Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:57:36 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 [777] 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824602 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
konradp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
September 09, 2014, 08:54:15 AM
 #15521

Hi,

I see these messages when cgminer works, but can't find any documentation regarding them. What do they mean?

They didn't come one after another, I only collected the messages I don't understand. Here we go:


Quote
BFL looking for BFL 0403:6014 but found 1002:4396 instead

Not a ZTEX device 1002:4397
 and later: USB scan devices: checking for BAS devices

AVA looking for AVA 0403:6001 but found 148f:5370 instead

ICA looking for BLT 0403:6001 but found 148f:5370 instead

GPU 2 found something? OCL, NONCE 8.... found in slot 0

Generated stratum header 000....

Generated stratum work


I'd be grateful for any help.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481284656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284656
Reply with quote  #2

1481284656
Report to moderator
1481284656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284656
Reply with quote  #2

1481284656
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2014, 09:56:49 AM
 #15522

Hi,

I see these messages when cgminer works, but can't find any documentation regarding them. What do they mean?

They didn't come one after another, I only collected the messages I don't understand. Here we go:


Quote
BFL looking for BFL 0403:6014 but found 1002:4396 instead

Not a ZTEX device 1002:4397
 and later: USB scan devices: checking for BAS devices

AVA looking for AVA 0403:6001 but found 148f:5370 instead

ICA looking for BLT 0403:6001 but found 148f:5370 instead

GPU 2 found something? OCL, NONCE 8.... found in slot 0

Generated stratum header 000....

Generated stratum work


I'd be grateful for any help.
I'm not sure where you're seeing these messages. There hasn't been any GPU code in mainline cgminer for over a year and I'm not supporting anything but the current version.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
konradp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
September 09, 2014, 10:14:12 AM
 #15523

Quote
I'm not sure where you're seeing these messages. There hasn't been any GPU code in mainline cgminer for over a year and I'm not supporting anything but the current version.

Thanks @ckolivas.

This is the output of cgminer.

I use it to mine on testnet. There are 4 radeon 79xx gpu cards, and according to cgminer stats it does ~2.5gh/s - I was hoping to mine something, especially that current testnet difficulty == 1.0, but it doesn't work, hence I posted this warning(?) messages.
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
September 09, 2014, 02:08:55 PM
 #15524

Quote
I'm not sure where you're seeing these messages. There hasn't been any GPU code in mainline cgminer for over a year and I'm not supporting anything but the current version.

Thanks @ckolivas.

This is the output of cgminer.

I use it to mine on testnet. There are 4 radeon 79xx gpu cards, and according to cgminer stats it does ~2.5gh/s - I was hoping to mine something, especially that current testnet difficulty == 1.0, but it doesn't work, hence I posted this warning(?) messages.

Which version?  Wink

spiceminer15
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
September 10, 2014, 03:48:24 PM
 #15525

ckolivas, any idea why the new firmware & cgminer version on the s3 would stop access via the API?

I don't have an s3 yet, mine will be here soon though, they have been shipped from china... but in the meantime users of my app are saying when they upgrade firmware and install newest version of cgminer app doesn't have access to api. they've said they still have api access enabled.

when I wrote the app I used the API specs that were in github. it worked before the update.

i'll be able to test when my s3 come but thought maybe someone knew off that top of their head

Spiceminer's Ant Monitor v1.1.14 - Online mobileminer stats, pool management - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=760810.0
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
September 10, 2014, 08:08:15 PM
 #15526

As the sun sets on the home mining scene [...]

I suspect there will be people mining at home for fun pretty much forever.  And home mining for profit has been pretty much impossible for years - at least not without a huge amount of luck - although many people let wishful thinking cloud their judgment.

Thanks for the new release - I will test it out on a couple of Monarchs shortly :-)

roy
Count_Frackula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2014, 08:09:50 PM
 #15527

ckolivas, any idea why the new firmware & cgminer version on the s3 would stop access via the API?

I don't have an s3 yet, mine will be here soon though, they have been shipped from china... but in the meantime users of my app are saying when they upgrade firmware and install newest version of cgminer app doesn't have access to api. they've said they still have api access enabled.

when I wrote the app I used the API specs that were in github. it worked before the update.

i'll be able to test when my s3 come but thought maybe someone knew off that top of their head
Working fine for me.

Rent my SHA-256 rigs on Mining Rig Rentals.
spiceminer15
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
September 10, 2014, 08:15:45 PM
 #15528

ckolivas, any idea why the new firmware & cgminer version on the s3 would stop access via the API?

I don't have an s3 yet, mine will be here soon though, they have been shipped from china... but in the meantime users of my app are saying when they upgrade firmware and install newest version of cgminer app doesn't have access to api. they've said they still have api access enabled.

when I wrote the app I used the API specs that were in github. it worked before the update.

i'll be able to test when my s3 come but thought maybe someone knew off that top of their head
Working fine for me.

ok. I might be end user error. I didn't think the API would change all of a sudden

Spiceminer's Ant Monitor v1.1.14 - Online mobileminer stats, pool management - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=760810.0
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
September 10, 2014, 08:49:17 PM
 #15529

Not immediately detecting my Monarchs.

Am I right in thinking that all I should need is --enable-bflsc at build time (and nothing special at run time)?
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
September 10, 2014, 09:10:36 PM
 #15530

Not immediately detecting my Monarchs.

Am I right in thinking that all I should need is --enable-bflsc at build time (and nothing special at run time)?

Ah, it appears that production Monarchs (or at least these two) have iProduct set to "BitFORCE SHA256".  A quick edit of usbutils.c and we're hashing (albeit with a warning at startup about an unknown firmware version).

Note that this iProduct string seems to be the same as the old BFL FPGAs.  I've no idea whether this matters - although I'm not compiling the old bitforce driver so it clearly doesn't matter to me.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 10, 2014, 10:51:45 PM
 #15531

ckolivas, any idea why the new firmware & cgminer version on the s3 would stop access via the API?

I don't have an s3 yet, mine will be here soon though, they have been shipped from china... but in the meantime users of my app are saying when they upgrade firmware and install newest version of cgminer app doesn't have access to api. they've said they still have api access enabled.

when I wrote the app I used the API specs that were in github. it worked before the update.

i'll be able to test when my s3 come but thought maybe someone knew off that top of their head
Working fine for me.

ok. I might be end user error. I didn't think the API would change all of a sudden
S3 disables write access to the API and ignores the _aa setting.
I'm not sure which versions do this setting or if it is all of them.
I've had 3 different versions (my first S3 controller board went strange and Bitmain replaced it quickly for me) so I'm not sure.

In /etc/init.d/cgminer mine had:

PARAMS="$AOPTIONS $POOL1 $POOL2 $POOL3 $_pb $_ow $_bec --api-listen --api-network --bitmain-checkn2diff --bitmain-hwerror --queue 4096"

Instead I change it to:

PARAMS="$AOPTIONS $POOL1 $POOL2 $POOL3 $_pb $_ow $_bec --api-listen --api-allow $_aa --bitmain-checkn2diff --bitmain-hwerror --queue 1024"

(though 1024 can probably be lower - I've not checked what it should be)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 10, 2014, 10:57:18 PM
 #15532

Not immediately detecting my Monarchs.

Am I right in thinking that all I should need is --enable-bflsc at build time (and nothing special at run time)?

Ah, it appears that production Monarchs (or at least these two) have iProduct set to "BitFORCE SHA256".  A quick edit of usbutils.c and we're hashing (albeit with a warning at startup about an unknown firmware version).

Note that this iProduct string seems to be the same as the old BFL FPGAs.  I've no idea whether this matters - although I'm not compiling the old bitforce driver so it clearly doesn't matter to me.
I wonder if that is true of all the new ones Tongue
Maybe BFL doesn't like cgminer working with it - though they indirectly paid for the driver ...
My original moth has been mining fine at ~250W, ~330GH/s at the pool, for over 2 months now

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
September 10, 2014, 11:12:32 PM
 #15533

I wonder if that is true of all the new ones Tongue
Maybe BFL doesn't like cgminer working with it - though they indirectly paid for the driver ...
My original moth has been mining fine at ~250W, ~330GH/s at the pool, for over 2 months now

I would assume it must be true of at least all the ones shipping right now.  Seems unlikely that mine are special in some way.

BTW, is there/will there be any access to underclocking/undervolting?  I'm pretty sure BFL promised this would be possible...

roy
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2014, 11:24:40 PM
 #15534

I wonder if that is true of all the new ones Tongue
Maybe BFL doesn't like cgminer working with it - though they indirectly paid for the driver ...
My original moth has been mining fine at ~250W, ~330GH/s at the pool, for over 2 months now

I would assume it must be true of at least all the ones shipping right now.  Seems unlikely that mine are special in some way.

BTW, is there/will there be any access to underclocking/undervolting?  I'm pretty sure BFL promised this would be possible...
Just like last time, the cgminer development team is mostly in the dark and treated as 3rd class citizens by BFL so we have no idea when they change firmwares (like you experienced by them changing the ID string) or add features or whatever. Infuriating, but then our complaints are minor compared to customers.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
TrevorS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 307


View Profile
September 11, 2014, 02:40:21 AM
 #15535

Could someone please explain the practical difference between Cgminer "balanced" (shares) Vs "load balanced" (quota) pool selections.  What are the advantages and disadvantages of one Vs the other?  I'm finding it too obtuse Sad!  Thanks in advance for your assistance Smiley!
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
September 11, 2014, 01:19:33 PM
 #15536

One is counting shares you return, second is counting getworks you take.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
wolf_miner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
September 11, 2014, 03:25:57 PM
 #15537

Hi, using --load-balance strategy is possible to split the complessive hashrate at 2 user (33% USER1/ 66% USER2) on the same pool (POOL_ABC)?

"pools" : [
        {
                "quota"  : "1;POOL_ABC:3333",
                "user" : "USER1",
                "pass" : "123"
        },
        {
                "quota" : "2;POOL_ABC:3333",
                "user" : "USER2",
                "pass" : "123"
        }
]

Thanks in advance W_M
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
September 11, 2014, 06:50:28 PM
 #15538

Hack will be add one user twice Cheesy

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2014, 10:29:51 PM
 #15539

Hi, using --load-balance strategy is possible to split the complessive hashrate at 2 user (33% USER1/ 66% USER2) on the same pool (POOL_ABC)?

"pools" : [
        {
                "quota"  : "1;POOL_ABC:3333",
                "user" : "USER1",
                "pass" : "123"
        },
        {
                "quota" : "2;POOL_ABC:3333",
                "user" : "USER2",
                "pass" : "123"
        }
]

Thanks in advance W_M
Yes that will work fine.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
konradp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
September 12, 2014, 06:48:23 AM
 #15540

Quote
I'm not sure where you're seeing these messages. There hasn't been any GPU code in mainline cgminer for over a year and I'm not supporting anything but the current version.

Thanks @ckolivas.

This is the output of cgminer.

I use it to mine on testnet. There are 4 radeon 79xx gpu cards, and according to cgminer stats it does ~2.5gh/s - I was hoping to mine something, especially that current testnet difficulty == 1.0, but it doesn't work, hence I posted this warning(?) messages.

Which version?  Wink

It's 3.5.0, I just need to mine with gpu on testnet, that is why I use an old version.
Pages: « 1 ... 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 [777] 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!