Bitcoin Forum
September 28, 2016, 01:41:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: DiabloMiner GPU Miner  (Read 792589 times)
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 12:09:02 AM
 #1201

Okay, I figured out how to do this on Windows. In the .bat file or in cmd.exe or whatever you use, before running DiabloMiner, do SET GPU_DUMP_DEVICE_KERNEL=3. It should cause it to dump the .isa files.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1475070082
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475070082

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475070082
Reply with quote  #2

1475070082
Report to moderator
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 07:51:59 AM
 #1202

But you shouldn't be using -v 4 -w 64. That is not appropriate for the new kernel on vliw5. For me, -v 2 -w 256 is fastest, -v 2,1 -w 256 is slower, -v 2 -w 128 isn't faster (but -w is very sensitive to memory timings, so -w 128 being faster for others does not surprise me).
What kernel do you mean by "the new kernel"? I'm using the zip-package linked in the first post of this thread and this is still the "old kernel", isn't it?! I did not compile DiabloMiner from source so I guess I'm still using your "not optimized for SDK 2.6"-version. Maybe we can clear that confusion first Wink

Okay, I figured out how to do this on Windows. In the .bat file or in cmd.exe or whatever you use, before running DiabloMiner, do SET GPU_DUMP_DEVICE_KERNEL=3. It should cause it to dump the .isa files.

-v4 http://pastebin.de/23309
-v1,2 http://pastebin.de/23310
-v2 http://pastebin.de/23311

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 12:15:13 PM
 #1203

The new binaries for windows he put up yesterday. 20MHash increase on the 6970's.

So yes new kernel is up give it a try, unless you have a 7970. Don't know what happened there.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 02:08:59 PM
 #1204

But you shouldn't be using -v 4 -w 64. That is not appropriate for the new kernel on vliw5. For me, -v 2 -w 256 is fastest, -v 2,1 -w 256 is slower, -v 2 -w 128 isn't faster (but -w is very sensitive to memory timings, so -w 128 being faster for others does not surprise me).
What kernel do you mean by "the new kernel"? I'm using the zip-package linked in the first post of this thread and this is still the "old kernel", isn't it?! I did not compile DiabloMiner from source so I guess I'm still using your "not optimized for SDK 2.6"-version. Maybe we can clear that confusion first Wink

Okay, I figured out how to do this on Windows. In the .bat file or in cmd.exe or whatever you use, before running DiabloMiner, do SET GPU_DUMP_DEVICE_KERNEL=3. It should cause it to dump the .isa files.

-v4 http://pastebin.de/23309
-v1,2 http://pastebin.de/23310
-v2 http://pastebin.de/23311

Nope, its the new kernel as of the post that you quoted originally that says "Update: Committed the new kernel."

Er, 1503 on -v 2? Dude, you're not using the newest copy of DM. 1503 is what the old kernel got on -v 2 on 2.6.

And it explains your weird results with -v 2,1... the hash mater was broken at the time of that version for non-power of two -v, I told you the mhash meter was fine because I fixed it in above referenced commit.

Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 04:09:49 PM
 #1205

Diablo what's up with GCN on the new miner. Do I need different flags only getting 30Mhash?

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 05:12:34 PM
 #1206

Diablo what's up with GCN on the new miner. Do I need different flags only getting 30Mhash?

SDK bug that I've rammed into. Haven't quite figured out why its sucking, either.

Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 06:06:52 PM
 #1207

No biggie I will stay on the old version till you get round to it. Would love to see you squeeze more out of GCN though.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 11:26:52 PM
 #1208

Update: Remove -vs, -b, add -na for no array mode, set min fps to 0.1, and make loops work better.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 12:05:43 AM
 #1209

So, -na fixes it on GCN, but it incurs an estimate 13% performance loss (at least, if the ops on my 5850 are any indication).

Goddamnit AMD.

The score thus far:
vliw5: 1% slower vs old kernel on 2.1
vliw4: 3-5% faster vs old kernel on 2/42.5
gcn: 1% faster vs old on 2.6

Seriously, goddamnit AMD.

Roadhog2k5
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 01:38:13 AM
 #1210

So, -na fixes it on GCN, but it incurs an estimate 13% performance loss (at least, if the ops on my 5850 are any indication).

Goddamnit AMD.

The score thus far:
vliw5: 1% slower vs old kernel on 2.1
vliw4: 3-5% faster vs old kernel on 2/42.5
gcn: 1% faster vs old on 2.6

Seriously, goddamnit AMD.

New App fixes it from 12.2 drivers. (898.1)

EDIT: Picked up 5mh/s too.
thatonegirlt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 02:31:36 AM
 #1211

Quote
Radeon users: Catalyst 11.6 + SDK 2.1 seems to be the golden combination for 4xxx and 5xxx miners.

Is this referring to the whole Catalyst suite including the OpenCL, Display, and ATI Integrated Drivers? Or just the actual program? Apologies if it's a n00b question.

Heard of TripleMining? Join my minipool at thatonegirlt.triplemining.com/register

If you feel in a donating mood, fyi:
BTC: 1Aojiin3eXgDoEmSKkCaec1kh678Q96BmH
NMC: N16kRfVy43shrE1jnrFP7hzwfFcvb9UHrM
LTC: LMk3hTQVNZdKsKYEf1VViVYepgm8F5GVnj
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 03:41:24 AM
 #1212

Quote
Radeon users: Catalyst 11.6 + SDK 2.1 seems to be the golden combination for 4xxx and 5xxx miners.

Is this referring to the whole Catalyst suite including the OpenCL, Display, and ATI Integrated Drivers? Or just the actual program? Apologies if it's a n00b question.

Catalyst didn't used to come with the SDK, it does now. That text is out of date due to the new kernel, its now 12.2 is recommended, use the SDK that comes with it.

thatonegirlt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 10:38:02 AM
 #1213

Quote
Radeon users: Catalyst 11.6 + SDK 2.1 seems to be the golden combination for 4xxx and 5xxx miners.

Is this referring to the whole Catalyst suite including the OpenCL, Display, and ATI Integrated Drivers? Or just the actual program? Apologies if it's a n00b question.

Catalyst didn't used to come with the SDK, it does now. That text is out of date due to the new kernel, its now 12.2 is recommended, use the SDK that comes with it.

Okay thanks!

Heard of TripleMining? Join my minipool at thatonegirlt.triplemining.com/register

If you feel in a donating mood, fyi:
BTC: 1Aojiin3eXgDoEmSKkCaec1kh678Q96BmH
NMC: N16kRfVy43shrE1jnrFP7hzwfFcvb9UHrM
LTC: LMk3hTQVNZdKsKYEf1VViVYepgm8F5GVnj
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 01:21:22 PM
 #1214

So, -na fixes it on GCN, but it incurs an estimate 13% performance loss (at least, if the ops on my 5850 are any indication).

Goddamnit AMD.

The score thus far:
vliw5: 1% slower vs old kernel on 2.1
vliw4: 3-5% faster vs old kernel on 2/42.5
gcn: 1% faster vs old on 2.6

Seriously, goddamnit AMD.

New App fixes it from 12.2 drivers. (898.1)

EDIT: Picked up 5mh/s too.

Confirmed! Same here too. Diablo what is this -na flag u speak of? I do not have that option.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 04:22:02 PM
 #1215

So, -na fixes it on GCN, but it incurs an estimate 13% performance loss (at least, if the ops on my 5850 are any indication).

Goddamnit AMD.

The score thus far:
vliw5: 1% slower vs old kernel on 2.1
vliw4: 3-5% faster vs old kernel on 2/42.5
gcn: 1% faster vs old on 2.6

Seriously, goddamnit AMD.

New App fixes it from 12.2 drivers. (898.1)

EDIT: Picked up 5mh/s too.

Confirmed! Same here too. Diablo what is this -na flag u speak of? I do not have that option.

Don't bother with it, 12.2 fixes it. Also, if you don't have -na, you're not using the newest version of DM.

chiropteran
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 04:22:27 PM
 #1216

New App fixes it from 12.2 drivers. (898.1)

EDIT: Picked up 5mh/s too.

12.2 seems magical.  Updated an old p4 box from 12.1 to 12.2 and gained 18mhash, from 262 to 280.

Using -v 2 -w 256

Radeon 5830, 900 core, 300 mem, 1.01v

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 04:32:35 PM
 #1217

New App fixes it from 12.2 drivers. (898.1)

EDIT: Picked up 5mh/s too.

12.2 seems magical.  Updated an old p4 box from 12.1 to 12.2 and gained 18mhash, from 262 to 280.

Using -v 2 -w 256

Radeon 5830, 900 core, 300 mem, 1.01v

Compared to my 5850@960, that'd be 360 and 384 mhash respectively. I'm getting 393. I have hopes for 12.2, but are you sure you're using the newest version of DiabloMiner?

chiropteran
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 04:40:33 PM
 #1218

Compared to my 5850@960, that'd be 360 and 384 mhash respectively. I'm getting 393. I have hopes for 12.2, but are you sure you're using the newest version of DiabloMiner?

I do have the latest, just updated to be sure and still at 282mhash.  This system is an old pentium 4, and just running off the cheap Dell power supply so I can't push the card much without crashing.  Anything above 900mhz core seems to result in crashes.

I have 2 systems at home with 2X 5830s each, and they do better mhash per card, even at similar clock speeds.  I think I'm hitting a limitation in this box due to the old chipset or something.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 04:48:40 PM
 #1219

Compared to my 5850@960, that'd be 360 and 384 mhash respectively. I'm getting 393. I have hopes for 12.2, but are you sure you're using the newest version of DiabloMiner?

I do have the latest, just updated to be sure and still at 282mhash.  This system is an old pentium 4, and just running off the cheap Dell power supply so I can't push the card much without crashing.  Anything above 900mhz core seems to result in crashes.

I have 2 systems at home with 2X 5830s each, and they do better mhash per card, even at similar clock speeds.  I think I'm hitting a limitation in this box due to the old chipset or something.

Well, on 12.1, it seems that a 5830 at 900mhz should get 287 or so. Are your systems at home doing that, or are they doing better on 12.2?

chiropteran
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 04:59:38 PM
 #1220

Systems at home are still on 12.1, sometime in the next 8-12 hours I'll have a chance to update them and report on the changes.

Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!