Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 12:40:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 [204] 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4821364 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Rassah
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Director of Bitcoin100


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 05:04:34 PM
 #4061

Sapphire 5830 here, using newest drivers. Cgminer works exactly the same as it did on the old driver, hash speed and all (besides the BIG WARNING suggesting I use a previous driver when you start it, anyway)
Interesting. You're finding 5830 as fast on the new SDK as the old one? What clock speeds and what hashrate? Thanks.

Just downloaded and installed newest driver, and downloaded and ran newest cgminer. No compiling, since I'm on Windows. Overclocked to 950 Mhz, memory underclocked to 300 Mhz, intensity at 9. Used to average 270 Mhash, and still do. I don't know what kind of bad issues I was supposed to experience, but just letting you know there aren't any issues with mine.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Vbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 05:11:23 PM
 #4062

Sapphire 5830 here, using newest drivers. Cgminer works exactly the same as it did on the old driver, hash speed and all (besides the BIG WARNING suggesting I use a previous driver when you start it, anyway)
Interesting. You're finding 5830 as fast on the new SDK as the old one? What clock speeds and what hashrate? Thanks.

Just downloaded and installed newest driver, and downloaded and ran newest cgminer. No compiling, since I'm on Windows. Overclocked to 950 Mhz, memory underclocked to 300 Mhz, intensity at 9. Used to average 270 Mhash, and still do. I don't know what kind of bad issues I was supposed to experience, but just letting you know there aren't any issues with mine.

Did you delete the .bin inside cgminer's folder?
Rassah
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Director of Bitcoin100


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 05:50:54 PM
 #4063

Sapphire 5830 here, using newest drivers. Cgminer works exactly the same as it did on the old driver, hash speed and all (besides the BIG WARNING suggesting I use a previous driver when you start it, anyway)
Interesting. You're finding 5830 as fast on the new SDK as the old one? What clock speeds and what hashrate? Thanks.

Just downloaded and installed newest driver, and downloaded and ran newest cgminer. No compiling, since I'm on Windows. Overclocked to 950 Mhz, memory underclocked to 300 Mhz, intensity at 9. Used to average 270 Mhash, and still do. I don't know what kind of bad issues I was supposed to experience, but just letting you know there aren't any issues with mine.

Did you delete the .bin inside cgminer's folder?

I opened the compressed downloaded file, and copies all the contents into my old cgminer directory, overwriting all files. If the .bin file is part of the download, the yes. If it wasn't, then no. I don't know for sure Sad

The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 06:00:59 PM
 #4064

I opened the compressed downloaded file, and copies all the contents into my old cgminer directory, overwriting all files. If the .bin file is part of the download, the yes. If it wasn't, then no. I don't know for sure Sad
The bin files are compiled by the video card the first time you run cgminer.  Depending on the previous version of cgminer, there may not have been any kernel changes, and thus no compilation.  That said, most likely you are still running a .bin file from an older SDK and this is why you have not experienced a slowdown, especially since you are using a 58XX.  However, when a new version has kernel changes you will experience that slowdown.  To verify this in the meantime, you can rename the .bin files in your cgminer directory and run it again, you will most likely notice the slowdown and a new bin file.  You can delete the new file and rename the old file to switch back to the faster kernel from the older SDK, and you will know, moving forward, that the newer SDK causes speed problems if you see them with a new update.  If you don't need to prove this to yourself, just check out the date of the bin file and you will see it is older than everything else in the cgminer folder because you are still using an old one.  Note that there may be multiple bin files, in which case the newest one is most likely the one you are using (you can be certain if you haven't run multiple kernels and all others have a lower version number in the file name).
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 07:36:42 PM
 #4065

Sapphire 5830 here, using newest drivers. Cgminer works exactly the same as it did on the old driver, hash speed and all (besides the BIG WARNING suggesting I use a previous driver when you start it, anyway)
Interesting. You're finding 5830 as fast on the new SDK as the old one? What clock speeds and what hashrate? Thanks.
Rassah: Did you delete the old kernel and let it compile a new one with the new driver?

This.  He didn't delete the bins after installing SDK 2.6 thus cgminer uses the cached copy. 

Rassah delete the .bin files (or better move them to another folder for safekeeping), restart cgminer.  It will compile under 2.6 and you will see performance go down.
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 09:44:15 PM
 #4066

I have a host with 6970 and 7970.

Until now I have found no way to set GPU clock, mem clock and voltage at the same time.



- cgminers command line flags seem to not work: the power consumption is way too high, also MSI Afterburner shows that mem clock goes up once the miner starts mining.

- MSI Afterburner: I can set GPU clock and voltage, but mem clock can go no lower than 685

- Sapphire Trixx: GPU and mem clock can be set, but voltage is fixed

- ATI tray tools won't run with the 7970.

What to do?

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 10:10:00 PM
 #4067

Overclocked to 950 Mhz, memory underclocked to 300 Mhz, intensity at 9. Used to average 270 Mhash, and still do. I don't know what kind of bad issues I was supposed to experience, but just letting you know there aren't any issues with mine.

That seems like a low hash rate.  On my 5830 I get 295Mhash at 935 Mhz and 313Mhash or so at 950 Mhz.  What SDK were you using to start with.  I'm using 2.4.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 10:34:59 PM
 #4068

... Overclocked to 950 Mhz, memory underclocked to 300 Mhz, intensity at 9. Used to average 270 Mhash, and still do ...
Rassah, 270 MHash/s seems a tad low. May I ask what work size and vector width you are using? Are you running the default 2 threads per GPU?

Another fine-tuning suggestion: a 270 MHash/s card might be better off with intensity 8, the stale rate should drop a bit provided your pool server is fast enough.
Right now, I'm at 0,21% stales at Bitminter which is rather high - usually my stale rate is about 0,1%.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2012, 10:51:00 PM
 #4069

New release: Version 2.2.7 - February 20, 2012

- Send out extra longpolls when we have switched pools and the longpoll thread
is still bound to the old one. This is particularly useful with p2pool where
longpolls do not correlate with main bitcoin block change and would have led to
high reject rates on failover.
- Store whether a work item is the result of a longpoll or not in struct work
and use it to help determine block changes directly from the work longpoll bool.
- Keep track of when a longpoll has been sent for a pool and if the current pool
is requesting work but has not sent a longpoll request, convert one of the work
items to a longpoll
- Store the longpoll url in the pool struct and update it from the pool_active
test in case it changes. This is to allow further changes to longpoll management
on switching pools.
- Re-check for a longpoll supporting pool every 30 seconds if none is found
initially.
- Report threads as busy waiting on getwork on startup to avoid them being
flagged sick on startup during slow networking.
- Allow devices that are disabled due to overheating to be flagged as recovering
instead of disabling them and re-enable them if they're below ideal temperatures
and --no-restart has not been set.
- Tahiti prefers worksize 64 with poclbm.
- No need to expressly retain the opencl program now that the zero binary issue
is fixed. This actually fixes cgminer to work with the latest SDK included with
the ATI catalyst driver 12.2.
- Show error code on any opencl failure status.
- Add detection for version 898.1 SDK as well but only give SDK 2.6 warning once
on startup instead of with each device initialisation.
- Always use a fresh connection for longpoll as prolonged persistent connections
can fail for many reasons.
- Keep track of intended engine clock speed and only adjust up if it's higher
than the last intended speed. This avoids setting the clock speed to one
relative to
- Use gpu-memdiff on startup if an engine clockspeed is set and a memdiff value
is set.
- Revert "Adjust engine speed up according to performance level engine setting,
not the current engine speed." - ineffectual.
- Freeze the queues on all threads that are sent the pause message to prevent
them trying to start up again with saved pings in their queues.
- Updates to diakgcn kernel/
- Consolidate all screen updates to the watchdog thread and touch both windows
before refresh.
- Curses will be disabled in clean_up so don't do it early in kill_work, and
disable_adl so that GPU settings may be restored to normal in case shutting down
curses leads to instability on windows.
- Stop the mining threads before trying to kill them.
- Plain refresh() does not give reliably screen updates so get rid of all uses
of it.
- First release with working diakgcn kernel.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 11:56:57 PM
 #4070

I don't know what to say. Con, you are a coding MACHINE! So many releases recently with all these many new features. +1 My favorite miner.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 12:03:17 AM
 #4071

New release: Version 2.2.7 - February 20, 2012

- Report threads as busy waiting on getwork on startup to avoid them being flagged sick on startup during slow networking.

You guys are my HEROS !
I have been battling this problem for a while now and I am SO happy to see it addressed in this latest release.
As always, you guys rock.

BTW: Where is the donation pool now ?

ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2012, 12:15:54 AM
 #4072

BTW: Where is the donation pool now ?

Gone, the feature caused too many bugs and wasn't useful enough. You'll have to donate directly...

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 12:16:46 AM
 #4073

New release: Version 2.2.7 - February 20, 2012

- Report threads as busy waiting on getwork on startup to avoid them being flagged sick on startup during slow networking.

You guys are my HEROS !
I have been battling this problem for a while now and I am SO happy to see it addressed in this latest release.
As always, you guys rock.

BTW: Where is the donation pool now ?
There is no donation pool.
That code was removed a few versions ago.

As per his sig: 148KkS2vgVi4VzUi4JcKzM2PMaMVPi3nnq

Edit: OK I'm slow Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
miscreanity
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 12:30:20 AM
 #4074

Performance is remaining stable & no obvious issues so far.

Subjectively, it seems to be doing better using p2pool mixed with others. I'll let it run for several more hours and assess again.
stevegee58
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783



View Profile
February 20, 2012, 01:09:13 AM
 #4075

Performance is remaining stable & no obvious issues so far.

Subjectively, it seems to be doing better using p2pool mixed with others. I'll let it run for several more hours and assess again.

I've been running the new version for about 2 hours on p2pool.  Seems about the same performance-wise and running with no hiccups so far.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 02:25:00 AM
 #4076

Im using the --gpu-platform 1 switch to make cgminer use the stream 2.1 sdk but it keeps crashing, it tries to start threads on the 6530 integrated card.
Using a A6 apu with a 5850 and 5750.

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2012, 03:01:36 AM
 #4077

What is the best/preferred way to do log rotation with cgminer? I'm finding the logs pretty big and would like to manage them automatically.

I'm starting with "cgminer 2>>/var/log/cgminer.log"

I was just adding a logrotate config based off the rsyslog one and what I noticed is that cgminer doesn't open a new log file after the current one is archived. Is there a way to force that thru a postrotate script?

eg. /etc/logrotate.d/cgminer
Code:
/var/log/cgminer.log
{
        rotate 7
        daily
        missingok
        notifempty
        delaycompress
        compress
        postrotate
#add something here
        endscript
}

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 03:59:53 AM
 #4078

What is the best/preferred way to do log rotation with cgminer? I'm finding the logs pretty big and would like to manage them automatically.

I'm starting with "cgminer 2>>/var/log/cgminer.log"

I was just adding a logrotate config based off the rsyslog one and what I noticed is that cgminer doesn't open a new log file after the current one is archived. Is there a way to force that thru a postrotate script?
...
That's coz YOU never close it ...
redirection "2>>" will of course never close it's output file while the process is running.
You'd have to kill cgminer and start it again

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2012, 04:55:41 AM
 #4079

Con, I can confirm 2.2.6 Test works with 898.1 on Windows ... binaries are generated fine!
Did some tests with current diakgcn and it seems performance should not change with latest OpenCL runtime, but perhaps there are new ways to squeeze out a bit more performance Cheesy.

Edit: Which intensity do you use, when comparing kernel performance?
-I 11 seems the best for GCN on linux. Any more and the CPU usage starts to climb. On windows there's no way to set GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1 so I believe intensity 9 is the best.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 07:54:19 AM
 #4080

What is the best/preferred way to do log rotation with cgminer? I'm finding the logs pretty big and would like to manage them automatically.

I'm starting with "cgminer 2>>/var/log/cgminer.log"

I was just adding a logrotate config based off the rsyslog one and what I noticed is that cgminer doesn't open a new log file after the current one is archived. Is there a way to force that thru a postrotate script?

eg. /etc/logrotate.d/cgminer
Code:
/var/log/cgminer.log
{
        rotate 7
        daily
        missingok
        notifempty
        delaycompress
        compress
        postrotate
#add something here
        endscript
}

I have the same concern, maybe just make a new one (create) after archiving it

Pages: « 1 ... 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 [204] 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!