Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 07:59:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 [758] 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3006406 times)
rrrix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 08:55:57 PM
 #15141

Yikes  Shocked

HX850: It's not just frying Jupiters

https://www.google.com/search?q=site:forum.corsair.com+HX850#q=site%3Aforum.corsair.com+HX850+fried
1510948779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948779
Reply with quote  #2

1510948779
Report to moderator
1510948779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948779
Reply with quote  #2

1510948779
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510948779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948779
Reply with quote  #2

1510948779
Report to moderator
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 08:56:48 PM
 #15142


What denial? What head in the sands?? They worked their asses off to improve the issue, and ignored the FUD. The extra fans just waste electricity. The temps quoted from Bertmod were from the VRMs not the ASIC. Please explain what trainwreck exactly? They, in a week have delivered more hashrate than BFL have to date, and more boxes than Avalon ever achieved. They have just released an update that massively improves hashrate. It was a firmware, not a cooling issue. One week. Fair enough if you don't want to deal with them again, their engineering partners on this project think they are incredible, really. That's not hype.

I went from ~410 to ~510 BY COOLING

yes, you are in denial

they should of tested and created .95 before saving money taking off the 4 VRMs

FACT


~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 08:58:35 PM
 #15143



I bought this (sry for bad pic)
I didnt take much notice at the time, but the jumper is set to pin 4 and pin 6 unlike the setup suggested in the manual of pin 4 and 5
I also have the 8vrm boards and the 6 connection controller board

http://thumbs4.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/mgjVeAWKwqzEQE7SmKpr4Jg.jpg[/img]

I bought that too. Is there something wrong with the configuration? Should i change the pins? Do you have problems with yours?

There is nothing wrong with that jumper, the pinout looks to be correct.  Its not as pretty or as functional as mine but hey.  Wink

Well, is there any expert who can say what is the difference between shorting pin 4 & 6 vs. 4 & 5. Most people use pins 4 & 5 no? I think I might pull the pin out of the one i have to reconfigure it from 4 &6 to 4 & 5. I don't know

In addition, was Redacted right that one should disconnect the paperclip or one of these things before turning off the PSU power switch?

I already point it out thread.

First of all it isn't pin 4, 5, or 6 (pins #1 to #12 is the first row and pins #13 to #24 are on the second row).  The first row is opposite the "clip" and the second row is the side with the clip.  The PS-ON pin is #16.  On 99% of PSU it will be the only green wire.  When PS_ON (#16) is connected to ground (any ground) it will "turn on"* the PSU




Any ground pin will work equally fine. As you can see in the pinout above there are multiple ground pins in the ATX-24 connector and they all are exactly the same (the all connect to the ground plane of the PSU).  You are just completing a circuit from the positive voltage on pin #16 to any ground.  What you call #5 & #6 are #17 & #18 and they are both ground pins, either one is fine.   For the record pins #3, #5, #15, #17, #18, #19, and #24 are all grounds, connecting pin #16 to any one of those will complete the power on circuit.  Hell you could even connect a wire from PS_ON to a bare screw on the power supply and it would work (UL listed PSU means the metal chassis is also grounded).



* I use word "turn on" but technically the PSU is always on unless unplugged or it has a physical power disconnect switch.  Internally it is energized and it is sending power to the 5VSB "standby" pin at all times.  Connecting the PS_ON pin to ground pulls the voltage low and the PSU is "looking" for that event to energize the output rails.  Sometimes you can here a click if you jumper PS_ON after PSU is powered on (don't do this with equipment connected).  That click is the power supply switching a relay which turns the output rails on or off.
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 08:58:49 PM
 #15144

What denial? What head in the sands?? They worked their asses off to improve the issue. The extra fans just waste electricity. The temps quoted from Bertmod were from the VRMs not the ASIC. Please explain what trainwreck exactly? They, in a week have delivered more hashrate than BFL have to date, and more boxes than Avalon ever achieved. They have just released an update that massively improves hashrate. It was a firmware, not a cooling issue. One week. Fair enough if you don't want to deal with them again, their engineering partners on this project think they are incredible, really. That's not hype.


'Orama I'm well aware of this, and I think they did a terrific work. Kudos to KnC crew.

Having said that try walking in KnC's customers shoes, really.

There were long days without no news at all a part from piece of info that comes from emails received by customers, Anotherohst.se admins on IRC channels. You can imagine that this the best situation for pure and wild speculation. Do you agree?

To this add the pressure everybody felt due to diff going higher and higher.

That's why people are freaking out.

Finally I wanna thank you personally for the work you've done so far. it was very helpfull to me.

 

 

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 08:58:52 PM
 #15145


Thanks for this, i'll pass it on.

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
FractionalReserve
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 08:59:32 PM
 #15146

HX 850 and HX 1050 is of same design, only difference is output as far as I know. So maybe it would be better to say be careful with the Corsair HX series.

Bitcoinorama, if I understand you correctly the issue only occurs after the ATX has shut down autoamtically.
When you then restart them they will do something odd, (i.e Voltage spike or something, Current surge seems odd as this would be an err on the Jupiter side).
this odd thing they are doing are frying the caps (Voltage spike => current surge) ore somethin.


This is exactly how our board was fried.

ATX shut down due to overload (Huh?)

When restarted... boom, smokes and fireworks.


did I get you right?
crumbs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:00:00 PM
 #15147


And here he's correct.  If the VRM is designed to withstand 100 C, cooling it from 80 to 40 makes no difference.  

Do you read before trolling???  the chips are rated for 100C not the VRMs

but even regarding the chips, just because it can work at 100C ...  oh never mind.. back to ignore

Ask someone to read this for you, pl0x!

...
The temps ascertained by the BertMod (great work that man), reveal the voltage regulator temps, and not the ASIC. The voltage regulators can handle in excess of 100 degrees Celsius - ambient (surrounding environment) - so blowing a fan on them is pointless.
...
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:01:28 PM
 #15148

HX 850 and HX 1050 is of same design, only difference is output as far as I know. So maybe it would be better to say be careful with the Corsair HX series.

Bitcoinorama, if I understand you correctly the issue only occurs after the ATX has shut down autoamtically.
When you then restart them they will do something odd, (i.e Voltage spike or something, Current surge seems odd as this would be an err on the Jupiter side).
this odd thing they are doing are frying the caps (Voltage spike => current surge) ore somethin.


This is exactly how our board was fried.

ATX shut down due to overload (Huh?)

When restarted... boom, smokes and fireworks.


did I get you right?

Precisely, that's what the GE guy stated. He said they surge for 30 seconds after reset, but after such time they are ok to switch off and on again, but by that time if your boards are connected, pop.

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
merv77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:04:18 PM
 #15149

0.95 firmware seem to be working perfectly, power consumption, hash rate, rejects and hardware errors all improved 100%, ok, ok, I'm kidding... about 95%  Grin Grin Grin
4 VRMs seem to be doing fine, but I've only been running for a few minutes, but looking great so far.

/joke
oh yeh, I realize why KnC removed the VRMs, they need to find Orama's wages from somewhere... I guess Orama doesn't come cheap, you know what those VRMs cost.... 
It costs for quality just like Orama  Wink   Did I just come up with the new slogan for the board.. Huh Huh
/joke
Bargraphics
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Every man is guilty of all the good he did not do.


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:05:02 PM
 #15150

Hosting Update:

0.95 FW update on my hosted units worked and they all seem to be hashing between 450-550GH.

1 out of the 11 is dead or unresponsive

1 might be having issues with going down randomly but I'm monitoring this one.

9 out of 11 going strong so far.

Did 0.95 fix anyone else that had KnC Hosting/datacenter issues?
crumbs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:06:19 PM
 #15151

HX 850 and HX 1050 is of same design, only difference is output as far as I know. So maybe it would be better to say be careful with the Corsair HX series.

Bitcoinorama, if I understand you correctly the issue only occurs after the ATX has shut down autoamtically.
When you then restart them they will do something odd, (i.e Voltage spike or something, Current surge seems odd as this would be an err on the Jupiter side).
this odd thing they are doing are frying the caps (Voltage spike => current surge) ore somethin.


This is exactly how our board was fried.

ATX shut down due to overload (Huh?)

When restarted... boom, smokes and fireworks.


did I get you right?

Precisely, that's what the GE guy stated. He said they surge for 30 seconds after reset, but after such time they are ok to switch off and on again, but by that time if your boards are connected, pop.

Was this fault reproduced in Da Lab?  Scope/volt logger?
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:06:29 PM
 #15152

0.95 firmware seem to be working perfectly, power consumption, hash rate, rejects and hardware errors all improved 100%, ok, ok, I'm kidding... about 95%  Grin Grin Grin
4 VRMs seem to be doing fine, but I've only been running for a few minutes, but looking great so far.

/joke
oh yeh, I realize why KnC removed the VRMs, they need to find Orama's wages from somewhere... I guess Orama doesn't come cheap, you know what those VRMs cost.... 
It costs for quality just like Orama  Wink   Did I just come up with the new slogan for the board.. Huh Huh
/joke


Email this to Sam, he's unlikely to see this otherwise! Wink

Anyway I got to grab some shut eye. I'm an hour from where i'm staying and I need to grab 5 hours shut eye so I can let the GE guy in to work his magic tomo. Night!

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:07:48 PM
 #15153

HX 850 and HX 1050 is of same design, only difference is output as far as I know. So maybe it would be better to say be careful with the Corsair HX series.

Bitcoinorama, if I understand you correctly the issue only occurs after the ATX has shut down autoamtically.
When you then restart them they will do something odd, (i.e Voltage spike or something, Current surge seems odd as this would be an err on the Jupiter side).
this odd thing they are doing are frying the caps (Voltage spike => current surge) ore somethin.


This is exactly how our board was fried.

ATX shut down due to overload (Huh?)

When restarted... boom, smokes and fireworks.


did I get you right?

Precisely, that's what the GE guy stated. He said they surge for 30 seconds after reset, but after such time they are ok to switch off and on again, but by that time if your boards are connected, pop.

Was this fault reproduced in Da Lab?  Scope/volt logger?

Of course! The tube screeny thing with a pen that you can never get the football on since all TV went digital, right?

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
crumbs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:13:05 PM
 #15154

HX 850 and HX 1050 is of same design, only difference is output as far as I know. So maybe it would be better to say be careful with the Corsair HX series.

Bitcoinorama, if I understand you correctly the issue only occurs after the ATX has shut down autoamtically.
When you then restart them they will do something odd, (i.e Voltage spike or something, Current surge seems odd as this would be an err on the Jupiter side).
this odd thing they are doing are frying the caps (Voltage spike => current surge) ore somethin.


This is exactly how our board was fried.

ATX shut down due to overload (Huh?)

When restarted... boom, smokes and fireworks.


did I get you right?

Precisely, that's what the GE guy stated. He said they surge for 30 seconds after reset, but after such time they are ok to switch off and on again, but by that time if your boards are connected, pop.

Was this fault reproduced in Da Lab?  Scope/volt logger?

Of course! The tube screeny thing with a pen that you can never get the football on since all TV went digital, right?

For der fine werke like PSs, a $100 usb scope, a grabbyclip probe & a laptop Smiley

Edit:  still find it difficult to believe that a brand name commercial PS that powered countless mobos without a hiccup turns out to be out of spec.  Or were the caps bought at a Thai massage parlor?
Mota
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 800


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:15:13 PM
 #15155

I get the feeling Orama has me on his ignore list since he responded to pretty much everything except my posts Cheesy

Who wants to be a billionaire? Me!
You could help Wink 1Dvja1RFCqxdnYRgjTntwGvdCeUisU4xp
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:15:18 PM
 #15156

mine core is dead only work with 0.90 and 0.91
i can not understand why?

Temperature sensor: 30.0 C

Die ID   Cores ON   Cores OFF   %
0   0   48   0
1   0   48   0
2   0   48   0
3   0   48   0
ur0pl
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:15:25 PM
 #15157

I already point it out thread.

First of all it isn't pin 4, 5, or 6 (#1 to #12 is the first row).  The PS-ON pin is #16.  When it is connected to ground  (and ground) that will pull the voltage low.  This is the "signal" to the PSU to power the output rails ("turn on" although that isn't technically correct).


Any ground pin will work equally fine. As you can see in the pinout above there are multiple ground pins in the ATX-24 connector and they all are exactly the same.  You are just completing a circuit from the positive voltage on pin #16 to any ground.  What you call #5 & #6 are #17 & #18 and they are both ground pins.  So is the next pin (#19) and the one of the other side of PS_ON (#15) as well as both of the pins diagonally (#3 & #5).  Hell you could even connect a wire from PS_ON to a bare screw on the power supply and it would work (UL listed PSU means the metal chassis is also grounded).


1) You explained it best when you said that kncminer guide that says pin 4 &5 and the guy who posted here who said pin 4&6 are actually meaning pin 16/14 and a ground pin, they are reading it wrong and backwards. I do not understand why they are doing that, but they are. You , yourself, are actually getting the pin numbers incorrect too -- saying #15, so i guess it is common.

2) What about taking the jumper out before turning off the PSU, is that good? it is what Redacted on here recommended.
fragout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 948



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:17:35 PM
 #15158

Just to clear here. Does the engineer think its a Corsair problem or a Corsair HX problem. I have a Corsair AX1200
tks

                               
           ░▓█████████████████▓░
          ▒▓██▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒██▓▒░
      ░▒▓███▓                 ▒██▓▓▒░░    ░
▓▒███████▓▒        ░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░    ░▓▓▓██▓▓▓▒▓
▒░██▒░░         ▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▓██▓▒     ░ ▒▓▓░▓
░▒▓█▒         ▒█▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓████▓▓▒   ▒█▓▒▒
 ▒░██        ██▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒░██▒   ██▒▒
 ▓░▓█▒      ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░░▒▒▒░░▒▓██▓   ▒██░▒
 ░▓░█▓     ▓█▓▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▒   ██░▓░
  ▓▒▒█▓  ▓▒█▓▒▒▓▓▒░▒░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ █▒  ██▓░▓
   █░▒█▓ ▓███▓▒▒░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░ ▓█  ██▓ ▓
    █░▓█▓ ░██▓███▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▓██  ██▓░▓
    ░█░▒██  ░ ░▓███████▓██████▒  ██▒░▓
      █▒░██▓      ░▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒░   ▓██░▒▓
       ▓▓░▒██▒               ▒██▓░▓▓
        ░█▓░▓██▒           ▒██▓░▓█░
          ▒█▓░▓██▓       ▓██▓▒▓█▒
            ▒█▓▒▒███░ ▒███▒▒▓█▒
              ▒██▓▒▓███▓▒▒██▒
                ░▓██▒▒▒███░
                   ▒███▒














rolling
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 440



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:20:59 PM
 #15159

We all bought an unrefined product did we? Odd, I didn't see those words or anything like that when I paid for mine.
Not in any of the back patting videos or interviews either.

We bought a miner that we were told confidently would have margins upon margins capable of 400Gh and even today no-one has said that this (and the oct 15th date) has changed. Except of course to up it to 550 on the site and most promos ...which currently is false advertising ..as the past 20 pages here bear witness to.

As for all this shite about power consumption...right now is that a big priority to get down? I'd rather have a hashing rig while it's making enough BTC to make a few quid power bill extra irrelevent..later on the power consumption will matter more but not initially compared to a working rig. As long as the PSU handles it, we can wait for a firmware fix to get it down. Hashing reliably without smoke is the priority for users.

The sarcastic tone of Oramas post amazed me, people using fans to reduce temps ..planking? It worked. How bizarre is that? More to the fucking point no-one was talking from KNC end despite much asking...so what else were people to do? "We have a specialist flying in and we'll get back to you as soon as we know something."  < see, took me 3 seconds to type that, and even some poor sweaty overworked KnC human could manage that surely?

The way to deal with trainwrecks like this isn't arrogance, sarcasm and silence ..it's communication and apologies and in many cases here where buyers have been so badly let down with multi hosted jupiters...fair compensation.

I wont deal with KnC again, nothing to do with the rigs, it's the denial and head in the sand stuff I can't be living with.



+1

What denial? What head in the sands?? They worked their asses off to improve the issue, and ignored the FUD. The extra fans just waste electricity. The temps quoted from Bertmod were from the VRMs not the ASIC. Please explain what trainwreck exactly? They, in a week have delivered more hashrate than BFL have to date, and more boxes than Avalon ever achieved. They have just released an update that massively improves hashrate. It was a firmware, not a cooling issue. One week. Fair enough if you don't want to deal with them again, their engineering partners on this project think they are incredible, really. That's not hype.

C'mon, you seem intelligent enough to understand that not giving an update to your customers when something is delayed is poor business.  Each day that I don't have my miner after 30 Sep is another day that it is late.  Today is the 11th/12th of October.  I do NOT have a tracking number and I have a day 2 order.  I will be very lucky to get my day 2 order by Oct 15th.  I should have gotten at least 12 updates/explanations/apologies since the 30th but I have not gotten 1.  All I get is canned responses from KNC support saying everything is progressing nicely as the days fly by.  Again, we are talking about an order that was marked as "This order has been scheduled for Shipping on day 2 of production".  What day of production are we on?  Where is my compensation or at the very least an explanation.  It would look like this:

"Hello Mr. ____________,

We apologize but your order will not ship again today.  There have been reports of units catching fire, overheating, locking up, and just generally under-performing so we have decided to stop shipping any further units until we figure this shit out.  As compensation for this delay we will provide you a voucher for 5% off your next order for each day your unit is late.  If we are 20 days late, your next order is absolutely free.

Again, sorry for the delay."

They may be doing amazing engineering but they are doing piss-poor business.

Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 09:23:16 PM
 #15160

I already point it out thread.

First of all it isn't pin 4, 5, or 6 (#1 to #12 is the first row).  The PS-ON pin is #16.  When it is connected to ground  (and ground) that will pull the voltage low.  This is the "signal" to the PSU to power the output rails ("turn on" although that isn't technically correct).
http://www.mupuf.org/images/wt-rpm/connector_atx_pinout.gif[/img]

Any ground pin will work equally fine. As you can see in the pinout above there are multiple ground pins in the ATX-24 connector and they all are exactly the same.  You are just completing a circuit from the positive voltage on pin #16 to any ground.  What you call #5 & #6 are #17 & #18 and they are both ground pins.  So is the next pin (#19) and the one of the other side of PS_ON (#15) as well as both of the pins diagonally (#3 & #5).  Hell you could even connect a wire from PS_ON to a bare screw on the power supply and it would work (UL listed PSU means the metal chassis is also grounded).


1) You explained it best when you said that guides that say pin 4 &5 or 4&6 are actually meaning pin 16/14 and a ground pin, they are reading it wrong and backwards. I do not understand why they are doing that, but they are. You , yourself, are actually getting the pin numbers incorrect too -- saying #15, so i guess it is common.

2) What about taking the jumper out before turning off the PSU, is that good? it is what Redacted on here recommended.

You do not need to remove the jumper when shutting off the PSU. It doesn't change anything except you will not be able to turn the PSU back on without it.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
Pages: « 1 ... 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 [758] 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!