Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:48:39 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 [133] 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4814764 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2012, 09:36:02 PM
 #2641

By the way, if you're using the donation option, and you've been having lots of communication issues lately, it's probably that  Embarrassed The pool your donations are going to is still having lots of teething problems with its migration.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1480747719
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747719

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747719
Reply with quote  #2

1480747719
Report to moderator
1480747719
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747719

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747719
Reply with quote  #2

1480747719
Report to moderator
1480747719
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747719

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747719
Reply with quote  #2

1480747719
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480747719
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747719

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747719
Reply with quote  #2

1480747719
Report to moderator
1480747719
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747719

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747719
Reply with quote  #2

1480747719
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 02, 2012, 11:08:51 PM
 #2642

You cant draw conclusions over such a  short timeframe. Let it run for a few hours, then compare. And compare the average reported on top, not the 5s average which can fluctuate a lot.

I've been running 2.08 for days, and 420Mh is the average.

Before this test I ran 2.1.1 for a few hours and only noticed the speeds just now.  I went back to 2.0.8 to test and grab the "screenshot" and then again with 2.1.1 and grabbed that screenshot.

Ok, weirdly, I just tried 2.0.7 and that's giving the same behaviour as 2.1.1...  odd as it was fine back when I used it daily.   Maybe I'll reboot Smiley

EDIT:  Reboot didn't help.  Stuck at 380Mhash.   Weird.
When A:NNNN is at least a few thousand then the figures may be of interest.
Until then they mean nothing for anyone but your own interest.

The first time I ran 2.1.1 I also used the --gpu-memdiff option for the first time and it jumped UP 20Mh/s for the first few minutes then it dropped back to normal.
I was wondering if I had missed something all this time (one of my GPU's steps the clock down 30 due to heat) and I thought that was something I had missed all this time.
But an hour later it showed the usual average.

So yeah give it an hour and look at the 2nd number only.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
January 02, 2012, 11:35:12 PM
 #2643

Read my second reply, it was running for at least an hour the first time I noticed.  

Besides, its completely repeatable.   Start 2.0.8 and I immediately get 420mH or thereabout.   Start 2.0.7 or 2.1.1 and its immediately capped at 380mH and sticks there.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
January 02, 2012, 11:36:10 PM
 #2644

Feature request...

On startup output all settings to stderr.

Edit:  Or not. ... I realize I can in effect do this myself by adding a command to my cgminer startup script to copy cgminer.conf to my logs dir, adding a timestamp to the filename.  And for extra credit, copy only if it's been changed since the last copy.

Here's my current startup script:

Code:
xhost + &> /dev/null
now="`date +%Y.%m.%d.%H.%M.%S`"
cd ~/miners/cgminer  # or wherever your cgminer directory is
# logs/ is assumed to be in the cgminer directory
diff cgminer.conf $(ls -1 logs/*.conf | tail -n 1) &> /dev/null || cp cgminer.conf logs/$now.conf
DISPLAY=:0 cgminer -c cgminer.conf 2> logs/$now.log

This results in files in the logs directory like this:
2012.01.01.21.12.05.log
2012.01.02.07.24.45.log
2012.01.02.08.39.02.conf
2012.01.02.08.39.02.log
2012.01.02.12.38.31.log

...where the .conf file is copied to logs (and renamed with a timestamp) only if it's changed since the last time it was copied.

Edit: my first copy/paste omitted the first line of the script.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 02, 2012, 11:41:28 PM
 #2645

Read my second reply, it was running for at least an hour the first time I noticed.  

Besides, its completely repeatable.   Start 2.0.8 and I immediately get 420mH or thereabout.   Start 2.0.7 or 2.1.1 and its immediately capped at 380mH and sticks there.
Exactly the same .bin files?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
January 02, 2012, 11:45:37 PM
 #2646

Read my second reply, it was running for at least an hour the first time I noticed. 

Besides, its completely repeatable.   Start 2.0.8 and I immediately get 420mH or thereabout.   Start 2.0.7 or 2.1.1 and its immediately capped at 380mH and sticks there.
Exactly the same .bin files?

Basically all I did was download the 2.0.7 zip, extract the folder to the desktop and add my bat file.   Same goes for 2.1.1.

I was previously using 2.0.7 full time before 2.0.8 (obviously) and it was all fine, so I can't really explain it.
   
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 02, 2012, 11:59:02 PM
 #2647

Read my second reply, it was running for at least an hour the first time I noticed. 

Besides, its completely repeatable.   Start 2.0.8 and I immediately get 420mH or thereabout.   Start 2.0.7 or 2.1.1 and its immediately capped at 380mH and sticks there.
Exactly the same .bin files?

Basically all I did was download the 2.0.7 zip, extract the folder to the desktop and add my bat file.   Same goes for 2.1.1.

I was previously using 2.0.7 full time before 2.0.8 (obviously) and it was all fine, so I can't really explain it.
   
No I mean the actual compiled CL .bin file that does the GPU mining.
e.g. for my 6950 it is called: phatk110817Caymanbitalignv2w128long8.bin
(I use mostly default options)

See if copying the 2.0.8 one into the 2.1.1 directory makes it run the same ...

Those .bin files are usually create once the first time and used forever after
My 2.1.1 is still running one dated 13-Nov from when I first used a 2.0.8 version of the software in my miner directory - but of course my 2.0.8 versions were many and varied Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 12:33:25 AM
 #2648

Right, gotcha.  I'm at work at the mo so I'll mess with it when I get home Wink
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 02:32:58 AM
 #2649

Feature request...

Code:
[P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  69.5C 4535RPM | 357.0/363.8Mh/s | A:285 R:0 HW:0 U:5.02/m I: 9
 GPU 1:  74.0C         | 366.4/363.9Mh/s | A:299 R:0 HW:0 U:5.26/m I: 9
 GPU 2:  67.5C 4108RPM | 372.9/363.8Mh/s | A:289 R:0 HW:0 U:5.09/m I: 9
 GPU 3:  62.5C         | 366.4/363.7Mh/s | A:262 R:0 HW:0 U:4.61/m I: 9
 GPU 4:  68.0C 3564RPM | 370.8/363.6Mh/s | A:294 R:0 HW:0 U:5.18/m I: 9
 GPU 5:  71.0C         | 340.5/363.6Mh/s | A:318 R:1 HW:0 U:5.60/m I: 9

These are three 5970s.  auto-fan is on with a target of 70C for all, 3C hysteresis.  At this snapshot GPUs 1 and 5 ran 3C-4.5C hotter than their card-mates, and GPU 3 ran 5C cooler than its mate.  I believe that because GPUs 1, 3, and 5 don't return fan values that cgminer is ignoring their temps w/r auto-fan.  Assuming that cgminer can't tell via ADL or otherwise that two GPUs share a fan, I would like to able to tell that to cgminer and thus have my temp targets applied to (in my case) odd-numbered GPUs as well as to even-numbered ones.

I cannot code for a 5970 or 6990 without poking and prodding them with code, and since I don't own one, it's unlikely to happen in a safe manner. If I just guess, I'll likely do something which could be bad...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 03:50:46 AM
 #2650

Feature request...
... I believe that because GPUs 1, 3, and 5 don't return fan values that cgminer is ignoring their temps w/r auto-fan.  Assuming that cgminer can't tell via ADL or otherwise that two GPUs share a fan, I would like to able to tell that to cgminer and thus have my temp targets applied to (in my case) odd-numbered GPUs as well as to even-numbered ones.

I cannot code for a 5970 or 6990 without poking and prodding them with code, and since I don't own one, it's unlikely to happen in a safe manner. If I just guess, I'll likely do something which could be bad...

I might've been unclear.  I was suggesting that the user have the option to specify to the software, presumably via .conf or command line, that certain GPUs comprise a "fan group," i.e., share a fan, and also which of the group has the fan output and control.  I don't know, something like, in my case,
"fan-group" : "0,1/0, 2,3/2, 4,5/5"
...meaning GPUs 0 and 1 share a fan, the speed of which is readable and controllable via GPU 0; etc.

What I'm thinking of would not require any additional hardware coding, but it would require additional fan-control logic within cgminer.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 03:53:04 AM
 #2651

Feature request...
... I believe that because GPUs 1, 3, and 5 don't return fan values that cgminer is ignoring their temps w/r auto-fan.  Assuming that cgminer can't tell via ADL or otherwise that two GPUs share a fan, I would like to able to tell that to cgminer and thus have my temp targets applied to (in my case) odd-numbered GPUs as well as to even-numbered ones.

I cannot code for a 5970 or 6990 without poking and prodding them with code, and since I don't own one, it's unlikely to happen in a safe manner. If I just guess, I'll likely do something which could be bad...

I might've been unclear.  I was suggesting that the user have the option to specify to the software, presumably via .conf or command line, that certain GPUs comprise a "fan group," i.e., share a fan, and also which of the group has the fan output and control.  I don't know, something like, in my case,
"fan-group" : "0,1/0, 2,3/2, 4,5/5"
...meaning GPUs 0 and 1 share a fan, the speed of which is readable and controllable via GPU 0; etc.

What I'm thinking of would not require any additional hardware coding, but it would require additional fan-control logic within cgminer.
No, that's actually unnecessary because the ADL does have information about shared thermal devices... interpreting the results would need prodding though.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 04:00:15 AM
 #2652

No, that's actually unnecessary because the ADL does have information about shared thermal devices... interpreting the results would need prodding though.

Sorry, I don't understand.  Interpreting what results?  If you mean additional ADL results, then forgo that and just let the user tell you as I suggested.  Then you already have the temps and the fan speed and can control the latter.  I am suggesting that you use both relevant core temps when calculating a new auto-fan speed for a card instead of just one temp.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 04:02:25 AM
 #2653

I'm sick of adding special case command line parameters...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 04:08:47 AM
 #2654

Over in mining hardware I just whined that I had an instance of a "SICK" GPU even after falling back to pretty vanilla settings of gpu-engine 725 (stock) and gpu-memclock 300 for my 5970s.

Is there any chance that SICK like the following is not a GPU hardware issue?

Code:
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Thread 2 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 2 declared SICK!
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Thread 2 still exists, killing it off
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Thread 8 still exists, killing it off
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Thread 2 restarted
[2012-01-02 17:56:40] Thread 8 restarted
[2012-01-02 17:56:40] Accepted 00000000.30702585.cb8fdf73 GPU 5 thread 11 pool 0
[2012-01-02 17:56:41] Accepted 00000000.676a69c6.4b59b7db GPU 5 thread 5 pool 0
[2012-01-02 17:56:43] Accepted 00000000.1e5767ae.f669070b GPU 2 thread 2 pool 0  # note how healthy it is now!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 04:17:43 AM
 #2655

Over in mining hardware I just whined that I had an instance of a "SICK" GPU even after falling back to pretty vanilla settings of gpu-engine 725 (stock) and gpu-memclock 300 for my 5970s.

Is there any chance that SICK like the following is not a GPU hardware issue?

Code:
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Thread 2 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 2 declared SICK!
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Thread 2 still exists, killing it off
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Thread 8 still exists, killing it off
[2012-01-02 17:56:39] Thread 2 restarted
[2012-01-02 17:56:40] Thread 8 restarted
[2012-01-02 17:56:40] Accepted 00000000.30702585.cb8fdf73 GPU 5 thread 11 pool 0
[2012-01-02 17:56:41] Accepted 00000000.676a69c6.4b59b7db GPU 5 thread 5 pool 0
[2012-01-02 17:56:43] Accepted 00000000.1e5767ae.f669070b GPU 2 thread 2 pool 0  # note how healthy it is now!
Anything's possible, but note that the restart code was tested extensively on literally dozens of GPUs to get this sick restart code working -when possible- and the person who helped me test it had 72 GPUs that would often have boxes going down with any other miner. The idea was to make it recover to a fine state after enough rest if possible.

So yes it's possible. Maybe even likely, who knows, but this particular scenario was not unusual even at normal clocks when some GPUs were run flat out, regardless of which miner it was. Interestingly it became FAR more common with the phatk2 kernel (which is what is used in cgminer) since that seemed to run GPUs that little bit more than anything else.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
LightRider
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1488


I advocate the Zeitgeist Movement & Venus Project.


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 04:23:17 AM
 #2656

Still causing the video driver to fail. I'll trying a clean reinstall and see if that helps.

Bitcoin combines money, the wrongest thing in the world, with software, the easiest thing in the world to get wrong.
Visit www.thevenusproject.com and www.theZeitgeistMovement.com.
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 09:15:42 AM
 #2657

Feature request...

Code:
[P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  69.5C 4535RPM | 357.0/363.8Mh/s | A:285 R:0 HW:0 U:5.02/m I: 9
 GPU 1:  74.0C         | 366.4/363.9Mh/s | A:299 R:0 HW:0 U:5.26/m I: 9
 GPU 2:  67.5C 4108RPM | 372.9/363.8Mh/s | A:289 R:0 HW:0 U:5.09/m I: 9
 GPU 3:  62.5C         | 366.4/363.7Mh/s | A:262 R:0 HW:0 U:4.61/m I: 9
 GPU 4:  68.0C 3564RPM | 370.8/363.6Mh/s | A:294 R:0 HW:0 U:5.18/m I: 9
 GPU 5:  71.0C         | 340.5/363.6Mh/s | A:318 R:1 HW:0 U:5.60/m I: 9

These are three 5970s.  auto-fan is on with a target of 70C for all, 3C hysteresis.  At this snapshot GPUs 1 and 5 ran 3C-4.5C hotter than their card-mates, and GPU 3 ran 5C cooler than its mate.  I believe that because GPUs 1, 3, and 5 don't return fan values that cgminer is ignoring their temps w/r auto-fan.  Assuming that cgminer can't tell via ADL or otherwise that two GPUs share a fan, I would like to able to tell that to cgminer and thus have my temp targets applied to (in my case) odd-numbered GPUs as well as to even-numbered ones.

I cannot code for a 5970 or 6990 without poking and prodding them with code, and since I don't own one, it's unlikely to happen in a safe manner. If I just guess, I'll likely do something which could be bad...

Would it be beneficial if we get you a 6990?

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 11:01:21 AM
 #2658

I have a 6990 and 2x 6970's all set at 955 clock speed, but the 6970's each run about 20-30 hash's behind the 6990. I've tried reinstalling the video drivers. They all run within 1 hash of each other with guiminer so I'm a little lost on what could cause this. Any ideas?
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 12:10:01 PM
 #2659

ckvolias : I know everyone is coming at you from a million directions but I have a very strange problem I would love your opinion on or anyone else for that matter that can help.

I have four rigs, I have three of them working fine with CGMINER

this last rig is very problematic, at first I thought it was something wrong with a single card, than a single type of card but now I realize its not the cards

all of my rigs are 890fxa-gd70s MB

this thing
if I have five cards in it - I start it mining with cg miner, within like 30-60 mins

one of the cards the fan will show 0RPM and will show the temp at 127.5c (its ALWAYS  127.5c for some reason)
then the system will freeze up and windows will crash

if I put my hand on the card it does not feel hot at all and I can visibly see the fan spinning at a normal speed

if I move the cards around, or swap the cards out for ones I know work it does not matter

now if I take it down to having four cards on the motherboard instead of five

the system will not crash, and we do not see the 127.5c but eventually one of the cards will display an incorrect fan speed
right now its a 5970, I see it in GPU2 - its displaying 1RPM fan speed, but hashing along at a normal speed with the fan spinning at a normal rate and it does not feel overly hot.

what could be causing this? I am dumbfounded here. Any help would be greatly appreciated and will result in a 1 btc tip for the person that gives me the right answer. Thanks!
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 12:23:02 PM
 #2660

ckvolias : I know everyone is coming at you from a million directions but I have a very strange problem I would love your opinion on or anyone else for that matter that can help.

I have four rigs, I have three of them working fine with CGMINER

this last rig is very problematic, at first I thought it was something wrong with a single card, than a single type of card but now I realize its not the cards

all of my rigs are 890fxa-gd70s MB

this thing
if I have five cards in it - I start it mining with cg miner, within like 30-60 mins

one of the cards the fan will show 0RPM and will show the temp at 127.5c (its ALWAYS  127.5c for some reason)
then the system will freeze up and windows will crash

if I put my hand on the card it does not feel hot at all and I can visibly see the fan spinning at a normal speed

if I move the cards around, or swap the cards out for ones I know work it does not matter

now if I take it down to having four cards on the motherboard instead of five

the system will not crash, and we do not see the 127.5c but eventually one of the cards will display an incorrect fan speed
right now its a 5970, I see it in GPU2 - its displaying 1RPM fan speed, but hashing along at a normal speed with the fan spinning at a normal rate and it does not feel overly hot.

what could be causing this? I am dumbfounded here. Any help would be greatly appreciated and will result in a 1 btc tip for the person that gives me the right answer. Thanks!

I would try managing the fans with msi afterburner and see if it still happens.  Has the pc ever had 11.12 catalyst installed on it? Does not really sound like the problem, but my 6 gpu system was not working until I removed some garbage files that 11.12 left behind before reinstalling 11.11.  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54972.msg655079#msg655079
Pages: « 1 ... 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 [133] 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!