Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 08:12:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 [254] 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 327144 times)
crazydane
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 01:30:28 PM
 #5061

Hi again, fullzero and all Smiley I've got a question for you. Some of my rigs now have a problem booting from USB stick. I have many different sticks but after a month or two of normal booting some of them started to fail on booting process, I/O errors etc... I understand that this is a quality problem in most cases, but also I think it's the usecase problem. So now I'm thinking of nvOC/rxOC mod that could do network booting to completely exclude this kind of issues while using these distros. The question is - have someone tried to boot nvOC from network? If yes, please share your experience to us!
Just get a 30$ SSD

Agreed.  Had the same issue using name brand (SanDisk 32GB Cruzer Ultra Fit USB 3.0 drives).  Rigs would fail to reboot after running fine for a month plus.  I went with these $33 60GB SSD's and never had a problem since, and the rigs are much faster to boot.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M2UUACN/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511295178
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295178

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295178
Reply with quote  #2

1511295178
Report to moderator
sergixc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 01:30:29 PM
 #5062

Hello

ZM_Miner gives 350Sol/s but EWBF gives 560 Sol/s on my 1080

That seems to me happening only on my Asus b250 mining expert MoBo with 13 GPU installed, other boards (Asus Prime Z270-A with 9 GPU and old Gigabyte with 5 GPU) are ok.

Is it a bug in ZM?

Thank you
crazydane
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 01:31:47 PM
 #5063

What does the pool you're connected to show for that worker?

Friend of mine is running an Asus Mining Expert as well with 7x 1070's and he's not having that issue with ZM.
sergixc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 01:41:17 PM
 #5064

What does the pool you're connected to show for that worker?

Friend of mine is running an Asus Mining Expert as well with 7x 1070's and he's not having that issue with ZM.

I am using http://zcash.flypool.org
Maybe problem with card quantity, I will try less
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 01:44:22 PM
 #5065

Hello

ZM_Miner gives 350Sol/s but EWBF gives 560 Sol/s on my 1080

That seems to me happening only on my Asus b250 mining expert MoBo with 13 GPU installed, other boards (Asus Prime Z270-A with 9 GPU and old Gigabyte with 5 GPU) are ok.

Is it a bug in ZM?

Thank you
Better ask in dstm page
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2021765.0
kk003
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 02:21:39 PM
 #5066

Quote
So you could lower the threshold (I am just throwing it out there) or better yet, figure out why one GPU is not performing like the others. What are your GPUs and are all they all identical?

They are all GTX 1060, although from different manufacturers and versions. 2 with double fan and 3 with sigle fan.
The errors are coming randomly for any of the cards. Not sure if it is normal or not

That doesn't sound normal. Unfortunately, I don't have any 1060's so I have no idea what the OC settings should be. In the meantime, just to keep mining with it how it is, you may want to disable the watchdog [in 1bash] which will keep restarting your miner as detects low GPU utilization. Hopefully somebody else can chime in and help you with the OC settings.

My 13 gpu rig 1060 3Gb OC (this runs on centos 7):
sudo nvidia-smi -pl 95
sudo nvidia-settings -a /GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1500
sudo nvidia-settings -a [gpu:8]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1400
and I don't touch the Graphics Clock here.

My rig 3 1060 + 2 970. The 1060 settings:
sudo nvidia-smi -pl 75
sudo nvidia-settings -a /GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1500
sudo nvidia-settings -a /GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=-100

in 1bash would be:


__CORE_OVERCLOCK_1=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK_1=1500

__CORE_OVERCLOCK_2=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK_2=1500

__CORE_OVERCLOCK_3=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK_3=1300

for gpus 1,2,3

mining ETC around 24000Mh/s per gpu. Temp goes around 58-65 ºC

Running time: 500 - 1000 hours

hope help as reference ;-)


1060 3Gb has same hash rate as 6 Gb on both equihash and ethash?
Is it even possible to mine eth with 3 Gb?

I have a evga 1060 6Gb on windows with hashrate 24.400Mhs MC 1700, CC 0 + 2 1060 3Gb   MC 1400 CC 0 gives 23.750Mh/s using claymore and mining ETC.
I have noticed 6gb cards go easy on OC (usually)

Mining equihash on a 13 1060 3Gb rig = 3300 h/s but I know I should have 3500 h/s. Think high load average is causing this and may be a poorly optimize OC but usually runs stable for weeks, so i'm happy with it.
ETC gives me 305-310 Mh/s on same rig .

I have been mining ETH about a month ago with 3Gb cards, I do not know if it is now possible or not
sergixc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 02:32:35 PM
 #5067

Hello

ZM_Miner gives 350Sol/s but EWBF gives 560 Sol/s on my 1080

That seems to me happening only on my Asus b250 mining expert MoBo with 13 GPU installed, other boards (Asus Prime Z270-A with 9 GPU and old Gigabyte with 5 GPU) are ok.

Is it a bug in ZM?

Thank you
Better ask in dstm page
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2021765.0

I think its not just about DSTM, I tested right now system following way:
1. when I leave just 10 asus strix 1080 in asus b250 mining expert - it works like a charm: load average is around 3
2. when I put 11 same card, load average goes up to 15
3. when I put 13 same card, load average goes up to 100 and everything is crazy slow...
I have latest version of nvoc 19-1.3
Any suggestions?

Thank you in advance!
pantalyra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 02:51:46 PM
 #5068

Hello

ZM_Miner gives 350Sol/s but EWBF gives 560 Sol/s on my 1080

That seems to me happening only on my Asus b250 mining expert MoBo with 13 GPU installed, other boards (Asus Prime Z270-A with 9 GPU and old Gigabyte with 5 GPU) are ok.

Is it a bug in ZM?

Thank you
Better ask in dstm page
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2021765.0

I think its not just about DSTM, I tested right now system following way:
1. when I leave just 10 asus strix 1080 in asus b250 mining expert - it works like a charm: load average is around 3
2. when I put 11 same card, load average goes up to 15
3. when I put 13 same card, load average goes up to 100 and everything is crazy slow...
I have latest version of nvoc 19-1.3
Any suggestions?

Thank you in advance!

Had a similar issue once. I needed a better CPU. I was using a super cheap CPU and needed more PCIE express lanes for all the cards to function properly.
sergixc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 02:57:22 PM
 #5069

Hello

ZM_Miner gives 350Sol/s but EWBF gives 560 Sol/s on my 1080

That seems to me happening only on my Asus b250 mining expert MoBo with 13 GPU installed, other boards (Asus Prime Z270-A with 9 GPU and old Gigabyte with 5 GPU) are ok.

Is it a bug in ZM?

Thank you
Better ask in dstm page
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2021765.0

I think its not just about DSTM, I tested right now system following way:
1. when I leave just 10 asus strix 1080 in asus b250 mining expert - it works like a charm: load average is around 3
2. when I put 11 same card, load average goes up to 15
3. when I put 13 same card, load average goes up to 100 and everything is crazy slow...
I have latest version of nvoc 19-1.3
Any suggestions?

Thank you in advance!

Had a similar issue once. I needed a better CPU. I was using a super cheap CPU and needed more PCIE express lanes for all the cards to function properly.

Better to know for sure before buying one more CPU )) Yes, I have super cheap G3930 CPU.
Can anybody proove it, please?
Thank you in advance!
cryptobadger666
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 03:08:56 PM
 #5070

ok.. so my usb stick gets corrupted about once a day now.. my mining rig already has a m.2 ssd i originally had windows on.  i would like to install NVOC on the ssd, however my other computer only has 1 m.2 slot which it boots from, so im trying to think of a way to install this OS..  the normal way of installing this with raw hdd copy would wipe the os thats completing the copy on the miner, is there a method of installing beside windows on the same drive in a different partition? and dual booting?  or is there a way to install this OS on my usb, then running a install like ubuntu does from a live session?  im really wishing i had a sata ssd on this rig. trying to find a work around is driving me nuts.
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 03:58:11 PM
 #5071

Good morning,

Had a weird issue just show up of the rig internet disconnecting as soon as the script restarts and I have to physically go to it to get the internet connection restored. I saw in the notes about the USB nic with some newer versions but this only happens when the 1bash is activated from Terminal and only after I updated to 19-1.3

Bitrated user: nexillus.
Sonax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 03:59:48 PM
 #5072

Hello! I have error:
Code:
/dev/sda2: clean, 286724/901120 files 2210364/3584000 blocks
_(blink)
When switching on and stops.

How to fix the error?
HDD 1Tb, ASROCK H110 PRO BTC+, 13 GPU.
When reinstalling after a couple of reboots it stops to log in and writes this error.
WaveFront
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 04:28:04 PM
 #5073

Quote
So you could lower the threshold (I am just throwing it out there) or better yet, figure out why one GPU is not performing like the others. What are your GPUs and are all they all identical?

They are all GTX 1060, although from different manufacturers and versions. 2 with double fan and 3 with sigle fan.
The errors are coming randomly for any of the cards. Not sure if it is normal or not

That doesn't sound normal. Unfortunately, I don't have any 1060's so I have no idea what the OC settings should be. In the meantime, just to keep mining with it how it is, you may want to disable the watchdog [in 1bash] which will keep restarting your miner as detects low GPU utilization. Hopefully somebody else can chime in and help you with the OC settings.

My 13 gpu rig 1060 3Gb OC (this runs on centos 7):
sudo nvidia-smi -pl 95
sudo nvidia-settings -a /GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1500
sudo nvidia-settings -a [gpu:8]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1400
and I don't touch the Graphics Clock here.

My rig 3 1060 + 2 970. The 1060 settings:
sudo nvidia-smi -pl 75
sudo nvidia-settings -a /GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1500
sudo nvidia-settings -a /GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=-100

in 1bash would be:


__CORE_OVERCLOCK_1=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK_1=1500

__CORE_OVERCLOCK_2=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK_2=1500

__CORE_OVERCLOCK_3=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK_3=1300

for gpus 1,2,3

mining ETC around 24000Mh/s per gpu. Temp goes around 58-65 ºC

Running time: 500 - 1000 hours

hope help as reference ;-)



It's quite interesting. Which driver version do you use?
My GPU are all GTX 1060 6Gb, and in 1bash the setups are:

POWERLIMIT_WATTS=80
__CORE_OVERCLOCK=100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=1050

I cannot get anywhere close to your settings. When the memory overclock get over 1150 I start to have crashes every 15 seconds or so.
Unless it is a driver version problem I cannot see where the problem with my setup is.
I just read that not all memory behaves the same way and that I might have non Samsung memory on my GPUs.
Is there an easy way to check for memory manufacturer on the GPUs from ubuntu?
Nope, only on windows with gpuz

Driver Version: 384.59 and 384.90
my cards have Samsung memory

Hi Stubo, Papampi and Kk03,
Just checked with GPU-Z and all my GPUs (all GTX 1060 6Gb) have Micron memory. :-/
I am tempted to return the GPUs in the hope that they will send me few with Samsung memory, but I am reading that for newer 1060 Micron is now the norm as Samsung moved their foundries to more profitable memory chip.
In other words returning the cards might be a futile exercise and the best approach is to bite the bullet and live with it.
kk003
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 04:36:39 PM
 #5074

Quote
So you could lower the threshold (I am just throwing it out there) or better yet, figure out why one GPU is not performing like the others. What are your GPUs and are all they all identical?

They are all GTX 1060, although from different manufacturers and versions. 2 with double fan and 3 with sigle fan.
The errors are coming randomly for any of the cards. Not sure if it is normal or not

That doesn't sound normal. Unfortunately, I don't have any 1060's so I have no idea what the OC settings should be. In the meantime, just to keep mining with it how it is, you may want to disable the watchdog [in 1bash] which will keep restarting your miner as detects low GPU utilization. Hopefully somebody else can chime in and help you with the OC settings.

My 13 gpu rig 1060 3Gb OC (this runs on centos 7):
sudo nvidia-smi -pl 95
sudo nvidia-settings -a /GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1500
sudo nvidia-settings -a [gpu:8]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1400
and I don't touch the Graphics Clock here.

My rig 3 1060 + 2 970. The 1060 settings:
sudo nvidia-smi -pl 75
sudo nvidia-settings -a /GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1500
sudo nvidia-settings -a /GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=-100

in 1bash would be:


__CORE_OVERCLOCK_1=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK_1=1500

__CORE_OVERCLOCK_2=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK_2=1500

__CORE_OVERCLOCK_3=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK_3=1300

for gpus 1,2,3

mining ETC around 24000Mh/s per gpu. Temp goes around 58-65 ºC

Running time: 500 - 1000 hours

hope help as reference ;-)



It's quite interesting. Which driver version do you use?
My GPU are all GTX 1060 6Gb, and in 1bash the setups are:

POWERLIMIT_WATTS=80
__CORE_OVERCLOCK=100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=1050

I cannot get anywhere close to your settings. When the memory overclock get over 1150 I start to have crashes every 15 seconds or so.
Unless it is a driver version problem I cannot see where the problem with my setup is.
I just read that not all memory behaves the same way and that I might have non Samsung memory on my GPUs.
Is there an easy way to check for memory manufacturer on the GPUs from ubuntu?
Nope, only on windows with gpuz

Driver Version: 384.59 and 384.90
my cards have Samsung memory

Hi Stubo, Papampi and Kk03,
Just checked with GPU-Z and all my GPUs (all GTX 1060 6Gb) have Micron memory. :-/
I am tempted to return the GPUs in the hope that they will send me few with Samsung memory, but I am reading that for newer 1060 Micron is now the norm as Samsung moved their foundries to more profitable memory chip.
In other words returning the cards might be a futile exercise and the best approach is to bite the bullet and live with it.

It's a pity but it seems that this is how it works since about 3 months at least
Stubo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 04:38:03 PM
 #5075

Hi Stubo, Papampi and Kk03,
Just checked with GPU-Z and all my GPUs (all GTX 1060 6Gb) have Micron memory. :-/
I am tempted to return the GPUs in the hope that they will send me few with Samsung memory, but I am reading that for newer 1060 Micron is now the norm as Samsung moved their foundries to more profitable memory chip.
In other words returning the cards might be a futile exercise and the best approach is to bite the bullet and live with it.

One thing you may want to try before returning them is mining on Windows using AfterBurner to set your OC settings. This is a bit more straightforward that configuring and troubleshooting nvOC, IMO. Once you establish a good baseline there, the powerlevel and GPU OC should translate directly to nvOC while the memory OC should work as well - although I have been getting away with an nvOC memory OC number that is ~180% of the one I use on Windows.

Hope this helps.
leenoox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 04:53:27 PM
 #5076

Hi again, fullzero and all Smiley I've got a question for you. Some of my rigs now have a problem booting from USB stick. I have many different sticks but after a month or two of normal booting some of them started to fail on booting process, I/O errors etc... I understand that this is a quality problem in most cases, but also I think it's the usecase problem. So now I'm thinking of nvOC/rxOC mod that could do network booting to completely exclude this kind of issues while using these distros. The question is - have someone tried to boot nvOC from network? If yes, please share your experience to us!

USB sticks were not designed to work as hard drives. Yes, you can use them for a while but then you will start experiencing issues like this. USB stick's memory cells can be overwritten 1000-5000 times before they give up completely or lock in read-only mode.

I know it is nice to have logging enabled for miners, for screen using the "L" option (screenlog.0), for the new web-stats feature but consider that all those generated logs are killing the USB stick. Not to forget that the linux OS is also logging a lot of things in the background.

If you want your USB stick to last longer disable as much of the logging as possible. Especially don't turn on screen logging.

If you really want the logs on and headaches off, consider switching to SSD. You invested thousands of dollars in your mining rig, $30 or $40 more for SSD wouldn't break the bank.
leenoox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 04:58:51 PM
 #5077

Hi Stubo, Papampi and Kk03,
Just checked with GPU-Z and all my GPUs (all GTX 1060 6Gb) have Micron memory. :-/
I am tempted to return the GPUs in the hope that they will send me few with Samsung memory, but I am reading that for newer 1060 Micron is now the norm as Samsung moved their foundries to more profitable memory chip.
In other words returning the cards might be a futile exercise and the best approach is to bite the bullet and live with it.

One thing you may want to try before returning them is mining on Windows using AfterBurner to set your OC settings. This is a bit more straightforward that configuring and troubleshooting nvOC, IMO. Once you establish a good baseline there, the powerlevel and GPU OC should translate directly to nvOC while the memory OC should work as well - although I have been getting away with an nvOC memory OC number that is ~180% of the one I use on Windows.

Hope this helps.

The memory OC in linux is twice the amount of that under windows. So, if you were able to OC the memory +700 under windows, you should set it to +1400 under linux.

The core clock is same under windows and linux.

The power limit is set in percentage under windows but under linux is set in watts. Be careful when setting this.
stef_stef
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 06:01:06 PM
 #5078

Someone to let me know why I am greeted with this screen?

Had some problems with OS crashing, and got this screen.

Cause I couldn't care less to resolve the issue, I made anther usb (version 19), and again... Miner crashes, PC restarts and I cannot login. Tried using miner1, password, admin, root and a blank password, but nothing works.




Look at the page 246, SSH to your rig and:
$ sudo dpkg --configure -a
$ sudo reboot

I was making another usb while I posted this yesterday, so I did not get to try the command.

Anyways, I got the same screen again today, and I am now trying to execute the commands, but I am having some problems.

I open putty, enter the the IP address (port is 22 by default) and nothing happens. I get a "network connection error" from putty. SSH is enabled in the 1bash file. What should I do?


Lastly, why do I get that screen?


EDIT: I am not able to ping it too. I get "request timed out"
Sonax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 06:29:56 PM
 #5079

Hello! I have error:
Code:
/dev/sda2: clean, 286724/901120 files 2210364/3584000 blocks
_(blink)
When switching on and stops.

How to fix the error?
HDD 1Tb, ASROCK H110 PRO BTC+, 13 GPU.
When reinstalling after a couple of reboots it stops to log in and writes this error.

I noticed, this error 400 MB is occupied, instead of 3.9 GB on the HDD.
WaveFront
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 06:51:51 PM
 #5080

Hi Stubo, Papampi and Kk03,
Just checked with GPU-Z and all my GPUs (all GTX 1060 6Gb) have Micron memory. :-/
I am tempted to return the GPUs in the hope that they will send me few with Samsung memory, but I am reading that for newer 1060 Micron is now the norm as Samsung moved their foundries to more profitable memory chip.
In other words returning the cards might be a futile exercise and the best approach is to bite the bullet and live with it.

One thing you may want to try before returning them is mining on Windows using AfterBurner to set your OC settings. This is a bit more straightforward that configuring and troubleshooting nvOC, IMO. Once you establish a good baseline there, the powerlevel and GPU OC should translate directly to nvOC while the memory OC should work as well - although I have been getting away with an nvOC memory OC number that is ~180% of the one I use on Windows.

Hope this helps.

The memory OC in linux is twice the amount of that under windows. So, if you were able to OC the memory +700 under windows, you should set it to +1400 under linux.

The core clock is same under windows and linux.

The power limit is set in percentage under windows but under linux is set in watts. Be careful when setting this.
Stubo, Leenoox,
Thanks for the pieces of advice.
I will also try to move the rig a to cooler environment, OC wise it might help.
Pages: « 1 ... 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 [254] 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!