write the parameters for each GPU and each Pool, but for the pools, I didn't see where I write the worker password ?
There is the name of pool, the port, the coin address, the worker name, but no worker password...
Thank you.

Usually pools dont check worker password and best keep it the default "x"
If any one wants to mine for you ... let them mine ... lol
Yes, I know... "-p x" or something else, or nothing.
But I use this option : some of my workers have password for other reasons and the pool test it : if the password is wrong, I cannot connect my worker (error connection message).
How can I make with nvOC ?

What I did was add a variable for the password in 1bash just after this comment:

Code:
# set YOUR ADDRESSES, WORKERS, POOL, INTENSITY and PORT:
SUPRNOVA_PWD=<miner_password>

and then modify 3main by changing:

Code:
... --pass x ...

to

Code:
... --pass $SUPRNOVA_PWD ...

Hope this helps.


ZenFr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


Bitcoin address 1Pjs4aP2LpwcP1nBDUq9ivyFRABQtwZ8z7


View Profile
November 03, 2017, 10:40:11 PM
 #5263

Hi,
I make a try with nvOC.
In the configuration file, I see where I write the parameters for each GPU and each Pool, but for the pools, I didn't see where I write the worker password ?
There is the name of pool, the port, the coin address, the worker name, but no worker password...
Thank you.

Usually pools dont check worker password and best keep it the default "x"
If any one wants to mine for you ... let them mine ... lol
Yes, I know... "-p x" or something else, or nothing.
But I use this option : some of my workers have password for other reasons and the pool test it : if the password is wrong, I cannot connect my worker (error connection message).
How can I make with nvOC ?

What I did was add a variable for the password in 1bash just after this comment:

Code:
# set YOUR ADDRESSES, WORKERS, POOL, INTENSITY and PORT:
SUPRNOVA_PWD=<miner_password>

and then modify 3main by changing:

Code:
... --pass x ...

to

Code:
... --pass $SUPRNOVA_PWD ...

Hope this helps.
Thanks a lot.
I will try as soon as possible (not possible for a few days now).
I think this syntax would be decumented in the configuration file : I'm probably the unique miner on SuprNova :-).

The best way to make your firsts free bitcoins/satoshis (la façon la plus simple d'obtenir gratuitement vos premiers bitcoins/satoshis) : Moon Bitcoin (topic in english ou en français)
The easiest and speedest way to begin to mine (la façon la plus simple et la plus rapide pour commencer à miner) : Minergate
My Bitcoin address : 14NkiEKAfH31wKNgNjK7zD98M165qv7i12
martinmbasantag
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 03:05:03 AM
 #5264

Tried my best to search for an answer, but no luck so far...

has anyone successfully gotten rid of the login loop issue?

Ive console logged in, did a re-image, tried different versions, and every ubuntu based fix i could find online (clear and .Xauthority fixes)

Board is a HP z400 board

broth i have one board like that and it is working fine i didn't  any adjustment, just keep on mine if u have a second boot device connected, and don't plug or unplug any devices the first time or when it is loading.
guyana77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 07:32:32 AM
 #5265

Dear fullzero, thanks for your hard work on nvoc. Have been using it for half a year already and very much pleased with it.
Are you planning to add BTG in the new release? Didn't see it in 1.4. Would be great.
Thanks a lot
DangerD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 09:07:06 AM
 #5266

Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley
I want to participate and create web site with rig control (like on simplemining.net)
I can create website that manages rigs, website can generate full config bash file.
Modifications needed for nvOS is to make on boot to download new config from server and every few minutes make some requests to server to send statistics (hashrate / temreratures / miner console /etc ) and in reply server will return commands if rig must reboot or redownload config (by user request)

So i can make server part easily, who will participate? With whom i can talk about that?
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

I think that its a really good idea, for non pro users and can be use as alternative for simplemining or ethos, but first of all we (all users of this rigs) should we have server  with some ddos protection or even CDN (can be ovh + cloudflare) if ofcourse it will be in "public" zone, because i can be also avalibe only in your local network...
I can put it on my server for start without ddos protection.
For start i need to communicate with some linux side developers =)

For getting new config simple wget can be used (ex wget http://address.com/get_config/user_login(from config)/mac_address(from system)/config.sh ) which will be generated on the fly based on user config on website (miner selection with parameters, overclocking etc, and all other configuration options which are available now)


fullzero?

simplemining's business structure is to make money out of it, hence the need for central server so they can control it.

nvOC is free/open source so there is no need for central server and download of config files from the central server.

There is no registered business and no liability nor inspiration to run secure server with ddos protection, fall back system, etc.

What happens if someone hacks your server and distribute/push new config files and make every nvOC rig mine for them? Will you compensate?

The idea of web interface is great and sooner or later will be implemented into nvOC but not as an interface to central server but local one. I should be able to login to my server's IP web interface and manage my rig trough any web browser.
I think we should steer the developement toward this.
Furthermore, we can add master/slave interfaces so that if you have multiple rigs, you will have one master to control all slave rigs.

Right?
NP, i can share code so users can deploy server part on their own central servers =)
The main idea is to make managing all rigs from one place (for example select all and set to mine BTCz for example to avoid making it one by one)


>@Dangerd,
>Sent you a pm and asked some questions with no reply
>I'm handling nvoc web info,
>And would love to help and make it better
Sent you reply, just saw pm notification in mail.
moofone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 11:47:04 AM
 #5267

Installed v19-1.4 yesterday on a new rig to test a new card.

Thought updates were supposed to be disabled in this one, but when I logged in this morning nothing was working and saw this in the logs:

[  142.874644] NVRM: API mismatch: the client has the version 384.90, but
               NVRM: this kernel module has the version 384.59.  Please
               NVRM: make sure that this kernel module and all NVIDIA driver
               NVRM: components have the same version.

Had to do this to fix it:

sudo: unable to resolve host gtx1080ti-r1
Hit:1 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial InRelease
Get:2 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-security InRelease [102 kB]
Hit:3 http://ppa.launchpad.net/graphics-drivers/ppa/ubuntu xenial InRelease
Fetched 102 kB in 0s (273 kB/s)
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
38 packages can be upgraded. Run 'apt list --upgradable' to see them.
sudo: unable to resolve host gtx1080ti-r1
E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'sudo dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.

sudo dpkg --configure -a'

<reboot -- working>

Here's what I have:


APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "1";
APT::Periodic::Download-Upgradeable-Packages "0";
APT::Periodic::AutocleanInterval "0";

20auto-upgrades
APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "1";
APT::Periodic::Unattended-Upgrade "1";


I changed the last two to 0.
JayneL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 12:19:16 PM
 #5268

Hi guys can you help me how to add more algo on SALTER_NICEHASH? I want to add cryptonight so that it can automatically switch to that algo pls tnx tnx tnx Grin

Temporel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 02:23:48 PM
 #5269

Hi,
I make a try with nvOC.
In the configuration file, I see where I write the parameters for each GPU and each Pool, but for the pools, I didn't see where I write the worker password ?
There is the name of pool, the port, the coin address, the worker name, but no worker password...
Thank you.

Usually pools dont check worker password and best keep it the default "x"
If any one wants to mine for you ... let them mine ... lol
Yes, I know... "-p x" or something else, or nothing.
But I use this option : some of my workers have password for other reasons and the pool test it : if the password is wrong, I cannot connect my worker (error connection message).
How can I make with nvOC ?

not sure why people are still spreading this but some pool do need the right password. I spent hours trying to figure out why I couldnt mine on a pool using nvOC until I replaced the default password with x (nvOC v19 had z for some reason)
So use the password you have in your account (like the ones you setup in suprnova) other pools probably dont care though
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 04:58:59 PM
 #5270

A few updates I've need to do since installing 1.4 that may help others:

Many errors in my syslog referencing timeout waiting for device - There is a hardcoded Sandisk drive in /etc/fstab that should be commented out:
Code:
UUID=55184403759586FB /mnt/55184403759586FB auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show,ro 0 0
/dev/disk/by-id/usb-SanDisk_Cruzer_Blade_4C530001260812105231-0:0-part1 /mnt/usb-SanDisk_Cruzer_Blade_4C530001260812105231-0:0-part1 auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show,ro 0 0

Also, if you adjust wattage limits into the triple digits (more than 100w) the temp script seems to throw issues now.  Changing:
Code:
echo -n 117.00| tail -c -5 | head -c -3

to

Code:
echo -n 117.00| tail -c -6 | head -c -3

seems to bring things back to normal.

Still seeing lower hashrates than I did on version 1.1, due to cards using about 80% of their available power limit and not sure why.  Also seeing hostname errors and plenty of small other things on a vanilla build (literally just changed 5 items in 1bash) - v1.1 was rock solid, and while I love the idea of these new features, I value stability of mining operation above all else and it seems like we're going backwards a bit on that front.

Nice catch on triple digit, I just install 1.4 on one of my 1070 rigs and was goin crazy why it keep popping up old power limit 25 .... New 125
Then I remember your post

Saved my day.
Stubo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 05:23:02 PM
 #5271

So, in my effort to thoroughly understand nvOC at a reasonably low level, I am stumped by one question. What is calling/launching 2unix at boot and again if 3main is killed and 2unix "falls out"?

It appears to be part of gnome-session but I am not yet familiar enough with Ubuntu to find it. I see the auto login setup in /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf but I don't see anything launching that explicitly in .bashrc or .profile. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

Guake terminal is involved

Yes. I found gnome-terminal.desktop and guake:guake.desktop in /home/m1/.config/autostart but I am still not putting all of the pieces of the puzzle together yet. I don't see any mention of 2unix being launched there.

For those of you that care, I found it:

m1        1943  1703  0 12:02 ?        00:00:00 python2 -m guake.main
m1        1999  1943  0 12:02 ?        00:00:00 gnome-pty-helper
m1        2000  1943  0 12:02 pts/16   00:00:00 /bin/bash
m1        2085  1943  0 12:02 pts/18   00:00:00 /bin/bash
m1        2316  1943  0 12:03 pts/21   00:00:00 /bin/bash




kk003
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 10:08:34 PM
 #5272

So, in my effort to thoroughly understand nvOC at a reasonably low level, I am stumped by one question. What is calling/launching 2unix at boot and again if 3main is killed and 2unix "falls out"?

It appears to be part of gnome-session but I am not yet familiar enough with Ubuntu to find it. I see the auto login setup in /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf but I don't see anything launching that explicitly in .bashrc or .profile. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

Guake terminal is involved

Yes. I found gnome-terminal.desktop and guake:guake.desktop in /home/m1/.config/autostart but I am still not putting all of the pieces of the puzzle together yet. I don't see any mention of 2unix being launched there.

For those of you that care, I found it:

m1        1943  1703  0 12:02 ?        00:00:00 python2 -m guake.main
m1        1999  1943  0 12:02 ?        00:00:00 gnome-pty-helper
m1        2000  1943  0 12:02 pts/16   00:00:00 /bin/bash
m1        2085  1943  0 12:02 pts/18   00:00:00 /bin/bash
m1        2316  1943  0 12:03 pts/21   00:00:00 /bin/bash



Thx. Did you find the location of guake.main?
codereddew12
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 07:07:26 AM
 #5273

By the way, a little off topic, but do you guys think it's ok to run 12 GPUs (all 1070s except for 2 which are 1060s) on two EVGA G3 850W PSUs? I downvolted all of the cards and each 1070 is right around 100W/piece and 1060s are roughly 80W. Been stable now for over a week, just to get some feedback regarding this setup.
ComputerGenie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


Retired IRCX God


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 07:23:29 AM
 #5274

By the way, a little off topic, but do you guys think it's ok to run 12 GPUs (all 1070s except for 2 which are 1060s) on two EVGA G3 850W PSUs? I downvolted all of the cards and each 1070 is right around 100W/piece and 1060s are roughly 80W. Been stable now for over a week, just to get some feedback regarding this setup.

There is no part of me that will ever understand the idea behind taking 10 cards and intentionally turning them into 7  Roll Eyes

If you have to ask why, you wouldn`t understand my answer.
codereddew12
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 07:38:08 AM
 #5275

By the way, a little off topic, but do you guys think it's ok to run 12 GPUs (all 1070s except for 2 which are 1060s) on two EVGA G3 850W PSUs? I downvolted all of the cards and each 1070 is right around 100W/piece and 1060s are roughly 80W. Been stable now for over a week, just to get some feedback regarding this setup.

There is no part of me that will ever understand the idea behind taking 10 cards and intentionally turning them into 7  Roll Eyes

What do you mean exactly? I have a pretty small setup (~20 GPUs), so I just try to consolidate whenever possible.
Stubo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 07:41:02 AM
 #5276

By the way, a little off topic, but do you guys think it's ok to run 12 GPUs (all 1070s except for 2 which are 1060s) on two EVGA G3 850W PSUs? I downvolted all of the cards and each 1070 is right around 100W/piece and 1060s are roughly 80W. Been stable now for over a week, just to get some feedback regarding this setup.

There is no part of me that will ever understand the idea behind taking 10 cards and intentionally turning them into 7  Roll Eyes

I am with @ComputerGenie. Is there a reason you are not running individual power limits and clocks? Worst case, I would remove the 1060's and just run the 1070's correctly.
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 07:55:03 AM
 #5277

By the way, a little off topic, but do you guys think it's ok to run 12 GPUs (all 1070s except for 2 which are 1060s) on two EVGA G3 850W PSUs? I downvolted all of the cards and each 1070 is right around 100W/piece and 1060s are roughly 80W. Been stable now for over a week, just to get some feedback regarding this setup.

There is no part of me that will ever understand the idea behind taking 10 cards and intentionally turning them into 7  Roll Eyes

I am with @ComputerGenie. Is there a reason you are not running individual power limits and clocks? Worst case, I would remove the 1060's and just run the 1070's correctly.

Agree,
80 W for 1060 is not so low, but 100 for 1070 is too low,
what are your hash rates with 1070 ?
I run my 1070 rig at 125 W, oc 125, cc 600 getting 460-470 sol/s
and 1060 rig with 85W, oc 125, cc, 600 getting 300 sol/s
JayneL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 10:41:13 AM
 #5278

Hi guys can you help me how to add more algo on SALTER_NICEHASH? I want to add cryptonight so that it can automatically switch to that algo pls tnx tnx tnx Grin

Hi Fullzero or anyone here figure it how? i tried to copy the settings of other algo and change the settings but it gets buggy and got insane income result lol

Stubo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 10:41:49 AM
 #5279

Installed v19-1.4 yesterday on a new rig to test a new card.

sudo: unable to resolve host gtx1080ti-r1

Check your /etc/hosts file. It would appear that you are missing the entry for your miner - gtx1080ti-r1.

   m1@Miner2:~$ cat /etc/hosts
   127.0.0.1       localhost
  127.0.1.1       Miner2

   # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
   .
   .
   .

In the example, my host is named Miner2 and I have the necessary entry for it in my hosts file. Hope this helps.

codereddew12
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 10:43:51 AM
 #5280

By the way, a little off topic, but do you guys think it's ok to run 12 GPUs (all 1070s except for 2 which are 1060s) on two EVGA G3 850W PSUs? I downvolted all of the cards and each 1070 is right around 100W/piece and 1060s are roughly 80W. Been stable now for over a week, just to get some feedback regarding this setup.

There is no part of me that will ever understand the idea behind taking 10 cards and intentionally turning them into 7  Roll Eyes

I am with @ComputerGenie. Is there a reason you are not running individual power limits and clocks? Worst case, I would remove the 1060's and just run the 1070's correctly.

Agree,
80 W for 1060 is not so low, but 100 for 1070 is too low,
what are your hash rates with 1070 ?
I run my 1070 rig at 125 W, oc 125, cc 600 getting 460-470 sol/s
and 1060 rig with 85W, oc 125, cc, 600 getting 300 sol/s

Been mining ETH and my hasharates have been 30-31 per 1070. I never thought you could have a PL "too low" if it's within the supported wattage of the card. Of course, some GPUs, like the MSI 1070 Gaming X requires minimum 115 watts but some other 1070s can go to as low as 90 so that's why I say average is roughly 100W per card. It's bee stable like this for nearly 2 weeks now so I don't see why it's a big issue if it's stable?
Pages: « 1 ... 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 [264] 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!