Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2018, 01:47:36 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 [187] 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 ... 845 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5765828 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
brox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 11:53:30 PM
 #3721

Maybe nobody cares, but I should notice anyway.
Version 2.0.8 (win32) is last that works fast and effective. My 5850 gives 350 MH/s and I'm happy with the speed. All later versions (I tried every one of them) under the same conditions (cmdline options are the same) give just 308 MH/s
Any ideas?

Yes, you upgraded your video drivers. Thats the root cause. The reason your old copy of cgminer still works faster, is because it contains a cached/compiled copy of the .BIN file generated with your old drivers and sdk. If you were to reinstall 2.0.8 you will likely get the same lousy hashrate.

See here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=63383.0

Thanks! You saved my brain from explosion)

Save dolphins! Donate to 1BTC4brox2pd14QubXGsXwarp9zV9tc8CZ
Mine Bitcoins in the cloud at cex.io
1540043256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043256
Reply with quote  #2

1540043256
Report to moderator
1540043256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043256
Reply with quote  #2

1540043256
Report to moderator
1540043256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043256
Reply with quote  #2

1540043256
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540043256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043256
Reply with quote  #2

1540043256
Report to moderator
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 11:59:06 PM
 #3722

Yeah would be good if we knew that magical memory clock / core clock ratio for 5870s !
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2012, 12:33:05 AM
 #3723

If that came from anyone else I would have laughed at it.

I heard people posting about it before and myself have found the same but the Mhash/s gains and temp drops are usually (at least to me) too negligible to pay too much attention to it.
On a 6970 it was 20 Mhash.

20 MHash/s over worst possible ratio of mem:core or over settings of an overclocked and tweaked card?
Sorry it was at 960, not 920.
Watching the trend in hashrate rise as I increased engine clock speed, I noticed a larger-than expected rise at 955 and then it peaked at 960. The hashrate was 20 higher there than I would have expected. Even though one of the cards goes as high as 985, it was faster at 960 than at 985 so I left it at 960 where it ran cooler and faster. It was only the other card that got to 990 when it started exceeding the values at 960.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2012, 12:35:46 AM
 #3724

My signal to noise ratio is extremely low with messages coming from everywhere and forum questions and so on, so I'm going to once more stop replying to anything that other people can answer. Thanks to the others who contribute to this thread.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Fuzzy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 12:47:47 AM
 #3725

I have just switched to CGminer and have 3 of my 4 cards running at their usual speed ~360 MH/s but the card with the monitor connected is getting 260 MH/s

I tried using the "-I 9,9,9,9" intensity setting but nothing changes.

Anyone have any hints? They were all running at 360 MH/s in GUI miner until the bug hit.
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
February 11, 2012, 01:40:13 AM
 #3726

Working on the 7970 tuning, I have tried to port both the diapolo and diablo kernels to cgminer. Alas neither of them are actually working yet, so instead I started modifying the existing poclbm kernel in cgminer to improve throughput. This should work on other GPUs as well as the 7970, but I have no idea if it's better or worse than phatk.

When it's released it will get a new date/version number, but I haven't changed the number right now so that people can download it now and give it a try:
https://raw.github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/kernels/poclbm120203.cl

Remember to delete any .bin files and if you're not on a 7970 with the latest cgminer, you'll have to tell it to use that kernel with -k poclbm.

So what's the damage? Well on the 7970 at 1200/1050 clocks, which was getting 694MHash, it's now getting 711Mhash. The 7970 has this unusual behaviour where the hashrate slowly rises for the first 5-10 minutes.

Nice, I tried this poclbm kernel but it crashes cgminer on startup for me. I have two 7970s and a 6950 in my system though.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2012, 01:42:09 AM
 #3727

Nice, I tried this poclbm kernel but it crashes cgminer on startup for me. I have two 7970s and a 6950 in my system though.
There's a problem with multiple different kernels running in the current cgminer release. This will be fixed on the next release.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
February 11, 2012, 02:31:55 AM
 #3728

Yeah would be good if we knew that magical memory clock / core clock ratio for 5870s !

950/180  Do the math.

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
rcocchiararo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2012, 03:09:43 AM
 #3729

i finally went back to my parents house and pluged a display to my ubuntu machine (the one i updated from 10.04 to 10.11 using ssh, in order to be able to use cgminer instead of phoenix, and ended up with a non working rig Tongue )

The problem was that the latest drivers, at least with the 2.4 sdk, cause some error / segmentation fault.

I thought that was because i was running with ssh -X, but that was not the case.

I then installed the latest one from synaptic (older than the newst one from AMD website) and all was fine.

ps: i updated to the latest from whatever i was using on 10.04, because the ones from 10.04 were not installable on 10.11 (they were some older drivers).

Also, upgrading had disabled the autologin, but i had no way of knowing that xD
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 11, 2012, 04:28:58 AM
 #3730

Maybe nobody cares, but I should notice anyway.
Version 2.0.8 (win32) is last that works fast and effective. My 5850 gives 350 MH/s and I'm happy with the speed. All later versions (I tried every one of them) under the same conditions (cmdline options are the same) give just 308 MH/s
Any ideas?

Yes, you upgraded your video drivers. Thats the root cause. The reason your old copy of cgminer still works faster, is because it contains a cached/compiled copy of the .BIN file generated with your old drivers and sdk. If you were to reinstall 2.0.8 you will likely get the same lousy hashrate.

See here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=63383.0

Thanks! You saved my brain from explosion)

So, if the description is accurate you should be able to copy the .bin files from your fast 2.0.8 to the current version and get the higher hash rate.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 08:54:19 AM
 #3731

Quote from: TheHarbinger
950/180  Do the math.

It doesnt work out to a nice round number. But I just tried.
5870 @ 950/300 : 432.4
5870 @ 950/180 : ~441-442
5870 @ 950/170 : ~442

Not a quantum leap, but still quite a nice boost!

So I tried another 5870 that runs at 1 GHz applying the same memory clock and same ratio and a few other speeds:

5870 @1000/300: 454.7
5870 @1000/200: ~459
5870 @1000/190: ~460
5870 @1000/180: ~460
5870 @1000/150: ~454

Smaller boost than at 950. Not too sure what to make of it, but there is nothing wrong with getting a few extra MH while consuming less power Smiley

Note these results were obtained testing just a few minutes on each setting, dont take it as gospel



Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 09:20:00 AM
 #3732

So what's the damage? Well on the 7970 at 1200/1050 clocks, which was getting 694MHash, it's now getting 711Mhash. The 7970 has this unusual behaviour where the hashrate slowly rises for the first 5-10 minutes.

Besides "-k poclbm", which other command line options do I have to use to get optimal results on the 7970?

                      ██
                 █████
             ███    ██     
         ███        ██     ███
    ███             ██        ███
███           █    ███         ███
██        ███       ████      ██
██     ███           ████     ██
██    ██              ██    █     ██
██     ██              ██           ██
██     ██              ██           ██
██     ██              ██           ██
██     ██              ██           ██
██     ███            ██          ██
██        ███        ██          ██
███        ███     █          ███
    ███        ██             ███
         ██     ██         ███
            █     ██    ███
                   █████
                      ██

CRYPTOTASK




.
Decentralized
freelancing market
  Fully scalable dispute system  .......        ✔︎ 
  Low fees, no limits task market .....      ✔︎ 
  Earn money by being a reviewer     ✔︎ 
Follow us & check. whitepaper.
.
Website     Announcement     Twitter     Facebook
[/center]
EnergyVampire
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 10:45:49 AM
 #3733

Hello,

I want to start using the donate feature in CGminer and was just wondering: Does it take the donation as I mine or after I find a block while solo mining?

Thanks in advance for your reply, cheers!

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2012, 11:24:29 AM
 #3734

New version: 2.2.4


Human readable changelog of user visible changes:
- Faster performance on ATI GCN (79xx), ATI 4x cards and Nvidia.
- Less failures to build kernels at startup.
- Faster startup - cgminer now finds just one pool that's responding before starting mining and allows the others in a multipool setup to be detected later.
- Pool connection issues may have been causing inappropriate clocking of GPU engine clock speeds and fans and disabling GPUs. The pool detection code has been moved to its own thread to not disturb GPU management.
- Accumulated work was expiring at precisely the same moment leading to false pool-slow-to-respond warnings. cgminer now buffers even more work at intervals spaced out by the number of mining threads. This should make hashrate more stable as well.
- Shutdown code was made more robust so there should be less crashes on exiting.
- The windows binary was built with a newer pthread library (dll included in zip) which should also lead to more stable code.
- --failover-only is now much more aggressive at avoiding working on work that is not from the primary pool we're connected to.
- New option: --api-allow <arg>   Allow API access only to the given list of IP[/Prefix] addresses[/subnets]
- Support for x-reject reason. When a pool supports it you should get a response like this on rejects:
Code:
[2012-02-11 22:11:43] Rejected 00000000.a7b317fa.c16767ef GPU 0 thread 0 pool 1 (Stale or unknown work)
- Combinations of hardware that use different kernels (eg 7970 and 6970) should now work properly.
- Rarely GPUs would throttle to their lowest setting and not rise back even if they were below their target temperature. This should be fixed.


Full changelog:
- Retain cl program after successfully loading a binary image. May decrease
failures to build kernels at startup.
- Variable unused after this so remove setting it.
- BFI INT patching is not necessarily true on binary loading of files and not
true on ATI SDK2.6+. Report bitalign instead.
- Various string fixes for reject reason.
- Generalize --temp-cutoff and implement support for reading temperature from
BitFORCE FPGAs
- Change message from recovered to alive since it is used on startup as well as
when a pool has recovered.
- Start mining as soon as any pool is found active and rely on the watchpool
thread to bring up other pools.
- Delayed responses from testing pools that are down can hold up the watchdog
thread from getting to its device testing code, leading to false detection of
the GPU not checking in, and can substantially delay auto gpu/auto fan
management leading to overheating. Move pool watching to its own thread.
- Bugfix: BitFORCE index needs to be static to count correctly
- Space out retrieval of extra work according to the number of mining threads.
- Make shutdown more robust. Enable the input thread only after the other
threads exist. Don't kill off the workio thread and use it to exit main() only
if there is an unexpected problem. Use kill_work() for all anticipated shutdowns
where possible. Remove unused thread entry.
- Change poclbm version number.
- One array is faster than 2 separate arrays so change to that in poclbm kernel.
- Microoptimisations to poclbm kernel which increase throughput slightly.
- Import diablominer kernel. Currently disabled as not working.
- Import diapolo kernel. Currently disabled as not working.
- Conflicting entries of cl_kernel may have been causing problems, and
automatically chosen kernel type was not being passed on. Rename the enum to
cl_kernels and store the chosen kernel in each clState.
- Set cl_amd_media_ops with the BITALIGN flag and allow non-bitselect devices to
build.
- ALlow much longer filenames for kernels to load properly.
- Allow different kernels to be used by different devices and fix the logic fail
of overcorrecting on last commit with !strstr.
- Fix kernel selection process and build error.
- queue_phatk_kernel now uses CL_SET_VARG() for base-nonce(s), too
- added OpenCL >= 1.1 detection code, in preparation of OpenCL 1.1 global offset
parameter support
- Use K array explicitly to make it clear what is being added.
- Work items have a tendency to expire at exactly the same time and we don't
queue extra items when there are plenty in the queue, regardless of age. Allow
extra work items to be queued if adequate time has passed since we last
requested work even if over the limit.
- Discard work when failover-only is enabled and the work has come from a
different pool.
- Missing include to build on newer mingw32.
- Move from the thread safe localtime_r to regular localtime which is the only
one supported on newer pthread libraries on mingw32 to make it compile with the
newer ming. Thread safety is of no importance where localtime is used in this
code.
- Define in_addr_t in windows if required
- sys/wait.h not required in windows
- Allow API to restrict access by IP address
- Add pool switching to example miner.php
- Display X-Reject-Reason, when provided
- Remove the test for whether the device is on the highest profil level before
raising the GPU speed as it is ineffectual and may prevent raising the GPU
speed.
- Remove unnecessary check for opt_debug one every invocation of applog at
LOG_DEBUG level and place the check in applog().

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Aion2n
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 503



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 11:37:10 AM
 #3735

New version: 2.2.4
THX Smiley
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 11, 2012, 11:45:59 AM
 #3736

Hello,

I want to start using the donate feature in CGminer and was just wondering: Does it take the donation as I mine or after I find a block while solo mining?

Thanks in advance for your reply, cheers!
The cgminer --donation option was removed a few versions ago.
Donate to ckolivas directly: 148KkS2vgVi4VzUi4JcKzM2PMaMVPi3nnq
(that's in his sig)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
EnergyVampire
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 11:50:27 AM
 #3737

Thanks for the reply Kano,

I am using version 2.0.8, I should update my stuff.  Tongue

Cheers!

The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 11, 2012, 12:22:36 PM
 #3738

- Remove the test for whether the device is on the highest profil level before
raising the GPU speed as it is ineffectual and may prevent raising the GPU
speed.
Does cgminer only change the highest profile level's settings?  If not, I'm concerned that this could lead to GPU crashes.  In my experience, if I accidentally forget to specify the highest profile when OCing manually, I get a GPU crash because the lower profiles have lower voltages and I am not changing the voltages.  I assume this is normal behavior when not changing the voltages.  If I am correct then cgminer changing the clock settings of the lower profiles and not changing voltages (because it's not being told to) would likely cause GPU crashes (while changing only the highest one even if it isn't currently being used wouldn't)...
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2012, 12:25:56 PM
 #3739

- Remove the test for whether the device is on the highest profil level before
raising the GPU speed as it is ineffectual and may prevent raising the GPU
speed.
Does cgminer only change the highest profile level's settings?  If not, I'm concerned that this could lead to GPU crashes.  In my experience, if I accidentally forget to specify the highest profile when OCing manually, I get a GPU crash because the lower profiles have lower voltages and I am not changing the voltages.  I assume this is normal behavior when not changing the voltages.  If I am correct then cgminer changing the clock settings of the lower profiles and not changing voltages (because it's not being told to) would likely cause GPU crashes (while changing only the highest one even if it isn't currently being used wouldn't)...
No problem. cgminer assumes we're operating at the highest profile, and adjusts all the profiles below to make sure the highest profile remains valid.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2012, 12:39:48 PM
 #3740

Well ... as I said, I have no IDE setup, so currently I can't compile a version for myself. If you don't have the time to fiddle around with my commits, then I really need help in setting up an IDE in Windows. Have you got this in a readme, wiki or can you give me a brief explanation in how to do this? I worked with MS VC++ Express as a hobby some time ago ...
Dia. Grab the windows binary for 2.2.4. It is undocumented, but it will accept -k diakgcn provided it is loading the kernel called diakgcn120208.cl . This will allow you to at least play with the .cl file and see if you can figure out what's wrong with it perhaps.

NORMAL USERS DO NOT USE THIS. IT IS FOR DEVELOPMENT AND DEBUGGING. IT DOES NOT PRODUCE SHARES.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 [187] 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 ... 845 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!