Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:30:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 [216] 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4817801 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 12:19:58 PM
 #4301

New release: Version 2.2.7 - February 20, 2012
......
reject ratio higher for me, about 3% instead 0,5% at 2.1.2

my conf.
p2pool 462b252 multi merged mining
bitcoind 0.6
atiumdag 8.920.0.0 (Catalyst 11.12) / Win7 64
OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1)

Quote
Version 2.3.1 - February 24, 2012
2.3.1-2
reject ratio still about 3% for me...
cgminer supports the SUBMITOLD extension now and p2pool is telling cgminer to submit the stale shares. So yep, it's working.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1480912259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912259
Reply with quote  #2

1480912259
Report to moderator
1480912259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912259
Reply with quote  #2

1480912259
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 02:09:23 PM
 #4302

New release: Version 2.2.7 - February 20, 2012
......
reject ratio higher for me, about 3% instead 0,5% at 2.1.2

my conf.
p2pool 462b252 multi merged mining
bitcoind 0.6
atiumdag 8.920.0.0 (Catalyst 11.12) / Win7 64
OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1)

Quote
Version 2.3.1 - February 24, 2012
2.3.1-2
reject ratio still about 3% for me...
cgminer supports the SUBMITOLD extension now and p2pool is telling cgminer to submit the stale shares. So yep, it's working.

I'm currently playing around with p2pool, too ... so ne need to add --submit-stale as this is forced, if needed via SUBMITOLD, right?
The LPs occur quite often for p2pool, so what would you suggest as a good intensity, perhaps in relation to MH/s ... could that be an idea to let CGMINER compute the best value for -I with p2pool (and I'm not talking about the normal -I d switch).

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 02:11:32 PM
 #4303

I'm currently playing around with p2pool, too ... so ne need to add --submit-stale as this is forced, if needed via SUBMITOLD, right?
The LPs occur quite often for p2pool, so what would you suggest as a good intensity, perhaps in relation to MH/s ... could that be an idea to let CGMINER compute the best value for -I with p2pool (and I'm not talking about the normal -I d switch).
Yes to the first question, README to the second.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 02:18:16 PM
 #4304

I'm currently playing around with p2pool, too ... so ne need to add --submit-stale as this is forced, if needed via SUBMITOLD, right?
The LPs occur quite often for p2pool, so what would you suggest as a good intensity, perhaps in relation to MH/s ... could that be an idea to let CGMINER compute the best value for -I with p2pool (and I'm not talking about the normal -I d switch).
Yes to the first question, README to the second.

You Con rock Smiley!

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
stevegee58
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 02:33:53 PM
 #4305

I'm currently playing around with p2pool, too ... so ne need to add --submit-stale as this is forced, if needed via SUBMITOLD, right?
The LPs occur quite often for p2pool, so what would you suggest as a good intensity, perhaps in relation to MH/s ... could that be an idea to let CGMINER compute the best value for -I with p2pool (and I'm not talking about the normal -I d switch).

Dia

I'm with p2pool and I've simply left the -I switch off entirely to allow dynamic intensity.  With dynamic intensities running from 4-6, I've found almost no performance benefit to manually setting it higher than that (at least in my setup).

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 03:23:32 PM
 #4306

New release: Version 2.2.7 - February 20, 2012
......
reject ratio higher for me, about 3% instead 0,5% at 2.1.2

my conf.
p2pool 462b252 multi merged mining
bitcoind 0.6
atiumdag 8.920.0.0 (Catalyst 11.12) / Win7 64
OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1)

Quote
Version 2.3.1 - February 24, 2012
2.3.1-2
reject ratio still about 3% for me...
cgminer supports the SUBMITOLD extension now and p2pool is telling cgminer to submit the stale shares. So yep, it's working.

I'm currently playing around with p2pool, too ... so ne need to add --submit-stale as this is forced, if needed via SUBMITOLD, right?
The LPs occur quite often for p2pool, so what would you suggest as a good intensity, perhaps in relation to MH/s ... could that be an idea to let CGMINER compute the best value for -I with p2pool (and I'm not talking about the normal -I d switch).

I found 1 intensity lower than normal works well.  I run 5970s @ Intensity 9.  I use Intensity 8 for p2pool.
Also make sure queue and threads per GPU are 1.  With LP time of 10 sec unless your per thread hashrate is > 430MH/s using multiple threads and a deep queue is essentially useless.
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 05:05:05 PM
 #4307

I currently use -I 8, too looks good so far.

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 06:42:30 PM
 #4308

Hi,

I don't know if this is the correct forum where ask my question, but since it is cgminer related I start from here Smiley

I've got a five 5870 rig I've just set up, it runs xubuntu 11.10 with catalyst 11.8 (the one that installs using xubuntu proprietary drivers applet) and I've installed AMD SDK 2.4.

If I don't use GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1  CPU usage goes to 90%, If I use it, on the other hand, cgminer uses from 20 to 35% of CPU and CPU is a sempron 2.8 Ghz

This is with intensity 5 and standard 2 threads per GPU (a single thread per GPU makes little difference).

My question is: how much CPU should cgminer use? How much uses it on your multi-gpu rigs?

TIA.

spiccioli.

ps. my other two rigs have 2 GPUs  each and with sync objects use very little cpu (less than 5%).

This is cgminer -ndevs output, note it says AMD SDK 2.5 but I've installed 2.4 following kanoi  recipe
https://github.com/kanoi/linux-usb-cgminer/blob/master/linux-usb-cgminer

Code:
$ cgminer/cgminer -ndevs
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1)
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Platform 0 devices: 5
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] GPU 0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabled
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 0 engine clock to 830
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 0 memory clock to 160
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 0 voltage to 1.050
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] GPU 1 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabled
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 1 engine clock to 830
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 1 memory clock to 160
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 1 voltage to 1.050
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] GPU 2 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabled
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 2 engine clock to 830
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 2 memory clock to 160
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 2 voltage to 1.050
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] GPU 3 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabled
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 3 engine clock to 830
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 3 memory clock to 160
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 3 voltage to 1.050
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] GPU 4 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabled
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 4 engine clock to 830
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 4 memory clock to 160
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] Setting GPU 4 voltage to 1.050
[2012-02-25 19:38:05] 5 GPU devices max detected
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 09:12:50 PM
 #4309

Hi,

I don't know if this is the correct forum where ask my question, but since it is cgminer related I start from here Smiley

I've got a five 5870 rig I've just set up, it runs xubuntu 11.10 with catalyst 11.8 (the one that installs using xubuntu proprietary drivers applet) and I've installed AMD SDK 2.4.

If I don't use GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1  CPU usage goes to 90%, If I use it, on the other hand, cgminer uses from 20 to 35% of CPU and CPU is a sempron 2.8 Ghz

Dud catalyst driver. Use 11.6 or 11.11+ on linux.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 09:20:24 PM
 #4310

I would like to ask about mining on windows 8 ? any experience ?
I tryed and all i got was restarts of pc Sad

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
Vbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 10:51:11 PM
 #4311

min(x,y) http://www.khronos.org/registry/cl/sdk/1.2/docs/man/xhtml/commonMin.html
gets implemented low-level as
Code:
w: MIN_UINT    R0.w,  R0.x,  PV1350.y
, which *should*  (I know, AMD... Roll Eyes) be rather stable. The big problem with the alternative (&) is the huge number of false positives, since it's bitwise, like 01010011 & 10101100 = 00000000, which is bad for the branch predictor. I'm testing now with a conservative approach (just this one change from default),
Code:
#elif defined VECTORS2
bool result = min(W[117].x,W[117].y);
if (!result) {
if (!W[117].x)
output[FOUND] = output[NFLAG & W[3].x] = W[3].x;
if (!W[117].y)
output[FOUND] = output[NFLAG & W[3].y] = W[3].y;
}
and got a slight (3~4MH/s) increase (5850, SDK 2.5 from Cat 11.11).
You can do the maths on false positives. You're greatly exaggerating the "HUGE NUMBER". It's about 1 share for 1 false positive. More so on 4 vectors (but no one uses them). That is not remotely common...

Increase eh?

Call me sceptical to the core.

EDIT: I will look into it, but I'm so terrified of unintentionally breaking shit like I did last time. It was in this code specifically where the slowdown was, so you can imagine why I'm so resistant.

Did some more testing:
Code:
bool result = W[117].x & W[117].y;    //around 2400 false positives/second @400MH/s             | GPU ISA: w: AND_INT    R0.w, R0.x,     PV1350.y
bool result = W[117].x * W[117].y;    //around 2 false positives/second (yes, only 2!) @400MH/s | GPU ISA: t: MULLO_INT  R0.w, R0.x,     PV1350.y
bool result = min(W[117].x,W[117].y); //no false                                                | GPU ISA: w: MIN_UINT   R0.w, PV1350.y, PV1350.x

Food for thought!  Grin
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 10:58:26 PM
 #4312

Did some more testing:
Code:
bool result = W[117].x & W[117].y;    //around 2400 false positives/second @400MH/s             | GPU ISA: w: AND_INT    R0.w, R0.x,     PV1350.y
bool result = W[117].x * W[117].y;    //around 2 false positives/second (yes, only 2!) @400MH/s | GPU ISA: t: MULLO_INT  R0.w, R0.x,     PV1350.y
bool result = min(W[117].x,W[117].y); //no false                                                | GPU ISA: w: MIN_UINT   R0.w, PV1350.y, PV1350.x

Food for thought!  Grin
Nice. Might be good for the older SDK suited kernels that suck with any().

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 11:03:21 PM
 #4313

I've been trying to get auto-gpu set in the config file with no luck. Can it even be turned on that way?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 11:07:26 PM
 #4314

I've been trying to get auto-gpu set in the config file with now luck. Can it even be turned on that way?

Code:
"auto-gpu" : true
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 11:40:56 PM
 #4315

Heya ckolivas,

I upgraded my rigs to 2.3.1 today and everything was fine on my single GPU rigs.  On my 5970 rigs though, fan control isn't behaving.  I've got one rig that is doing exactly what it should.  I've 2 other rigs that are adjusting one card but ignoring the 2nd card (it's either at the max fanspeed I specify, or 1-2% underneath it).  All 3 machines are running identical flash drive images, were started with identical commands, and have the same inlet air temperatures (they're all stacked on each other in the same room).  I believe I was using 2.1.1 before, but I'm not completely sure.  It was controlling the fans properly though.

In the settings for each GPU, cgminer "knows" that fan autotune is enabled and it "knows" what the correct target temperature is.  It's like it's shooting for a much lower temperature though...

Code:
cgminer version 2.3.1 - Started: [2012-02-25 16:24:29]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):1523.1 (avg):1303.5 Mh/s | Q:347  A:284  R:0  HW:0  E:82%  U:18.14/m
 TQ: 2  ST: 6  SS: 3  DW: 10  NB: 5  LW: 0  GF: 5  RF: 4
 Connected to http://btcguild.com:8332 with LP as user blah
 Block: 000003b6184ffd99b28ebe6d5d0c7f0a...  Started: [16:38:36]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  69.0C 2496RPM | 370.0/328.3Mh/s | A:64 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.09/m I: 8
 GPU 1:  69.5C 2496RPM | 366.5/328.2Mh/s | A:81 R:0 HW:0 U:  5.17/m I: 8
 GPU 2:  42.5C 4274RPM | 369.8/323.5Mh/s | A:68 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.34/m I: 8
 GPU 3:  47.5C 4274RPM | 359.2/327.7Mh/s | A:72 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.60/m I: 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 11:43:02 PM
 #4316

Yes I've audited the code a million times and can't find the bug. For some reason some dual GPU cards the auto-fan control isn't doing anything and it's sitting at 85% at all times.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 11:56:18 PM
 #4317

Interesting...   The odd part is that it works perfectly on another rig with identical components.  :-/

Code:
cgminer version 2.3.1 - Started: [2012-02-25 14:55:46]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):1489.6 (avg):1409.0 Mh/s | Q:2678  A:2381  R:6  HW:0  E:89%  U:20.00/m
 TQ: 4  ST: 5  SS: 20  DW: 156  NB: 18  LW: 0  GF: 34  RF: 28
 Connected to http://btcguild.com:8332 with LP as user bleh
 Block: 000003b6184ffd99b28ebe6d5d0c7f0a...  Started: [16:38:37]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  75.5C 3252RPM | 369.2/352.7Mh/s | A:589 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.95/m I: 8
 GPU 1:  73.5C 3252RPM | 369.5/352.8Mh/s | A:624 R:2 HW:0 U:  5.24/m I: 8
 GPU 2:  75.5C 2912RPM | 369.0/352.1Mh/s | A:589 R:2 HW:0 U:  4.95/m I: 8
 GPU 3:  75.5C 2912RPM | 369.1/351.5Mh/s | A:579 R:2 HW:0 U:  4.86/m I: 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
February 26, 2012, 12:02:38 AM
 #4318

I've been trying to get auto-gpu set in the config file with now luck. Can it even be turned on that way?

Code:
"auto-gpu" : true
Is it possible to turn it on for a specific gpu?
I've been running one with autogpu because it has a non reference fan. The rest I just use fan auto
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 26, 2012, 12:12:20 AM
 #4319

Is it possible to turn it on for a specific gpu?
I've been running one with autogpu because it has a non reference fan. The rest I just use fan auto
This parameter is global and enables ADL-related routines in cgminer, it is not enabled on a by-card basis as you'd surely know had you RTFM'd first.
Normally, since auto-gpu is a prerequisite for card speed throttling in case of fan failure(1) you want it enabled anyway.

Notes:
(1) or the house catching fire - "Whew! Suddenly getting hot in here, better drop those clocks"    (I really couldn't abstain from making a bad joke, sorry)
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 26, 2012, 01:30:29 AM
 #4320

Yes I've audited the code a million times and can't find the bug. For some reason some dual GPU cards the auto-fan control isn't doing anything and it's sitting at 85% at all times.
I think I figured it out:

ga->lasttemp seems to always contain the value for the temperature of the first GPU on the twin GPU card.  "temp" always contains the temperature of the GPU that is highest between the two.  Therefore, if the 2nd GPU on the card is hotter (and it almost always is on 5970s), it's never going to adjust.  ga->lasttemp needs to be modified to contain the value of the highest temp GPU between the two so that they're comparing "apples to apples".

The only reason my one rig is working and the other two aren't is because the 2nd GPU happens to stay a little cooler than the first.  The other two have hotter 2nd GPUs (as they should, since the hot air from the first GPU blows across it).

I'd make the change myself, but you really don't want to see my coding "skills".  I'm a good reverse-engineer, but I'm a shit coder (as far as keeping things clean goes).

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
Pages: « 1 ... 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 [216] 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!