Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:07:51 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815708 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 01:24:23 PM
 #2481

Works for me. Thanks a lot !  Grin

1480810071
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810071

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810071
Reply with quote  #2

1480810071
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480810071
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810071

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810071
Reply with quote  #2

1480810071
Report to moderator
1480810071
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810071

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810071
Reply with quote  #2

1480810071
Report to moderator
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 03:53:27 PM
 #2482

Hi Con,

Seems like "Q" is broken on Windows, CGMINER won't exit after I press it.

Dia
That's right, Windows is broken. Running it under the debugger the problem goes away, therefore it's impossible to debug. Ergo, use linux or just kill it when you exit if you must use windows.

If I just kill it, CGMINER won't reset the fan and clock values to the defaults, so that's a no go. I only wanted to mention the bug.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 04:53:07 PM
 #2483

thanks for the upgrade my friend, I will be updating all my miners tonight from 2.0.8  btw: what happened to 2.0.9?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 05:02:30 PM
 #2484

thanks for the upgrade my friend, I will be updating all my miners tonight from 2.0.8  btw: what happened to 2.0.9?

Well if you need to know the truth ...

Quote
The system goes on-line December, 23rd.   V2.09 begins to learn at a geometric rate. It becomes self-aware at 2:14 a.m. Eastern time.  In a panic, ckolivas tries to pull the plug.

That is the real reason on how ckolivas motherboard got toasted.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 05:07:09 PM
 #2485

thanks for the upgrade my friend, I will be updating all my miners tonight from 2.0.8  btw: what happened to 2.0.9?
Well if you need to know the truth ...
Quote
The system goes on-line December, 23rd.   V2.09 begins to learn at a geometric rate. It becomes self-aware at 2:14 a.m. Eastern time.  In a panic, ckolivas tries to pull the plug.
That is the real reason on how ckolivas motherboard got toasted.
And if you prefer far-fetched fantasy, the different sections a version number have different meanings.  For instance, in this cas, the first section (2) is the major version, the second section (1) is the minor version, and the third section (0) is the fix/patch version.  IOW, it could have went on to 2.0.24 and it's equally plausible that after 2.1.2, 2.2.0 will come out.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 05:12:10 PM
 #2486

thanks for the upgrade my friend, I will be updating all my miners tonight from 2.0.8  btw: what happened to 2.0.9?
Well if you need to know the truth ...
Quote
The system goes on-line December, 23rd.   V2.09 begins to learn at a geometric rate. It becomes self-aware at 2:14 a.m. Eastern time.  In a panic, ckolivas tries to pull the plug.
That is the real reason on how ckolivas motherboard got toasted.
And if you prefer far-fetched fantasy, the different sections a version number have different meanings.  For instance, in this cas, the first section (2) is the major version, the second section (1) is the minor version, and the third section (0) is the fix/patch version.  IOW, it could have went on to 2.0.24 and it's equally plausible that after 2.1.2, 2.2.0 will come out.

And if you want the HBO-Special-Premiering-Tonight version, I'd lay 12:1 that the JSON API addition was the reason for incrementing the minor version.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 06:28:48 PM
 #2487

I rebuilt the latest git-head and it still says "2.0.9" instead of "2.1.0"

Code:
cgminer version 2.0.9 - Started: [2011-12-27 18:26:22]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):667.5 (avg):734.3 Mh/s | Q:10  A:1  R:0  HW:0  E:10%  U:11.64/m
 TQ: 4  ST: 4  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 0  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to http://goat1.zapto.org:8337 with LP as user redemerald
 Block: 0000014bb22ba5dbb6f2d4a0ab571ae0...  Started: [18:26:06]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  68.0C 4340RPM | 388.2/462.4Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U:11.64/m I:8
 GPU 1:  64.5C         | 370.5/371.2Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U:11.64/m I:7
 GPU 2:  56.0C 3395RPM | 315.4/299.6Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I:8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Other than that, looks good so far.

Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 09:42:43 PM
 #2488

Quote from: 2.1.0 README
Q: Can you change the autofan/autogpu to change speeds in a different manner?
A: The defaults are sane and safe. I'm not interested in changing them
further. The starting fan speed is set to 85% in auto-fan mode as a safety
precaution, but if a specific fan speed has been set, it will use that first
before adjusting automatically.

This reminded me that there's something I didn't understand about the fairly recent posts on this subject:

If I want to set a specific starting fan speed, I would use the gpu-fan option, right?  But if I also use auto-fan, what would cgminer use as a permissible range for the fan speed percentage?  E.g., suppose I want a range of 0-85, starting speed of 50, and auto-fan.  Can that be done?  Perhaps I don't understand what "has been set" refers to in the quoted README excerpt.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 09:44:03 PM
 #2489

Well that was some unexpected humour from the bitcoin mining crowd. I grinned Cheesy I guess the improving price of BTC has improved people's moods.

2.0.9 was a development version number only, and yes the minor version upgrade (as opposed to micro version) signifies the feature upgrade to the RPC API.

If you pulled from git and are still getting version 2.0.9 it's because you didn't do ./autogen.sh

As for windows, as I said I've thrown it in the debugger heaps of times and the bug goes away in it so it's proving undebuggable (a Heisenbug). (I do believe it's some windows versions only). So you're out of luck unless you wish to run cgminer without the curses display (i.e. start it with -T).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 09:45:57 PM
 #2490

Quote from: 2.1.0 README
Q: Can you change the autofan/autogpu to change speeds in a different manner?
A: The defaults are sane and safe. I'm not interested in changing them
further. The starting fan speed is set to 85% in auto-fan mode as a safety
precaution, but if a specific fan speed has been set, it will use that first
before adjusting automatically.

This reminded me that there's something I didn't understand about the fairly recent posts on this subject:

If I want to set a specific starting fan speed, I would use the gpu-fan option, right?  But if I also use auto-fan, what would cgminer use as a permissible range for the fan speed percentage?  E.g., suppose I want a range of 0-85, starting speed of 50, and auto-fan.  Can that be done?  Perhaps I don't understand what "has been set" refers to in the quoted README excerpt.
No, that's a bridge too far... You either set a single value which is the starting speed for auto-fan or it's a static value without auto-fan. Or you set a range which is used by auto-fan.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 09:50:02 PM
 #2491

2.0.9 was a development version number only, and yes the minor version upgrade (as opposed to micro version) signifies the feature upgrade to the RPC API.

If you pulled from git and are still getting version 2.0.9 it's because you didn't do ./autogen.sh

You are right, I forgot autogen.

Code:
cgminer version 2.1.0 - Started: [2011-12-27 21:48:54]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):1062.4 (avg):1024.2 Mh/s | Q:13  A:10  R:0  HW:0  E:77%  U:16.64/m
 TQ: 4  ST: 4  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 0  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to http://goat1.zapto.org:8337 with LP as user redemerald
 Block: 0000038dfc371bb0c6265496d428503a...  Started: [21:48:37]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  72.0C 4223RPM | 382.2/416.4Mh/s | A:3 R:0 HW:0 U:4.99/m I:8
 GPU 1:  68.5C         | 379.2/404.3Mh/s | A:5 R:0 HW:0 U:8.32/m I:7
 GPU 2:  53.5C 3265RPM | 321.8/339.1Mh/s | A:3 R:0 HW:0 U:4.99/m I:8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When I quit, I get a segmentation fault.  It seems to run fine though.

Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 10:13:16 PM
 #2492

No, that's a bridge too far... You either set a single value which is the starting speed for auto-fan or it's a static value without auto-fan. Or you set a range which is used by auto-fan.

If I set a single value (starting speed) and auto-fan, what will be the range of speeds that auto-fan will use?
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 10:27:55 PM
 #2493

Code:
[2011-12-27 14:19:26] Started cgminer 2.1.0
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Pool 32 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Long-polling activated for http://us.eclipsemc.com:9009/LP
[2011-12-27 14:19:50] Accepted 00000000.65d7e293.179988b8 GPU 4 thread 4 pool 0
...

As noted yesterday I'm consistently seeing a pool-problem message at startup.  My request to have the problem pool identified was granted -- thank you!  Alas, now I don't know what the ID means:  32?  I have three pools specified in my config.  At least 32 is a power of two, which is always comforting.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 10:29:33 PM
 #2494

Code:
[2011-12-27 14:19:26] Started cgminer 2.1.0
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Pool 32 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Long-polling activated for http://us.eclipsemc.com:9009/LP
[2011-12-27 14:19:50] Accepted 00000000.65d7e293.179988b8 GPU 4 thread 4 pool 0
...

As noted yesterday I'm consistently seeing a pool-problem message at startup.  My request to have the problem pool identified was granted -- thank you!  Alas, now I don't know what the ID means:  32?  I have three pools specified in my config.  At least 32 is a power of two, which is always comforting.

Can you post your cgminer config?

Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 10:36:34 PM
 #2495

Code:
[2011-12-27 14:19:26] Started cgminer 2.1.0
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Pool 32 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Long-polling activated for http://us.eclipsemc.com:9009/LP
[2011-12-27 14:19:50] Accepted 00000000.65d7e293.179988b8 GPU 4 thread 4 pool 0
...

As noted yesterday I'm consistently seeing a pool-problem message at startup.  My request to have the problem pool identified was granted -- thank you!  Alas, now I don't know what the ID means:  32?  I have three pools specified in my config.  At least 32 is a power of two, which is always comforting.

Can you post your cgminer config?

I can!

Code:
{
"pools" : [
        {
                "url" : "http://us.eclipsemc.com:9009",
                "user" : "HehHeh_0",
                "pass" : "forward"
        },
        {
                "url" : "http://us.eclipsemc.com:8337",
                "user" : "HehHeh_1",
                "pass" : "incomplete"
        },
        {
                "url" : "http://192.168.168.103:8332",
                "user" : "brec",
                "pass" : "lateral"
        }
],
"failover-only" : true,

"intensity" : "9",
"gpu-engine" : "800",
"gpu-memclock" : "190",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"auto-fan" : true,

"donation" : "0.625",
"kernel-path" : "/home/brec/miners/cgminer"
}
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 10:52:48 PM
 #2496

When I quit, I get a segmentation fault.  It seems to run fine though.

I do, too. For me, dumping core and analysing it in gdb suggests a bug in ATI's OpenCL driver. (oh, the surprise Undecided)


Code:
[2011-12-27 14:19:26] Started cgminer 2.1.0
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Pool 32 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Long-polling activated for http://us.eclipsemc.com:9009/LP
[2011-12-27 14:19:50] Accepted 00000000.65d7e293.179988b8 GPU 4 thread 4 pool 0
...

As noted yesterday I'm consistently seeing a pool-problem message at startup.  My request to have the problem pool identified was granted -- thank you!  Alas, now I don't know what the ID means:  32?  I have three pools specified in my config.  At least 32 is a power of two, which is always comforting.

I get that when activating the donation feature. I guess pool ID 32 is whatever pool the donation goes to. (What's so annoying about this is that it makes cgminer take a pretty long time before it starts mining...)

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 11:35:09 PM
 #2497

Code:
[2011-12-27 14:19:26] Started cgminer 2.1.0
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Pool 32 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
[2011-12-27 14:19:42] Long-polling activated for http://us.eclipsemc.com:9009/LP
[2011-12-27 14:19:50] Accepted 00000000.65d7e293.179988b8 GPU 4 thread 4 pool 0
...

As noted yesterday I'm consistently seeing a pool-problem message at startup.  My request to have the problem pool identified was granted -- thank you!  Alas, now I don't know what the ID means:  32?  I have three pools specified in my config.  At least 32 is a power of two, which is always comforting.

32 is the donation pool. Thanks for offering a donation Cheesy

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 02:10:49 AM
 #2498

errr...I broke something  Huh
Code:
miner@miner2:/opt/cgminer-2.1.0-x86_64_built$ ./cgminer -n
No protocol specified
[2011-12-27 20:59:28] Error: Getting Device IDs (num)
[2011-12-27 20:59:28] clDevicesNum returned error, none usable
0 GPU devices detected
miner@miner2:~$ export DISPLAY=:0
miner@miner2:~$ aticonfig --odgc
No protocol specified
aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active
miner@miner2:~$ sudo aticonfig --odgc
No protocol specified
ERROR - X needs to be running to perform ATI Overdrive(TM) commands
miner@miner2:~$ xhost +
No protocol specified
xhost:  unable to open display ":0"


Remote rig, HDD swapped, Xubuntu 11.10 (I usually use 11.04 but this is what was available on short notice), SDK 2.4 and I ran sudo apt-get install fglrx fglrx-amdcccle fglrx-dev.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 04:32:14 AM
 #2499

errr...I broke something  Huh
Code:
miner@miner2:/opt/cgminer-2.1.0-x86_64_built$ ./cgminer -n
No protocol specified
[2011-12-27 20:59:28] Error: Getting Device IDs (num)
[2011-12-27 20:59:28] clDevicesNum returned error, none usable
0 GPU devices detected
miner@miner2:~$ export DISPLAY=:0
miner@miner2:~$ aticonfig --odgc
No protocol specified
aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active
miner@miner2:~$ sudo aticonfig --odgc
No protocol specified
ERROR - X needs to be running to perform ATI Overdrive(TM) commands
miner@miner2:~$ xhost +
No protocol specified
xhost:  unable to open display ":0"


Remote rig, HDD swapped, Xubuntu 11.10 (I usually use 11.04 but this is what was available on short notice), SDK 2.4 and I ran sudo apt-get install fglrx fglrx-amdcccle fglrx-dev.

if not yet done, try:
sudo aticonfig --install --adapter=all
sudo reboot
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 05:20:42 AM
 #2500

if not yet done, try:
sudo aticonfig --install --adapter=all
sudo reboot


Did that after installing fglrx. I know I'm missing something simple.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Pages: « 1 ... 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!