Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:53:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 [148] 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815684 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2012, 09:30:34 AM
 #2941

CG does make an extra 4Mh/s, but if the 'price to pay' is an extra 5.5C, then it's kinda.. not worth it.
Okay, I'll bite... why?

All that extra heat is coming from somewhere. Since I believe in the laws of physics I would have to say it is using more electricity. The heat isn't coming through my internet tubes. It also reduces the lifespan of my video cards.
Um... that's like the argument of "use a lower power card".

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480809232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809232
Reply with quote  #2

1480809232
Report to moderator
1480809232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809232
Reply with quote  #2

1480809232
Report to moderator
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 09:36:50 AM
 #2942

Errr... yeah, it can be done, but i think you're missing the point... heh
I just tested with an atitweak of a fixed CPU % (47%) on the .sh starting cgminer.

Phoenix: 69.5C
CG: 75C

Same settings, same fan speed.

CG does make an extra 4Mh/s, but if the 'price to pay' is an extra 5.5C, then it's kinda.. not worth it.



[G]PU management->[C]hange Settings-> [A]utomatic
Make sure fan autotune is enabled, if not, hit [F]an auto to turn it on, hit [A]utomatic again
Hit [T]arget type 70, press enter

Problem solved
To save settings, return to the main menu (any key not reserved by a command, I use space), [_S_]ettings->[W]rite config file

Edit: [_S_] instead of strikethrough

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2012, 09:42:38 AM
 #2943

Seriously if you don't want to run your GPU flat out, decrease the intensity... but this is the most bizarre complaint yet about cgminer, that it extracts more out of your GPU.   Huh

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2012, 10:26:01 AM
 #2944

I'm not getting any better performance, just higher temps and snarky support. Back to phoenix I go, where my card runs full out without melting.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 10:27:18 AM
 #2945

Thanks for the tool ckolivas... it's beautifully functional and keeps my temps exactly where I put them Wink.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
January 16, 2012, 10:43:46 AM
 #2946

works as designed for me

I guess if a person cannot use the software he is better using something he can...

Cheesy

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
xzion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 10:56:54 AM
 #2947

being able to keep my rigs quieter with auto temperature management is a godsend, and it mines faster than phoenix. what was the problem again?

Tips: 1xzionJBueq1AkPSmexA7suWkztAkNwSs
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 16, 2012, 11:16:26 AM
 #2948

All that extra heat is coming from somewhere. Since I believe in the laws of physics I would have to say it is using more electricity.

Not necessarily. Temperature sensors are in particular places on the GPU. The heat is relatively local.  Moreover, the default sensor is IOdisp, which is not the same as the sensor in shaders and the difference can be substantial (+-10C easily). THe only way to know for sure if one miner uses more electricity than another is by measuring power consumption. Temperature is a very poor proxy for that.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 12:52:19 PM
 #2949

I'm not getting any better performance, just higher temps and snarky support. Back to phoenix I go, where my card runs full out without melting.

You do understand the temp rise is simply an indication that cgminer was working the card slightly harder.  Nothing more.

I mean if you reduced the chip's clock by 2% to 3% then temps would fall would you consider that superior also?
Likewise if every time a round was finished cgminer idled for 2% to 3% of the round time temps (and hashing performance) would fall would that be a superior product?

cgminer is simply a more efficient miner.  It drives a card as hard as it is possible w/ very little wasted clock cycles.  If you want lower performance you can always lower clocks or intensity but it seems stupid to consider the less efficient miner to be superior because it is less efficient. Huh
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
January 16, 2012, 04:22:01 PM
 #2950

Has any successfully used gpu-vddc on Radeon 5970 cards? The GPU results when looking at details are providing the correct results at 1.050 but if I change the voltage to something else it still reports the stock voltage. I'm running 8 GPUs (4x5970) so I am using Linux due to stability issues in Windows so I cannot use MSI Afterburner or similar Windows tools.

I just tried to change the voltage, but when I add the voltage line to the conf file, the program reports an error parsing json conf file.
"gpu-vddc" : "1.05",

I'm not using a json config so I'm not sure what that may be. On the latest version it recognizes the config option gpu-vddc but doesn't seem to apply it to my 5970s.

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 16, 2012, 04:41:32 PM
 #2951

I'm not using a json config so I'm not sure what that may be. On the latest version it recognizes the config option gpu-vddc but doesn't seem to apply it to my 5970s.

I *think* it also depends on the amd drivers you use. I could be completely wrong here, but I think it only works on older ones (like 11.6 that ships with linuxcoin). If you are using a recent version of ubuntu, you would have newer drivers by default. On ubuntu 11.10 I was unable to clock over 775 MHz, no such issues on linuxcoin.

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 05:10:00 PM
 #2952




But yeah - state exactly what you want with those 2 commands and once the CPU changes happen I'll put those 2 on first priority (for 5 BTC Smiley


I would like to add V to the list.  the more i read about undervolting, the more I want to try it.  especially with summer approaching.
Also, since reconfiguring a bunch of rigs will be easy to do from this interface, would be nice to be able to write the config to a file.


Kano,  I am willing to up the anti to get this stuff in....  10btc? anyone else willing to contribute?



1. ability to switch pools (i think setting a pools priority to 0 would work?)
2.  setting the following, for gpus's:
  • "intensity" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-engine" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-vddc" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-memclock" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-fan":      "newValue",  ex(50-85)
3. ability to write current config to text file:   {command writeConfig,  param filename)



1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 05:26:21 PM
 #2953

I'm not using a json config so I'm not sure what that may be. On the latest version it recognizes the config option gpu-vddc but doesn't seem to apply it to my 5970s.

I *think* it also depends on the amd drivers you use. I could be completely wrong here, but I think it only works on older ones (like 11.6 that ships with linuxcoin). If you are using a recent version of ubuntu, you would have newer drivers by default. On ubuntu 11.10 I was unable to clock over 775 MHz, no such issues on linuxcoin.
The reason this happens is because there are specific hardwired voltages. I.e My card only accepts increments from 1.087 to 1.075, if I wanted to change it to say 1.078 it won't apply it. There are specific voltages that must applied, not such that you want to apply.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
kosovito
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 07:43:14 PM
 #2954

Hi.

Is there any way to send minimized cgminer msdos window, to SYSTEM TRAY??'

I have windows vista, i tried softwware like tray it! and it does not work

Thanks

Please sir, give me any coin Smiley  135T7F27z7Mtvwffz359BE1zSfYgT1oJ8S
miscreanity
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 08:41:49 PM
 #2955

I haven't switched up for quite some time: still running Ubuntu 11.04 with Cat 11.6 and SDK 2.4 with no problems for 69xx cards. There doesn't seem to be any real consensus on improvements in software platforms, although SDK 2.6 now appears to be the bane of mining.

Is there any definitive improvement with SDK 2.5 over v2.4, or any Catalyst driver version greater than 11.6?

Also, does anyone else use Arch for mining?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 10:51:31 PM
 #2956

Is there any way to send minimized cgminer msdos window, to SYSTEM TRAY??'
I have windows vista, i tried softwware like tray it! and it does not work

Firstly, there is no MS-Dos in Windows anymore. The correct term is "command line interpreter".

Your best bet might be going with Sysinternals' Microsoft's Desktops(1) app.
Create a second virtual desktop and move all those obnoxious text-mode windows to it, freeing your main desktop and taskbar.
The Desktops app lives only as an icon in the system tray.

With a little work you can set up a few separate, task-oriented desktops, like main desktop, bitcoin-mining desktop, porn desktop, and donating-to-cgminer-dev desktop.


Links:
(1)  http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/cc817881
Queelis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 08:03:35 AM
 #2957

Hi.

Is there any way to send minimized cgminer msdos window, to SYSTEM TRAY??'

I have windows vista, i tried softwware like tray it! and it does not work

Thanks

I have Vista and TrayIt! indeed does work. You need to run cgminer, and while it is running, open TrayIt! Select to place cgminer to system tray, and put TrayIt to your startup folder. Should work.
DutchBrat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 06:43:33 PM
 #2958

On the BTCGuild thread we are talking about the efficiency of CGMiner for different users

I have 9 miners, all between 200 & 350 MHash, and on each and everyone of them the efficiency is between 10% & 20%

This is on 100K+ Accepted shares per miner, so should be statistically valid

I am not complaining or anything since my stales are on avg below 0.4%, just wondering if someone can explain the reasons why the efficiency is so different for different users

Brat
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 07:38:19 PM
 #2959

On the BTCGuild thread we are talking about the efficiency of CGMiner for different users

I have 9 miners, all between 200 & 350 MHash, and on each and everyone of them the efficiency is between 10% & 20%

This is on 100K+ Accepted shares per miner, so should be statistically valid

I am not complaining or anything since my stales are on avg below 0.4%, just wondering if someone can explain the reasons why the efficiency is so different for different users

Brat

Why do you have 9 miners of 200 to 350 MH ea?  Do you have 9 rigs w/ 1 GPU each?

Low efficiency simply means you are requesting more work then you complete.  In case of 10% you are requesting 10 work units and only completing one.
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 08:14:55 PM
 #2960

Dutch, what are those miners?
350 MHash is what a signle half-decent GPU achieves.
Are you using only very low-end GPUs?

What queue size and thread count per GPU are you using?
Pages: « 1 ... 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 [148] 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!