Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:15:13 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 [199] 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4822793 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 11:20:01 AM
 #3961

With Diapolo's help we finally got the diakgcn kernel working on cgminer. I've just committed code to the git tree which makes it work. Alas at the same engine and clock speeds on the 7970, diakgcn gives me 699 MHash while my customised kernel gives me 717 MHash. But now that it's working, he may be able to tweak it further...

Did you use -v 2 with DiaKGCN for your test? I'm not sure why, but it has always been faster on Phoenix to use it with -v 2.

Dia
Tried it, much slower.

Did you use the code from the latest commits, here on Windows it's definitely faster with -v 2.

-I 9 -k diakgcn -d 0 -v 1 -w 256: ~524 MH/s
-I 9 -k diakgcn -d 0 -v 2 -w 256: ~539 MH/s
Indeed it is faster now, and with -v 2, it is fastest allow cgminer to choose worksize which is ends up being 128 - it queries the "preferred worksize" and divides that by number of vectors.

You are but 1 Mhash off my current poclbm kernel with that Wink Diakgcn 716.5 versus ck-poclbm 717.5

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481199313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199313
Reply with quote  #2

1481199313
Report to moderator
1481199313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199313
Reply with quote  #2

1481199313
Report to moderator
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 11:26:23 AM
 #3962

With Diapolo's help we finally got the diakgcn kernel working on cgminer. I've just committed code to the git tree which makes it work. Alas at the same engine and clock speeds on the 7970, diakgcn gives me 699 MHash while my customised kernel gives me 717 MHash. But now that it's working, he may be able to tweak it further...

Did you use -v 2 with DiaKGCN for your test? I'm not sure why, but it has always been faster on Phoenix to use it with -v 2.

Dia
Tried it, much slower.

Did you use the code from the latest commits, here on Windows it's definitely faster with -v 2.

-I 9 -k diakgcn -d 0 -v 1 -w 256: ~524 MH/s
-I 9 -k diakgcn -d 0 -v 2 -w 256: ~539 MH/s
Indeed it is faster now, and with -v 2, it is fastest allow cgminer to choose worksize which is ends up being 128 - it queries the "preferred worksize" and divides that by number of vectors.

You are but 1 Mhash off my current poclbm kernel with that Wink Diakgcn 716.5 versus ck-poclbm 717.5

Sounds not too bad Cheesy. I will try -w 128 and compare results on my machine ... will report back, which one is faster for me at default clocks and on Win7 x64. I'm happy now!

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 11:29:52 AM
 #3963

You are but 1 Mhash off my current poclbm kernel with that Wink Diakgcn 716.5 versus ck-poclbm 717.5
Sounds not too bad Cheesy. I will try -w 128 and compare results on my machine ... will report back, which one is faster for me at default clocks and on Win7 x64. I'm happy now!
There is something unusual about it running diakgcn and the hashrate appears to be more unstable, rising and falling more so it takes a while to get a reasonable grasp for what the hashrate really is. Since you're running 2 vectors, it effectively makes the hashrate update half as often as running my poclbm kernel since I use no vectors. Either way, the hashrates are really close.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 11:43:39 AM
 #3964

You are but 1 Mhash off my current poclbm kernel with that Wink Diakgcn 716.5 versus ck-poclbm 717.5
Sounds not too bad Cheesy. I will try -w 128 and compare results on my machine ... will report back, which one is faster for me at default clocks and on Win7 x64. I'm happy now!
There is something unusual about it running diakgcn and the hashrate appears to be more unstable, rising and falling more so it takes a while to get a reasonable grasp for what the hashrate really is. Since you're running 2 vectors, it effectively makes the hashrate update half as often as running my poclbm kernel since I use no vectors. Either way, the hashrates are really close.

I still have some problems with that Git-stuff, but it's such a great tool, wow ... it would be nice to default diakgcn to -v 2 and it seems -w 256 is better for me by ~0,5 MH/s Cheesy but I can live with the default being 128 ^^.

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 03:02:33 PM
 #3965

Gonna link again the graphic I like so much Grin (from phatk thread)


I would love to see an expanded version of this that goes down to 100 (or lower) memclock using latest version of cgminer, latest drivers, and SDK 2.1.

Anyone have any ideas how to automate a loop of cgminer.
I would imagine the easiest would be something like.

setup config file w/ shares: "5000", static memclock, static coreclock, worksize defined, vectors defined.

script
a) modifies config file to next parameter set to be tested (i.e. V2, W256, memclock = 180)
b) starts cgminer
c) cgminer stops after 5000 shares (and script detects it)
d) capture and save final avg hashrate, rejects, errors, etc.
e) goto a

I would be happy to run something like this on one of my rigs.   Once we get the complete result set for one core clock we could run it at another core speed.  Between 5870s & 5970s I figure coreclocks of 725 (5970 stock), 800, 825 (5870 stock), 850, 875, 900, 925, 950, 1000 (watercooled Smiley ) would be useful.

Doing it manually would be a nightmare but if someone can make some semi-automated tool I would be happy to leave it running on one of my rigs.  Once we get data for SDK 2.1 we could compare it to SDK 2.4, 2.5, 2.6.  It is possible that some parameters do better on different versions of SDK (as an example maybe SDK 2.1 is best w/ high work, low vectors, low memclock but SDK 2.5 is better at smaller  work, high vectors, "normalish" memclock, etc).
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 03:09:23 PM
 #3966

Quote from: DeathAndTaxes
I would love to see an expanded version of this that goes down to 100 (or lower) memclock using latest version of cgminer, latest drivers, and SDK 2.1.

Anyone have any ideas how to automate a loop of cgminer.
I would imagine the easiest would be something like.

setup config file w/ shares: "5000", static memclock, static coreclock, worksize defined, vectors defined.

script
a) modifies config file to next parameter set to be tested (i.e. V2, W256, memclock = 180)
b) starts cgminer
c) cgminer stops after 5000 shares (and script detects it)
d) capture and save final avg hashrate, rejects, errors, etc.
e) goto a

I would be happy to run something like this on one of my rigs.   Once we get results for one core clock we could run it at another speed.

Between 5870s & 5970s I figure coreclocks of 725 (5970 stock), 800, 825 (5870 stock), 850, 875, 900, 925, 950, 1000 (watercooled Smiley ) would be useful.

Doing it manually would be a nightmare but if someone can make some semi-automated tool I would be happy to leave it running on one of my rigs.  Once we get data for SDK 2.1 we could compare it to SDK 2.4, 2.5, 2.6.  It is possible that some parameters do better on different version of SDK (as an example.  maybe SDK 2.1 is best w/ high work, low vectors, low memclock but SDK 2.5 is better at smaller  work, high vectors, "normalish" memclock, etc).


Yeah. You can say that again.

I would have done it but sadly my router died on me and I am still trying to fix it ...

IMHO one needs to test just 2.1 against 2.4 and ranges from below 300 for memory and above 900 for core.
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 03:11:16 PM
 #3967

Con, maybe we can talk about integrating global offset parameter support into CGMINER?

Take a short look at http://www.khronos.org/registry/cl/sdk/1.2/docs/man/xhtml/clEnqueueNDRangeKernel.html and the global_work_offset parameter. All that has to be taken into consideration from the kernel-side is in DiaKGCN. OpenCL 1.1 detection is in your code, too, which is needed, but I can't do the other required changes without a compiler.

In short, the nonce-base is not supplied via the base parameter, if GOFFSET is enabled, but instead via the global_work_offset parameter and used via the global work-item ID in the kernel. This saves a few instructions and can give us a small boost.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 07:37:33 PM
 #3968

Suggestion: Would it be possible to maintain on the first page of this tread a list of all the AMD graphics cards with the optimum settings for cgminer?

It's kind of cumbersome to keep reading through all those pages (202) at the moment - so it would be nice to have this information in one central place.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 08:11:23 PM
 #3969

c) cgminer stops after 5000 shares (and script detects it)
Or

--sched-stop `date -d "+6 hours" +%H:%M`

... since shares are random Smiley

And 6 hours for a 1GH/s is approximately 5029 shares

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 08:52:47 PM
 #3970

Con, maybe we can talk about integrating global offset parameter support into CGMINER?

Take a short look at http://www.khronos.org/registry/cl/sdk/1.2/docs/man/xhtml/clEnqueueNDRangeKernel.html and the global_work_offset parameter. All that has to be taken into consideration from the kernel-side is in DiaKGCN. OpenCL 1.1 detection is in your code, too, which is needed, but I can't do the other required changes without a compiler.

In short, the nonce-base is not supplied via the base parameter, if GOFFSET is enabled, but instead via the global_work_offset parameter and used via the global work-item ID in the kernel. This saves a few instructions and can give us a small boost.
Yes I like that idea. But 8 and 16 vectors perform shithouse followed by appalling so it's not worth pursuing those.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 12:15:42 AM
 #3971

Okay so I tested the fastest diablominer has to offer on 7970 and current cgminer is 1.5 MHash faster with defaults, so I'm pleased Smiley. I guess I should keep working on my kernel Wink

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 01:54:24 AM
 #3972

I second a thread just for cgminer settings and what cards are being used.

I use I,9 and then just set memclock, fan and engine in my bash script for linuxcoin.

I'm still struggling to get my 5970's stable.

fan 100 engine 820 and me 410 seem best for me, but of course for wattage, I'd love a lower memclock.

Should I be using I 8, is that my issue? also i am on cgminer 2.0.7 because there is no way in hell i can do anything in linuxcoin without screwing it up and hate the full ubuntu OS, too difficult to work with IMO.

We need a new stripped down version of linuxcoin or call it whatever, just for mining and maybe built around optimal settings/set-up for cgminer. Seems BAMT doesn't supoort or work with cgminer.

My farm is up to 8 rigs 10 5970's, 8 5870's and 1 6990. I plan on building a water-cooled 4x5970 with 1500 watt psu. I have the stuff, but want to make sure I can get it set up as fast and stable as possible as it will be in a semi-remote location.

I know I need to figure out how to use ssh, etc. but I'd also like to have the best sdk, drivers, etc. along with some other folks settings for engine and memclock.

Can we start a cgminer optimization thread with some guides? I'll throw in a bounty of 10btc if it has a set up guide and an optimal settings database.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 02:23:57 AM
 #3973

...
fan 100 ...
...
Hmm don't expect that to last forever ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 02:31:16 AM
 #3974

cgminer sets clocks all back to default on exit... if it exits cleanly, and of course on windows it's a miracle when it does.

Sadly this is not the case.

windows machine, pair of 6950's, set to 850/1300 for normal operation, in cgminer they are set to 700-880/300... when cgminer exits it leaves the cards at 880/300.

even updated to 12.1 drivers, both 2.4 and 2.6 SDK.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 02:41:50 AM
 #3975

cgminer sets clocks all back to default on exit... if it exits cleanly, and of course on windows it's a miracle when it does.

Sadly this is not the case.

windows machine, pair of 6950's, set to 850/1300 for normal operation, in cgminer they are set to 700-880/300... when cgminer exits it leaves the cards at 880/300.

even updated to 12.1 drivers, both 2.4 and 2.6 SDK.



Is it exiting or crashing?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 04:05:33 AM
 #3976

cgminer sets clocks all back to default on exit... if it exits cleanly, and of course on windows it's a miracle when it does.

Sadly this is not the case.

windows machine, pair of 6950's, set to 850/1300 for normal operation, in cgminer they are set to 700-880/300... when cgminer exits it leaves the cards at 880/300.

even updated to 12.1 drivers, both 2.4 and 2.6 SDK.


Instead windows decides to blow your balls off and feed them back to you by collecting up the splatter, mincing it, putting it into a glass and forcing you to drink it through a straw via  your left nostril.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 04:23:10 AM
 #3977

We need a new stripped down version of linuxcoin or call it whatever, just for mining and maybe built around optimal settings/set-up for cgminer. Seems BAMT doesn't supoort or work with

What am I missing here, cuz my 5970 BAMT rig has been mining with cgminer for a week now - and it took 3 mins to set up  Huh

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 04:31:12 AM
 #3978

Oh well, i guess i was wrong, i read that BAMT didn't work with cgminer, maybe they just mean it's not part of the original download which is fine. it didn't make sense to em either, but i fiugured it had something to do with some of the programming.

So i guess you just download BAMT and then download cgminer and you're all set?

what drivers and sdk does BAMT use?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 04:34:51 AM
 #3979

Oh well, i guess i was wrong, i read that BAMT didn't work with cgminer, maybe they just mean it's not part of the original download which is fine. it didn't make sense to em either, but i fiugured it had something to do with some of the programming.

So i guess you just download BAMT and then download cgminer and you're all set?

what drivers and sdk does BAMT use?

BAMT already has cgminer installed and it is integrated into BAMT other tools (mgpumon, web monitor, gpumon, etc).

It is only cgminer 2.1.2 I believe but you can install newer copy if you like.  SDK is 2.4, I am not sure the driver.  It doesn't have 100% bug.

So it is write BAMT to flash drive.  Run fixer to grab latest updates, change 2 config files (1 for BAMT, 1 for cgminer) and you are mining.  You can then take that flash drive, record the image, put that image on 8 flash drives, put them in 8 rigs make a few changes via SSH and power up 20 GH/s farm in a few minutes.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 05:24:29 AM
 #3980

cgminer sets clocks all back to default on exit... if it exits cleanly, and of course on windows it's a miracle when it does.

Sadly this is not the case.

windows machine, pair of 6950's, set to 850/1300 for normal operation, in cgminer they are set to 700-880/300... when cgminer exits it leaves the cards at 880/300.

even updated to 12.1 drivers, both 2.4 and 2.6 SDK.


Instead windows decides to blow your balls off and feed them back to you by collecting up the splatter, mincing it, putting it into a glass and forcing you to drink it through a straw via  your left nostril.
I'll try and code a workaround for this windows fail next time by stopping mining and resetting device values and pausing for a bit before letting windows crash cgminer when it tries to exit.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 [199] 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!