Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2024, 10:21:40 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 [245] 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 ... 417 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining  (Read 417954 times)
codereddew12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 11:38:58 AM
 #4881

So for those who are now reaching the login screen and cannot login even when you type in your password. SSH into your rig and run the following commands:

Code:
sudo apt-get purge nvidia*
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo shutdown -r now

Now everything's working back to normal. Not sure why it did that for me. Also, I don't know if the first commmand is necessary, it's just what I typed in initially so I included it.
1714299700
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714299700

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714299700
Reply with quote  #2

1714299700
Report to moderator
1714299700
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714299700

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714299700
Reply with quote  #2

1714299700
Report to moderator
If you want to be a moderator, report many posts with accuracy. You will be noticed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714299700
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714299700

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714299700
Reply with quote  #2

1714299700
Report to moderator
1714299700
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714299700

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714299700
Reply with quote  #2

1714299700
Report to moderator
1714299700
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714299700

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714299700
Reply with quote  #2

1714299700
Report to moderator
Heguli97
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 11:49:19 AM
 #4882

So for those who are now reaching the login screen and cannot login even when you type in your password. SSH into your rig and run the following commands:

Code:
sudo apt-get purge nvidia*
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo shutdown -r now

Now everything's working back to normal. Not sure why it did that for me. Also, I don't know if the first commmand is necessary, it's just what I typed in initially so I included it.

Too bad I don't have ssh configured/enabled.

Temporel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 11:55:48 AM
 #4883

I have the same issue. Both of my rigs running nvOC are down. It looks like some kind of update was done and drivers stopped working.

same here, that rig was up and running since August and it stopped an hour ago. I updated Nvidia drivers and its back online again.

That rig is still on v19 and is my last one on nvOC but after this event, Ill remove some cards and install Windows 10.

Temporel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 11:59:05 AM
 #4884

Nvidia driver updated today on one of my rigs
A reboot fixed my problem
The other one already had latest 384-90

run update / upgrade again

Code:
sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade && sudo reboot

 I rebooted 3 times (v19) and still had the same problem. I had to update the Nvidia drivers to fix the issue.
FFI2013
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 906
Merit: 507


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 12:17:07 PM
 #4885

When I tried to unzip nvoc on win 7 I keep getting error that I don't have enough space when there 150gb empty but it unzips on my win 10 pro rigs without a issue
azsh07
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 12:27:23 PM
 #4886

If possible, can we stop driver from auto update to prevent this event? For now, I just manage to get my rig working again by re-flashing image. But I believe this event will occur again since driver is auto update. I using P106 cards.


Doodkeen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 12:33:02 PM
 #4887

To prevent automatic updates in the future:

use your favorite editor, open /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/10periodic and change:

Code:
APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "1";

To:

Code:
APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "0";


and /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/20auto-upgrades
Code:
APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "1";
APT::Periodic::Unattended-Upgrade "1";

to

Code:
APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "0";
APT::Periodic::Unattended-Upgrade "0";


D

ps: Seriously, why was this ON?
azsh07
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 12:45:00 PM
 #4888

To prevent automatic updates in the future:

use your favorite editor, open /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/10periodic and change:

Code:
APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "1";

To:

Code:
APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "0";


and /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/20auto-upgrades
Code:
APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "1";
APT::Periodic::Unattended-Upgrade "1";

to

Code:
APT::Periodic::Update-Package-Lists "0";
APT::Periodic::Unattended-Upgrade "0";


D

ps: Seriously, why was this ON?

Thanks Doodkeen, but how to elevated access in nvoc? I using winscp but no luck. Not able to change using m1 credential.
Doodkeen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 12:53:38 PM
 #4889

Just use your editor with sudo after you are logged in by ssh. 

Code:
sudo vim.tiny /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/20auto-upgrades
Heguli97
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 12:58:47 PM
 #4890

Nvidia driver updated today on one of my rigs
A reboot fixed my problem
The other one already had latest 384-90

run update / upgrade again

Code:
sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade && sudo reboot

Thank you, this worked for me Cheesy. If you're using a keyboard press control + alt + f1 to get to terminal and first input login credentials(login: m1 password: miner1 by default)

das0212
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 01:00:04 PM
 #4891

I managed to grab an image: https://i.imgur.com/3of2yT9.jpg

This is happening on both my rigs

Thats not a problem
Ubuntu is checking drive, wait and it will boot

Same thing happend for me...and I waited for 1 hour still same screen..what to do
Doodkeen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 01:03:06 PM
 #4892


Thanks Doodkeen, but how to elevated access in nvoc? I using winscp but no luck. Not able to change using m1 credential.

If you want to connect with winscp there is a good article about this situation but i would use ssh

https://blog.jamesbayley.com/2014/01/28/how-to-connect-as-root-using-winscp/
Temporel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 01:03:21 PM
 #4893



ps: Seriously, why was this ON?

Ill have to check my setup later but Im surprise it was ON.

Ill scan the distro for rootkit later too just to be sure.
azsh07
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 01:03:54 PM
 #4894

Just use your editor with sudo after you are logged in by ssh. 

Code:
sudo vim.tiny /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/20auto-upgrades

Thanks Doodkeen, is done now.  Grin Grin
jmumich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 01:14:46 PM
 #4895

Wow that was an interesting morning. Thanks to everyone that identified the problem and posted a solution so quickly.

Oddly enough, a couple of rigs kept running - I can't think of anything about them that was different from the others. Though they also had the update and upgrade flags set to 1.

For me, just running 

sudo dpkg --configure -a

And then rebooting did the trick.
jmumich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 01:22:06 PM
Last edit: October 24, 2017, 01:33:19 PM by jmumich
 #4896

So for those who are now reaching the login screen and cannot login even when you type in your password. SSH into your rig and run the following commands:

Code:
sudo apt-get purge nvidia*
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo shutdown -r now

Now everything's working back to normal. Not sure why it did that for me. Also, I don't know if the first commmand is necessary, it's just what I typed in initially so I included it.

Thanks so much for this. I don't think the first command is necessary (edit: just to get your rigs running - see below, it may be for stability) - just the second got everything running for me. When I ran the first command, I then had to do:
Code:
sudo apt-get install nvidia-385

So to get my remote-rigs running again I just had to:

Code:
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo reboot
ComputerGenie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 552


Retired IRCX God


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 01:27:02 PM
 #4897

Not all best practices are "necessary" in terms of what is minimally required; that being said, that particular way (including purge) aids in ensuring stability.

If you have to ask "why?", you wouldn`t understand my answer.
Always be on the look out, because you never know when you'll be stalked by hit-men that eat nothing but cream cheese....
jmumich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 01:32:31 PM
 #4898

Not all best practices are "necessary" in terms of what is minimally required; that being said, that particular way (including purge) aids in ensuring stability.

Thanks, and fair point - I just didn't have much time and needed to get things going. I also left most of my update/upgrade flags at 1 - something I have to fix later. So I guess skipping the purge part is for folks like me that had just a couple minutes to get their rigs back up.

I'll follow your advice and purge and reinstall later on when I have the time  Smiley
VoskCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 487


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2017, 01:53:41 PM
Last edit: October 24, 2017, 02:54:20 PM by VoskCoin
 #4899

This is so frustrating, nvOC17 was rock solid and nvOC19 has been a headache like 15 16 18 were

nvOC_17 DL
http://www.mediafire.com/file/oi84ue7e6z9epn9/nvOC_v0017.zip


Can anyone help me add a couple coins to 17 and implement the newer auto fan controller?

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
DJ ACK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 02:05:13 PM
Last edit: October 24, 2017, 02:22:10 PM by DJ ACK
 #4900

Any idea why all rigs crashed last night.  v0018 and v0019 rigs all died and won't boot.  v0018 rigs hang trying to perform cleaning functions.  v0019 rigs ask for a password. v19-1.3 rigs are all running fine.  Rigs are in three completely different geographic locations.
Pages: « 1 ... 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 [245] 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 ... 417 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!