Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 12:14:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 [733] 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3007417 times)
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:13:40 PM
 #14641

Bitcoinorama, First of all: THANK YOU, for your great reporting!

But now to the bare facts:

I have received my Jupiter today and tested it thoroughly (0.91, 0.93 and 0.94) and this on all 4 ASIC-boards as one Jupiter-system, as well as each ASIC-board separately (only connecting one board at one time). And found huge differences in the boards.

Actually only one of my Jupiter-boards is working very well, one is running more or less OK (has some Core disables), but 2 are just bad. Together they make only 390 Gh/s (the good one is 135 Gh).

Be aware that this Jupiter is cooled very well (in a Server-room with 18 C, without the case-top, and even an extra Fan blowing 18 C cool air into the Jupiter-box).  So hardware-errors due to heat problems are impossible.  Still the bad boards have about 30% of bad cores…. Reducing the optimum hashrate from 140 G/s per ASIC-board to 100 or less.

Sure the FW versions 0.91 to 0.94 are trying to “stabilize” the system, but actually it’s only disabling the faulty cores per ASIC. This disabling results in less reporting of HW-errors indeed, and so reduces the Hashrate performance as well (by disabling 30% of the cores). This disabling is also noticeable if you look at the Temperatures of the ASICS (and their Watt use). See this list (sorry, I don't know how to insert a screenshot into this post):

ASIC slot #1: 57 C
ASIC slot #2: 36 C
ASIC slot #3: 38 C
ASIC slot #4: 41 C

the one with 57 C runs very well (on its own about 135 Gh).

So looking to all other posts and reports about Jupiters running 550 Gh and others like me running only 391 or lower: You simply are lucky if you received a Jupiter with 4 good ASIC-boards (then 4 times 135 is about 540). If you have one or more not so well manufactured ASIC-boards you end up (much) lower.  I’m afraid (please ask Sam for me) that software updates will NOT solve this thing. We need to replace the hardware: more boards per Jupiter (tested at KnC before shipping) that are capable of running 140 G without Hardware-errors.
 


Let's see how do they address this Smiley

Again thank you Bitcoinorama for your reports. Too bad you only got 2 BTC as donations. You will get more!

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
1511050450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511050450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511050450
Reply with quote  #2

1511050450
Report to moderator
1511050450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511050450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511050450
Reply with quote  #2

1511050450
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511050450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511050450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511050450
Reply with quote  #2

1511050450
Report to moderator
1511050450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511050450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511050450
Reply with quote  #2

1511050450
Report to moderator
Threader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:14:06 PM
 #14642

KnC should take lessons from TAV packaging for the Redhash unit. The box is 3 times the volume of the miner with extra heavy duty cardboard and 2-5 inches of spacing between the outer box to foam to miner.

I'll take a picture of it and post. I am sure the TAV packaging wasn't cheap but my unit traveled 3500 miles between 2 couriers and was intact and no apparent damage to packaging.

the packaging KnC is using is shameful for a unit that hashes 5 times as fast and 3.5 times the cost.
Sitarow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:14:21 PM
 #14643

After a solid 24 hours running v.94 near 550 GH/s my jupiter just dropped to 400(ish).  Reboot didn't help,  temp looks normal.    Appears to be due to huge HW errors..   20+%

Giving it an hour to recover but looks like it isn't going back up.  Lost 150 GH/s..  



I am close to 24 hr mark myself.

So far the performance is the same once I supplied acquitted ventilation.
soy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


Crypterium - Digital Mobile Cryptobank For Everyon


View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:14:54 PM
 #14644


Holy shit! There's actually a joke that goes along with that, which appears a little insenstive now. And as a result a miner was actually packed in that box by mistake. I actually drew that on there myself, but I swear that left with UPS in mint condition;





Well the miner that arrive inside said box is doing just fine...




And no wonder the box was so screwed up - 'Orama personally packed it.  Heh.  By mistake?  You mean I got an extra special one?

Hey - I got the magic box - care to tell me the insensitive joke?  You're welcome to PM it to me... Grin

-R-


gigahash envy



░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀


░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀

▀  Twitter
▀  Telegram
▀  Facebook
▀  ANN Thread
▀  Whitepaper
▀  Website
cet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:18:17 PM
 #14645

Unfortunately they're all dead, but the people who picked the flattest spot in Idaho and named it Mountain Home ought to be killed. And resurrected, and killed again. And again.

[/rant]

There's a town in florida called mount dora. The highest point in the town is 144 ft above sea level.  It would have been better named 'small sand dune dora with no ocean view'
Aggrophobia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:27:01 PM
 #14646

Quote
Are these 40A Digital MegaDLynxTM: Non-Isolated DC-DC Power Modules running above 50% overload? Some of mine are above 60A.

Mine are all running with > 50A -.-
fragout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 948



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:27:14 PM
 #14647

OK, so I'm running at a steady 275Gh/s average(Saturn) with firmware ver 9.1.
Is there any reason to flash the 9.4 onto it...?

No . stay away from all but 0.91. I found it the best by far (Saturn as well)

                               
           ░▓█████████████████▓░
          ▒▓██▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒██▓▒░
      ░▒▓███▓                 ▒██▓▓▒░░    ░
▓▒███████▓▒        ░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░    ░▓▓▓██▓▓▓▒▓
▒░██▒░░         ▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▓██▓▒     ░ ▒▓▓░▓
░▒▓█▒         ▒█▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓████▓▓▒   ▒█▓▒▒
 ▒░██        ██▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒░██▒   ██▒▒
 ▓░▓█▒      ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░░▒▒▒░░▒▓██▓   ▒██░▒
 ░▓░█▓     ▓█▓▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▒   ██░▓░
  ▓▒▒█▓  ▓▒█▓▒▒▓▓▒░▒░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ █▒  ██▓░▓
   █░▒█▓ ▓███▓▒▒░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░ ▓█  ██▓ ▓
    █░▓█▓ ░██▓███▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▓██  ██▓░▓
    ░█░▒██  ░ ░▓███████▓██████▒  ██▒░▓
      █▒░██▓      ░▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒░   ▓██░▒▓
       ▓▓░▒██▒               ▒██▓░▓▓
        ░█▓░▓██▒           ▒██▓░▓█░
          ▒█▓░▓██▓       ▓██▓▒▓█▒
            ▒█▓▒▒███░ ▒███▒▒▓█▒
              ▒██▓▒▓███▓▒▒██▒
                ░▓██▒▒▒███░
                   ▒███▒














kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:28:39 PM
 #14648

Bitcoinorama,

I appreciate all the useful information you are providing on this forum. Keep up the good work!

You said:
"Any customers that purchased for October are being delivered in October. Any customers after, will get theirs in November, after a month’s gap. No special treatment."

Do you know if the month gap is an artificial delay to protect the profits of early orders, or is there another reason for the month delay from mid October to mid November?
Emmie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:35:31 PM
 #14649

OK, so I'm running at a steady 275Gh/s average(Saturn) with firmware ver 9.1.
Is there any reason to flash the 9.4 onto it...?

No . stay away from all but 0.91. I found it the best by far (Saturn as well)

He could try. My Saturn seems to be as stable on 0.93 as 0.91, so I'm using 0.93 since it has a lower power usage. (0.94 didn't go as smooth though)
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:35:55 PM
 #14650

After a solid 24 hours running v.94 near 550 GH/s my jupiter just dropped to 400(ish).  Reboot didn't help,  temp looks normal.    Appears to be due to huge HW errors..   20+%

Giving it an hour to recover but looks like it isn't going back up.  Lost 150 GH/s..  



I am close to 24 hr mark myself.

So far the performance is the same once I supplied acquitted ventilation.


Sadly I don't think many users will want to do what we went through Sitarow, but it is the truth

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
Puppet
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:36:04 PM
 #14651

Thanks for posting that, that actually appears to have been damaged purposely and maliciously,

Dont be silly. Its clear some other boxes were dropped on top of that one. Sturdier boxes I might add, KnC really should use better packaging.

From what height prey tell??!

Also why would a box be dropped clearly on top of the side of the unit when there are obvious arrows pointing in the direction of 'up'.

If its heavy enough, no more than one meter, with the corner first; The KnC cardboard box isnt supported by anything there it really wouldnt take much to rupture it.
Why dont you try it? Take an empty box, drop a sharp square object, say a PC case or something on it from 1 meter at an angle, see what happens.

Not saying the UPS guys have treated it nicely, but the last time I ordered a printer from amazon, it was packaged well enough that I am fairly confident I could drop it from 5m on concrete with no damage to printer. They do that for a reason.
joeventura
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 08:43:16 PM
 #14652

orama,

So you have not accepted a role with KNC yet is that correct?

If so, what is the position on the fact that they clearly are going to miss getting all orders out the door by the 15th,
is there going to be some compensation?


BitCoinRateWatcher.com One stop for latest rates from MtGox, Bitstamp, CampBx, Coinbase and Bitpay all on one mobile friendly screen.
AFox
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 509



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 09:03:09 PM
 #14653



I have a Saturn with 0.94 firmware.
The speed and HW are good but the consumption is horrible, 482.7 watts. Shouldn't it be near 200 watts Huh

What power supply are you using?  What is your mains (outlet) voltage?
I assume the 482.7W is measured at the wall (kill-a-watt meter or equivalent).  From the web interface there should be a way to see the DC power used can you see how that compares to the 482.7W?

I'm using a Corsair CX600 rated 80Plus Bronze, on 230 volts and 50 Hz.
Yes, measured at the wall with a kill-a-watt equivalent.
For the DC power in the web interface, you need to install the BertMod firmware mod. For the moment I prefer to stay cautious and not install that mod.
Finally, i'm happy even with that consumption, it's hashing pretty well, it's been more than 24h :


My lucky BTC address : 1LoTTerY3WYbGxVRHvh8oDudDdTxFvvqWF
Minor Miner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


★ BitClave ICO: 08/11/17 ★


View Profile
October 10, 2013, 09:11:11 PM
 #14654

Ohh no no no, Marcus is still foaming at the mouth w.r.t. Fedex. A few days before the 30th and Fedex sent the Beagle bones to France, instead of Sweden, then lied about the whereabouts several times. He will never use Fedex ever again. DHL are the guys that saved everyone's asses w.r.t. BealeBones and ASICs, and they want to handle the deliveries from Nov.
de gualle airport is fedex's hub in the EU much like memphis is their air hub in the USA.   


                  ,'#██+:                 
              ,█████████████'             
            +██████████████████           
          ;██████████████████████         
         ███████:         .███████`       
        ██████               ;█████'      
      `█████                   #████#     
      ████+                     `████+    
     ████:                        ████,   
    ████:    .#              █     ████   
   ;███+     ██             ███     ████  
   ████     ███'            ███.    '███, 
  +███     #████           ,████     ████ 
  ████     █████ .+██████: █████+    `███.
 ,███     ███████████████████████     ████
 ████     ███████████████████████'    :███
 ███:    +████████████████████████     ███`
 ███     █████████████████████████`    ███+
,███     ██████████████████████████    #███
'███    '██████████████████████████    ;███
#███    ███████████████████████████    ,███
████    ███████████████████████████.   .███
████    ███████████████████████████'   .███
+███    ███████████████████████████+   :███
:███    ███████████████████████████'   +███
 ███    ███████████████████████████.   ███#
 ███.   #██████████████████████████    ███,
 ████    █████████████████████████+   `███
 '███    '████████████████████████    ████
  ███;    ███████████████████████     ███;
  ████     #████████████████████     ████ 
   ███#     .██████████████████     `███+ 
   ████`      ;██████████████       ████  
    ████         '███████#.        ████.  
    .████                         █████   
     '████                       █████    
      #████'                    █████     
       +█████`                ██████      
        ,██████:           `███████       
          ████████#;,..:+████████.        
           ,███████████████████+          
             .███████████████;            
                `+███████#,               
dextryn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 09:26:08 PM
 #14655

CRAP!  My shipment just updated and it is now set for delivery on monday instead of tomorrow....Sad
pacojones
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 09:28:27 PM
 #14656

CRAP!  My shipment just updated and it is now set for delivery on monday instead of tomorrow....Sad

CRAP!  My order hasn't been built yet Sad

faetos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 582

gotta let a coin be a coin


View Profile
October 10, 2013, 09:30:27 PM
 #14657

why is the miner setting page totally blank?

This happens in the original release if you have added more than one pool to the cgminer config file.

EDIT:

Throwing them around like the box in my pictures ??

http://imgur.com/a/s44NM



mine as well, even after I begged them to ship the fans and heatsinks unassembled





one or two out of 8 ain't bad for these guys!!!!





Hey, at least you got something to look at and bitch about Wink Glad you got your stuff, man.
huadylmate
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
October 10, 2013, 09:42:18 PM
 #14658

CRAP!  My shipment just updated and it is now set for delivery on monday instead of tomorrow....Sad

CRAP!  My order hasn't been built yet Sad




Dont worry, dextryn unit hasn't been built yet as well  Smiley

And I receive mine next month ! HOLY CRAP!
demonmaestro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Mining for the hell of it.


View Profile
October 10, 2013, 09:46:15 PM
 #14659

Mine still says Paid..  Undecided They got 5 days to get it to me.

A fun ShoutBox. http://shoutscloud.com | Feel Like Donating? 1E1tJhAHVLCyw58pN7jXSFMLMrK6cDhw8v
Buy/Sell BitCoin & LiteCoin  Click here! | Looking for a great exchange? CoinBase Has you covered.
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 09:52:37 PM
 #14660


Hey, at least you got something to look at and bitch about Wink Glad you got your stuff, man.

and all that talk of picking a phrase to go on the PCBs when the one thing we will all remember are the images of spilled fans!

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
Pages: « 1 ... 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 [733] 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!