Bitcoin Forum
July 17, 2018, 12:41:13 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 [222] 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756843 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
March 01, 2012, 07:01:48 PM
 #4421

Here is it
http://pastebin.com/gpFDyXef

requires screen

this should be spun off into its' own thread so people don't miss this great script... I've been looking for something like this for a long while.. well done!

The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531788073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531788073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531788073
Reply with quote  #2

1531788073
Report to moderator
1531788073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531788073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531788073
Reply with quote  #2

1531788073
Report to moderator
Bitsinmyhead
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 425
Merit: 254


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 09:49:58 AM
 #4422

Is there any way to avoid one of my GPU cores to start at all when I run cgminer?
I have a 5970 card were one core is defect and if I try to mine on it my computer instantly crashes. The other core works fine and I am mining on it using GUIminer, but would like to switch to cgminer.

Is there anything I can put in the config file to make sure GPU0 never starts when I run cgminer?

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses 100% original codebase
  Superfast with 30 seconds instant finality
  Tested 5000 tx per block on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
Dyaheon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 11:55:08 AM
 #4423

Is there any way to avoid one of my GPU cores to start at all when I run cgminer?
I have a 5970 card were one core is defect and if I try to mine on it my computer instantly crashes. The other core works fine and I am mining on it using GUIminer, but would like to switch to cgminer.

Is there anything I can put in the config file to make sure GPU0 never starts when I run cgminer?


"cgminer -d 1 -d 2 ... -d n" should work. Or the equivalent in config file, however that works.
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 01:37:07 PM
 #4424

Is there any way to avoid one of my GPU cores to start at all when I run cgminer?
I have a 5970 card were one core is defect and if I try to mine on it my computer instantly crashes. The other core works fine and I am mining on it using GUIminer, but would like to switch to cgminer.

Is there anything I can put in the config file to make sure GPU0 never starts when I run cgminer?

--device|-d <arg>   Select device to use, (Use repeat -d for multiple devices, default: all)

I would start cgminer using the --device 1, assuming a single 5970, this will skip device 0, the problem gpu. Then you can write the config file while cgminer is running. [ S]ettings, [W]rite config file, then you are done.

[Edit]thought I was first to post a reply, twenty minutes later I see a reply before me, odd.
Bitsinmyhead
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 425
Merit: 254


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 04:04:29 PM
 #4425

Thanks to both of you. It worked great.

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses 100% original codebase
  Superfast with 30 seconds instant finality
  Tested 5000 tx per block on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 03, 2012, 12:41:53 PM
 #4426

Is anyone already doing ztex boards support for cgminer? I'm not sure about timeframes but I'm considering taking a stab at it seeing as I have the protocol "fresh" in my mind from the initial implementation for MPBM, but I'd hate to start it just to find out someone else is almost done with it Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2012, 11:03:30 PM
 #4427

Is anyone already doing ztex boards support for cgminer? I'm not sure about timeframes but I'm considering taking a stab at it seeing as I have the protocol "fresh" in my mind from the initial implementation for MPBM, but I'd hate to start it just to find out someone else is almost done with it Smiley
No one has started, but see here: http://bountychest.com/bountychest/ztex-support-for-cgminer/

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2012, 11:07:55 PM
 #4428

I'm trying to use the 2.1 SDK for the 5xxx and 2.6 for the 6xxx. Everything works fine using the 2.6 sdk, but it obviously isnt efficient for the 5xxx series.
Phoenix 2.0 lets me use the setup I want, but it lacks lots of features.

I also tried making cgminer use bins compiled for 2.1 while using the 2.6 sdk but it just recompiles them again. The ideal would be making --gpu-platform a per device option, something like --gpu-platform 0,0,1
You can only specify one gpu platform, but you can force it to use whatever combination by starting it a couple of times if you specify exactly the kernel, vectors and worksize.

Eg start with --gpu-platform 0 (if that is sdk 2.1) --kernel phatk,diablo -v 2,1 -w 256,128

Then you will get two bins. Delete the one that you don't want running with sdk 2.1 and start again with the same commands except for --gpu-platform 1 (if that's sdk 2.6) and it will build a bin only the one that doesn't exist.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2012, 11:10:01 PM
 #4429

I know it'll compile fine without CPU mining, but I want to do some testing with it enabled... I want to see how Anubis handles it. If it's more trouble to get it working than it's worth, I'll forget about supporting CPUs in Anubis.
CPU mining is deprecated and the code will be completely removed in the future. Do not try to port or get anything working with it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2012, 11:13:58 PM
 #4430

On a side note, on series 5xxx and 6xxx, using poclbm with any sdk above 2.1 is a performance loss, as is using phatk with anything below 2.4.

Really? Using 960/300 clocks on a 5870, -g 1 -I 8 (p2pool), tried with and without -w 256 -v 2, I get much worse performance on poclbm + 2.1 compared to phatk + 2.1.

Phatk + 2.1 and phatk + 2.4 is about the same though, with 2.4 taking a very slight lead (<1%) .

What would you recommend as settings for poclbm? I do remember it being better back in the day too, but haven't played much with 2.1 lately. Also, keeping memory speeds low is a must  Tongue

Any recollection you have about poclbm kernel is irrelevant I'm afraid. Note that the so-called poclbm kernel in cgminer has been DRASTICALLY rewritten by myself to be optimal with sdk 2.6+. So that even though it's called poclbm it really has very little in common with the original poclbm kernel. It appears to work well with 79xx and 69xx cards and sdk 2.6+ only.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2012, 11:20:14 PM
 #4431

Smoking...

Looks like I picked a good time for a break from cgminer code, since I smoked my PSU the other day and my mining rig is back in the workshop. Thank goodness for warranties lol.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 03, 2012, 11:57:14 PM
 #4432

Is anyone already doing ztex boards support for cgminer? I'm not sure about timeframes but I'm considering taking a stab at it seeing as I have the protocol "fresh" in my mind from the initial implementation for MPBM, but I'd hate to start it just to find out someone else is almost done with it Smiley
No one has started, but see here: http://bountychest.com/bountychest/ztex-support-for-cgminer/

I see there are already some donations done towards that bounty and I really don't want to step in anybody's toes. If I do.decide to jump into this I'll try to be as public about it as possible and I hope anybody else tackling the same problem does the same.

Ztex already proposed sending a board for free for this purpose, which I will not be requesting so I ask again: anyone thinking of taking the challenge in the next couple of weeks?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 12:53:18 AM
 #4433

Is anyone already doing ztex boards support for cgminer? I'm not sure about timeframes but I'm considering taking a stab at it seeing as I have the protocol "fresh" in my mind from the initial implementation for MPBM, but I'd hate to start it just to find out someone else is almost done with it Smiley
No one has started, but see here: http://bountychest.com/bountychest/ztex-support-for-cgminer/

I see there are already some donations done towards that bounty and I really don't want to step in anybody's toes. If I do.decide to jump into this I'll try to be as public about it as possible and I hope anybody else tackling the same problem does the same.

Ztex already proposed sending a board for free for this purpose, which I will not be requesting so I ask again: anyone thinking of taking the challenge in the next couple of weeks?

Weeks?
It's not a days work.
OK I'll do it tomorrow.

Edit: obviously since I have no ztex someone is gonna have to try the code I write.
It will be in my git when I do it. So you'll have to trust cloning and compiling from me Tongue
Preferably someone who can visit #cgminer Freenode IRC
I'll post here when I've done it - so if you or anyone else has a ztex then respond here if you will IRC and want to test it.
(Not doing it today, finally properly testing the Icarus API code and fixing a few error message mistakes)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 02:24:41 AM
 #4434


Weeks?
It's not a days work.
OK I'll do it tomorrow.

Edit: obviously since I have no ztex someone is gonna have to try the code I write.
It will be in my git when I do it. So you'll have to trust cloning and compiling from me Tongue
Preferably someone who can visit #cgminer Freenode IRC
I'll post here when I've done it - so if you or anyone else has a ztex then respond here if you will IRC and want to test it.
(Not doing it today, finally properly testing the Icarus API code and fixing a few error message mistakes)

I didn't mean finish in weeks... C'mon, a little credit here, I code for a living. Smiley

Can not tell if you are serious, but I can help both in testing and in developing if you are.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 02:56:28 AM
 #4435


Weeks?
It's not a days work.
OK I'll do it tomorrow.

Edit: obviously since I have no ztex someone is gonna have to try the code I write.
It will be in my git when I do it. So you'll have to trust cloning and compiling from me Tongue
Preferably someone who can visit #cgminer Freenode IRC
I'll post here when I've done it - so if you or anyone else has a ztex then respond here if you will IRC and want to test it.
(Not doing it today, finally properly testing the Icarus API code and fixing a few error message mistakes)

I didn't mean finish in weeks... C'mon, a little credit here, I code for a living. Smiley

Can not tell if you are serious, but I can help both in testing and in developing if you are.
No I'm serious. I'll do it tomorrow (it's 2pm here now)
(though if I have time today ... but I doubt it)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 486
Merit: 500


Immersionist


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 04:39:36 AM
 #4436

With the help of kanoi and xiangfu in #cgminer I could get it to work with my Icarus boards on my Windows 7 setup. It worked well over night. It required building it without BFL support and adding two lines of code in icarus.c (http://pastebin.com/xDtPF9Qc).

I also used Sharky's native win32 setup and build instructions for cgminer (http://pastebin.com/3pzivj32). The base I used was the source release here in case anyone is wondering. http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.3.1-2.tar.bz2, but changes to the Icarus code have been made on github in the meantime.

I do have a ZTEX board here and two more in the mail - but I am not a (windows/linux) coder. I am glad I could get the above to work and I don't have a box to which I could give you access to. I'll let you two guys (kano + nelisky) work this out Wink I'll gladly give it a try afterwards. However, I will be on vacation for 10 days starting from Wednesday.

Just a theoretical question. How many FPGA boards could cgminer run? If I'd have a dozen or two USB hubs (each taking a USB port + ID) and a theoretical number of 100 ZTEX or Icarus boards, would that still work?  (I am going to cancel my vacation, sell the car and get a loan on the house, lol, just kidding). I am just asking because with GPUs I guess cgminer was always limited because of the fact that you can only install a few in a computer. But now with FPGAs a larger number should be possible (new cgminer user speaking).
antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 486
Merit: 500


Immersionist


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 04:41:13 AM
 #4437

double post.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 04:52:51 AM
 #4438

...
Just a theoretical question. How many FPGA boards could cgminer run? If I'd have a dozen or two USB hubs (each taking a USB port + ID) and a theoretical number of 100 ZTEX or Icarus boards, would that still work?  (I am going to cancel my vacation, sell the car and get a loan on the house, lol, just kidding). I am just asking because with GPUs I guess cgminer was always limited because of the fact that you can only install a few in a computer. But now with FPGAs a larger number should be possible (new cgminer user speaking).
Current code says ... 32
It's just a #define in miner.h so it may be possible to just increase it and it will all work.
I'd expect that to be the case.

However, the API has a TODO I put in it that there could be issues about the amount of data returned by "devs"
I've not bothered to work out the limit or intercept it before it causes havoc yet ... since:
The API limit is certainly above 32 so with the current code limit it's fine.

Edit: though ... I'd have no idea what would happen if you had 32 devices and didn't use '-T' ...
Curses may fail since there's not enough space on a standard 24 line terminal.
At least certainly set your terminal bigger (taller) before trying 32.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
this time
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 05:17:03 PM
 #4439

Is there a step I'm missing to save settings? I use S,W,Enter from the menu to save the configuration as cgminer.conf but it does not appear to save my settings in the cgminer.conf file. It just looks like below. Also when I enter in values and save, they do not take when I start up with cgminer -c cgminer.conf

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "x",
      "user" : "x",
      "pass" : "x"
   },
   {
      "url" : "x",
      "user" : "x,
      "pass" : "x"
   },
   {
      "url" : "x",
      "user" : "x",
      "pass" : "x"
   },
   {
      "url" : "x",
      "user" : "x",
      "pass" : "x"
   }
],

"intensity" : "d",
"vectors" : "2",
"worksize" : "128",
"kernel" : "phatk",
"gpu-engine" : "0-0",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "0",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "0",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 09:42:44 PM
 #4440

S/W/Enter will save it in the default cgminer.conf file.
(e.g. on linux ~/.cgminer/cgminer.conf)

It will load that as well as the one you specify with -c
(which will be the same file twice if the -c points to the same file - which it doesn't in your case)

So you don't want to also specify -c on the command line if you are saving it in the default one

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 ... 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 [222] 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!