Bitcoin Forum
July 18, 2018, 09:16:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 [157] 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756869 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 10:30:34 AM
 #3121

Interested in remote access to a 6990 rig?
A quick prod would not hurt, but I expect I'll find the same thing. Of course I can only work with linux :s

No problem, I'll see what I can see set up. Do you have a preference in Linux distro? ;-)

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
1531905381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531905381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531905381
Reply with quote  #2

1531905381
Report to moderator
1531905381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531905381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531905381
Reply with quote  #2

1531905381
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531905381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531905381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531905381
Reply with quote  #2

1531905381
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2012, 11:15:48 AM
 #3122

No problem, I'll see what I can see set up. Do you have a preference in Linux distro? ;-)
Thanks, ubuntu or debian are the likely culprits.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
January 24, 2012, 01:37:17 PM
 #3123

I'm running cgminer like this:

Code:
cgminer -c Desktop/p2pool.json

and here is the content of Desktop/p2pool.json:

Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "http://127.0.0.1:9332",
"user" : "nouser",
"pass" : "nopass1"
},
{
"url" : "http://arsbitcoin.com:8344",
"user" : "<removed>",
"pass" : "default"
}
],

"kernel" : "phatk",
   "kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin",
"worksize" : "256",
"vectors" : "2",
"intensity" : "6",

"donation" : "0.5"
}

as you can see I have set the donation amount to 0.5%, yet cgminer still says:

Code:
[2012-01-24 14:28:44] --donation is disabled, please consider just 0.5% :-(

how come? Is the configuration file above not correct? I'm running cgminer 2.1.2.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2012, 02:28:59 PM
 #3124

Well, after much poking and prodding and asking on forums and scouring APIs and lots of ridiculous documents, I can see there is no official way to tell that two GPUs on a dual GPU card belong to the same device. There is nothing shared between the two. However, having access to an actual device I was able to come u p with the following. This has been committed to the git tree:

Detect dual GPU cards via the indirect information of - 1st card has a fan controller. 2nd card does not have a fan controller, cards share the same device name, and are one bus ID apart. Use this information to create paired devices, displaying the fan speed on both devices and using the hottest temperature from either GPU to control the overall fanspeed.

I have confirmed this works on 5970s. Next would be the 6990s...

Now I better get some sleep  Wink

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 02:49:15 PM
 #3125

Well, after much poking and prodding and asking on forums and scouring APIs and lots of ridiculous documents, I can see there is no official way to tell that two GPUs on a dual GPU card belong to the same device. There is nothing shared between the two. However, having access to an actual device I was able to come u p with the following. This has been committed to the git tree:

Detect dual GPU cards via the indirect information of - 1st card has a fan controller. 2nd card does not have a fan controller, cards share the same device name, and are one bus ID apart. Use this information to create paired devices, displaying the fan speed on both devices and using the hottest temperature from either GPU to control the overall fanspeed.

I have confirmed this works on 5970s. Next would be the 6990s...

Now I better get some sleep  Wink

ck,  this could be problematic on windoz machines....  sometimes windows mixes up the order of the gpus. I know windoz is everyone's favorite whipping boy, but it is a necessary evil.

Code:
cgminer version 2.1.2 - Started: [1327278549]    Rig: miner14
(5s):?  (avg): 1723.83 Mh/s  |    Q:32805   A:52875   R:584   HW:0   E:?%   U:23.21/m
TQ:?   ST:137   SS:?   DW:2095   NB:228   LW:94056   GF:29   RF:447
Connected to http://us.eclipsemc.com:8337 with LP as user ?
GPU 0: 74.5C    | 361.1/360.0Mh/s | 800Mhz 1.05V A:11121 R:121 HW:0 U:4.88/m I: 7
GPU 1: 73.5C    | 361.3/360.1Mh/s | 800Mhz 1.05V A:10746 R:125 HW:0 U:4.72/m I: 7
GPU 2: 73.5C 3498RPM 55% | 360.4/360.1Mh/s | 800Mhz 1.05V A:11168 R:127 HW:0 U:4.90/m I: 7
GPU 3: 74.0C 3695RPM 61% | 361.5/360.1Mh/s | 800Mhz 1.05V A:11098 R:134 HW:0 U:4.87/m I: 7
GPU 4: 66.5C 2666RPM 50% | 280.4/283.4Mh/s | 900Mhz 1.15V A:8742 R:77 HW:0 U:3.84/m I: 7

edit:  to make matters worse.  GPU 4:  is actual in the 0 slot and has this monitor plugged into it...  just the way windows sometimes loads the drivers..

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 04:30:40 PM
 #3126

<snip>

I have confirmed this works on 5970s. Next would be the 6990s...

<snip>

Yeah yeah, working on that ;-)

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 04:58:45 PM
 #3127

ck,  this could be problematic on windoz machines....  sometimes windows mixes up the order of the gpus. I know windoz is everyone's favorite whipping boy, but it is a necessary evil.
I'm not sure Windows can really be blamed about that. I clearly remember Conman bitching about crazy device enumeration being done in AMD's drivers.
So, no Windows jokes this time.
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 08:06:27 PM
 #3128

Will update and rebuild and check the 5970 fan info to see how it is working...

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2012, 08:26:05 PM
 #3129

False positive for picking up twin cards is a problem. False negative is not. Anyway I need access to more hardware to see what else I need to do.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 08:52:11 PM
 #3130

Yaaaaaaaaaaay! i blew a fan totally by my own fault of using cgminers "rapingly powerful fan control"
Time for me to not use that!, xD had my fan running at 100% for three days without knowing it xD Now it turns at 1/5th the RPM.

Lol, Never believed it before, BUT FANS ARE NOT MEANT TO RUN AT 100%!!!!

Hey guys can a fan "break" Out And Into place? All of a sudden the fan is spinning at normal speeds again, And the bearing seems just fine.

Then about 1hr later (while mining), It's slows down like a bitch and overheats till shutdown, I restart, Fan not turning, Give it a little push, and VROOOM proper speed...

Lol.. like wtf...

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 08:54:16 PM
 #3131

Yaaaaaaaaaaay! i blew a fan totally by my own fault of using cgminers "rapingly powerful fan control"
Time for me to not use that!, xD had my fan running at 100% for three days without knowing it xD Now it turns at 1/5th the RPM.

Lol, Never believed it before, BUT FANS ARE NOT MEANT TO RUN AT 100%!!!!

Hey guys can a fan "break" Out And Into place? All of a sudden the fan is spinning at normal speeds again, And the bearing seems just fine.

Then about 1hr later (while mining), It's slows down like a bitch and overheats till shutdown, I restart, Fan not turning, Give it a little push, and VROOOM proper speed...

Lol.. like wtf...
That's what happens when you run a fan at 100%...

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 08:59:53 PM
 #3132

Yaaaaaaaaaaay! i blew a fan totally by my own fault of using cgminers "rapingly powerful fan control"
Time for me to not use that!, xD had my fan running at 100% for three days without knowing it xD Now it turns at 1/5th the RPM.

Lol, Never believed it before, BUT FANS ARE NOT MEANT TO RUN AT 100%!!!!

Hey guys can a fan "break" Out And Into place? All of a sudden the fan is spinning at normal speeds again, And the bearing seems just fine.

Then about 1hr later (while mining), It's slows down like a bitch and overheats till shutdown, I restart, Fan not turning, Give it a little push, and VROOOM proper speed...

Lol.. like wtf...

I would replace it ASAP.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2012, 10:20:19 PM
 #3133

Yaaaaaaaaaaay! i blew a fan totally by my own fault of using cgminers "rapingly powerful fan control"
Time for me to not use that!, xD had my fan running at 100% for three days without knowing it xD Now it turns at 1/5th the RPM.

Lol, Never believed it before, BUT FANS ARE NOT MEANT TO RUN AT 100%!!!!

Hey guys can a fan "break" Out And Into place? All of a sudden the fan is spinning at normal speeds again, And the bearing seems just fine.

Then about 1hr later (while mining), It's slows down like a bitch and overheats till shutdown, I restart, Fan not turning, Give it a little push, and VROOOM proper speed...

Lol.. like wtf...
That's what happens when you run a fan at 100%...
And this is why cgminer peaks autofan at 85% and reserves 100% only for overheat situations.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 10:44:52 PM
 #3134

*snickers* Yeah a replacement is on the way!, Sorrrrie for my minihijack~ ty for the comments

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 11:25:01 PM
 #3135

You sir, are a king among men.   Grin

Donation % bumped up to 2.  (Until I ditch all my GPUs and go pure FPGA anyway. )  Wink

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
1onevvolf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 25, 2012, 11:25:31 AM
 #3136

I've just committed the first patch to the git tree that should enable 79xx cards to work properly under cgminer (delete any dodgy .bins created before this attempt). I have no idea if it performs even remotely well, but in theory at least, it won't behave stupidly as the current version does. If someone does run it, could you please dump the output of -D -T the first time you run it? Also it may be worth starting it with -v 1, and/or experiment with various combinations of -v and -w (default being -v 2 -w 128 if you set nothing).

I tried to test your 79xx patch on the git tree following the instructions in the README but after several hours of trying I was unable to get it to actually build on my windows machine.

But it might help you to know that I've found that using the poclbm kernel, setting vector size to 1 and hard-coding the poclbm kernel's BFI_INT to false gives me ~600MH/s (which is much better than the ~540MH/s v2.1.2 kernel with the same settings).

Further gains can be had by changing the definition of ch() and Ma() in the poclbm kernel to use bitselect() instead of boolean operations. Changing this gets cgminer's Radeon HD 7970 performance up to within 3% of that of Diablominer's  (diablo gives me 670MH/s while cgminer gives 650MH/s @ 1125MHz).



-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2012, 11:39:11 AM
 #3137

Thanks. The GCN compatible phatk kernel that's in the tree should be even faster than that hardcoded poclbm which is reassuring... assuming it works as planned  Wink Alas building on windows is an absolutely pain in the arse and as I've said before even I can't remember what I installed in the end to get it building  Tongue I'll see if I can build one maybe tomorrow.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
smurfix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2012, 03:29:44 PM
 #3138

Hi,

I just had an annoying multi-hour debugging session, trying to figure out why cgminer thinks there's only one GPU in my (Debian Testing) system.

$ aticonfig --list-ad
* 0. 06:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
  1. 07:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
  2. 08:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5450

Turns out that AMD is being stupid. Again.

OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4 (595.10) (don't remember where I downloaded it from): library works.
OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (831.4) (available from http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/Pages/default.aspx ) does NOT see more than one GPU.

You can extract the build number etc. from the library with
$ strings -a /pth/to/the/library.so | grep "^OpenCL.*AMD-APP"
 
Sorry if this has been mentioned before, but this thread is too long to scan everything.


1Q1gDfJjvxN1G3pHRdioXQMHkUnBaF99r1
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2012, 05:01:48 PM
 #3139

OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (831.4) (available from http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/Pages/default.aspx ) does NOT see more than one GPU.

You can extract the build number etc. from the library with
$ strings -a /pth/to/the/library.so | grep "^OpenCL.*AMD-APP"
 
Sorry if this has been mentioned before, but this thread is too long to scan everything.
Not at all. I think you may have discovered the cause of yet another random unexplained failure that has yet to be mentioned on this thread.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Proofer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 25, 2012, 05:45:33 PM
 #3140

Trying to understand what happened here...

Code:

[2012-01-25 09:01:07] Accepted 00000000.0292c640.b44ff0df GPU 1 thread 3 pool 0
......... omitted 15 "Accepted" lines not mentioning thread 3 ........
[2012-01-25 09:01:29] Thread 3 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 3 declared SICK!
[2012-01-25 09:01:29] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-01-25 09:01:29] Thread 6 still exists, killing it off
[2012-01-25 09:01:29] Thread 7 still exists, killing it off
[2012-01-25 09:01:33] Thread 6 restarted
[2012-01-25 09:01:34] Thread 7 restarted
[2012-01-25 09:01:35] Thread 7 being disabled
[2012-01-25 09:01:35] Thread 6 being disabled

Is the "Thread 3 idle ..." correct?  Thread 3 is associated with GPU 1, not GPU 3.

While I have had occasional "SICK!"s -- 0 to a half dozen a day, but none since compiling from github a couple of days ago  -- this is the first disabling I've seen.
Pages: « 1 ... 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 [157] 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!