Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:40:14 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 [186] 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4821076 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 03:33:23 PM
 #3701

Working on the 7970 tuning, I have tried to port both the diapolo and diablo kernels to cgminer. Alas neither of them are actually working yet, so instead I started modifying the existing poclbm kernel in cgminer to improve throughput. This should work on other GPUs as well as the 7970, but I have no idea if it's better or worse than phatk.

When it's released it will get a new date/version number, but I haven't changed the number right now so that people can download it now and give it a try:
https://raw.github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/kernels/poclbm120203.cl

Remember to delete any .bin files and if you're not on a 7970 with the latest cgminer, you'll have to tell it to use that kernel with -k poclbm.

So what's the damage? Well on the 7970 at 1200/1050 clocks, which was getting 694MHash, it's now getting 711Mhash. The 7970 has this unusual behaviour where the hashrate slowly rises for the first 5-10 minutes.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481107214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107214
Reply with quote  #2

1481107214
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107214
Reply with quote  #2

1481107214
Report to moderator
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 04:07:13 PM
 #3702

2.2.3 had strange behavior on my fixed-fan-rate rig, 10% lower hash rate on 5870s and crash on 5970

Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 04:50:50 PM
 #3703


Didn't' forget about this  Tongue I ran 2.1.2 with no errors for 18 hours then started 2.2.3 yesterday with the same flags and got this:
(...)
Weird how las initialised is slightly after start time, but it wasn't disabled for a few hours.  You might be on to something here.

I had to stay on 2.1.2. It's weird just us having reported this problem.
I believe that when people with 5970 rigs running Linux update cgminer, more posts like ours will appear.

Must be something other than 5970+Linux:  I've been running 2.2.3 on a 3x5970 rig for several days without problems.  (Well, I did have one DEAD core but I had that occasionally with previous versions as well.)

With p2pool:
Code:
"intensity" : "9",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"gpu-engine" : "810-810",
"gpu-memclock" : "200",
"gpu-fan" : "85",
"temp-cutoff" : "80",
"temp-overheat" : "77",
"temp-target" : "70",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 05:15:44 PM
 #3704

Must be something other than 5970+Linux:  I've been running 2.2.3 on a 3x5970 rig for several days without problems.  (Well, I did have one DEAD core but I had that occasionally with previous versions as well.)

With p2pool:
Code:
"intensity" : "9",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"gpu-engine" : "810-810",
"gpu-memclock" : "200",
"gpu-fan" : "85",
"temp-cutoff" : "80",
"temp-overheat" : "77",
"temp-target" : "70",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,

Take this out and see what happens:
Code:
"gpu-fan" : "85",

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 05:31:51 PM
 #3705

Must be something other than 5970+Linux:  I've been running 2.2.3 on a 3x5970 rig for several days without problems.  (Well, I did have one DEAD core but I had that occasionally with previous versions as well.)

With p2pool:
Code:
"intensity" : "9",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"gpu-engine" : "810-810",
"gpu-memclock" : "200",
"gpu-fan" : "85",
"temp-cutoff" : "80",
"temp-overheat" : "77",
"temp-target" : "70",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,

Take this out and see what happens:
Code:
"gpu-fan" : "85",

I believe that will cause one unit's fan -- cores 0-1 -- to go to 100%, which I don't want to see; currently:
Code:
[P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  72.5C 4593RPM | 364.7/363.8Mh/s | A:1559 R:45 HW:0 U: 1.89/m I: 9
 GPU 1:  76.0C 4593RPM | 365.1/364.2Mh/s | A:1562 R:48 HW:0 U: 1.89/m I: 9
 GPU 2:  68.0C 4438RPM | 365.1/364.2Mh/s | A:1614 R:44 HW:0 U: 1.95/m I: 9
 GPU 3:  63.0C 4438RPM | 365.1/364.2Mh/s | A:1568 R:45 HW:0 U: 1.90/m I: 9
 GPU 4:  65.5C 4493RPM | 365.0/364.1Mh/s | A:1580 R:56 HW:0 U: 1.91/m I: 9
 GPU 5:  68.5C 4493RPM | 365.2/364.1Mh/s | A:1493 R:45 HW:0 U: 1.81/m I: 9

However, if you really believe the experiment may be of use to the community, let me know and I'll do it.
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 05:37:57 PM
 #3706

Proofer it will only go to 100% at the temp-overheat value which you have set to 77.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 05:50:55 PM
 #3707

Proofer it will only go to 100% at the temp-overheat value which you have set to 77.

OK, I just removed the gpu-fan parameter and am leaving for the gym.  If I come back and my house is a pile of smoking rubble you will be in BIG TROUBLE!
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 06:02:54 PM
 #3708

Proofer it will only go to 100% at the temp-overheat value which you have set to 77.

OK, I just removed the gpu-fan parameter and am leaving for the gym.  If I come back and my house is a pile of smoking rubble you will be in BIG TROUBLE!

Ha, at least you will be to worn out to do much about it  Tongue

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 07:15:16 PM
 #3709

Proofer it will only go to 100% at the temp-overheat value which you have set to 77.

OK, I just removed the gpu-fan parameter and am leaving for the gym.  If I come back and my house is a pile of smoking rubble you will be in BIG TROUBLE!

Ha, at least you will be to worn out to do much about it  Tongue

After about 1.5 hours I see no difference after removing gpu-fan.  I'll report back if I encounter any problems.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 08:27:39 PM
 #3710

OK, so I take it that I can no longer copy the .bin files from previous versions of CGMiner?
I can't get 2.2.3 to generate them.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 09:27:19 PM
 #3711

2.2.3 had strange behavior on my fixed-fan-rate rig, 10% lower hash rate on 5870s and crash on 5970

I think I had the same issue with my 5970.

Yesterday the rig sputtered while watching a video, mouse froze then screen went black.  Had to hard power off the rig and reset it, brought it back up and mining was fine.

This morning, shortly after a Longpoll -- 4-5 shares were submitted across my 4 GPUs, and then the stuttering starts again and my Kill-A-Watt shows my usage being near idle.  Mouse is basically unresponsive and doesn't do much.  Hard reset the machine again, 5970 wasn't being detected by Windows 7 or GPUz...powered off and back on, detected and mining under 2.2.1 until this can get resolved.

Both times, the 5970 fans would spin to 100%
brox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 09:52:38 PM
 #3712

Maybe nobody cares, but I should notice anyway.
Version 2.0.8 (win32) is last that works fast and effective. My 5850 gives 350 MH/s and I'm happy with the speed. All later versions (I tried every one of them) under the same conditions (cmdline options are the same) give just 308 MH/s
Any ideas?

Save dolphins! Donate to 1BTC4brox2pd14QubXGsXwarp9zV9tc8CZ
Mine Bitcoins in the cloud at cex.io
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 09:59:57 PM
 #3713

Maybe nobody cares, but I should notice anyway.
Version 2.0.8 (win32) is last that works fast and effective. My 5850 gives 350 MH/s and I'm happy with the speed. All later versions (I tried every one of them) under the same conditions (cmdline options are the same) give just 308 MH/s
Any ideas?

Yes, you upgraded your video drivers. Thats the root cause. The reason your old copy of cgminer still works faster, is because it contains a cached/compiled copy of the .BIN file generated with your old drivers and sdk. If you were to reinstall 2.0.8 you will likely get the same lousy hashrate.

See here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=63383.0

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 10:09:22 PM
 #3714

Maybe nobody cares, but I should notice anyway.
Version 2.0.8 (win32) is last that works fast and effective. My 5850 gives 350 MH/s and I'm happy with the speed. All later versions (I tried every one of them) under the same conditions (cmdline options are the same) give just 308 MH/s
Any ideas?

Yes, you upgraded your video drivers. Thats the root cause. The reason your old copy of cgminer still works faster, is because it contains a cached/compiled copy of the .BIN file generated with your old drivers and sdk. If you were to reinstall 2.0.8 you will likely get the same lousy hashrate.

See here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=63383.0

For the speptical. 

1) make a copy of the bin files in your old "fast" cgminer.
2) delete the bin files
3) run "old fast" cgminer.  You will notice it has similar performance to the new cgminer.
4) copy "fast bins" to new cgminer
5) you will notice it has fast performance just like "old" cgminer.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 10:25:22 PM
 #3715

OK, so I take it that I can no longer copy the .bin files from previous versions of CGMiner?
I can't get 2.2.3 to generate them.
Sam
Change the datestamp on your old bins to the new dates. That will do it. One day, just one day, I'd like for that fucking failed to build bug to go away. Maybe next release!  Roll Eyes

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 10:38:26 PM
 #3716

So what's the damage? Well on the 7970 at 1200/1050 clocks, which was getting 694MHash, it's now getting 711Mhash. The 7970 has this unusual behaviour where the hashrate slowly rises for the first 5-10 minutes.
Beautiful.  I'm running this on 2 of my boxes and seeing substantial increases.  I'm getting about a 3.3% increase on the overclocked box.  What's really weird is that I saw a 6.5% increase on the box that's only overclocked by 75 mhz.  Heh.  Weird.  I'll take it though.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 10:42:54 PM
 #3717

So what's the damage? Well on the 7970 at 1200/1050 clocks, which was getting 694MHash, it's now getting 711Mhash. The 7970 has this unusual behaviour where the hashrate slowly rises for the first 5-10 minutes.
Beautiful.  I'm running this on 2 of my boxes and seeing substantial increases.  I'm getting about a 3.3% increase on the overclocked box.  What's really weird is that I saw a 6.5% increase on the box that's only overclocked by 75 mhz.  Heh.  Weird.  I'll take it though.
After an overnight run:
GPU 0:  73.0C 4743RPM | 708.1/706.7Mh/s | A:4454 R:7 HW:0 U: 9.83/m I:11
So I'll call the actual rate 707

Note that there are "sweet spots" in hash rate. After you've found the top speed, try going down by 5 at a time. Sometimes you'll find a magic Mhz where it suddenly jumps up. That happened at 920 on my 6970s for example. Maybe that's what you're experiencing.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 10:47:11 PM
 #3718

Note that there are "sweet spots" in hash rate. After you've found the top speed, try going down by 5 at a time. Sometimes you'll find a magic Mhz where it suddenly jumps up.

If that came from anyone else I would have laughed at it. But since its you, Ill have to believe it, but is it not more likely the reason is not so much the clockspeed as such, as the ratio between GPU and memory clock? IOW, rather than reducing your GPU clock, perhaps try increasing the memory clock a little bit?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 10:53:21 PM
 #3719

Note that there are "sweet spots" in hash rate. After you've found the top speed, try going down by 5 at a time. Sometimes you'll find a magic Mhz where it suddenly jumps up.

If that came from anyone else I would have laughed at it. But since its you, Ill have to believe it, but is it not more likely the reason is not so much the clockspeed as such, as the ratio between GPU and memory clock? IOW, rather than reducing your GPU clock, perhaps try increasing the memory clock a little bit?
Indeed, but there is a -125 or -150 difference limit and we're trying to run memory as low as possible. So the equation works out best in energy terms at the lower memory clock where you hit the right ratio difference between mem and engine, wherever that is.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 10:55:41 PM
 #3720

If that came from anyone else I would have laughed at it.

I heard people posting about it before and myself have found the same but the Mhash/s gains and temp drops are usually (at least to me) too negligible to pay too much attention to it.
Pages: « 1 ... 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 [186] 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!