Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 03:04:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 [335] 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3012887 times)
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:22:41 PM
 #6681

Good news, looks like quality all the way.

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511535877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511535877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511535877
Reply with quote  #2

1511535877
Report to moderator
1511535877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511535877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511535877
Reply with quote  #2

1511535877
Report to moderator
1511535877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511535877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511535877
Reply with quote  #2

1511535877
Report to moderator
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:24:10 PM
 #6682

Good news, looks like quality all the way.

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

The chip pictured is only they as reference to overall size as it's a known component.

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:25:41 PM
 #6683

Good news, looks like quality all the way.

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

The chip pictured is only they as reference to overall size as it's a known component.

Let me ask again:

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:25:54 PM
 #6684

I don't think that is the same PCB they will use in final product. Just an FPGA friendly version for testing
canth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:26:19 PM
 #6685

Still not heard back from KNC ... for 12 days now ...

Kano, I take it neither has CKOLIVAS?

Great to see the PCB design. Kano, have you had contact from KNC since your last update to us?

ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Hell?


View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:26:43 PM
 #6686

Good news, looks like quality all the way.

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

The chip pictured is only they as reference to overall size as it's a known component.

Let me ask again:

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

no the asic chip will take up all 4 of those areas.
ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Hell?


View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:27:14 PM
 #6687

I don't think that is the same PCB they will use in final product. Just an FPGA friendly version for testing

its the same pcb for asic. they just put an fpga on there for testing and stuff.
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:29:19 PM
 #6688

Good news, looks like quality all the way.

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

The chip pictured is only they as reference to overall size as it's a known component.

Let me ask again:

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

no the asic chip will take up all 4 of those areas.

So the single asic chip will have 4 areas with pins under, so it fits perfectly in these 4 places?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
Paladin69
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:29:50 PM
 #6689

So these boards are upgradable?  You pull the chip out and put a faster one in down the road?  Or up to four faster smaller ones down the road?
crumbs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:31:29 PM
 #6690

...
So the single asic chip will have 4 areas with pins under, so it fits perfectly in these 4 places?

It's solder balls, not pins, look up "BGA".  The chip gets placed on the PCB in loosely the right spot, and when the solder melts, the surface tencion pulls the chip into perfect alignment.
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:32:39 PM
 #6691

its the same pcb for asic. they just put an fpga on there for testing and stuff.
In that case I'd like to get an answer for this:
Let's see how much time until someone says "hey that connector can't handle alone 250 watts!!"
The connector can physically do 250W but it's totally not designed for that. If this is the final board designed to handle 320W, it seems weird to only have one 6-pin 75W PCI-E connector for power?

Not trolling, just curious.
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:38:47 PM
 #6692

Nice PCB, hopefully they can give us an estimated shipping date for the first units very soon. September is only 10 days away, knowing in which week the first units will ship by the first week of September would be a good sign.
Huh?

"knowing in which week the first units will ship by the first week of September would be a good sign."

lost on that one


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
augustocroppo
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:40:07 PM
 #6693

KnCminer is finally getting the message that they do not have a finished product. The author of the article used the word "design" instead of "product". I pretty much appreciate they are now using the right language to show what they have accomplished so far.

Quote
Today we have our PCB’s back from the assembly house. These boards will each contain one ASIC chip and be individually connected to the main controller board. The Chip in the picture below is an FPGA which we are using to emulate the full functionality of the boards.
 
The entire space you can see in the middle of the  DC/DC modules (GE Critical Power DC/DC CONVERTER 0.45-2V 40A SMD)  will be consumed by our ASIC. 
 
We would also like to share some facts about our boards with you.
 
The DC/DC modules we have on our boards are the largest and best quality available from GE Critical Power. Each capable of 40 amps making the max available 320 amps per ASIC
Our PCB laminat is not standard either. It has been given extra thick copper layers and multiple power and ground plains which enable it to more than handle our requirements.
We will be using these boards to fully validate the entire setup. They will consume the same power, make the same noise level, produce the same heat and run the same RTL code. The only difference will be related to hashing.

ASIC PCB Board

We would also like to take this opportunity to explain our design philosophy.
 
Our entire design strategy is based on time to market, We have as you can see over specified the PCB by quite some way, our ASIC will only consume an absolute maximum of 250 watts and we know the PCB can cope with 320  watts. This is the level of design margins we employ.
 
So you can use the following to see how safe our design is.
 
We have used a VERY large package for our die, not because our die is large, but to make sure we can handle the power and heat requirements.
We have used more DC/DC modules than strictly necessary
We have used the most pessimistic/conservative estimates in all of our simulations. Including but not limited to Yield, Performance, Power and Heat 
For example while testing each part of the chain. We have tested our onboard Linux device to make sure it can handle up to 1.2TH ( The controller board also has and expansion for additional linux devices for future upgrade/ second generation)
 
Thanks
KnCMiner Team
erschiessen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:41:06 PM
 #6694

Sayonara, block eruptor gimmicks!

Your Message Here
12KHW3i2Hamk1irY8b181N4vMXUnVYL1ah
ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Hell?


View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:41:11 PM
 #6695

So these boards are upgradable?  You pull the chip out and put a faster one in down the road?  Or up to four faster smaller ones down the road?

not sure, it seems like it might be from their wording, but that remains to be seen. i dont see how if the chip is soldered in place....
canth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:42:02 PM
 #6696

KnCminer is finally getting the message that they do not have a finished product. The author of the article used the word "design" instead of "product". I pretty much appreciate they are now using the right language to show what they have accomplished so far.


I really doubt that anyone was confused about KNC not having a finished product when they ordered or even just trolled on this forum, but thanks for clearing that up!

jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335


View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:42:20 PM
 #6697


Let's see how much time until someone says "hey that connector can't handle alone 250 watts!!"
The connector can physically do 250W but it's totally not designed for that. If this is the final board designed to handle 320W, it seems weird to only have one 6-pin 75W PCI-E connector for power?

Not trolling, just curious.

Each Minifit Jr pin is good to at least 9A, depending on the series it can go as high as 13A.

P=IV

6 pin connector * 9A * 12V = 648W max, so 320W is well within spec.

BMCHAIN.io ..
  I C O   L I V E       U N T I L   O C T O B E R  10     
D I S C U S S  ◉  MONETIZE YOUR UTILITY  ◉  JOIN ICO
.
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:43:57 PM
 #6698

Good news, looks like quality all the way.

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

The chip pictured is only they as reference to overall size as it's a known component.

Let me ask again:

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

no the asic chip will take up all 4 of those areas.

So the single asic chip will have 4 areas with pins under, so it fits perfectly in these 4 places?

I believe so.

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:45:07 PM
 #6699

its the same pcb for asic. they just put an fpga on there for testing and stuff.
In that case I'd like to get an answer for this:
Let's see how much time until someone says "hey that connector can't handle alone 250 watts!!"
The connector can physically do 250W but it's totally not designed for that. If this is the final board designed to handle 320W, it seems weird to only have one 6-pin 75W PCI-E connector for power?

Not trolling, just curious.
and what makes you think that's a 75w connector? Those leads are pretty thick looking to me, much more than 75 imho


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 21, 2013, 04:45:36 PM
 #6700

Good news, looks like quality all the way.

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

The chip pictured is only they as reference to overall size as it's a known component.

Let me ask again:

So if I understand correct there will be 4 of these boards connected to a one board (the main PCB) inside the case and each of the smaller boards will have one ASIC chips on it, right?

Then why are there 4 slots for chips per PCB?

no the asic chip will take up all 4 of those areas.

So the single asic chip will have 4 areas with pins under, so it fits perfectly in these 4 places?

I believe so.

So can we establish how big the ASIC chip is from this image?
Forgive me if that was answered already Smiley

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
Pages: « 1 ... 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 [335] 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!