Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 12:02:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 [169] 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432415 times)
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 09:23:58 PM
 #3361

Hey all.

I've totally managed to confuse myself. I just received 4 60gh avalons and I cant get them to mine. I had one of them running just fine but then I unplugged it to move it to its final location and it wont mine now. I'm getting "connection refused" in the cgminer status page.

I'm assuming this might mean I need to update the firmware but I dont know which file to chose and I really done want to brick any of these things.

They were purchased from Avalon 2 weeks ago so I would assume that the firmware is relatively new, no?

Maybe I'm missing something?? I've read this thread (various pages) but am not seeing any help.

Any ideas?

Thanks all!
1511092979
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511092979

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511092979
Reply with quote  #2

1511092979
Report to moderator
1511092979
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511092979

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511092979
Reply with quote  #2

1511092979
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511092979
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511092979

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511092979
Reply with quote  #2

1511092979
Report to moderator
1511092979
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511092979

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511092979
Reply with quote  #2

1511092979
Report to moderator
1511092979
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511092979

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511092979
Reply with quote  #2

1511092979
Report to moderator
driksson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
November 08, 2013, 09:31:37 PM
 #3362

Hey all.

I've totally managed to confuse myself. I just received 4 60gh avalons and I cant get them to mine. I had one of them running just fine but then I unplugged it to move it to its final location and it wont mine now. I'm getting "connection refused" in the cgminer status page.

I'm assuming this might mean I need to update the firmware but I dont know which file to chose and I really done want to brick any of these things.

They were purchased from Avalon 2 weeks ago so I would assume that the firmware is relatively new, no?

Maybe I'm missing something?? I've read this thread (various pages) but am not seeing any help.

Any ideas?

Thanks all!

its not online. get it off wifi and put it on lan to save you some reliability.
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 09:34:48 PM
 #3363

Hey all.

I've totally managed to confuse myself. I just received 4 60gh avalons and I cant get them to mine. I had one of them running just fine but then I unplugged it to move it to its final location and it wont mine now. I'm getting "connection refused" in the cgminer status page.

I'm assuming this might mean I need to update the firmware but I dont know which file to chose and I really done want to brick any of these things.

They were purchased from Avalon 2 weeks ago so I would assume that the firmware is relatively new, no?

Maybe I'm missing something?? I've read this thread (various pages) but am not seeing any help.

Any ideas?

Thanks all!

its not online. get it off wifi and put it on lan to save you some reliability.

I've got both of them on the LAN. I dont have wi-fi in the building.

I can reach them via the browser so I know I have that part set right.

How do I...

1, figure out what firmware they are running
2, pick from the huge list of files to update them if they need it? That firmware pages has dozens of files to choose from.
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426



View Profile
November 08, 2013, 10:09:04 PM
 #3364

Hey all.

I've totally managed to confuse myself. I just received 4 60gh avalons and I cant get them to mine. I had one of them running just fine but then I unplugged it to move it to its final location and it wont mine now. I'm getting "connection refused" in the cgminer status page.

I'm assuming this might mean I need to update the firmware but I dont know which file to chose and I really done want to brick any of these things.

They were purchased from Avalon 2 weeks ago so I would assume that the firmware is relatively new, no?

Maybe I'm missing something?? I've read this thread (various pages) but am not seeing any help.

Any ideas?

Thanks all!

its not online. get it off wifi and put it on lan to save you some reliability.

I've got both of them on the LAN. I dont have wi-fi in the building.

I can reach them via the browser so I know I have that part set right.

How do I...

1, figure out what firmware they are running
2, pick from the huge list of files to update them if they need it? That firmware pages has dozens of files to choose from.

Are you sure you have your worker setup at the pool and it matches with worker name and password in cgminer? If not you can get the issue you refer to.
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 10:18:33 PM
 #3365

Are you sure you have your worker setup at the pool and it matches with worker name and password in cgminer? If not you can get the issue you refer to.


I'm positive. It was mining for about 20 minutes then I decided to move it. Nothing since then and none of the settings have been changed. I've power cycled it dozens of times and it doesnt help.

I'm going to take 2 of them home and fool with them over the weekend. I hope to find a simple solution and will post it in this thread if I figure it out.

Thanks for all the suggestions, keep em coming. Smiley
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 11:08:24 PM
 #3366

Are you sure you have your worker setup at the pool and it matches with worker name and password in cgminer? If not you can get the issue you refer to.


I'm positive. It was mining for about 20 minutes then I decided to move it. Nothing since then and none of the settings have been changed. I've power cycled it dozens of times and it doesnt help.

I'm going to take 2 of them home and fool with them over the weekend. I hope to find a simple solution and will post it in this thread if I figure it out.

Thanks for all the suggestions, keep em coming. Smiley

Are you new to mining and Avalons? It kind of sounds like you are.

You should connect to your Avalon's and assign a static IP within your own network and make sure you assign the correct Gateway IP and DNS (usually it's 8.8.8.Cool otherwise they won't hash.

As soon as you log into your Avalon go to the CGminer Status link and you'll see the Firmware revision number.

A good firmware to get is from CK it ends in 0821
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
November 08, 2013, 11:10:23 PM
 #3367

Are you sure you have your worker setup at the pool and it matches with worker name and password in cgminer? If not you can get the issue you refer to.


I'm positive. It was mining for about 20 minutes then I decided to move it. Nothing since then and none of the settings have been changed. I've power cycled it dozens of times and it doesnt help.

I'm going to take 2 of them home and fool with them over the weekend. I hope to find a simple solution and will post it in this thread if I figure it out.

Thanks for all the suggestions, keep em coming. Smiley

Does it mine if you return it to the previously successful location?

I try to be respectful and informed.
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 11:19:32 PM
 #3368

Are you new to mining and Avalons? It kind of sounds like you are.

You should connect to your Avalon's and assign a static IP within your own network and make sure you assign the correct Gateway IP and DNS (usually it's 8.8.8.Cool otherwise they won't hash.

As soon as you log into your Avalon go to the CGminer Status link and you'll see the Firmware revision number.

A good firmware to get is from CK it ends in 0821

Yes, I am new to mining with Avalons. I did connect to the avalon and assign it a static IP and it did work for about 20 minutes. I unplugged it an literally moved it 2 feet and plugged it back in (same network cable and power cord) and it wouldn't reconnect and mine. I could still however get to its web based browser from another computer in the building so I know its connected to the internet.

Thanks for the info about the firmware, I still dont get WHICH file I'm supposed to download to update it. Its currently running 20130723.
Distribution
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 713


Fight fire with photos.


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 12:43:30 AM
 #3369

Are you new to mining and Avalons? It kind of sounds like you are.

You should connect to your Avalon's and assign a static IP within your own network and make sure you assign the correct Gateway IP and DNS (usually it's 8.8.8.Cool otherwise they won't hash.

As soon as you log into your Avalon go to the CGminer Status link and you'll see the Firmware revision number.

A good firmware to get is from CK it ends in 0821

Yes, I am new to mining with Avalons. I did connect to the avalon and assign it a static IP and it did work for about 20 minutes. I unplugged it an literally moved it 2 feet and plugged it back in (same network cable and power cord) and it wouldn't reconnect and mine. I could still however get to its web based browser from another computer in the building so I know its connected to the internet.

Thanks for the info about the firmware, I still dont get WHICH file I'm supposed to download to update it. Its currently running 20130723.

To solve my networking problem, I used DHCP at the advice of an other forum member. Go to Network>Interfaces Where it says LAN, click edit. Under protocol change static IP to DHCP client. It will assign an IP address to the miner, you'll just have to discover what that is. For my wireless network, I was able to look at connected devices under my router's management page. I'm not sure how you'd find yours. But this worked like a charm for me. This new IP is what you'll use to connect to the configuration page for your miner.

EDIT: To flash firmware, download the firmware (for example, this is Avalon's most recent), then in your miner's management page go to system>backup/flash firmware. Then browse for it and flash the image.
ste0024
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 01:13:46 AM
 #3370

if you want i can help you with teamviewer and update your firmware
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 01:43:59 AM
 #3371

Thanks for the info about the firmware, I still dont get WHICH file I'm supposed to download to update it. Its currently running 20130723.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130821/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
Distribution
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 713


Fight fire with photos.


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 01:52:01 AM
 #3372

Thanks for the info about the firmware, I still dont get WHICH file I'm supposed to download to update it. Its currently running 20130723.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130821/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

What's better about this one than Avalon's firmware?
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 01:56:47 AM
 #3373

FWIW, flashing one of the Avalon's with the new firmware got it up and running. I'm working on flashing the second one now.
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 02:21:21 AM
 #3374

No such luck with the second one. Still getting the "connection refused" error.

I'm moving onto the 4th of 4. If I can get this one going I will have 3 of 4 working. 
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 04:11:53 AM
 #3375

Setting the "second" one to DHCP fixed it. Whatever... So long as its hashing I guess thats all I really care about.

Thanks again for all the suggestions.
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 09:18:51 AM
 #3376

I dont know how, but I managed to set the password on one of my Avalons to something other than what I told it to use. Is there a way to reset these things to factory? Its hashing away so I kinda dont want to mess with it (if its not broken, dont fix it) but I would like to get into it from time to time.

Also, of the 4 I received I opened one of them up (I'm the curious type). ALL of the screws on the heat spreaders were at least a full turn from tight (tight, not engine block torqued), ALL OF THEM. I'm going to open the others up later and see what they look like as well. FWIW, On the one I opened the temps are a few degrees higher but the fan speed is half of one that I have not opened. Its also backed into a corner by another Avalon so maybe ambient heat has something to do with the temp difference.
edgar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 10:32:41 AM
 #3377


Huh?  Are you serious?  Do you even have an Avalon?  or even a hat?  I am raffling my HashFast Sierra too.  only 0.1BTC for a chance to win!

P.S. The Sierra does not exist yet, but even if it does and even if I have one, I will just pretend to pick the name of a bitcointalk member that I created myself or a friend of mine who is in on this scam.

Huh?! Are you simple? Would YOU raffle something off you don't own?

Do YOU even blow circuit-breakers with >4000W + who knows how many Amps on chitty chinese house wiring??

1btc may well win someone a fully functional B2 avalon 3 module mining rig in the next month or so...

Regardless, i decided to keep on mining...

Enjoy Your trust Issues!



gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 09:27:24 PM
 #3378

Now that these things have been up for about 12 hours I've got some more data.

On the first one I unboxed, I opened it up and found all those screws that needed to be snugged on the heat spreaders. Now, its the coolest one of the bunch and also has the highest hash rate. TEMP2 (which I'm guessing is on one of the boards or the heatsink) is 46C on this until and the others are all over 50C. Also, the fan speed on this one is around 2500 whereas the others are all at 3200 and higher. Hash rate on the miner I popped open is just south of 60GH's and the others are all hanging at closer to 57GH's. All four units are clocked to 375.

Seems to me that I need to bust open the other miners on Monday and tighten some screws.  Smiley

I've got a friend that is working on a exotic cooling solution for gaming rigs. He's going to look at one of my Avalons to see if he can come up with something for them. I'd love to see these things operate closer to 40C without added fan noise. FWIW, the room they are in is held at a constant 18C.

Stay tuned!
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 11:33:16 PM
 #3379

Now that these things have been up for about 12 hours I've got some more data.

On the first one I unboxed, I opened it up and found all those screws that needed to be snugged on the heat spreaders. Now, its the coolest one of the bunch and also has the highest hash rate. TEMP2 (which I'm guessing is on one of the boards or the heatsink) is 46C on this until and the others are all over 50C. Also, the fan speed on this one is around 2500 whereas the others are all at 3200 and higher. Hash rate on the miner I popped open is just south of 60GH's and the others are all hanging at closer to 57GH's. All four units are clocked to 375.

Seems to me that I need to bust open the other miners on Monday and tighten some screws.  Smiley

I've got a friend that is working on a exotic cooling solution for gaming rigs. He's going to look at one of my Avalons to see if he can come up with something for them. I'd love to see these things operate closer to 40C without added fan noise. FWIW, the room they are in is held at a constant 18C.

Stay tuned!

The only real way you are going to cool the mini's is to stick them outside or close to a window if you live in the north, or put them in a freezer like a walk in one because there is very little room inside a mini to add things to make water cooling or anything fancy work.

gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 04:45:46 AM
 #3380


The only real way you are going to cool the mini's is to stick them outside or close to a window if you live in the north, or put them in a freezer like a walk in one because there is very little room inside a mini to add things to make water cooling or anything fancy work.

Theres always the possibility of removing the hardware from the Avalon enclosure and putting them into something else. He's going to look at them next week and see what he can come up with.
Pages: « 1 ... 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 [169] 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!