Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:50:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818094 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 11:56:39 AM
 #3001

Yes siree, I do hate merged mining.

Yeah it does complicate things BUT I would argue that things are going to get more complicated anyways.  Pools will eventually need to use to provide a mechanism to update miners when transactions change (when fees becoming more importantly).  p2pool needs a method to track when the share chain has changed.  Likely in the future there will be other as of yet implemented events which will require altering the work being done.

Using LP for everything is an ugly hack but it works.  However what all this ugliness is pointing to is the fact that the pool-miner communication protocol needs to be more robust.   Miners today are relatively "dumb" and rely too much on the server.
Actually, to correct that statement ...
There is no proper protocol definition, however some before have mentioned deepbit's web page where they have 'a' definition.
And that definition is the problem - it's next to useless.
It needs to be designed (not hacked), then standardised and then placed/updated in the wiki.
I still do not understand why it is true that a very high % of miners use pools but the wiki is useless in defining the pool protocol.
(damn I need to hurry up and find the time to get around to writing my own and testing/implementing it ...)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1480942241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942241
Reply with quote  #2

1480942241
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480942241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942241
Reply with quote  #2

1480942241
Report to moderator
1480942241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942241
Reply with quote  #2

1480942241
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 18, 2012, 12:20:06 PM
 #3002

you wantz moar? Smiley
Ohhh now I see it in my wallet instead, lol. Thanks!

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 18, 2012, 12:29:01 PM
 #3003

Heh, you know I tried to make --donation default but there was outrage and threats of forking cgminer and death threats. All right, perhaps not the last but the others.

I say, let them be outraged and threaten. No one is forcing them to use cgminer, no one preventing them from disabling the option. And if someone wants to fork, again, let them. Why would anyone switch to a poorly supported fork which only advantage is that you dont have to change a default setting (assuming you wouldnt want to donate) ?

FWIW, when I first tried cgminer, I wasnt opposed to donating but confused how it worked. I didnt look in to it, and kept it disabled. I bet there are lots people like that.

DutchBrat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 12:37:07 PM
 #3004

I turned on donation when it was first introduced but somehow my performance dropped, lots of

'pool not responding' errors

That's the main reason I turned it off back then, I much rather prefer to send some coins once in a while

That said, i am forgetting a lot these days (must be old age lol), so there are some coins coming your way as I type this !

Thanks for your hard and above all very good work  Wink

Brat
Queelis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 12:47:41 PM
 #3005

Agreed, you should just enable it and make sure it is stated clearly (and the same message should include explanation how to disable it, e.g. "to disable add -donation 0" flag), especially since the buggy donations are fixed.

It's not like a) people aren't given a choice or instructions how to disable it, and b) everyone who uses knows so much as to enable the donations.

I like the phrase "I believe in the exploitation of the stupid", so if users aren't clever enough to disable donations - well, thanks for their support Smiley


On a side note, a question - if I set a GPU voltage in CGminer, then restart the PC and start cgminer without the flag, does the voltage go back to default or stay at the previously set voltage? Because the BIOS says (with Radeon BIOS Editor) GPU voltage at load should be 1.1V, but cgminer and FurMark read it as 1V. That will hinder my overclocking results in the future.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 18, 2012, 12:50:14 PM
 #3006

Thanks a lot! The poor performance with donation on was my fault initially Undecided I've since fixed it but it doesn't matter. I haven't made a decision about enabling donations by default but for now it's not a high priority issue.

If you successfully close cgminer properly it *should* return to the default values on shutdown. That said, the windows version has this knack of not closing properly. How/why, remains a mystery. Nonetheless the settings will go back to default on a reboot. None of the settings cgminer uses tell the card to keep settings across a reboot.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Queelis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 02:04:37 PM
 #3007

If you successfully close cgminer properly it *should* return to the default values on shutdown. That said, the windows version has this knack of not closing properly. How/why, remains a mystery. Nonetheless the settings will go back to default on a reboot. None of the settings cgminer uses tell the card to keep settings across a reboot.

Thanks. Upon selling and removing my second graphics card I'll reinstall the drivers and will see whether this changes anything and then report back to you.
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 04:21:56 PM
 #3008

I am having a hard time finding this and i'm sure its posted but i'll ask anyways. I have a 4 5850 setup and one of the 4 card's fan speed is showing 0RPM (sometimes 20RPM) for its fan speed. the rest are showing 2000-3000RPMish. the fan speed set in the conf file is 0-85 with auto-fan turned off. Below is an example of my config minus the user info. Also. i removed that card (card 4)and then the next card (card 3) is showing 0 - 20 RPM for its fan speed. GPUz and Afterburner show 85 percent and in the 2000-3000RPM range.

is there something that i am missing?

intensity" : "9,9,9,9",
"gpu-engine" : "0-920,0-920,0-920,0-920",
"gpu-fan" : "0-50,0-80,0-80,0-80",
"gpu-memclock" : "500,500,500,500",
"gpu-powertune" : "0,0,0,0",
"gpu-vddc" : "1.200,1.200,1.200,1.200",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85,85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75,75,75",

"algo" : "c",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"worksize" : "0",

"donation" : "0.00",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
siggy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235



View Profile
January 18, 2012, 07:43:58 PM
 #3009

Is it possible to turn on the --submit-stale option in the *.conf file? 

What is the exact format the entry needs to be in the file?

thanks,
Sigg

I am Pentium of Borg. Division is futile. You will be approximated.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 08:38:42 PM
 #3010

Is it possible to turn on the --submit-stale option in the *.conf file? 
What is the exact format the entry needs to be in the file?

It can be done from the config.

I don't have it in front of me but I believe it is just:

Code:
"submit-stale" : true
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 09:16:31 PM
 #3011

Code:
"submit-stale" : true
That's precisely what it is.
Unless you're appending that option at the very end, you'll need a comma too:
Code:
"submit-stale" : true,
That should be obvious but I'm pointing it out anyway for the sake of the less technical crowd. JSON takes no prisoners.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 09:44:44 PM
 #3012

Code:
"submit-stale" : true
That's precisely what it is.
Unless you're appending that option at the very end, you'll need a comma too:
Code:
"submit-stale" : true,
That should be obvious but I'm pointing it out anyway for the sake of the less technical crowd. JSON takes no prisoners.

speaking of JSON,  has anyone got it working for the Volts ? 

anytime I put volts into the config, i cannot start cgminer. it will display a json error and stop. 

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 09:57:40 PM
 #3013

You cannot use the default "0.000" values. Try populating the values with correct voltages.

Also, make sure you don't use comma as your decimal point as some cultures do. Should you do that, JaSON will massacre the poor, unsuspecting cgminer and no mining will be done that day.
miscreanity
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 10:01:23 PM
 #3014

speaking of JSON,  has anyone got it working for the Volts ?  

Code:
"gpu-vddc" : "1.100",

That line works for my setup.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 10:05:55 PM
 #3015

speaking of JSON,  has anyone got it working for the Volts ?  

Code:
"gpu-vddc" : "1.100",

That line works for my setup.

will try again when I get home, but even when cgminer writes the conf to a file, restarting cgminer will crash.  removing this line will allow it to work.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 10:12:01 PM
 #3016

will try again when I get home, but even when cgminer writes the conf to a file, restarting cgminer will crash.  removing this line will allow it to work.

The value must be valid.  In some instances cgminer will write 0 as voltage which isn't valid and will cause a parsing error.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 11:16:47 PM
 #3017




But yeah - state exactly what you want with those 2 commands and once the CPU changes happen I'll put those 2 on first priority (for 5 BTC Smiley


I would like to add V to the list.  the more i read about undervolting, the more I want to try it.  especially with summer approaching.
Also, since reconfiguring a bunch of rigs will be easy to do from this interface, would be nice to be able to write the config to a file.


Kano,  I am willing to up the anti to get this stuff in....  10btc? anyone else willing to contribute?



1. ability to switch pools (i think setting a pools priority to 0 would work?)
2.  setting the following, for gpus's:
  • "intensity" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-engine" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-vddc" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-memclock" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-fan":      "newValue",  ex(50-85)
3. ability to write current config to text file:   {command writeConfig,  param filename) (please fix the volt config bug)


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 11:21:14 PM
 #3018




But yeah - state exactly what you want with those 2 commands and once the CPU changes happen I'll put those 2 on first priority (for 5 BTC Smiley


I would like to add V to the list.  the more i read about undervolting, the more I want to try it.  especially with summer approaching.
Also, since reconfiguring a bunch of rigs will be easy to do from this interface, would be nice to be able to write the config to a file.


Kano,  I am willing to up the anti to get this stuff in....  10btc? anyone else willing to contribute?



1. ability to switch pools (i think setting a pools priority to 0 would work?)
2.  setting the following, for gpus's:
  • "intensity" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-engine" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-vddc" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-memclock" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-fan":      "newValue",  ex(50-85)
3. ability to write current config to text file:   {command writeConfig,  param filename) (please fix the volt config bug)



I think Kano main objection to modification now is the code base will be changed significantly when cpu mining is removed.  He would rather wait until cpu mining is complete, finalized, and then work off that version for more PRC enhancements.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 11:30:57 PM
 #3019


Well, I guess I have plenty of work to do getting the webpage working nicely, even before the enhancements are ready although it would be nice to code against a working version

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 11:38:53 PM
 #3020

IRC Smiley

Code:
09:58 < kanoi> conman: question, since I'm far from knowing much about git ...
               if I make some changes to api.c all this luke crap isn't gonna
               mean I have to keep redoing it or anything like that? (I can
               just work off the current version?)

Some changes are happening today or tomorrow.

Code:
10:23 < kanoi> I wait :)
10:23 < kanoi> I'll
10:24 < kanoi> maybe tomorrow or the weekend then

Edit: FYI we are both in Aus - it's Thu morning here

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!