Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:28:47 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 [121] 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4817496 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 23, 2011, 06:39:44 PM
 #2401

In my initial run, the fan speed of the card containing device 0 was much lower (20%) than that of the unused cards (85%); its temps, by the time I quit, were only in the upper 50s.  Did cgminer set the fan speeds of the unused cards to 85%?

No idea.  I never use auto-fan.  I have every fan set @ 75%.   

Quote
I omitted "intensity" so got the default.  Intensity is defined as "Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 10, default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)".  I don't understand what intensity really means: what is GPU "scanning"?  (Is there something I should read to get me up to speed?)  I notice a "scan-time" setting -- is that the same scanning activity that intensity controls?

If you omit intensity you get DYNAMIC which means cgminer adjusts intensive based on other computer workload.  If you have no monitors connected to any cards (i.e. using SSH remote) then for 5970s I have found intensive 8 or 9 is best.

Brief explanation of intensity.  The way OpenCL works is once it starts working it can't stop.  So you give it a job, it starts working and is completely unresponsive until it finishes.  A nonce range is 2^32 hashes so even a 400MH/s GPU would take about 10 seconds.  Most computers would die if the graphics card was unresponsive for 10 seconds so miners calculate hashes in batches.  There is some overhead in setting up a batch so longer batches (higher intensity) are slightly more efficient.  If intensity is too high it can make the system unresponsive because the video card is unavailable while hashing and that can "freak out" the OS.

Simple version:
For 5870/5970/6970/6990 try intensity 8 or 9
For lower end cards try intensity 7 or 8
If you have a monitor connected try using dynamic (or low intensity) for just that GPU.

If the system seems "laggy" or unstable try a lower intensity.


Quote
gpu-threads -- I don't know how this affects things, or what the multi-thread logic looks like or is intended to accomplish.  (I'm familiar with the uses of multi-threading in conventional CPU programming.)

The miner uses a thread to request work and keep data ready for the miner.  cgminer miner seems to gain a tiny boost in performance by using two threads which alternate access to the GPU.  I have seen no reason to every change this higher or lower.
1480890527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890527
Reply with quote  #2

1480890527
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480890527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890527
Reply with quote  #2

1480890527
Report to moderator
1480890527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890527
Reply with quote  #2

1480890527
Report to moderator
1480890527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890527
Reply with quote  #2

1480890527
Report to moderator
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2011, 07:00:41 PM
 #2402

In my initial run, the fan speed of the card containing device 0 was much lower (20%) than that of the unused cards (85%); its temps, by the time I quit, were only in the upper 50s.  Did cgminer set the fan speeds of the unused cards to 85%?

No idea.  I never use auto-fan.  I have every fan set @ 75%.   
I use auto-fan to keep the card temp steady at 70C. I've noticed that cgminer sets the fan high when it starts (for safety?) and then slowly works it down to the speed that maintains temp. I don't like that as it's really noisy for a while. I modified my code here to set the fan to moderate 55% value at start because that's not noisy but high enough that the gpu doesn't start hot, and it's close to what I end up running long term - usually 55-65% depending on how hot a day it is here.

I think what you saw was the unused devices not getting throttled back down but I don't know why that would be unless you didn't leave it run for long as it seems to take a few minutes to come back down.

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 23, 2011, 07:02:39 PM
 #2403


I also use the auto fan, because in a cool room, the card temps stay below 75 and the fan goes down significantly, lowering the overall electrical usage

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 23, 2011, 09:37:54 PM
 #2404

Brief explanation of intensity.  The way OpenCL works is once it starts working it can't stop.  So you give it a job, it starts working and is completely unresponsive until it finishes.  A nonce range is 2^32 hashes so even a 400MH/s GPU would take about 10 seconds.  Most computers would die if the graphics card was unresponsive for 10 seconds so miners calculate hashes in batches.  There is some overhead in setting up a batch so longer batches (higher intensity) are slightly more efficient.  If intensity is too high it can make the system unresponsive because the video card is unavailable while hashing and that can "freak out" the OS.

Interesting!  On all six I changed from dynamic, which was reporting I=3 or 4, mostly 4, to 7, which increased the hash rate by about 14% and power consumption by 7%.   I wonder how much we are losing in order to avoid "freaking out" an OS that is designed to work with spreadsheets, video games, and email.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 23, 2011, 09:59:25 PM
 #2405

Should I even be thinking about overclocking?  This is with spec/stock clocking on my 3x5970s:

Code:

 cgminer version 2.0.7 - Started: [2011-12-23 09:48:21]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):1968.9 (avg):1751.2 Mh/s | Q:3517  A:5930  R:29  HW:0  E:169%  U:24.07/m
 TQ: 11  ST: 13  SS: 1  DW: 182  NB: 20  LW: 13057  GF: 1  RF: 21
 Connected to http://us.eclipsemc.com:8337 with LP as user Redacted_321
 Block: 0000067a09a776bc6493cfd6fe308c8b...  Started: [13:41:44]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0: 75.5C 4535RPM | 330.9/289.9Mh/s | A:995 R:6 HW:0 U:4.04/m I:8
 GPU 1: 79.5C | 329.1/292.8Mh/s | A:998 R:1 HW:0 U:4.05/m I:8
 GPU 2: 74.0C 4045RPM | 328.9/292.6Mh/s | A:939 R:8 HW:0 U:3.81/m I:8
 GPU 3: 69.0C | 325.4/292.3Mh/s | A:993 R:4 HW:0 U:4.03/m I:8
 GPU 4: 74.5C 3498RPM | 328.1/292.1Mh/s | A:1004 R:6 HW:0 U:4.08/m I:8
 GPU 5: 78.5C | 327.0/291.9Mh/s | A:1002 R:4 HW:0 U:4.07/m I:8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GPU 0: 324.2 / 290.0 Mh/s | A:995  R:6  HW:0  U:4.04/m  I:8
[2011-12-23 13:54:54] Pool 0 communication resumed, submitting work
75.5 C  F: 85% (4535 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 1000 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 98% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2011-12-23 09:48:25]
Intensity: 8
Thread 0: 176.5 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 6: 158.0 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 1: 325.4 / 292.9 Mh/s | A:998  R:1  HW:0  U:4.05/m  I:8
79.5 C  E: 725 MHz  M: 1000 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 97% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2011-12-23 09:48:26]
Intensity: 8
Thread 1: 164.7 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 7: 147.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 2: 327.7 / 292.7 Mh/s | A:939  R:8  HW:0  U:3.81/m  I:8
74.0 C  F: 69% (4037 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 1000 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 97% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2011-12-23 09:48:27]
Intensity: 8
Thread 2: 163.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 8: 163.1 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 3: 328.9 / 292.3 Mh/s | A:993  R:4  HW:0  U:4.03/m  I:8
68.5 C  E: 725 MHz  M: 1000 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 97% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2011-12-23 09:48:28]
Intensity: 8
Thread 3: 149.4 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 9: 164.7 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 4: 326.9 / 292.1 Mh/s | A:1004  R:6  HW:0  U:4.07/m  I:8
74.5 C  F: 56% (3492 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 1000 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 97% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2011-12-23 09:48:29]
Intensity: 8
Thread 4: 165.6 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 10: 160.2 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 5: 323.4 / 291.9 Mh/s | A:1003  R:4  HW:0  U:4.07/m  I:8
78.5 C  E: 725 MHz  M: 1000 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 96% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2011-12-23 09:48:30]
Intensity: 8
Thread 5: 146.8 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 11: 148.0 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

I note that the first card, GPUs 0/1, has temps 75-80 with fan 85%.  (BTW, how is the 100% value determined?)
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
December 23, 2011, 10:21:09 PM
 #2406

Should I even be thinking about overclocking?  This is with spec/stock clocking on my 3x5970s:

It's your money...

Code:
GPU 1: 72.0C 3239RPM | 391.7/389.2Mh/s | A:18724 R:87 HW:0 U:5.35/m I:8
GPU 2: 70.5C | 387.0/380.0Mh/s | A:18137 R:86 HW:0 U:5.18/m I:8

I like more Mh/s for more BTC.  Don't forget lowering your mem clock can save on power costs.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2011, 11:09:35 PM
 #2407

I use auto-fan to keep the card temp steady at 70C. I've noticed that cgminer sets the fan high when it starts (for safety?) and then slowly works it down to the speed that maintains temp. I don't like that as it's really noisy for a while. I modified my code here to set the fan to moderate 55% value at start because that's not noisy but high enough that the gpu doesn't start hot, and it's close to what I end up running long term - usually 55-65% depending on how hot a day it is here.
You know that if you specify a single fanspeed and --auto-fan, then it will start at the fanspeed you set already instead of 85% ?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2011, 12:51:43 AM
 #2408

I use auto-fan to keep the card temp steady at 70C. I've noticed that cgminer sets the fan high when it starts (for safety?) and then slowly works it down to the speed that maintains temp. I don't like that as it's really noisy for a while. I modified my code here to set the fan to moderate 55% value at start because that's not noisy but high enough that the gpu doesn't start hot, and it's close to what I end up running long term - usually 55-65% depending on how hot a day it is here.
You know that if you specify a single fanspeed and --auto-fan, then it will start at the fanspeed you set already instead of 85% ?
Nope, had no idea. Ha ha. I'll give that a try! Thx.

Edit: I tried that but the problem with a single value is that it acts as an upper limit. If I set 50% then it starts at 50%, and will drop when cool at first, but after a while of heating up it won't go above 50% and it lets the temp rise beyond the target. It seems to treat a single value the same as 0-50 and uses it as an upper limit.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 24, 2011, 12:52:40 AM
 #2409

Should I even be thinking about overclocking?  This is with spec/stock clocking on my 3x5970s:

I note that the first card, GPUs 0/1, has temps 75-80 with fan 85%.  (BTW, how is the 100% value determined?)

0% to 100% is based on the cards max speed so it is card dependent.  Graphics cards control fans via PWM so 85% means 85% of peak current is being supplied to the fan motor.

BEFORE overclocking you need to get that memspeed way down.  Running mem @ full speed consumes a LOT of power and thus a lot of heat.  High memspeed doesn't help hashing it just increases power and heat.I run @ 190 Mhz on memclock.  You may need to experiment to find what results in best temp/speed combo.   Also before overclocking run the system for 24 hours just to ensure it is rock solid.

Then start adjusting clocks for max speed that is stable.  If this is a closed system you need some serious airflow is you are going to overclock.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 24, 2011, 01:13:35 AM
 #2410

I got 2.0.9 installed from git.  The api commands are great.  I'll send the bounty soon.

Code:
[user@miner gist-1500780]$ python cgminer-rpc.py summary
summary
{u'STATUS': [{u'STATUS': u'S', u'Msg': u'Summary', u'Code': 11, u'Description': u'cgminer 2.0.9'}], u'id': 1, u'SUMMARY': [{u'Get Failures': 0, u'Getworks': 19, u'Network Blocks': 1, u'Algorithm': u'c', u'Found Blocks': 0, u'Rejected': 0, u'Elapsed': 55, u'Discarded': 0, u'Hardware Errors': 0, u'Stale': 0, u'Accepted': 15, u'Remote Failures': 0, u'MHS av': 1005.95, u'Local Work': 0, u'Utility': 16.460000000000001}]}

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 24, 2011, 01:20:08 AM
 #2411

Interesting!  On all six I changed from dynamic, which was reporting I=3 or 4, mostly 4, to 7, which increased the hash rate by about 14% and power consumption by 7%.   I wonder how much we are losing in order to avoid "freaking out" an OS that is designed to work with spreadsheets, video games, and email.

The only system I use dynamic on is my workstation.  It has dual monitors hooked to one GPU set to dynamic.  The other 7 GPU all run at I=9.  Best of both worlds.  The GPU used by OS for desktop is always responsive and the other 7 are maxed out.  For the dedicated mining rigs I run nothing but I=9.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 24, 2011, 01:46:20 AM
 #2412

Interesting!  On all six I changed from dynamic, which was reporting I=3 or 4, mostly 4, to 7, which increased the hash rate by about 14% and power consumption by 7%.   I wonder how much we are losing in order to avoid "freaking out" an OS that is designed to work with spreadsheets, video games, and email.

The only system I use dynamic on is my workstation.  It has dual monitors hooked to one GPU set to dynamic.  The other 7 GPU all run at I=9.  Best of both worlds.  The GPU used by OS for desktop is always responsive and the other 7 are maxed out.  For the dedicated mining rigs I run nothing but I=9.
I run my dedicated miner at 8,7,8.  The system wasn't as stable with the second GPU on 8 and going to 9 on the other cards didn't affect the hash rate.

Zenitur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368


View Profile
December 24, 2011, 09:20:06 AM
 #2413

Linux users! Don't use Catalyst 11.12! I have 360 MHzsh with this in all miners, and 412 with 11.10 and AMD APP SDK 2.5. ATi Radeon 5850.
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2011, 09:33:44 AM
 #2414

Linux users! Don't use Catalyst 11.12! I have 360 MHzsh with this in all miners, and 412 with 11.10 and AMD APP SDK 2.5. ATi Radeon 5850.

Yeah, well, 11.10 has the 100% CPU bug, so I'll refrain from using that, thank you very much...

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 24, 2011, 09:50:50 AM
 #2415

11.6 + SDK 2.4 'nuf said.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2011, 10:07:58 AM
 #2416

11.6 + SDK 2.4 'nuf said.
Still the best combo.

Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 24, 2011, 09:34:35 PM
 #2417

11.6 + SDK 2.4 'nuf said.
Still the best combo.

Is this advice OS-independent -- same for Windows and Linux?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 24, 2011, 11:34:09 PM
 #2418

11.6 + SDK 2.4 'nuf said.
Still the best combo.

Is this advice OS-independent -- same for Windows and Linux?
Windows? What's that? Smiley
That's for Linux - or to be Linux specific, xubuntu 11.04 default drivers (= 11.6) + SDK 2.4

Edit: the fglrx version number is 8.840 (2:8.840-0ubuntu4) which is 11.6

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 24, 2011, 11:58:54 PM
 #2419

Is this advice OS-independent -- same for Windows and Linux?
Windows? What's that? Smiley

Windows is what I'm trying in order to get one of the two WiFi USB adapters I have working.  Gave up on Ubuntu 11.04 for that, but I'm having problems with Win7 also.  The only time one of them worked (with no driver having to be installed!) was with 10.04.  But I digress...

Quote
That's for Linux - or to be Linux specific, xubuntu 11.04 default drivers (= 11.6) + SDK 2.4

Edit: the fglrx version number is 8.840 (2:8.840-0ubuntu4) which is 11.6

Looks to me like 8.840 is about 11.4--

Here's a list I put together last night, mostly from an AMD web site page:

Catalyst 11.11   8.911   11/15/2011

Catalyst 11.10   8.902   10/31/2011

Catalyst 11.9   8.892   9/28/2011

Catalyst 11.8   8.881   8/17/2011

Catalyst 11.7   8.872   7/27/2011

Catalyst 11.6   8.861   6/15/2011

Catalyst 11.5   8.85   5/9/2011

Catalyst 11.4   8.841   4/27/2011

fglrx packages with...
Natty         8.84
Oneiric      8.881
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 25, 2011, 12:24:56 AM
 #2420

Well the driver is Mar 24 2011 - so I guess that means it could be 11.4 ...
Oh well I've never actually found anything to verify that I was told it was 11.6 Smiley

So if that is correct, then 11.4 and 2.4 Cheesy

Edit: however, the version numbers were different due to different code before 11.7
(I think it was 11.7 where the unified it - though I'm not sure)
So 8.840 could still be the equivalent of 11.6 ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 [121] 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!