Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 08:07:48 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 [159] 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 433736 times)
zerocode20
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 11:30:21 AM
 #3161

Just got an Avalon Mini.

2 cards running at 375Mhz.

Its supposed to do 60GH but I am only getting 49 to 50GH.

The other ones I have do 60.

Any suggestions on how to fix it?

check cgminerapi log

[match_work_count1] => 1312
   [match_work_count2] => 1238
   [match_work_count3] => 1330
   [match_work_count4] => 1325
   [match_work_count5] => 1286
   [match_work_count6] => 1301
   [match_work_count7] => 1263
   [match_work_count8] => 1310
   [match_work_count9] => 1270
   [match_work_count10] => 1229
   [match_work_count11] => 1314
   [match_work_count12] => 1269
   [match_work_count13] => 1255
   [match_work_count14] => 1282
   [match_work_count15] => 1294
   [match_work_count16] => 1284
   [match_work_count17] => 0
   [match_work_count18] => 0
   [match_work_count19] => 0
   [match_work_count20] => 0
   [match_work_count21] => 0
   [match_work_count22] => 0
   [match_work_count23] => 0
   [match_work_count24] => 0

some chips wont work and stay at 0

same problem for 2 mini avalon and i have 2 other box not open

I have a similar problem ... not reading zero, but very, very low .


"That which you call your soul or spirit is your consciousness, and that which you call 'free will' is your mind's freedom to think or not, the only will you have, your only freedom, the choice that controls all the choices you make and determines your life and your character."
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511510868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510868
Reply with quote  #2

1511510868
Report to moderator
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1355

nec sine labore


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 11:32:39 AM
 #3162

Just got an Avalon Mini.

2 cards running at 375Mhz.

Its supposed to do 60GH but I am only getting 49 to 50GH.

The other ones I have do 60.

Any suggestions on how to fix it?

check cgminerapi log

[match_work_count1] => 1312
   [match_work_count2] => 1238
   [match_work_count3] => 1330
   [match_work_count4] => 1325
   [match_work_count5] => 1286
   [match_work_count6] => 1301
   [match_work_count7] => 1263
   [match_work_count8] => 1310
   [match_work_count9] => 1270
   [match_work_count10] => 1229
   [match_work_count11] => 1314
   [match_work_count12] => 1269
   [match_work_count13] => 1255
   [match_work_count14] => 1282
   [match_work_count15] => 1294
   [match_work_count16] => 1284
   [match_work_count17] => 0
   [match_work_count18] => 0
   [match_work_count19] => 0
   [match_work_count20] => 0
   [match_work_count21] => 0
   [match_work_count22] => 0
   [match_work_count23] => 0
   [match_work_count24] => 0

some chips wont work and stay at 0

same problem for 2 mini avalon and i have 2 other box not open

I see the same in mine 17 to 24 are 0 which leads me to believe they don't work. Someone told me that these mini's only have 16 chips in them, which would make sense. 2 modules = 16, 3 modules = 24, and 4 modules = 32. So I am still not sure if I should reduce the 24 miner count to 16.

My mini gets 59008.84 MH/s which isn't the full 60GH/s but I am not complaining! Smiley



Inside /etc/config/cgminer you have an option named "miner_count" which I think is at 24 right now, try to change it to 16, it should fix your issue.

Mind you, I have not tested this change and I don't have a mini.

spiccioli
ste0024
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 11:37:50 AM
 #3163

Just got an Avalon Mini.

2 cards running at 375Mhz.

Its supposed to do 60GH but I am only getting 49 to 50GH.

The other ones I have do 60.

Any suggestions on how to fix it?

check cgminerapi log

[match_work_count1] => 1312
   [match_work_count2] => 1238
   [match_work_count3] => 1330
   [match_work_count4] => 1325
   [match_work_count5] => 1286
   [match_work_count6] => 1301
   [match_work_count7] => 1263
   [match_work_count8] => 1310
   [match_work_count9] => 1270
   [match_work_count10] => 1229
   [match_work_count11] => 1314
   [match_work_count12] => 1269
   [match_work_count13] => 1255
   [match_work_count14] => 1282
   [match_work_count15] => 1294
   [match_work_count16] => 1284
   [match_work_count17] => 0
   [match_work_count18] => 0
   [match_work_count19] => 0
   [match_work_count20] => 0
   [match_work_count21] => 0
   [match_work_count22] => 0
   [match_work_count23] => 0
   [match_work_count24] => 0

some chips wont work and stay at 0

same problem for 2 mini avalon and i have 2 other box not open

I see the same in mine 17 to 24 are 0 which leads me to believe they don't work. Someone told me that these mini's only have 16 chips in them, which would make sense. 2 modules = 16, 3 modules = 24, and 4 modules = 32. So I am still not sure if I should reduce the 24 miner count to 16.

My mini gets 59008.84 MH/s which isn't the full 60GH/s but I am not complaining! Smiley



exact 2 modules is 16

do you have problem with your connector rj45 on your avalon mini

mine connector not clic and ethernet cable not stay inside
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 03:14:44 PM
 #3164

Just got an Avalon Mini.

2 cards running at 375Mhz.

Its supposed to do 60GH but I am only getting 49 to 50GH.

The other ones I have do 60.

Any suggestions on how to fix it?

check cgminerapi log

[match_work_count1] => 1312
   [match_work_count2] => 1238
   [match_work_count3] => 1330
   [match_work_count4] => 1325
   [match_work_count5] => 1286
   [match_work_count6] => 1301
   [match_work_count7] => 1263
   [match_work_count8] => 1310
   [match_work_count9] => 1270
   [match_work_count10] => 1229
   [match_work_count11] => 1314
   [match_work_count12] => 1269
   [match_work_count13] => 1255
   [match_work_count14] => 1282
   [match_work_count15] => 1294
   [match_work_count16] => 1284
   [match_work_count17] => 0
   [match_work_count18] => 0
   [match_work_count19] => 0
   [match_work_count20] => 0
   [match_work_count21] => 0
   [match_work_count22] => 0
   [match_work_count23] => 0
   [match_work_count24] => 0

some chips wont work and stay at 0

same problem for 2 mini avalon and i have 2 other box not open

I see the same in mine 17 to 24 are 0 which leads me to believe they don't work. Someone told me that these mini's only have 16 chips in them, which would make sense. 2 modules = 16, 3 modules = 24, and 4 modules = 32. So I am still not sure if I should reduce the 24 miner count to 16.

My mini gets 59008.84 MH/s which isn't the full 60GH/s but I am not complaining! Smiley



exact 2 modules is 16

do you have problem with your connector rj45 on your avalon mini

mine connector not clic and ethernet cable not stay inside

The network jack works fine. I would recommend you try a different CAT5e or CAT6 cable and see if the cable(s) you have tired with it are causing the problem or not.

If I change the number from 24 to 16 my MH/s drop to 35k. I haven't tired increasing it to see if that makes it worse or better but maybe I will.

smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 03:41:46 PM
 #3165

Just got an Avalon Mini.

2 cards running at 375Mhz.

Its supposed to do 60GH but I am only getting 49 to 50GH.

The other ones I have do 60.

Any suggestions on how to fix it?

check cgminerapi log

[match_work_count1] => 1312
   [match_work_count2] => 1238
   [match_work_count3] => 1330
   [match_work_count4] => 1325
   [match_work_count5] => 1286
   [match_work_count6] => 1301
   [match_work_count7] => 1263
   [match_work_count8] => 1310
   [match_work_count9] => 1270
   [match_work_count10] => 1229
   [match_work_count11] => 1314
   [match_work_count12] => 1269
   [match_work_count13] => 1255
   [match_work_count14] => 1282
   [match_work_count15] => 1294
   [match_work_count16] => 1284
   [match_work_count17] => 0
   [match_work_count18] => 0
   [match_work_count19] => 0
   [match_work_count20] => 0
   [match_work_count21] => 0
   [match_work_count22] => 0
   [match_work_count23] => 0
   [match_work_count24] => 0

some chips wont work and stay at 0

same problem for 2 mini avalon and i have 2 other box not open

I see the same in mine 17 to 24 are 0 which leads me to believe they don't work. Someone told me that these mini's only have 16 chips in them, which would make sense. 2 modules = 16, 3 modules = 24, and 4 modules = 32. So I am still not sure if I should reduce the 24 miner count to 16.

My mini gets 59008.84 MH/s which isn't the full 60GH/s but I am not complaining! Smiley



Inside /etc/config/cgminer you have an option named "miner_count" which I think is at 24 right now, try to change it to 16, it should fix your issue.

Mind you, I have not tested this change and I don't have a mini.

spiccioli

I suspect this might be a firmware issue, I know the guy said who I bought the mini from that he's updated the firmware on it. I suspect with the mini's you need to select the option to not backup/restore the settings when you update the firmware. I will need to take some screen shots tonight and perform this process.

Also looking at the pictures of the Avalon Mini it looks like YiFU uses the B1 Avalon boards, the grey square components in the pictures are what is on the B1 boards, the B2's use a different (black) component. I know this because I recently bought an extra module for my B1 and B2 Avalon and after comparing them to the other modules I noticed that this was the physical difference.

Btw does anyone know what YiFU means? I was thinking the other and came up with Y i FU Wink 

ste0024
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 06:52:16 PM
 #3166

with mini avalon if you want better performance update with firmware 20130821.  for me less HW
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
October 24, 2013, 07:02:26 PM
 #3167

with mini avalon if you want better performance update with firmware 20130821.  for me less HW

There is an alternate version of the firmware that is in use for the Batch #1, #2, & #3 Avalons.  It auto-adjusts the frequency to a constant hardware error rate of about 1.6%.  I use it instead of the official Avalon version.  On my unit, the hash rose from about 65 GH/s to about 80 GH/s.  Beginning about July 3 or so, the community experience is widely reported in this thread.

As always, let someone else try it first on exactly the same configuration machine as you have, and back up your configuration first.



the file names for the various firmware versions are the same?

Yes it's always
openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

Pick the last date from
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/

Quote
just download and flash? nothing more needed?

Yes, and if you have a very old setup, it's best not to keep your settings and reconfigure your machine from scratch

how old is old?

mine;s 20130703


I try to be respectful and informed.
ste0024
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 07:29:45 PM
 #3168

with mini avalon if you want better performance update with firmware 20130821.  for me less HW

i only use this firmware on all my 8 avalons. better result with this 20130821.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 07:33:26 PM
 #3169

with mini avalon if you want better performance update with firmware 20130821.  for me less HW

There is an alternate version of the firmware that is in use for the Batch #1, #2, & #3 Avalons.  It auto-adjusts the frequency to a constant hardware error rate of about 1.6%.  I use it instead of the official Avalon version.  On my unit, the hash rose from about 65 GH/s to about 80 GH/s.  Beginning about July 3 or so, the community experience is widely reported in this thread.

As always, let someone else try it first on exactly the same configuration machine as you have, and back up your configuration first.



the file names for the various firmware versions are the same?

Yes it's always
openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

Pick the last date from
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/

Quote
just download and flash? nothing more needed?

Yes, and if you have a very old setup, it's best not to keep your settings and reconfigure your machine from scratch

how old is old?

mine;s 20130703



Were do you get this version of firmware you are talking about?

Thanks,
GrapeApe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473



View Profile
October 24, 2013, 09:46:54 PM
 #3170

I have my mini, I flashed the firmware recommended on the previous page.  I'm happily hashing away with fewer HW errors (thanks).  Is there any reason why I shouldn't clock it at 375mhz my temps seem to be holding steady at Temp 1=28 Temp2=47 Temp3=48?

Edit: Should I change the miner count to 16 or leave it at 24?
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 10:00:42 PM
 #3171

I have my mini, I flashed the firmware recommended on the previous page.  I'm happily hashing away with fewer HW errors (thanks).  Is there any reason why I shouldn't clock it at 375mhz my temps seem to be holding steady at Temp 1=28 Temp2=47 Temp3=48?

Edit: Should I change the miner count to 16 or leave it at 24?

In order for it to do the 60GH/s the clock speed needs to be set to 375Mhz.

smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 10:53:00 PM
 #3172

Just got an Avalon Mini.

2 cards running at 375Mhz.

Its supposed to do 60GH but I am only getting 49 to 50GH.

The other ones I have do 60.

Any suggestions on how to fix it?

check cgminerapi log

[match_work_count1] => 1312
   [match_work_count2] => 1238
   [match_work_count3] => 1330
   [match_work_count4] => 1325
   [match_work_count5] => 1286
   [match_work_count6] => 1301
   [match_work_count7] => 1263
   [match_work_count8] => 1310
   [match_work_count9] => 1270
   [match_work_count10] => 1229
   [match_work_count11] => 1314
   [match_work_count12] => 1269
   [match_work_count13] => 1255
   [match_work_count14] => 1282
   [match_work_count15] => 1294
   [match_work_count16] => 1284
   [match_work_count17] => 0
   [match_work_count18] => 0
   [match_work_count19] => 0
   [match_work_count20] => 0
   [match_work_count21] => 0
   [match_work_count22] => 0
   [match_work_count23] => 0
   [match_work_count24] => 0

some chips wont work and stay at 0

same problem for 2 mini avalon and i have 2 other box not open

Response from Avalon support regarding this issue seeing some of the the match_work_counts at 0.

--
Oct 24  10:07pm

Avalon Support replied:
No this is correct, there should be only 16 modules, since 8 mini module makes up 1 large module, and a 2 module unit should have 16 workers.
--

jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426



View Profile
October 25, 2013, 03:55:19 AM
 #3173

Just got an Avalon Mini.

2 cards running at 375Mhz.

Its supposed to do 60GH but I am only getting 49 to 50GH.

The other ones I have do 60.

Any suggestions on how to fix it?

check cgminerapi log

[match_work_count1] => 1312
   [match_work_count2] => 1238
   [match_work_count3] => 1330
   [match_work_count4] => 1325
   [match_work_count5] => 1286
   [match_work_count6] => 1301
   [match_work_count7] => 1263
   [match_work_count8] => 1310
   [match_work_count9] => 1270
   [match_work_count10] => 1229
   [match_work_count11] => 1314
   [match_work_count12] => 1269
   [match_work_count13] => 1255
   [match_work_count14] => 1282
   [match_work_count15] => 1294
   [match_work_count16] => 1284
   [match_work_count17] => 0
   [match_work_count18] => 0
   [match_work_count19] => 0
   [match_work_count20] => 0
   [match_work_count21] => 0
   [match_work_count22] => 0
   [match_work_count23] => 0
   [match_work_count24] => 0

some chips wont work and stay at 0

same problem for 2 mini avalon and i have 2 other box not open

Response from Avalon support regarding this issue seeing some of the the match_work_counts at 0.

--
Oct 24  10:07pm

Avalon Support replied:
No this is correct, there should be only 16 modules, since 8 mini module makes up 1 large module, and a 2 module unit should have 16 workers.
--



I tried it with 16 workers instead of 24 and my hashrate dropped in half. Anyone else?
jermwerty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 477


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 07:45:57 AM
 #3174

Long time Avalon owner.  Always had an issue on my Batch 2/3 4 module where if I oc'd too much I would get a decrease in GH eventually (sometimes 20-40%).  Run those @ 335 (auto 325-335) 24/7 around 107GH and they maybe restart cgminer once or twice a week but never slow down.  Really loved the 20130821 firmware.

So I now have 7 minis running (stock 20130723), and let me tell you now 2-3 of them have so far had this issue where they slow down to under 30GH as low as 4GH or so?  GAH!  Changed the worst two to 20130821 and will see.  However I am disappointed, it appears the --avalon-auto option doesn't work?    (currently set 350 clock on page with these options: --quiet --avalon-auto --avalon-temp 50 --avalon-cutoff 70 --avalon-freq 350-375 )  < Those settings never show above 350 on the status page.  Setting 375 manually works.   Huh

Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1603



View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:38:03 AM
 #3175

Yeah, a lot of the ckolivas firmware options that worked so well on B1 and B2 Avalons don't seem to work on the new Avalon Mini I just got.

Kind of disappointing, because I didn't buy the Mini to "ROI". I wanted to run it quietly under-clocked with a low fan setting in the corner of my office and use it as a conversation piece. Even at 256 MHz the fan is a little too loud and it seems like you can no longer directly control the fan speed with cgminer (at least not down to the low levels that I want). In the end, I decided to just unplug it.
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 589


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 09:07:37 AM
 #3176

Avalon mini improved system heat dissipation (add aluminum platen and high speed fan) and DC-DC module (2 * HI-MOSFET). the chips operate stable under 375 MHz and still have some upside potential.

the miner count is a small bug here. if reduce the miner count to 16, the overall speed will reduce to about half(30-40GHs), this is a FPGA controller bug. so just maintain the miner count to 24 is ok.

we did a 36 hours burn-in test before shipment, which guarantee the minis is OK when we ship them. but during transportation, the vibrations will also cause some hardware problem when you received them. if you have some issues, please check all cables are fastened.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
ste0024
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 09:48:13 AM
 #3177

Avalon mini improved system heat dissipation (add aluminum platen and high speed fan) and DC-DC module (2 * HI-MOSFET). the chips operate stable under 375 MHz and still have some upside potential.

the miner count is a small bug here. if reduce the miner count to 16, the overall speed will reduce to about half(30-40GHs), this is a FPGA controller bug. so just maintain the miner count to 24 is ok.

we did a 36 hours burn-in test before shipment, which guarantee the minis is OK when we ship them. but during transportation, the vibrations will also cause some hardware problem when you received them. if you have some issues, please check all cables are fastened.

i set all my mini avalon at 16 and their run very well stable at

61.89 GH/s
59.25 GH/s
59.37 GH/s
60.40 GH/s

one have a ethernet connector defective and cable not stay inside alone. problem is not the ehernet cable but the connector in the avalon. tested with alot of ehernet cable and always same problem !!!
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426



View Profile
October 25, 2013, 10:37:05 AM
 #3178

Avalon mini improved system heat dissipation (add aluminum platen and high speed fan) and DC-DC module (2 * HI-MOSFET). the chips operate stable under 375 MHz and still have some upside potential.

the miner count is a small bug here. if reduce the miner count to 16, the overall speed will reduce to about half(30-40GHs), this is a FPGA controller bug. so just maintain the miner count to 24 is ok.

we did a 36 hours burn-in test before shipment, which guarantee the minis is OK when we ship them. but during transportation, the vibrations will also cause some hardware problem when you received them. if you have some issues, please check all cables are fastened.

ngzhang,

One of mine arrived and right out of the box it does 49GH instead of 60GH. Anything I can do to fix that? I have emailed tech support and they said upgrade firmware but that didn't help.

I have another that will not work for long at room temperature (Max 10 minutes). I have to keep it in an area that is about 12C or it will fail to a solid yellow light instead of the blinking yellow light. Fan seems to be working correctly.

Any suggestions to fix these issues would be greatly appreciated. These were problems right out of the box.

spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1355

nec sine labore


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 10:46:00 AM
 #3179

Avalon mini improved system heat dissipation (add aluminum platen and high speed fan) and DC-DC module (2 * HI-MOSFET). the

Hi ngzhang,

can you share with us some news/facts about the new 55um chip?

Are you going to build replacement blades for existing Avalon B1/B2/B3 units to "upgrade" them to the new technology?

Thanks!

spiccioli
ste0024
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 11:02:42 AM
 #3180

Avalon mini improved system heat dissipation (add aluminum platen and high speed fan) and DC-DC module (2 * HI-MOSFET). the chips operate stable under 375 MHz and still have some upside potential.

the miner count is a small bug here. if reduce the miner count to 16, the overall speed will reduce to about half(30-40GHs), this is a FPGA controller bug. so just maintain the miner count to 24 is ok.

we did a 36 hours burn-in test before shipment, which guarantee the minis is OK when we ship them. but during transportation, the vibrations will also cause some hardware problem when you received them. if you have some issues, please check all cables are fastened.

ngzhang,

One of mine arrived and right out of the box it does 49GH instead of 60GH. Anything I can do to fix that? I have emailed tech support and they said upgrade firmware but that didn't help.

I have another that will not work for long at room temperature (Max 10 minutes). I have to keep it in an area that is about 12C or it will fail to a solid yellow light instead of the blinking yellow light. Fan seems to be working correctly.

Any suggestions to fix these issues would be greatly appreciated. These were problems right out of the box.



maybe update with firmware 20130821.

here

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130821/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin
Pages: « 1 ... 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 [159] 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!