Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2018, 09:03:09 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 [786] 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 ... 845 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5765819 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2014, 11:47:02 PM
 #15701

What I need is to have a complete nonce run on a given work and know that it succeeded or failed.  Or, less useful, at least know which nonce values were tried and failed.  Is there different hardware and/or software that will do this?  Or another option?
Only with CPU mining can you get a guarantee you'll check all nonces. On the other hand, the Icarus devices you know will mine from nonce 0 up to where they found the share so if you have a work item with a known nonce you can always use that. They don't return anything if they don't find a share though.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1539982989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539982989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539982989
Reply with quote  #2

1539982989
Report to moderator
You get merit points when someone likes your post enough to give you some. And for every 2 merit points you receive, you can send 1 merit point to someone else!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539982989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539982989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539982989
Reply with quote  #2

1539982989
Report to moderator
1539982989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539982989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539982989
Reply with quote  #2

1539982989
Report to moderator
h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 403
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 09, 2014, 12:00:38 AM
 #15702

ckolivas,

Any idea what might be causing my Yoli boards to behave poorly?  Also, if you need me to post more logs or different logs I'm glad to do that.  Hope all is well.

H@shKraker

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2014, 12:06:01 AM
 #15703

ckolivas,

Any idea what might be causing my Yoli boards to behave poorly?  Also, if you need me to post more logs or different logs I'm glad to do that.  Hope all is well.

H@shKraker
No idea whatsoever, but they simply do not seem to be hashing at all based on your logs. Voltage, frequency, power, heat who knows....

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
smith2199
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2014, 12:07:57 AM
 #15704

What I need is to have a complete nonce run on a given work and know that it succeeded or failed.  Or, less useful, at least know which nonce values were tried and failed.  Is there different hardware and/or software that will do this?  Or another option?
Only with CPU mining can you get a guarantee you'll check all nonces. On the other hand, the Icarus devices you know will mine from nonce 0 up to where they found the share so if you have a work item with a known nonce you can always use that. They don't return anything if they don't find a share though.

Thank you for your help and sorry to be asking more questions.

Can the difficulty level of the share be modified?  If it were set to the same difficulty level as the work, wouldn't you either get no share or find a block?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2014, 12:10:08 AM
 #15705

What I need is to have a complete nonce run on a given work and know that it succeeded or failed.  Or, less useful, at least know which nonce values were tried and failed.  Is there different hardware and/or software that will do this?  Or another option?
Only with CPU mining can you get a guarantee you'll check all nonces. On the other hand, the Icarus devices you know will mine from nonce 0 up to where they found the share so if you have a work item with a known nonce you can always use that. They don't return anything if they don't find a share though.

Thank you for your help and sorry to be asking more questions.

Can the difficulty level of the share be modified?  If it were set to the same difficulty level as the work, wouldn't you either get no share or find a block?
It's entirely hardware dependent. I suggest you only work with hardware that you know the protocol of yourself...

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
yenzae0215
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 09, 2014, 02:05:26 AM
 #15706

can i use CGMiner for mining altcoins? im just newbie in mining  Undecided

Banned**
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
December 10, 2014, 01:16:20 AM
 #15707

This has probably been asked before, but I can not seem to find it.
I have added a script (to an S3's scheduled tasks) that runs every 6 hours to restart cgminer depending on some condition, however I get the following response when the conditions are met and it tries to restart cgminer:

Code:
Reply was 'STATUS=E,When=1418173650,Code=45,Msg=Access denied to 'restart' command,Description=cgminer 4.6.1|'
[STATUS] =>
(
   [STATUS] => E
   [When] => 1418173650
   [Code] => 45
   [Msg] => Access denied to 'restart' command
   [Description] => cgminer 4.6.1
)

The critical line that call for the restart is

Code:
cgminer-api restart

Do I need to add any options to how I call the script or to the command to restart?

EDIT: OK got this figured out, I changed the PARAMS line in the file /etc/init.d/cgminer to included  --api-allow $_aa and restarted cgminer, and now I get:
Code:
Reply was 'RESTART'
[RESTART] =>
(
   [0] => RESTART
)
Though it seems the UI shows cgminer has stopped, it does not restart, I have to manually restart it. Is there a delay before cgminer restarts and / or can this be set / changed?
[/code]

adrianpiecha
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 12, 2014, 05:04:47 AM
 #15708

Hey guys, I am new to Bitcoin mining and I just got the BitMain Antminer U3, I followed the guild on how to get it up and everything but for some reason when I get to the part of actually running the CGMiner, it says that there are no devices connected. I connected my device using Zadig and everything but CGMiner doesn't see it. It doesn't even see my processor that's in my computer. I have to right version of CGMiner and everything.
If anyone knows what is wrong, please help.
Thanks in advance!
-Adrian
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 12, 2014, 08:31:37 PM
 #15709

ckolivas,

Any idea what might be causing my Yoli boards to behave poorly?  Also, if you need me to post more logs or different logs I'm glad to do that.  Hope all is well.

H@shKraker
Try only enabling one die at a time by setting the voltage to the other dies to 0. You might find you have one bad die that is preventing the whole chip from running.
altcointalk14
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 604
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 12, 2014, 11:51:12 PM
 #15710

Trying to run some Terraminer IV direct from linux usb.

I keep getting the "Notify bad match work" error.  I am running cgminer 4.8.0.

I am getting good hasrate, can I get a little better by eliminating the bad match work?  If so, how do you suggest.

Searching google about this problem, I read another comment elsewhere someone said ckolivas said to use the 4.3.4 version for Terraminers. ??  That was 5 or 6 months ago.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2014, 11:54:38 PM
 #15711

Trying to run some Terraminer IV direct from linux usb.

I keep getting the "Notify bad match work" error.  I am running cgminer 4.8.0.

I am getting good hasrate, can I get a little better by eliminating the bad match work?  If so, how do you suggest.

Searching google about this problem, I read another comment elsewhere someone said ckolivas said to use the 4.3.4 version for Terraminers. ??  That was 5 or 6 months ago.
Just ignore the warnings if the hashrate is ok. You can only decrease the errors by running them at lower speeds. Current version is fine for them, I'm just surprised you have one that still actually works since their failure rate is so high.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
altcointalk14
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 604
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 13, 2014, 01:18:16 PM
 #15712

Thank You.  Yes lots of failures.

I have a couple of the Terraminer boards that say No Temp sensor - shutting down.  The board appears to be OK besides that.  Is there any way to disable the e temp sensor requirement?  I know that I am keeping these chips in good temp range. The worst that can happen is making a bad board bad.  Smiley  Thanks again.

Shrishti
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2014, 06:42:59 AM
 #15713

What is this exactly?! Does it works?  Undecided
CoinFriend
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


support.


View Profile
December 14, 2014, 09:45:09 AM
 #15714

What is this exactly?! Does it works?  Undecided

 Shocked
LOL

- https://www.cryptopia.co.nz  - your one stop crypto shop  -
Exchange, Mineshaft, Marketplace and much more. Check it out Smiley
Antuam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 14, 2014, 04:45:20 PM
 #15715

Hello guys.

Could you do compile this version of CGMINER 4.8 for antminer S3, please?.

Thank you in advance.
Best regards.
Antuam

https://billing.time4vps.eu/?affid=3080 "- VPS hosting in Europe"
bestsponsor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 15, 2014, 08:16:34 AM
 #15716

Hello guys.

Could you do compile this version of CGMINER 4.8 for antminer S3, please?.

Thank you in advance.
Best regards.
Antuam

http://vimeo.com/113108853

greek_hephaestus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


Three Blue Dots


View Profile WWW
December 15, 2014, 03:18:49 PM
 #15717

Dear ckolivas,
Can you give us instructions of how to install cgminer 4.8 on KnC Saturn?
Thank you very much  Cheesy

Best regards

Hephaestus

pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
December 15, 2014, 03:52:01 PM
 #15718

I have asked here before but never got an answer, so I'll try again.
When I call the api from my S3 via a scheduled tasks (cron job) and a script to restart via the API call:
Code:
cgminer-api restart
cgminer stops hashing but does not restart.

The line that calls the script in scheduled tasks is:
Code:
0,30  *  *  *  *    root cd /sbin && ./hashRestart >/dev/null 2>&1

Via putty, I have run the cgminer-api vrsion command and get this (in case it is relevant).
Code:
Reply was 'STATUS=S,When=1418658181,Code=22,Msg=CGMiner versions,Description=cgminer 4.6.1|VERSION,CGMiner=4.6.1,API=3.1,Miner=7.0.0.3,CompileTime=Mon Oct 13 18:33:49 CST 2014,Type=S3|'
[STATUS] =>
(
   [STATUS] => S
   [When] => 1418658181
   [Code] => 22
   [Msg] => CGMiner versions
   [Description] => cgminer 4.6.1
)
[VERSION] =>
(
   [0] => VERSION
   [CGMiner] => 4.6.1
   [API] => 3.1
   [Miner] => 7.0.0.3
   [CompileTime] => Mon Oct 13 18:33:49 CST 2014
   [Type] => S3
)

My question is: Why is cgminer not restarting and am I missing any arguments to the API call?[/code]

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2014, 03:17:12 AM
 #15719

New release: Version 4.9.0, 16th December 2014

Mainly the Avalon4 driver.


Human readable changelog:

- Avalon 4 driver. This device has a unique usb communication chip and has Manufacturer and product id filled in so it *will* be detected reliably. As per default for cgminer it needs no command line options to work, just remember to copy your udev rules file to enable regular users access to it (or run cgminer sudo). See ASIC-README
It comes with the following options (most of which are self explanatory or you shouldn't really touch them):
--avalon4-automatic-voltage Automatic adjust voltage base on module DH                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
--avalon4-voltage   Set Avalon4 core voltage, in millivolts, step: 125                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
--avalon4-freq      Set frequency for Avalon4, 1 to 3 values, example: 45:385:370                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
--avalon4-fan       Set Avalon4 target fan speed range                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
--avalon4-temp <arg> Set Avalon4 target temperature (default: 42)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
--avalon4-cutoff <arg> Set Avalon4 overheat cut off temperature (default: 65)                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
--avalon4-polling-delay <arg> Set Avalon4 polling delay value (ms) (default: 20)                                                                                                                                                                                                                     
--avalon4-ntime-offset <arg> Set Avalon4 MM ntime rolling max offset (default: 4)                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
--avalon4-aucspeed <arg> Set Avalon4 AUC IIC bus speed (default: 400000)                                                                                                                                                                                                                             
--avalon4-aucxdelay <arg> Set Avalon4 AUC IIC xfer read delay, 4800 ~= 1ms (default: 9600)                                                                                                                                                                                                           
- Added a small change to look for null data being passed to the usb transfer in the hope of avoiding the crash with Yoli boards some are seeing.
- Added some basic duplicate share checking to try and capture them per driver and flag them as hardware errors, and filter them out.


Full changelog:

- Minor fix
- Fix MM41 voltage setting
- Fix the default settings of new module
- Count non matching stratum as a hw error on ava4
- Fix ava4 build incompatibilites and missing write config parameters
- Use strcasecmp for device matching in usbutils in case of subtle manufacturer
changes
- Add manufacturer and product definitions for ava4
- Cosmetic ava4 change
- Cosmetic ava4 message fixes
- Add sanity check for NULL data being passed to usb_perform_transfer
- All write errors should be treated as fatal for ava4 devices
- Change initial fan start speed, mins and max for avalon4 to ensure fan starts
spinning but can go lower RPM
- Disable zero length packets on ava4 before trying to init
- Add a cgpu device option to disable zero length packets and enable it for
avalon4
- Display ava4 stats consistent with other devices
- Add ava4 to udev rules file
- Fix build warnings on ava4
- Fix ava4 build
- Add Avalon4 support
- Filter duplicate stratum shares from being submitted upstream
- Do rudimentary detection of duplicate shares per device

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2014, 03:24:12 AM
 #15720

The basic output of the faulty cgminer is "clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable  All devices disabled, cannot mine!" - I have googled and read everything around this error but nothing helpful.
GPU mining was removed and support was dropped a long time ago from cgminer, please use software that is supporting it instead as you won't find help on this thread for it. I will move your post to the relevant altcoin mining section.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 [786] 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 ... 845 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!