Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:47:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 [134] 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815077 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 12:31:14 PM
 #2661

I cannot code for a 5970 or 6990 without poking and prodding them with code, and since I don't own one, it's unlikely to happen in a safe manner. If I just guess, I'll likely do something which could be bad...

Would it be beneficial if we get you a 6990?
That would most definitely come under the definition of rhetorical questions. Given 6990s cost more than any other card on the market, I think I know what the likelihood of that happening is, though.

But just to be clear since I haven't answered: of course it would...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 12:34:58 PM
 #2662

Got another "network bug". This time with 2.1.1 (on linux), while 2.0.8 (on windows) did not get it. I was expecting the opposite really. Usually both machines got it simultaneously and I assumed 2.1.1 fixed it. Apparently not.
 Here is the debug output:

Code:
2012-01-03 12:31:48] json_rpc_call failed on get work, retry after 155 seconds
[2012-01-03 12:31:48] HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 503
[2012-01-03 12:31:48] Failed json_rpc_call in get_upstream_work
[2012-01-03 12:31:48] json_rpc_call failed on get work, retry after 155 seconds
[2012-01-03 12:31:48] HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 503
[2012-01-03 12:31:48] Failed json_rpc_call in get_upstream_work
[2012-01-03 12:31:48] json_rpc_call failed on get work, retry after 155 seconds
[2012-01-03 12:31:49] Queueing getwork request to work thread
[2012-01-03 12:31:49] Popping work from get queue to get work
[2012-01-03 12:31:49] Popping work to work thread


[2012-01-03 12:31:50] 19.5 C  F: 40%(-1RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:31:50] 28.0 C  F: 40%(1490RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:31:53] (5s):0.0 (avg):799.0 Mh/s | Q:14417  A:11676  R:2  HW:0  E:81%  U:10.85/m
[2012-01-03 12:31:53] 19.5 C  F: 40%(-1RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:31:53] 27.5 C  F: 40%(1493RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:31:54] HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 503
[2012-01-03 12:31:54] Failed json_rpc_call in get_upstream_work
[2012-01-03 12:31:54] json_rpc_call failed on get work, retry after 155 seconds
[2012-01-03 12:31:54] HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 503
[2012-01-03 12:31:54] Failed json_rpc_call in get_upstream_work
[2012-01-03 12:31:54] json_rpc_call failed on get work, retry after 155 seconds
[2012-01-03 12:31:55] HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 503
[2012-01-03 12:31:56] 19.5 C  F: 40%(-1RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:31:56] 27.0 C  F: 40%(1492RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:31:56] HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 503
[2012-01-03 12:31:56] Failed json_rpc_call in get_upstream_work
[2012-01-03 12:31:56] json_rpc_call failed on get work, retry after 155 seconds
[2012-01-03 12:31:59] (5s):0.0 (avg):798.9 Mh/s | Q:14417  A:11676  R:2  HW:0  E:81%  U:10.85/m
[2012-01-03 12:31:59] 19.5 C  F: 40%(-1RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:31:59] 27.0 C  F: 40%(1496RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%




[2012-01-03 12:32:02] 19.5 C  F: 40%(-1RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:32:02] 27.0 C  F: 40%(1496RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:32:03] HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 503


[2012-01-03 12:32:04] HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 503
[2012-01-03 12:32:05] (5s):0.0 (avg):798.8 Mh/s | Q:14417  A:11676  R:2  HW:0  E:81%  U:10.85/m
[2012-01-03 12:32:05] 19.5 C  F: 40%(-1RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%
[2012-01-03 12:32:05] 27.0 C  F: 40%(1497RPM)  E: 157MHz  M: 300Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0%  P: 0%

Restarting cgminer fixed it. Both primary and backup pools where working properly AFAICT.

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 01:23:52 PM
 #2663

Am i the only one without problems ?  Wink Win7 32, 2.1.1, 2 rigs, zero problems  Tongue

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 01:25:58 PM
 #2664

Am i the only one without problems ?  Wink Win7 32, 2.1.1, 2 rigs, zero problems  Tongue

I haven't had any problems either.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 01:30:20 PM
 #2665

Yay thank goodness.

By the way, error 503 is a server not responsive, too busy etc. error... though it is possible to generate this artificially from the miner's end by having DNS issues, router problems and so on. Disabling cached connections in 2.1.1 after failure seemed to achieve sweet FA unfortunately. So I'm now officially in the NFI position.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 01:56:03 PM
 #2666

Sent you one BTC to cheer you up  Cheesy

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 02:01:17 PM
 #2667

Yay thank goodness.

By the way, error 503 is a server not responsive, too busy etc. error... though it is possible to generate this artificially from the miner's end by having DNS issues, router problems and so on. Disabling cached connections in 2.1.1 after failure seemed to achieve sweet FA unfortunately. So I'm now officially in the NFI position.

Networking and internet seems fine even when that happens, though its quite possible a brief network quirk triggers it. Restarting routers does not help.  Next time it happens, Ill see if disconnecting and reconnecting ethernet does anything. Anything else worth testing? Like flushing DNS or whatever?

As for DNS, not sure if its worth mentioning, but Im using Google's DNS servers.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 02:07:14 PM
 #2668

Yay thank goodness.

By the way, error 503 is a server not responsive, too busy etc. error... though it is possible to generate this artificially from the miner's end by having DNS issues, router problems and so on. Disabling cached connections in 2.1.1 after failure seemed to achieve sweet FA unfortunately. So I'm now officially in the NFI position.

Networking and internet seems fine even when that happens, though its quite possible a brief network quirk triggers it. Restarting routers does not help.  Next time it happens, Ill see if disconnecting and reconnecting ethernet does anything. Anything else worth testing? Like flushing DNS or whatever?

Likely unrelated but the only networking issues I have seen is when my switch got too hot.  I got 4 rigs in the garage running on their own switch.  I found that is room ambient temp got too hot the switch (fanless) would go "crazy" and make the miners drop from the network.  I "solved" it by putting the switch closer to the ground (cooler) and putting a small desktop fan next to it.

When your miners indicate the pool is unavailable can you still remote into them (SSH)?
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 02:12:22 PM
 #2669

When your miners indicate the pool is unavailable can you still remote into them (SSH)?

Yes. Im pretty much always SSH-ed into them, the ssh connection has never broken.  One of the miners is also used as fileserver.
AFAICT, there are no problems on my LAN. And the miners can access the internet just fine, even when that HTTP 503 happens in cgminer.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 02:19:27 PM
 #2670

When your miners indicate the pool is unavailable can you still remote into them (SSH)?

Yes. Im pretty much always SSH-ed into them, the ssh connection has never broken.  One of the miners is also used as fileserver.
AFAICT, there are no problems on my LAN. And the miners can access the internet just fine, even when that HTTP 503 happens in cgminer.

Weird and weirder.  Only thing I could think of testing is on only one machine try making the pool (or maybe just backup pool) an IP address instead of domain name.  If it is DNS related that should indicate it.  Obviously not something you would want to keep long term but maybe it will help narrow it down.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 02:47:51 PM
 #2671

Weird and weirder.  Only thing I could think of testing is on only one machine try making the pool (or maybe just backup pool) an IP address instead of domain name.  If it is DNS related that should indicate it.  Obviously not something you would want to keep long term but maybe it will help narrow it down.

Actually, the primary pool already uses an IP address, not a domain name. (im renting out my local rigs to mustang for testing his pool, he doesnt have domain name yet).

And it happened again just now. Like second time in an hour.  But this time on both machines.
 I tried pulling and plugging back in the ethernet cable, not sure why, but it didnt help. As always, restarting cgminer does help.


DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 02:50:31 PM
 #2672

Weird and weirder.  Only thing I could think of testing is on only one machine try making the pool (or maybe just backup pool) an IP address instead of domain name.  If it is DNS related that should indicate it.  Obviously not something you would want to keep long term but maybe it will help narrow it down.

Actually, the primary pool already uses an IP address, not a domain name. (im renting out my local rigs to mustang for testing his pool, he doesnt have domain name yet).

And it happened again just now. Like second time in an hour.  But this time on both machines.
 I tried pulling and plugging back in the ethernet cable, not sure why, but it didnt help. As always, restarting cgminer does help.

Alright you stumped me.  The good news is we know what it isn't. Smiley
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 02:55:09 PM
 #2673

Im pretty much always SSH-ed into them, the ssh connection has never broken.  One of the miners is also used as fileserver.
AFAICT, there are no problems on my LAN. And the miners can access the internet just fine, even when that HTTP 503 happens in cgminer.
I'm not suggesting hat it's definitely your LAN or Internet connection, but in my experience, at least when connecting to SSH using PuTTY in Windows, a broken network connection doesn't always show up, as the SSH connection will sometimes silently recover when there hasn't been a disconnect notice sent and you try to use it after the network recovers (in an even more irrelevant note, MSTSC does the same thing with RDP connections).  IOW, a couple dropped packets, or even a complete loss of connectivity (at layer 3 or higher) will not necessarily phase your SSH connection even if it phases cgminer.
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 03:32:09 PM
 #2674

P4man have you tried a different miner?  I don't think it's a cgminer issue.  I had the same errors with other miners, cgminer just handles it better...up to 2.0.7 anyway.  I get huge latency jumps to any IP since a lightning strike hit the cable line.  I thought it was cleared up, but apparently I was just overlooking it because the miner recovers and keeps hashing.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 03:39:19 PM
 #2675

Its certainly possible my internet connection isnt 100% perfect, and something flaky may trigger it, but it doesnt explain cgminer's behavior. It should just continue working the moment the internet connection is restored. And it actually does that when I eg unplug the network cable. After plugging it in again, it resumes working as youd expect. Same when my ISP went down for an hour some weeks ago. It didnt require anything for me to get cgminer to start working again.

But once this 503 conditions starts, cgminer will never (*)  resume working correctly until restarted, even though there is definately nothing wrong with my lan or internet connection at that point (and I suspect there never has been, but who knows).

As for different miners, yes I tried bitminter and not had issues with that.

(*) actually, if I saw it correctly, cgminer will occasionally submit valid shares for very short periods of time.

gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 04:09:18 PM
 #2676

But once this 503 conditions starts, cgminer will never (*)  resume working correctly until restarted, even though there is definately nothing wrong with my lan or internet connection at that point (and I suspect there never has been, but who knows).

This I see with anything after 2.0.7.  Otherwise it does take hours to recover, or a restart, but it does recover.

Does bitminter use phatk? The other miner I used also used phatk.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1395


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 04:21:09 PM
 #2677

I'm seeing something broken in 2.1.0 that I wasn't seeing in 2.0.8. When I hit 'Q' to quit the program, it actually doesn't quit and instead keeps running. What it does, however, is start adding odd lines of information at the bottom of the command window, line by line. For context, I'm running cgminer with a command line that looks like this:

cgminer.exe -o http://us.eclipsemc.com:8337/ -u [username] -p [password] -o http://bitcoinpool.com:8334/ -u [username] -p [password] -k phatk -I 9 --submit-stale --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 999 --gpu-memclock 150 -q --donation 1.0

I think this got lost in the shuffle. 

One other thing, is anyone able to start cgminer from a remote desktop session and have it detect their gpus? I can monitor what cgminer is doing on my machine over remote desktop, but if I close cgminer remotely and then try to start it back up from the remote session, it doesn't detect the gpu.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 04:22:18 PM
 #2678

I still think it's some curl related issue.
Do the other miners use curl also?
If they do then I guess: see how they handle a 503 may be a possible option?

Anyway, the reason I actually made this post is this:
Is anyone interested in me making some changes to 3 programs and setting up a pool:
Adding a socket interface to bitcoind, a pool (whichever one I or someone else decides) and cgminer.
I also suspect it may resolve a long term issue of pool performance.

I'm probably gonna do some simple testing with bitcoind anyway since I have a web page of my own that already does a a 2016 block access to bitcoind (with a slightly modified getblockbycount) and also a program that reads the whole blockchain and caches it, again using getblockbycount.
Both of these will easily show if there is a major performance gain by using a simple socket interface like I used in the cgminer API instead of curl ... and the same on the bitcoind side
I suspect there will be a performance gain but I'll test it first to be sure
From the cgminer side it would simply be an extra option (something like "--sockets") to use that interface instead of the default standard curl interface to the pool (and for a different LP also)

Anyone be interested in this?
I wont be chasing a donation limit to do this - since I'm interested in at least doing the initial tests myself anyway
(but of course I'll happily accept donations to get it done anyway)
But I'm more interested in knowing if people would be interested in 2 things:
firstly helping with testing the code on a pool (obviously I'd need some reasonable hash rate to test it and find the problems that occur and implement what should be simple fixes for them)
secondly be interested in using such a pool permanently once it's up a working well

The options would be either some form of PPS or something like DGM (or I don't know what else)

So basically I'm interested in putting a simple socket interface from cgminer all the way through to bitcoind and see if it performs much better and is more reliable (than curl) and should have a VERY low stale/reject rate
(and the cgminer change would be an extra option to run the socket interface instead of the default curl interface - but not both at the same time)

If there is interest I'll start a separate thread on the subject, but I'm posting here first to see if the cgminer users are interested in it.
Also, the pool would of course be charging some small % fee and if ckolivas is interested I guess he can be part of that % so he is actually getting something a bit more than just trivial from all the people using cgminer

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 04:37:29 PM
 #2679

Quote from: gnar1ta$ link=topic=28402.msg672310#msg672310

Does bitminter use phatk? The other miner I used also used phatk.

I dont think so, I believe DrHaribo handcoded the whole thing.

Quote
Is anyone interested in me making some changes to 3 programs and setting up a pool:
Adding a socket interface to bitcoind, a pool (whichever one I or someone else decides) and cgminer.
I also suspect it may resolve a long term issue of pool performance.

Id be interested and wouldnt mind throwing one or two videocards at it during testing, but in the long run, assuming it does provide some benefit, I would like to see this in other pools as well.

gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 05:16:06 PM
 #2680

One other thing, is anyone able to start cgminer from a remote desktop session and have it detect their gpus? I can monitor what cgminer is doing on my machine over remote desktop, but if I close cgminer remotely and then try to start it back up from the remote session, it doesn't detect the gpu.

I don't know about windows, but with linux you need DISPLAY=:0 before your launch string if starting over vnc/ssh to detect the GPU's. 

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Pages: « 1 ... 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 [134] 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!