Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:35:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 [784] 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823501 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2014, 11:58:17 PM

Sorry for stupid question.

Latest releases do not work at all Sad
Is it only me or Huh?
It's only you. We can't help you without you giving us any information whatsoever on what the problem is.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481229326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229326
Reply with quote  #2

1481229326
Report to moderator
1481229326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229326
Reply with quote  #2

1481229326
Report to moderator
1481229326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229326
Reply with quote  #2

1481229326
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481229326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229326
Reply with quote  #2

1481229326
Report to moderator
1481229326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229326
Reply with quote  #2

1481229326
Report to moderator
1481229326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229326
Reply with quote  #2

1481229326
Report to moderator
SVK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 288


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 12:58:24 AM

Sorry for stupid question.

Latest releases do not work at all Sad
Is it only me or Huh?
It's only you. We can't help you without you giving us any information whatsoever on what the problem is.

My bad Sad

Downloaded 4 latest version(4.7.1, 4.7.0, 4.6.1, 4.6.0), created .bat file and nothing, just black window appeared for a split of a second.
Same bat file works with 4.5.0 version.

I'm using Win 7 and I have habanero board.
(I'm mining with 4.5.0 but wanted to try newer versions)

Thank you very much
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2014, 01:01:02 AM

Downloaded 4 latest versions, created .bat file and nothing, just black window appeared for a split of a second.
Same bat file works with 4.5.0 version.

I'm using Win 7 and I have habanero board.
(I'm mining with 4.5.0 but wanted to try newer versions)
Open a command prompt and run cgminer directly with your commands (and add -T) instead of clicking on the bat file and it will tell you what's wrong instead of just disappearing taking the error with it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Blazed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274



View Profile WWW
November 07, 2014, 01:09:03 AM

Yep sorry the block erupter driver is absolutely submitted and maintained by AM and I don't have the hardware so I can't help you directly but I suspect the driver is buggy (it should never segfault for example). Hopefully they chime in here with support and fix the bugs.

"Hopefully they chime in here with support and fix the bugs" LOL not going to hold my breath on that one.

SVK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 288


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 01:14:14 AM

Downloaded 4 latest versions, created .bat file and nothing, just black window appeared for a split of a second.
Same bat file works with 4.5.0 version.

I'm using Win 7 and I have habanero board.
(I'm mining with 4.5.0 but wanted to try newer versions)
Open a command prompt and run cgminer directly with your commands (and add -T) instead of clicking on the bat file and it will tell you what's wrong instead of just disappearing taking the error with it.

Many thanks for your help Smiley
I have noticed that there is missing Cgminer.exe in all of above mentioned versions.

I will try it tomorrow morning.

Open command prompt and paste everything from bat file and I will add -T at the end.

Thank you very much
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2014, 01:16:48 AM

Yep sorry the block erupter driver is absolutely submitted and maintained by AM and I don't have the hardware so I can't help you directly but I suspect the driver is buggy (it should never segfault for example). Hopefully they chime in here with support and fix the bugs.

"Hopefully they chime in here with support and fix the bugs" LOL not going to hold my breath on that one.
They did manage to submit the code to mainline cgminer which is infinitely more than I was expecting.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
sdjernes
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 05:44:20 PM

The following is a questing from the Debian pkg-bitcoin-dev group and I am interested too:

Quote
If you are familiar, could you explain this? Why should we not be
 using system libusb?
Quote
- Added yet more warnings suggesting not to use the system libusb in configure.

Debian Jessie and Unstable (SID) libusb
libusb-1.0-0 (2:1.0.19-1)

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2014, 11:39:27 PM

The following is a questing from the Debian pkg-bitcoin-dev group and I am interested too:

Quote
If you are familiar, could you explain this? Why should we not be
 using system libusb?
Quote
- Added yet more warnings suggesting not to use the system libusb in configure.

Debian Jessie and Unstable (SID) libusb
libusb-1.0-0 (2:1.0.19-1)


This is an annoying issue we've been dealing with for as long as we've been using libusb and the answer to your question is as frustrating as can be.

Libusb had a hostile fork a few years back with libusbx and the main libusb development had slowed to a crawl. Virtually every distribution eventually moved to libusbx simply because it was the more actively developed branch. However at the time we found that every time we tried to migrate to libusbx it added substantial instability to the devices we were communicating with as most asic usb miners were actually pretty hastily slapped together and not very tolerant. Kano did a lot of investigation and found that there were numerous occasions where sending timeout based requests to libusb it simply would not return. The issue was amplified on windows and almost universal on usb1.1 devices which unfortunately many asic manufacturers decided to use (despite being a 15 year old protocol instead of usb2). Eventually the development of libusb was stopped and there was an alleged merge between the libusbx and libusb code and libusbx inherited the original libusb name with what appears to have been a somewhat strained truce between the original libusb developer and the libusbx devs. Unfortunately what happened was they built on the libusbx code and it appears that whatever it was that made the original libusb more stable never made it back into the maintained branch. We ended up finding the end of life libusb that we were using was still the most stable and none of the extra features in the newer libusbx based code were of any advantage and it conferred more instability. Here is the last time I tried moving to the merged libusbs:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg4816354#msg4816354

If you follow the few pages of testing (and ignore the pages of trolling) you'll see how I end up giving up on libusbx again.
And here is where I reverted to our own included libusb code :
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg4989440#msg4989440

The same problems still exist with the current libusb included in distributions.

Now you're probably saying we should have submitted bug reports to libusbx instead of including libusb however we spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to find where the problem was in the first place and asic driver development was nothing short of frantic at the time and the amount of time we spent on it was far in excess of what we wanted already and it was detracting from further cgminer and driver development so I gave up and stuck to the libusb we included since it basically worked and was stable - what else can one ask? It also was not clear which was the real libusb... You'll also see that I was dependent on users to do the testing since I wasn't the one reproducing the problems so I couldn't do any cycle of test and report upstream. I doubt you'll be able to get any of those users with the old hardware engaged in that cycle of discussion now with libusb devs.

EDIT: Here's where Kano first tracked down the problem:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2948402;topicseen#msg2948402
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2970018;topicseen#msg2970018

Adding the --with-system-libusb was put there for platforms where there was no udev support and building would fail (eg openwrt) forcing them to use the system libusb instead of the included one. However I've since added a --disable-udev option which makes it build even there. If I removed the system-libusb option and silently built my own included libusb for the packagers they'd be none the wiser.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


My Solo Block: 401934


View Profile
November 08, 2014, 07:25:16 PM

New release: Version 4.7.1, 4th November 2014

Minor bugfix release after dusk.


Human readable changelog:


- If different USB devices contain the same communication chip, provided the USB device has a product id set, cgminer will no longer try to use the wrong driver on it (eg LIN vs BFLSC).


THX for your efforts  Grin


                ,╓▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄╓                 
            ╓▄█████████████████▄╖           
         ╓▄█████▀▀'▒,,,,,╠'▀▀█████▄,         
       ,▓███▀╜,▄▄███████████▄▄,╙▀████╖       
      ▄███▀ ▄█████▀▀"``╙"▀▀█████▄ ▀███▄     
     ▓███╜╓████▀ ,▄▄█████▄▄, ▀████,╙███▌     
    ▓███`╔███▀ ╓▓███▀▀▀▀▀████╖ ▀███@"███▌   
   ]███▌┌███▌ ▐███         ███▄ ▐███ ▐███,   
   ▐███ ▐███ .███           ███  ███▌ ███▌   
   ▐███ ▐███ '███           ███  ███▌ ███▌   
   ]███@╙███@ ▀██▌        ,▄██▌ ▐███ ▐███`   
    ▓███ ▐███▄ ╙██▀╩     9███╜ ╔███▀,███▌   
     ████,╙███▌               ▓███╜,████     
      ▀███▄ ▀╜                 ▀▀ ▄███▌     
       ╙████▄,                 ╓▄████╜       
         ╙█████▄▄╓,       ,╓▄▄█████▀         
            ▀▀█████████████████▀▀           
                '▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀'

CloakCoin |  Trustless Anonymous Cryptocurrency |  PoSA3
Forum | Bitcointalk | Twitter | Slack |  Facebook |  VK |  Reddit |  CloakTV |  Instagram |  IRC-Chat |  Faucet
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302


󮀓1刎


View Profile
November 08, 2014, 09:27:34 PM

Con.

Why do you suck so much ? </s>

https://forums.butterflylabs.com/bitcoin-pools/350-eclipse-mining-consortium-no-fee-pps-dgm-sms-2fa-gbt-stratum-vardiff-162.html#post86766

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2014, 09:55:18 PM

Hah is there anything that guy won't attack? Now I'm really worried that my reputation will be tarnished by someone so esteemed in the bitcoin community.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
knowndragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
November 11, 2014, 01:36:47 AM

I am very new to mining and want to try my luck solo mining. I can get the cgminer to run on a pool no problem. I plan on pool mining too. My problem is when I try and set up cgminer for solo mining I keep getting pool0 slow/down or url or credentials invalid. I am going to keep cgminer pool mining for now. What information do I need to supply in order to get help with fixing this issue? Thank you in advance.  Huh
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 11, 2014, 02:45:43 AM

I am very new to mining and want to try my luck solo mining. I can get the cgminer to run on a pool no problem. I plan on pool mining too. My problem is when I try and set up cgminer for solo mining I keep getting pool0 slow/down or url or credentials invalid. I am going to keep cgminer pool mining for now. What information do I need to supply in order to get help with fixing this issue? Thank you in advance.  Huh
Try solo.ckpool.org ...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=763510.0

The page there even explains how to mine there Smiley

Otherwise you'll need to setup a local bitcoind and learn all about doing that and also tuning it so you don't lose the block if you ever find one.

Also, don't "expect" to find one very soon using solo, unless you have something like 400THs or more of mining.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
knowndragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
November 11, 2014, 04:08:44 AM

I am very new to mining and want to try my luck solo mining. I can get the cgminer to run on a pool no problem. I plan on pool mining too. My problem is when I try and set up cgminer for solo mining I keep getting pool0 slow/down or url or credentials invalid. I am going to keep cgminer pool mining for now. What information do I need to supply in order to get help with fixing this issue? Thank you in advance.  Huh
Try solo.ckpool.org ...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=763510.0

The page there even explains how to mine there Smiley

Otherwise you'll need to setup a local bitcoind and learn all about doing that and also tuning it so you don't lose the block if you ever find one.

Also, don't "expect" to find one very soon using solo, unless you have something like 400THs or more of mining.
This is what I was afraid of. I did invest in some miners and have bitcoin-qt downloading and syncing transactions. I am running cgminer and have followed some strange guides. I know solo mining isn't the best and most of my hashing power is going to be involved in a pool. I want to set up some major hash for a lottery for none the less.

bitcoin.conf in the appdata is has follows.

server=1
gen=1
rpcuser=?
rpcpassword=?
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=8332
daemon=1
listen=1

cgminer.conf is has follows.

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "http://127.0.0.1:8332",
      "user" : "?",
      "pass" : "?"
   }
],

"intensity" : "15",
"gpu-engine" : "0-1050,",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500,",
"gpu-powertune" : "20,",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,",
"temp-overheat" : "85,",
"temp-target" : "75,",

"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "30",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",

"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

My deliveries don't start coming in till Wed. I would like to be able to have it sorted out and ready to go by then. Mining Bitcoin is not for the faint of heart. It isn't cheap but I believe I have the equipment coming to pay out my investment and keep me vested in it and bring a little profit. The equipment I speak of is not graphics cards either but some major hashing power. I am not trying to offend anyone but I am trying to take this serious. I will have two computer running five miners by the end of the month. I also have two computers sitting by idle and 4 800+ psu's.

I will say this I was able to stratum proxy solo mine but I didn't do it for long because of still learning how to tune things. If I don't use the mining proxy I get the pool0 slow/down error. Any help would be appreciated and has well I know I am late to the game but still see a profit to be made. At least I know I don't want to buy a pizza with 10,000 bitcoins. Also any tuning tutorials for bitcoin-qt that way I don't destroy or burn any bitcoins.

Thank you in advance for any help. It will be appreciated.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 11, 2014, 04:14:33 AM

cgminer.conf is has follows.

Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "http://127.0.0.1:8332",
"user" : "?",
"pass" : "?"
}
],

"intensity" : "15",
"gpu-engine" : "0-1050,",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500,",
"gpu-powertune" : "20,",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,",
"temp-overheat" : "85,",
"temp-target" : "75,",

"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "30",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",

"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}
Your cgminer configuration shouldn't even include any GPU commands whatsoever. This suggests to me that you're starting with some absolutely ancient version of cgminer. The solo mining component in cgminer was heavily rewritten a long time after GPU mining was removed. Please grab the latest cgminer and start again.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
knowndragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
November 11, 2014, 04:56:19 AM

cgminer.conf is has follows.

Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "http://127.0.0.1:8332",
"user" : "?",
"pass" : "?"
}
],

"intensity" : "15",
"gpu-engine" : "0-1050,",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500,",
"gpu-powertune" : "20,",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,",
"temp-overheat" : "85,",
"temp-target" : "75,",

"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "30",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",

"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}
Your cgminer configuration shouldn't even include any GPU commands whatsoever. This suggests to me that you're starting with some absolutely ancient version of cgminer. The solo mining component in cgminer was heavily rewritten a long time after GPU mining was removed. Please grab the latest cgminer and start again.

Nice to meet you guys by the way. Yes I was using some old software. 3.3.1 I believe. I was following a guide off youtube. I was just hoping to get use to cgminer seeing has rockminer has a download of it. I plan on having a small farm though. I guess I am just chomping at the bit. I just download 4.7 don't know how to run it without the miners but atleast I will have it when the first one shows. Thank you guys for the help and hope you will be there in the future.
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
November 11, 2014, 10:57:06 AM

Hah is there anything that guy won't attack? Now I'm really worried that my reputation will be tarnished by someone so esteemed in the bitcoin community.

At this point I would say he won't attack his employers. Or should that be previous employers if the BTC wallet in the other thread belongs to a principal and they liquidated it while being under investigation.

I'm glad you have a sense of humor.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
knowndragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
November 11, 2014, 03:48:47 PM

Okay I have 4.6 installed and configuring it. I want to have it ready to setup. I actually had it running but without the usb it doesn't hash. My questions are...

When I started it up I kept getting an error saying : No BTC address, unable to solo mine. I made edited the Bitcoin.conf and the cgminer.conf file. I added these commands.

 First the Bitcoin.conf I added this. btc=****************** put my wallet address where the stars are.

Then with the cgminer.conf I added this. "btc-address" : "***************************", again put my wallet address where the stars are.

When it starts up I get the following on the cgminer window.

Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
No devices detected!
waiting for usb hotplug devices
probing for an alive pool.
Solo mining to valid address: *****************
block change for 127.0.0.1:8332 detection via getbkcount polling
network diff set to 39.6
API runnin in ip access mode on port 4028 <1424>


If I am not mistaking all that is left to do is get my miners in and do the zidag update and plug them in and run the cgminer. Does this look right.

Also I don't want to destroy any coins so is can anyone point me in the right direction to keep from losing any. This is for everyone's benefit. The probability of me finding a block with 25 is slim to none. But wouldn't want to lose them if I did.
 Cheesy
bbOOmm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 272

Hunh? Wha da fff...... WOAH!


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 04:25:10 AM

Maybe this problem has been mentioned before, if it has, please point me to the solution-- I have no idea what to call this problem.

----------------

CGMINER is running and its hashing right along, BUT, I have ~ONLY~ text when something is accepted, there is a new block, etc and the 5s, avg, A, R, HW and WU line.

CGMINER is NOT showing the normal top of the window output... the miners, their individual outputs, pool info etc... the info that NORMALLY stay at the top of the terminal window while the accepted, new block and other info scroll below it.

I also do not have access to any of the menus, like (s)etup (d)isplay etc .. I press S or whatever and it just types an S in the terminal, no menu.

I've installed and re-installed CGMINER a few times, I've used the latest version of CGMINER even with this problem to mine SHA-256 as well as now, using 3.7.2 - GC3355 for scrypt mining using Gridseeds, still the same problem....

What am I doing wrong in installation? How to fix it so I can see what is going on with each miner etc?

I'm using Ubuntu 12.04LTS 64-bit desktop
on a Dell PE850 server with 4gb ram
CGMINER v.3.7.3-GC3355

Thanks
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 04:48:13 AM

your computer doesn't have curses devel - configure said that at the end when you ran it.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 [784] 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!