Bitcoin Forum
May 28, 2015, 11:58:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.10.2 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What miner backend do you use with GUIMiner?
OpenCL (poclbm) - 1386 (46.9%)
Phoenix - 339 (11.5%)
ufasoft CPU miner - 172 (5.8%)
puddinpop RPC Miner - 43 (1.5%)
Other - 173 (5.9%)
Don't know - 841 (28.5%)
Total Voters: 2952

Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GUI mining - updated Dec 3 with 7970 bugfix, also supports Stratum!  (Read 2660501 times)
someone703
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile

Ignore
February 08, 2012, 06:27:19 PM
 #1141

Well, from my understanding (which is very little lol), you can use an OpenCL miner or a Phoenix miner within GUIMiner.

If you use a Phoenix miner does it still use the OpenCL kernel?  Because I've had weird occurrences when I used the Phoenix miner.

Sold To: aggrojosh, FreeMoney (x2), challengeaccepted, the joint, TECHSHARE, BurntSnow, yrral, serp, waterskeer, jduck1987, grue (x2)

Bought From: bcjunkie, newdude, Zakcy, frank90, Chinaski, Cookie_Monster, DandoRealIta, Globes (x2), recursive

Leant To: kais3r (ended up being a scammer), jjzm

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1432814290
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1432814290

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1432814290
Reply with quote  #2

1432814290
Report to moderator
Sannyasi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 10, 2012, 03:24:01 AM
 #1142

Well, from my understanding (which is very little lol), you can use an OpenCL miner or a Phoenix miner within GUIMiner.

If you use a Phoenix miner does it still use the OpenCL kernel?  Because I've had weird occurrences when I used the Phoenix miner.

i'd like to know how to do this if anyone knows how

1DxP5iL6hN5Gd3cwmDz9uFSntW8ALBQaGK

http://gamerkeys.net/common/home.htm <- the best place to get games!

my portfoio: http://windowsofamind.com
Idzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile

Ignore
February 10, 2012, 07:25:48 PM
 #1143

Well the new opencl files have beeb released anyone know how to fix guiminer?

Successful Transactions with: 21after2
someone703
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile

Ignore
February 10, 2012, 07:47:40 PM
 #1144

Well, from my understanding (which is very little lol), you can use an OpenCL miner or a Phoenix miner within GUIMiner.

If you use a Phoenix miner does it still use the OpenCL kernel?  Because I've had weird occurrences when I used the Phoenix miner.

i'd like to know how to do this if anyone knows how

Click File -> New Miner -> New OpenCL/Phoenix Miner or whichever you prefer.

At least that's how I think it works...

Well the new opencl files have beeb released anyone know how to fix guiminer?

I would like to know this as well to figure out if the weird things I've been experiencing with GUIMiner is a result of openCL or something else entirely.

Sold To: aggrojosh, FreeMoney (x2), challengeaccepted, the joint, TECHSHARE, BurntSnow, yrral, serp, waterskeer, jduck1987, grue (x2)

Bought From: bcjunkie, newdude, Zakcy, frank90, Chinaski, Cookie_Monster, DandoRealIta, Globes (x2), recursive

Leant To: kais3r (ended up being a scammer), jjzm
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


Firstbits: 18tkn


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 10, 2012, 08:23:22 PM
 #1145

I'm still using the one from May of 2011... works fine.

Fuzzy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile

Ignore
February 10, 2012, 11:31:43 PM
 #1146


so far as i can see:

guiminer-20110824.exe seems to be the poclbm-broken-one

guiminer-20110701.exe is poclbm-o.k. and does his good mining-job  Grin

I swithed, and it submits shares now, but I went from 1.45 GHs to 1.35 GHs...

Two months after I finally got everything running properly, gotta start fiddling with it again....  Undecided
Schwede65
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile

Ignore
February 12, 2012, 01:08:29 AM
 #1147


so far as i can see:

guiminer-20110824.exe seems to be the poclbm-broken-one

guiminer-20110701.exe is poclbm-o.k. and does his good mining-job  Grin

I swithed, and it submits shares now, but I went from 1.45 GHs to 1.35 GHs...

Two months after I finally got everything running properly, gotta start fiddling with it again....  Undecided

my experience is, that both versions 07+08 nearly do the same hashrate on poclbm.

the 08-version does not show any stales, so i updated only a two rigs, the others kept the 07

when the poclbm-problem comes up, i changed from 08- to 07-version...

you have still the same catalyst-version on the rig as before changing the versions?
martychubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


wiki distributed computing @MartyChubbs


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 12, 2012, 06:52:32 PM
 #1148

Switching to the Phoenix kernel using GUIminer is not a fix for poclbm kernel error found in 8.  Poclbm compiled for python has been fixed but I think it has not been compiled as a GUI for windows (what kiv did.) So use the command line version of poclbm compiled for windows and the steps outlined here:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1334.msg738177#msg738177

to mine with poclbm and us can use the same switches as guiminer 08 and not have to learn Phoenix switches.

Donate if it helped or you feel like helping, cause every btc goes to saving the kids and helping global warming!

vtc.ProjectXPPS.com - Vertcoin's 1st PPS Pool...afaik Wink
Littleshop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 13, 2012, 01:21:08 AM
 #1149

I love this tool but the switch to phoenix has really screwed me.  The increased heat actually shut down one of my miners and others have been less reliable.  Most of my miners would run for MONTHS at a time without problems, now they seem to be going offline in just a few days.

I am migrating to CGMINER as a DOS command and so far find it pretty impressive.  I do not have a long term view yet of course. 


ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile

Ignore
February 13, 2012, 06:33:34 AM
 #1150

There are so many misused phrases in this thread. Phoenix kernel? What is this I don't even

If I helped you, please consider donating some BTC my way! 1FVLZTwSiAsf9z9dLZcfEuBY59HQprFJwQ
I am a long time trusted user: Bitcointalk forum trust ratings, Bitcoin-OTC Ratings, eBay Feedback, and Localbitcoins public profile.
martychubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


wiki distributed computing @MartyChubbs


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 13, 2012, 07:08:44 AM
 #1151

There are so much misused phrases

That is kind of ignorant...I'd explain, but I am already offended. Wink

vtc.ProjectXPPS.com - Vertcoin's 1st PPS Pool...afaik Wink
bradminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile

Ignore
February 15, 2012, 10:02:53 AM
 #1152

Any news about updated version of GuiMiner (with bugfix of pcibm)?... I'll sent a donation.. for this great work.

Thanks
SaintFlow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 415


for the love of water


View Profile

Ignore
February 15, 2012, 05:46:48 PM
 #1153

pleeeease update it  - guiminer is such a cornerstone of ease of use

account resurrected
the lurking ends
shmadz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


bitcoincomic.org


View Profile

Ignore
February 16, 2012, 04:02:18 AM
 #1154

I saw the notices at btcguild about this problem, but I did not have any problems, but then I introduced some new hardware, (7970) had some driver issues and decided to do fresh install...

big mistake

luckily my guiminer was "installed" on one of my storage drives. took a while to find it but it still works, it says V 2011-07-01

**only works for my old card 5850, does not seem to work for 7970, on my way to look for a solution for 7970 mining, if anyone has an *easy* option, it would save me a ton of time Smiley

***EDIT*** I'm dumb, just installed java and now it works for the 7970 as well, using phoenix atm, just cuz that was the last one I tried (and failed) before I installed java... no idea if others are better or worse, no idea what to use for flags, but just getting this card working makes me happy in my pants Wink

**second edit** seems pheonix is the only one from the 2011.07.01 guminer package that will get me hashrates on my 7970, it gets around 450-460 MH/s but only runs the card at 80-85% avg.. if anyone knows some proper flags to use for this card and this miner software, please PM me, if I find something better I will post. Thanks.

The sharing of ideas forms the basis of freedom. An idea, once given away, can not be taken back.
Censorship is a limitation of the sharing of ideas and therefore, a limitation of freedom.
Bitcoin defines a protocol for censorship resistance, thus providing a platform for freedom.
Vyper
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 18, 2012, 09:51:55 AM
 #1155

Hi people

Atlast i'm allowed to post on this forum.

I managed to apply a hotfix to make poclbm working again with Guiminer.
For those like me who like guiminer can go to my website to download another package.
I might try to enable later versions of Phoenix and so in the future. It's not that hard because that program is entirely based on small scripts.

If you cant understand Swedish then click on the little googletranslate bar to select your language but i think you'll see the latest post  Smiley

http://vyper.kafit.se

Kind regards Vyper
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103



View Profile

Ignore
February 18, 2012, 11:03:04 AM
 #1156

It's a virus !!!!
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile

Ignore
February 18, 2012, 12:38:44 PM
 #1157

It's a virus !!!!
proof?

If I helped you, please consider donating some BTC my way! 1FVLZTwSiAsf9z9dLZcfEuBY59HQprFJwQ
I am a long time trusted user: Bitcointalk forum trust ratings, Bitcoin-OTC Ratings, eBay Feedback, and Localbitcoins public profile.
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103



View Profile

Ignore
February 18, 2012, 12:51:24 PM
 #1158

antivir say that TR/agent.lh.2 is included and also TR/monitor....

I don't get this message with the original guiminer package ...

try and enjoy !
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 18, 2012, 01:00:56 PM
 #1159

Here's a diff of all the file checksums from guiminer-20110824 and the Vyper file posted above. I have unzipped the library file for analysis also, and deleted the .elf openCL binary cruft left in the Vyper version.

All the python pyo pyd binaries are different, along with poclbm.exe. ufasoft miner is included in this version (with checksum matches 7-14, meaning the distribution is an install of 20110824 over an earlier version).

As swapping poclbms probably shouldn't take different python files, and anything can be thrown into a pyd, I don't know that I'd trust this version from a noob who posted his five to be able to post this binary as the sixth post.

antivir say that TR/agent.lh.2 is included and also TR/monitor....

I don't get this message with the original guiminer package ...

try and enjoy !
The included guiminer.exe is identical to the official version. The whole thing zipped sets off standard ufasoft miner warnings.
Custom wallet stealer code isn't going to be found by virus scanners.

Edit: I unzipped the official poclbm new version over the official guiminer, and compared, it looks like most of the pyo/pyd are the same as the new poclbm version, with just many extra pyo files in the Vyper version's library.zip. New checksum diff: http://diffchecker.com/Ta1g3mi or http://www.diffnow.com/?report=3p7y0

If the Vyper mod actually works, the checksums say you get basically the same thing by just unzipping poclbm_py2exe_20120205.7z (from this thread) into the guiminer directory.

Vyper
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 18, 2012, 04:45:43 PM
 #1160

It's a virus !!!!

What the hell?!

This was NOT my intention at all. Which file/files in the package is infected?!
Of course i'm a "noob" at bitcoin mining but not IT wise. BUT! If some of my files has got infected this is truly very awkward and embarasing.
I have a virus scanner on my computer which hasn't made a alarm or anything.
Will try to download my own file and scan this with different softwares on multiple computers.
Stay tuned for more results.

Kind regards Vyper
P.S I'm legit and have been running seti@home for more than twelve years. D.S
Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!