Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:13:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 [261] 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 322289 times)
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile
November 01, 2017, 06:20:57 PM
 #5201

@damNmad:

I found a small bug in your telegram configuration. Command which use for getting GPUs count is invalid when rig have installed over 9 cards...

Your command:
Code:
GPU_COUNT=$(nvidia-smi -L | tail -n 1| cut -c 5 |awk '{ SUM += $1+1} ; { print SUM }')
and result:
Code:
m1@rig-bafomet:~$ nvidia-smi -L | tail -n 1| cut -c 5 |awk '{ SUM += $1+1} ; { print SUM }'
2

There isn't any reason, why use awk. Easier way is use wc only.

So, fix:
Code:
GPU_COUNT=$(nvidia-smi -L | wc -l')
and result:
Code:
m1@rig-bafomet:~$ nvidia-smi -L | wc -l
11

I used to use same cmd, fixed it with this one for 1.4:

Code:
nvidia-smi --query-gpu=count --format=csv,noheader,nounits | tail -1

Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BlackwidowZA
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 01, 2017, 08:56:52 PM
 #5202

Hi all

Just a quick question if a new miner version comes out does nvOC automatically download the new miner or only when there is a new nvoc system update and you knew about it to include? I’m asking as it seems that dstm zm miner is getting a lot of updates the past few weeks
MentalNomad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 01, 2017, 09:24:53 PM
 #5203

Hi all

Just a quick question if a new miner version comes out does nvOC automatically download the new miner or only when there is a new nvoc system update and you knew about it to include?

Miner updates are not automatic on nvOC.
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile
November 01, 2017, 09:52:09 PM
 #5204

dstm  zminer 5.3 is amazing,
I was getting 270 sol/s with EWBF on 1060 now getting 290

Version 0.5.3
cpu: reduce cpu load
con: fix recon loop
con: network latency measurement
ui:  add accepted/rejected shares ratio
ui:  add network latency
ui:  add information about selected devices

Linux x64:
sha1 0583d59930a6160f80db612eae089c84712b5f44
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5QcL4Z6nYEPcHRuZk5LV3NXOUE

Download
Easy workaround :
Put it in
Code:
/home/m1/zec/zm/5_2
then
Code:
chmod +x /home/m1/zec/zm/5_2/zm_miner

Or put it in
Code:
/home/m1/zec/zm/5_3
and change all 3main zm lines from 5_2 to 5_3
Code:
HCD='/home/m1/zec/zm/5_3/zm_miner'
then
Code:
chmod +x /home/m1/zec/zm/5_3/zm_miner
Stubo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
November 01, 2017, 11:14:36 PM
 #5205

dstm  zminer 5.3 is amazing,

I just rolled it out to my miners mining ZEC and I am not overly impressed once the miner reaches steady state. The initial numbers are pretty impressive but after a few minutes, it settles in to just about where 5.2 was, perhaps just a tick higher. My GPUs consist of 1070's and 1080 Ti's only.
medi91
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 06:38:17 AM
 #5206

Tried my best to search for an answer, but no luck so far...

has anyone successfully gotten rid of the login loop issue?

Ive console logged in, did a re-image, tried different versions, and every ubuntu based fix i could find online (clear and .Xauthority fixes)

Board is a HP z400 board

Try this:
press CTRL- ALT- F1 together, terminal window will open. Login as m1, pass miner1

type:
Code:
sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade && sudo reboot

Please reply with results

Unfortunately did not get rid of the login loop

Broken nvidia driver

Code:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure --all

Is there something in that dpkg menu to select in particular?
thaelin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 07:38:51 AM
 #5207

@medi91
   I did the disable updates patch and now run stable. I do get a popup that says updates are available but just dismiss.
I am by the way still at ver 19.1.2 but works so why mess with it until a 20 stable comes out.

At least now I know what caused this before when I tried to use 16.04 LTS for mining zcash. Just a broken update in the
background.

thay
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 08:55:01 AM
 #5208

Tried my best to search for an answer, but no luck so far...

has anyone successfully gotten rid of the login loop issue?

Ive console logged in, did a re-image, tried different versions, and every ubuntu based fix i could find online (clear and .Xauthority fixes)

Board is a HP z400 board

Try this:
press CTRL- ALT- F1 together, terminal window will open. Login as m1, pass miner1

type:
Code:
sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade && sudo reboot

Please reply with results

Unfortunately did not get rid of the login loop

Broken nvidia driver

Code:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure --all

Is there something in that dpkg menu to select in particular?

It should be nvidia-387 or nvidia-384 that are broken because wdog restart system when dpkg was running
damNmad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
November 02, 2017, 09:53:27 AM
 #5209

@damNmad:

I found a small bug in your telegram configuration. Command which use for getting GPUs count is invalid when rig have installed over 9 cards...

Your command:
Code:
GPU_COUNT=$(nvidia-smi -L | tail -n 1| cut -c 5 |awk '{ SUM += $1+1} ; { print SUM }')
and result:
Code:
m1@rig-bafomet:~$ nvidia-smi -L | tail -n 1| cut -c 5 |awk '{ SUM += $1+1} ; { print SUM }'
2

There isn't any reason, why use awk. Easier way is use wc only.

So, fix:
Code:
GPU_COUNT=$(nvidia-smi -L | wc -l')
and result:
Code:
m1@rig-bafomet:~$ nvidia-smi -L | wc -l
11

Thanks for pointing this out, i will update it, basically I had that for my 8 GPU rig, so never had issues with it, but now lots of people started using it, so i need to update it Smiley

▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
damNmad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
November 02, 2017, 10:01:30 AM
 #5210

So which memories are the good and which one are bad ?
I know Samsung is good, but other good ones ?

Samsung memory is best, then Micron, then Hynix.
From my experience with 1060's mining ETH
Samsung: 25 MH/s
Micron: 22 MH/s
Hynix: 19 MH/s

Unfortunately there is no way to check memory vendor under linux (yet). You have to check under Windows with GPU-Z

Thanks a lot mate
looks like I should setup a windows on an ssd to test the new cards

We could also possibly check them by testing out the various OC settings available, based on the stable results you get, you can decide which manufacturer does the memory belongs to.

Pick a card, start with samsung OC, it will fail in the first run if its not, then try with Micron, FAIL?, then Hynix.

I propose this only for people who don't have Windows machine or who don't have physical access to RIG!!

▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
damNmad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
November 02, 2017, 10:05:06 AM
 #5211

Also, can I update to the latest Claymore`s (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1433925.0) without breaking something in nvOC?

Thanks!

I just looked into this. nvOC 19-1.4 includes version 10.0 of this miner. If you want the latest as per the link, then you can download the binary (was surprised they had it instead of just source). Then you need to create subdirectory "10_1" in /home/m1/eth on your miner, put the downloaded file here and unzip/untar it. Lastly, you need to modify this line of your 1bash to use it:

Code:
CLAYMORE_VERSION="10_0"    # choose 10_0  or  9_8  or  9_7  or  9_5  or  9_4  or  8_0

to

CLAYMORE_VERSION="10_1"    # choose 10_0  or  9_8  or  9_7  or  9_5  or  9_4  or  8_0

Hope this helps.

Perfect @Stubo, feels amazing how big our community has grown and number of people supporting others has tremendously grown recently.
Quote
nvOC - Together we make it Better

This line suits nvOC


▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Stubo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 10:05:55 AM
 #5212

So, in my effort to thoroughly understand nvOC at a reasonably low level, I am stumped by one question. What is calling/launching 2unix at boot and again if 3main is killed and 2unix "falls out"?

It appears to be part of gnome-session but I am not yet familiar enough with Ubuntu to find it. I see the auto login setup in /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf but I don't see anything launching that explicitly in .bashrc or .profile. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 11:38:11 AM
 #5213

Any one has kworker high cpu usage ?
Any idea how to solve it ?


 
Code:
PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND
 1797 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  44.9  0.0   0:53.41 kworker/3:16
 6504 root      20   0       0      0      0 R  21.0  0.0   0:40.13 kworker/3:2
 6751 m1        20   0  0.170t 1.165g 0.982g S   5.6 15.0   1:27.05 ethminer

xingqiaoyin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 11:56:53 AM
 #5214

hello can anybody tell me how to mine XMR on nicehash ?
I got all result rejected by the pool ?
kk003
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 12:03:13 PM
 #5215

So, in my effort to thoroughly understand nvOC at a reasonably low level, I am stumped by one question. What is calling/launching 2unix at boot and again if 3main is killed and 2unix "falls out"?

It appears to be part of gnome-session but I am not yet familiar enough with Ubuntu to find it. I see the auto login setup in /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf but I don't see anything launching that explicitly in .bashrc or .profile. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

Guake terminal is involved
kk003
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 12:06:29 PM
 #5216

Any one has kworker high cpu usage ?
Any idea how to solve it ?


 
Code:
PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND
 1797 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  44.9  0.0   0:53.41 kworker/3:16
 6504 root      20   0       0      0      0 R  21.0  0.0   0:40.13 kworker/3:2
 6751 m1        20   0  0.170t 1.165g 0.982g S   5.6 15.0   1:27.05 ethminer


My rig with 13 1060 had a very high cpu load. Moved power limit from 75W to 95W and load went down form 6-10 to 1.8-2.5. No perfect but much better.
Stubo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 12:14:16 PM
 #5217

So, in my effort to thoroughly understand nvOC at a reasonably low level, I am stumped by one question. What is calling/launching 2unix at boot and again if 3main is killed and 2unix "falls out"?

It appears to be part of gnome-session but I am not yet familiar enough with Ubuntu to find it. I see the auto login setup in /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf but I don't see anything launching that explicitly in .bashrc or .profile. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

Guake terminal is involved

Yes. I found gnome-terminal.desktop and guake:guake.desktop in /home/m1/.config/autostart but I am still not putting all of the pieces of the puzzle together yet. I don't see any mention of 2unix being launched there.
kk003
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 12:26:36 PM
 #5218

So, in my effort to thoroughly understand nvOC at a reasonably low level, I am stumped by one question. What is calling/launching 2unix at boot and again if 3main is killed and 2unix "falls out"?

It appears to be part of gnome-session but I am not yet familiar enough with Ubuntu to find it. I see the auto login setup in /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf but I don't see anything launching that explicitly in .bashrc or .profile. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

Guake terminal is involved

Yes. I found gnome-terminal.desktop and guake:guake.desktop in /home/m1/.config/autostart but I am still not putting all of the pieces of the puzzle together yet. I don't see any mention of 2unix being launched there.

Fullzero said there is a guake special profile for nvoc. Sorry have not more info to share :-(
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 12:51:03 PM
 #5219

Any one has kworker high cpu usage ?
Any idea how to solve it ?


 
Code:
PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND
 1797 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  44.9  0.0   0:53.41 kworker/3:16
 6504 root      20   0       0      0      0 R  21.0  0.0   0:40.13 kworker/3:2
 6751 m1        20   0  0.170t 1.165g 0.982g S   5.6 15.0   1:27.05 ethminer


My rig with 13 1060 had a very high cpu load. Moved power limit from 75W to 95W and load went down form 6-10 to 1.8-2.5. No perfect but much better.

Good call, Thanks a lot.
Will give it a shot.

Edit
Thanks a lot mate, you saved my day.
So I raised 5 steps at a time, at 85 load average get to 1.5-1.8, went up to 90, 95, 100 and load went up too.
So 85 is the sweet spot for me.

Code:
Load Average: 1.60 1.83 1.83
kk003
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 02:45:01 PM
 #5220

Any one has kworker high cpu usage ?
Any idea how to solve it ?


 
Code:
PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND
 1797 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  44.9  0.0   0:53.41 kworker/3:16
 6504 root      20   0       0      0      0 R  21.0  0.0   0:40.13 kworker/3:2
 6751 m1        20   0  0.170t 1.165g 0.982g S   5.6 15.0   1:27.05 ethminer


My rig with 13 1060 had a very high cpu load. Moved power limit from 75W to 95W and load went down form 6-10 to 1.8-2.5. No perfect but much better.

Good call, Thanks a lot.
Will give it a shot.

Edit
Thanks a lot mate, you saved my day.
So I raised 5 steps at a time, at 85 load average get to 1.5-1.8, went up to 90, 95, 100 and load went up too.
So 85 is the sweet spot for me.

Code:
Load Average: 1.60 1.83 1.83

Happy...
so what was your PL and load average before modification?
Pages: « 1 ... 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 [261] 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!