Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:31:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 [136] 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827808 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 06:00:10 AM
 #2701

Try turning donation off

Ok will try that and with LP on to make the test equal.
Thanks.

I'm thinking this may all be related to my donation pool being flaky lately with the move and nothing to do with the new version.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481430703
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430703

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430703
Reply with quote  #2

1481430703
Report to moderator
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 07:02:22 AM
 #2702

When I switched to cgminer a couple months back I noticed that I always had a much higher reject rate. I get typically 3-7% rejects regardless of pool, Ars, Eligius, BTCGuild and others. Not sure what causes this and haven't tried to debug yet. I just let it be because I like the interface and monitoring in cgminer but it would be nice to track this down and see why the rejects are high. Before, same HW/OS setup, I used to get more like 0.7%.
I would say there is definitely something wrong with your setup, especially if you consider 0.7% a good rate.

The only reason I am responding, is I notice that you mention BTCGuild as being problematic for you and that happens to be my primary pool, so I am quite familiar with the performance there, as I also use it as a benchmark against other pools when I am bored and changing things up - yet always return to BTCGuild.

On BTCGuild, using my WORST MINER as an example....
After nearly a Million shares submitted since I last reset it's stats, my VALID % is 99.83, leaving 0.17% to Stales/Dupes/Invalids.
(Total Shares Submitted: 837520 ..... Valid = 836092 Shares ..... Stales/Dupes/Invalids etc = 1428 shares)

This is my current 'Bastard Miner'.....a mixed-card machine (5770, 5830, 6870) and to be honest, I do most of my 'testing' using this rig, hence it's higher rejected rate (for me anyway)....not to mention, the software environment (not including CGMiner) is far from being optimal.

I have also been using CGMiner since version 1.6.0 and every release tends to get better for me, so I would definitely have a look at your setup, both software and hardware, not simply pointing a finger at CGMiner.

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 07:29:27 AM
 #2703

[quote author=ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg673233#msg673233
There was a bug that would cause higher rejects with multipool setups that was fixed in 2.1.0. We're only turning LP off at the moment to debug a network connectivity issue.
[/quote]

The network bug has been there for me since 2.0.8 at least, possibly longer. Its not new in 2.1.0

ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 09:44:24 AM
 #2704

Hardware Errors=0 even though one card is "DEAD" ?

I have:

 [P]ool management [G]PU management ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  41.0C 1041RPM | DEAD /262.5Mh/s | A:2294 R:10 HW:0 U:3.59/m I: 8
 GPU 1:  75.0C 1067RPM | 386.4/386.3Mh/s | A:3427 R:21 HW:0 U:5.36/m I: 8
 GPU 2:  58.0C   0%    | 215.4/215.9Mh/s | A:1873 R: 9 HW:0 U:2.93/m I: 8

But a "summary" gives me:

Array
(
    [STATUS] => Array
        (
            [STATUS] => S
           
Code:
=> 11
            [Msg] => Summary
            [Description] => cgminer 2.1.1
        )

    [SUMMARY] => Array
        (
            [0] => SUMMARY
            [Elapsed] => 38299
            [Algorithm] => c
            [MHS av] => 865.15
            [Found Blocks] => 0
            [Getworks] => 5520
            [Accepted] => 7590
            [Rejected] => 40
            [Hardware Errors] => 0
            [Utility] => 11.89
            [Discarded] => 433
            [Stale] => 0
            [Get Failures] => 3
            [Local Work] => 15829
            [Remote Failures] => 0
            [Network Blocks] => 76
        )

)


I was trying to check if a card is dead/sick/whatever over "Hardware Errors" as this seems to be the most logic parameter for me.

Is that not possible ?

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 10:22:51 AM
 #2705

The GPU replies with it's status.
If you request "devs" you will get all GPUs and CPUs  ( or {"command":"devs"} )

Each GPU will have a field called 'Status' that says one of:
"Alive", "Dead", "Sick" or "NoStart"

Or you can request each GPU individually e.g. "gpu|0" etc ( or {"command":"gpu","parameter":"0"} )
and again it will be the same as above but with just the single GPU info.

Edit: as you can see in your screen dump, the total HW value is indeed zero.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 12:11:49 PM
 #2706

Hardware Errors=0 even though one card is "DEAD" ?
Hardware errors are very different to a card becoming unresponsive under load. Usually hardware errors occur if someone has unlocked the shaders in a card that has faulty shaders, or they are overclocking beyond reliable levels but below crash levels. Hitting hardware errors without a hardware hang/dead card is actually quite rare.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 02:40:55 PM
 #2707

Hardware Errors=0 even though one card is "DEAD" ?
Hardware errors are very different to a card becoming unresponsive under load. Usually hardware errors occur if someone has unlocked the shaders in a card that has faulty shaders, or they are overclocking beyond reliable levels but below crash levels. Hitting hardware errors without a hardware hang/dead card is actually quite rare.

I actually had a 5830 @ 1030MHz that would spew about 7 HW errors a day, but was otherwise stable.  I figured I had it OCd right to the edge. 

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 03:06:45 PM
 #2708

Hardware Errors=0 even though one card is "DEAD" ?
Hardware errors are very different to a card becoming unresponsive under load. Usually hardware errors occur if someone has unlocked the shaders in a card that has faulty shaders, or they are overclocking beyond reliable levels but below crash levels. Hitting hardware errors without a hardware hang/dead card is actually quite rare.

Mmmm... no, not really:

RAM: 325
CPU: 1040
Mhash/s: 337,2
Accepted: 289690
Accept/min: 4,51
Hardware: 523
Hardware %: 0,18

As you can see, a uptime of 1,5 months (since I restarted cgminer). The card never haged or went dead.
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 03:24:32 PM
 #2709

I'm thinking this may all be related to my donation pool being flaky lately with the move and nothing to do with the new version.

In support of that theory: I only had one instance of the connection bug so far, and that was when I turned on donations and happened more or less simultaneously for two instances of cgminer. I turned donations off again and have been sailing smoothly since New Year's Eve (which is when the bug occurred for me).
Anyway, I'm back to donating manually.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 03:28:32 PM
 #2710

Hardware Errors=0 even though one card is "DEAD" ?
Hardware errors are very different to a card becoming unresponsive under load. Usually hardware errors occur if someone has unlocked the shaders in a card that has faulty shaders, or they are overclocking beyond reliable levels but below crash levels. Hitting hardware errors without a hardware hang/dead card is actually quite rare.

Mmmm... no, not really:

RAM: 325
CPU: 1040
Mhash/s: 337,2
Accepted: 289690
Accept/min: 4,51
Hardware: 523
Hardware %: 0,18

As you can see, a uptime of 1,5 months (since I restarted cgminer). The card never haged or went dead.


Which doesn't change the fact that hardware errors are quite rare.  On 16 GPU I have never had a single HW error logged in over time 9 months. 

Your high overclock likely has something to do with it.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 03:29:58 PM
 #2711

I'm thinking this may all be related to my donation pool being flaky lately with the move and nothing to do with the new version.

In support of that theory: I only had one instance of the connection bug so far, and that was when I turned on donations and happened more or less simultaneously for two instances of cgminer. I turned donations off again and have been sailing smoothly since New Year's Eve (which is when the bug occurred for me).
Anyway, I'm back to donating manually.

On hindsight I think the problems began when I enabled donations as well. How ironic, donators being 'punished'. Ill turn it off as well and see what happens.

BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 03:31:37 PM
 #2712

When I switched to cgminer a couple months back I noticed that I always had a much higher reject rate. I get typically 3-7% rejects regardless of pool, Ars, Eligius, BTCGuild and others. Not sure what causes this and haven't tried to debug yet. I just let it be because I like the interface and monitoring in cgminer but it would be nice to track this down and see why the rejects are high. Before, same HW/OS setup, I used to get more like 0.7%.

Should I turn LP off? I thought that was to help reduce rejects.
There was a bug that would cause higher rejects with multipool setups that was fixed in 2.1.0. We're only turning LP off at the moment to debug a network connectivity issue.
Could it be related to high latency? I have about a 350mS round-trip to me here in Thailand. But that was the same on the previous miner (phoenix 1.6.2). I basically just stopped phoenix and ran cgminer instead with a bit of fiddling with the config.

Edit: Trying 2.1.0 now. Will see how it goes.

DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 03:33:36 PM
 #2713

It appears that you can easily change the donation pool (it is pulling the information from a website).  Before we all jump on the turning off donation bandwagon, maybe it would be easier to change the donation pool to something more stable for the time being. 

I bet donations have a tendency to stay off. 

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 03:39:06 PM
 #2714

Which doesn't change the fact that hardware errors are quite rare.  On 16 GPU I have never had a single HW error logged in over time 9 months. 
Your high overclock likely has something to do with it.

Absolutely, I was just replying to ckolivas's assumption that hardware errors will lock the card or make it 'dead'. It's possible to overclock "just right" so the gain in mhashes is worth the few hardware errors, while keeping the uptime at 100%.
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 04:01:44 PM
 #2715

From my experience it really depends on the PSU you use how far you can push a card and it stays there stable.

I had some rigs with el-cheapo-800w PSU where I could barely overlock a 5870 to 900 MHz and it would get SICK or DEAD every 2nd day, after one of the PSU died i replaced it by a Corsair TX850 and since then I could overclock the cards even to 950 MHz without any problems, they are running for months stable now.

I swapped the second PSU also and hat the same effect..

Dont save at the wrong end Smiley

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 07:46:45 PM
 #2716

Thanks guys, I now have a postulated mechanism for failure with donations on which is why I came up with the idea. I've since moved again to a different pool for donations but I realise it also provides a bug mechanism (though harder to hit) without donations, so I'll work on a fix. Nothing like discovering a hard to find bug  Grin

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 08:01:26 PM
 #2717

Would a 64-bit cgminer benefit in any way? I thought if I had some free time, I could try to compile in MinGW-W64

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 08:23:42 PM
 #2718

Would a 64-bit cgminer benefit in any way? I thought if I had some free time, I could try to compile in MinGW-W64
None whatsoever unless you're CPU mining, and even then you'd need to port the assembly code to make it work properly. Also mingw 64 is still much buggier than 32 bit and people have lots of problems with it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 08:26:59 PM
 #2719

Would a 64-bit cgminer benefit in any way? I thought if I had some free time, I could try to compile in MinGW-W64
None whatsoever unless you're CPU mining, and even then you'd need to port the assembly code to make it work properly. Also mingw 64 is still much buggier than 32 bit and people have lots of problems with it.
Never had any problems with it. I compiled SDL(Simple DirectMedia Layer) under it. As well as the current litecoin miners(the improved ones).

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 10:40:52 PM
 #2720

The git tree should now have a fix for this issue in it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 [136] 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!