Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:47:46 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 [166] 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823007 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 08:51:49 PM
 #3301

Tell me then why I don't have any cpu usage with even 12 intensity with 2.1, but have all up to 100% on one core (with 1 gpu miner) with all other sdk's? It's the same bug.
If you posted your driver version, OS and GPU config someone could try to unravel your issue but this is hardly the appropriate thread.
Proof by counter-example: a lot of miners moved to 11.11 or 11.12 driver and reported no CPU-hogging issues. Therefore, the major CPU-hogging flaw has been fixed.
Computers and operating systems are inherently very complex subjects and great many things can go wrong. Unexpected combinations of drivers, SDKs and system libraries can still peg the CPU but it's luckily relatively uncommon. Mixing x64 and x86 code can be a real pain.

EDIT:: Con, latest git works like a charm Smiley The GPU order has changed on my Debian machines, though.
I fixed it already, just said that he has the same bug. Sometimes it's a very minor cpu load with low intensity/aggression, but it's the same issue. Read this reply and 2 next ones.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=56740.msg718469#msg718469
 And btw I use intensity @ 9 right now.

1481208466
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208466

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208466
Reply with quote  #2

1481208466
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481208466
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208466

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208466
Reply with quote  #2

1481208466
Report to moderator
1481208466
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208466

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208466
Reply with quote  #2

1481208466
Report to moderator
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 09:05:38 PM
 #3302

when using anything above intensity 9 on my 5970 w/ 11.12 drivers. The cpu usage is pegged... 9 and below cpu usage is 0%
Any reason why its higher on I 10+? thanks

just curious what mhash your getting with your 5970 using 11.12 ? I messed around with several different configurations over the last couple of days for mine and the best I came up with is 11.9 w/ cgminer 2.20 - I get a nice 820 mhash - woohoo!



wow nice mhash! what clocks?
I get 715mh/s @ 780/300mhz vgpu @ 1.030v

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 09:07:43 PM
 #3303

when using anything above intensity 9 on my 5970 w/ 11.12 drivers. The cpu usage is pegged... 9 and below cpu usage is 0%
Any reason why its higher on I 10+? thanks

just curious what mhash your getting with your 5970 using 11.12 ? I messed around with several different configurations over the last couple of days for mine and the best I came up with is 11.9 w/ cgminer 2.20 - I get a nice 820 mhash - woohoo!

btw: ckvolias do you know why Anubis web front end stopped working with the 2.2.0 upgrade?

thanks!
The RPC API version is now 1.0
The README explains all the other changes to the API ...
Most notably, it mentions that the CPU|N command is no longer available on software not compiled with CPU support.
The README also says that you should check "cpucount" or "config" to determine if there is any CPU info available.
"config" also tells you if ADL is available and also if any GPU's use ADL - thus if the new ADL commands should succeed or fail.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 09:18:16 PM
 #3304

when using anything above intensity 9 on my 5970 w/ 11.12 drivers. The cpu usage is pegged... 9 and below cpu usage is 0%
Any reason why its higher on I 10+? thanks

just curious what mhash your getting with your 5970 using 11.12 ? I messed around with several different configurations over the last couple of days for mine and the best I came up with is 11.9 w/ cgminer 2.20 - I get a nice 820 mhash - woohoo!



wow nice mhash! what clocks?
I get 715mh/s @ 780/300mhz vgpu @ 1.030v

850/180 - untouched voltage
Win7 x64 w/ CCC 11.9 + CGM 2.2.0

Kano: thanks for a bunch of information I did not ask for! - Looks like dummies like me should just read the damn README before wasting your time! Smiley

(just kidding - I already figured that out but thanks)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 09:25:31 PM
 #3305

Any system changes needed with Linux to move from 2.1.1 to 2.2.0?

I'm observing massive problems with the latest updates.

I kept the previous working binary as reference, but was not able to isolate the problem. First obvious thing is ADL fails to initialize:
Code:
[2012-01-29 19:30:32] ADL Initialisation Error!

The remaining initialization sequence looks ok, at least no obvious differences to what 2.1.1 was reporting:
Code:
[2012-01-29 19:30:35] Loaded binary image phatk110817Caymanbitalignv2w128long4.bin

...but the hash rates achieved are at about 30%
Code:
[2012-01-29 20:18:56] GPU2 (5s):95.6 (avg):121.2 Mh/s | A:43 R:0 HW:0 U:1.44/m I: 9


of what 2.1.1 does:
Code:
[2012-01-29 20:22:51] GPU2 (5s):372.4 (avg):350.6 Mh/s | A:4 R:0 HW:0 U:4.35/m | I: 9

As said, using the same APP and ADL version, same kernel. I also tried with deleting previous kernel binaries with the same result. I am using the current git HEAD for 2.2.0 (82af288e69).

Any ideas?
Most unusual

No system changes should be needed.

ADL failing to initialise could be anything, but seems more common with multiple instances of cgminer running. Can you do a git pull and start with --verbose -D and see what it says with the extra debugging I just committed?

What does the startup debugging give on the first device if you delete the binaries?

30% sounds like something horribly wrong. In fact it looks like all 3 "GPUs" may just be one device.

EDIT: You did do "export DISPLAY=:0" didn't you?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BOARBEAR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 09:54:19 PM
 #3306

i have 2 GPU, one 5870 and oone 3xxx
And this newer version does not work on my setup, used to work fine.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 09:55:49 PM
 #3307

i have 2 GPU, one 5870 and oone 3xxx
And this newer version does not work on my setup, used to work fine.
Go here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg720267#msg720267

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 10:12:26 PM
 #3308

[...]
Most unusual

No system changes should be needed.

ADL failing to initialise could be anything, but seems more common with multiple instances of cgminer running. Can you do a git pull and start with --verbose -D and see what it says with the extra debugging I just committed?

What does the startup debugging give on the first device if you delete the binaries?

30% sounds like something horribly wrong. In fact it looks like all 3 "GPUs" may just be one device.

EDIT: You did do "export DISPLAY=:0" didn't you?
Something's really fishy. Rebuilt HEAD (f0746f0b4c), now it's crashing:
Code:
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[2012-01-29 23:06:22] Started cgminer 2.2.0

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x0026dc0e in ?? () from /lib/i386-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
(gdb) bt
#0  0x0026dc0e in ?? () from /lib/i386-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#1  0x0026f925 in ?? () from /lib/i386-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#2  0x00272f22 in calloc () from /lib/i386-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#3  0x01b2f8b2 in XOpenDisplay () from /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libX11.so.6
#4  0x02653003 in ?? () from /usr/lib/fglrx/libatiadlxx.so
#5  0x02652dc8 in ADL_Main_Control_Create () from /usr/lib/fglrx/libatiadlxx.so
#6  0x08062403 in init_adl (nDevs=3) at adl.c:172
#7  0x0804e731 in opencl_detect () at main.c:5563
#8  0x08058820 in main (argc=1, argv=0xbffff6d4) at main.c:5982

2.1.1 binary still working :-/

WTF? Sorry if it as known issue, though. Was not able to read the whole thread to find some indication.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 10:20:45 PM
 #3309

Try cleaning out your tree with a fresh ./autogen.sh && ./configure && make clean first perhaps.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 10:55:23 PM
 #3310

i have 2 GPU, one 5870 and oone 3xxx
And this newer version does not work on my setup, used to work fine.
Go here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg720267#msg720267

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/

Since this may be a recurring theme, I've uploaded a new bleeding edge binary for both windows and linux into that directory which can work around the problem but will give a warning when it happens. I'll try and keep bleeding edge binaries in there if/when required.

Starting with --verbose with these binaries should give you a lot more information which will help you debug where devices are going as well if you're having a new ordering issue.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 11:23:54 PM
 #3311

Try cleaning out your tree with a fresh ./autogen.sh && ./configure && make clean first perhaps.
Did everything, also freshly installed APP-2.5.

Problem is reliably reproducible with my setup (3*6950).

I bisected and found that the problematic commit is 371e5f68, while all builds with up to 5a0b4f62 work.

Need to go now. If you have some ideas on how I can help identifying the problem, let me know.


Good night.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 11:31:38 PM
 #3312

Sleep tight, but unfortunately you've picked one of the bad commits. That code never worked as they were attempts at doing it that didn't work properly and evolved like this (first unbroken commit was 05970):

commit 83a836765432dbc88b972588fb678aff17979a35
    Linux's ADL uses a busnumber in descending order for devices so enumerate them in the opposite order to windows.

commit 059701272c75bc30236f1c4a3aaf8db5e59bf718
    Carry virtual gpu number across.

commit 3bc0583454b09b5c4dac18450c4766572d69644f
    Iterate and change virtual device order instead of shuffling ram.

commit 371e5f688a2b6e5446e243ac9edcc490c0243a79
    Reorder displayed devices to map to physical locations and initialise according to logical location instead.

commit 5a0b4f62d0966d08bd92142d92d8b97f8e68f1e7
    Map GPU devices to virtual devices in their true physical order based on BusNumber.


Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2012, 04:05:42 AM
 #3313

I know it's a bit late with having made the device reorder part of an official release but I was wondering if people would prefer it to be optional in the next release instead of mandatory? I know some of you have some complex set ups with config files and device specific setting and so on that will be broken on going to 2.2.0, and I'm not against changing it back to the old behaviour and making it optional with something like --dev-reorder .

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
m3ta
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427



View Profile WWW
January 30, 2012, 04:07:37 AM
 #3314

I know it's a bit late with having made the device reorder part of an official release but I was wondering if people would prefer it to be optional in the next release instead of mandatory? I know some of you have some complex set ups with config files and device specific setting and so on that will be broken on going to 2.2.0, and I'm not against changing it back to the old behaviour and making it optional with something like --dev-reorder .

+1 for --dev-reorder. It's really awkward to have (for example) gpumon saying one thing, and cgminer saying it in reverse. Or the other way around.

Why the frell so many retards spell "ect" as an abbreviation of "Et Cetera"? "ETC", DAMMIT! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Et_cetera

Host:/# rm -rf /var/forum/trolls
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2012, 04:59:47 AM
 #3315

The git ride is about to get rather bumpy. Please be careful if you're pulling at random intervals.

With such a big update going to 2.2.0 it was inevitable some bugs would creep in. I'm trying to iron them all out and work on a bugfix-only 2.2.1 release as soon as is feasible. Having my mining rig AT LAST back will make it much much easier to test all this shit.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2012, 12:58:34 PM
 #3316

I know it's a bit late with having made the device reorder part of an official release but I was wondering if people would prefer it to be optional in the next release instead of mandatory? I know some of you have some complex set ups with config files and device specific setting and so on that will be broken on going to 2.2.0, and I'm not against changing it back to the old behaviour and making it optional with something like --dev-reorder .


I vote that it should reorder by default but allow someone to turn it off if needed, I use Saphire Trixx to overclock my cards (19 of them!) and its nice to see them in the same order.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2012, 01:05:57 PM
 #3317

This is tricky. It's very hard rolling back on such a big change. However I do think it was not the best idea to do it by default and the release has only been out one day. I suspect going to 2.2.0 will break far more people's configurations than going from 2.2.0 to 2.2.1, and then using the --gpu-reorder option will fix it (which is what I decided to call it). So, sorry, I've pretty much decided to make it default to off.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 01:16:15 PM
 #3318

This is tricky. It's very hard rolling back on such a big change. However I do think it was not the best idea to do it by default and the release has only been out one day. I suspect going to 2.2.0 will break far more people's configurations than going from 2.2.0 to 2.2.1, and then using the --gpu-reorder option will fix it (which is what I decided to call it). So, sorry, I've pretty much decided to make it default to off.

I am sorry to hear that but I understand.

BTW.  I have an interesting error.  Because of BSOD when trying to update my drivers I reinstalled windows.  I installed 11.12 but not SDK.  Then installed SDK 2.5 from driver version 11.7.

2.1.12 works flawlessly.  No reduction in hashrate, and no CPU bug.

2.2.0 bombs out when starting w/ error (and yes I should have quoted it exactly Smiley ) about OpenCL compiled 0 byte binary.  It then loads the display w/ all cards listed as "off" and then promptly hard faults (Windows: cgminer.exe has encountered an error and will be closed).

Haven't done any investigating because 2.1.12 works fine and after upgrading my entire Linux farm to BAMT (working flawless w/ cgminer now BTW) and reinstalling windows I am done with upgrades for a few days. Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2012, 01:48:30 PM
 #3319

New version: 2.2.1

So I'm really loathe to leaving a version out there that makes people adopt to massive change that may not have been a good idea, only to have to pull it again in the future. Today I had the luxury of my long-lost mining rig returning so I was finally able to actually do some meaningful debugging and testing of the code I was putting into cgminer and came up with the conclusion: 2.2.0 was a stinker. I spent most of today putting out all the spot fires under my feet and to release something a little more respectable as quickly as possible.

Here is 2.2.1, a mostly bugfix release.
Probably the most important fix is the fix for cgminer-generated midstate. This could cause massive rejects and is actually the main reason I put out a new release. This only affected pools that support the new work items which don't send midstate.
Bitforce support wouldn't actually build in 2.2.0 and the binaries I shipped didn't really have it built into it.
The whole GPU-reorder  saga caused massive damage, but we all learnt a lot from that one and there's much more useful verbose information of those issues in cgminer now, and that is useful even when GPU reordering is not enabled. When the number of devices doesn't match, cgminer will still continue to try to perform hardware monitoring.
There's more information now in --ndevs and we can use that to debug for real what SDK people are using Wink
I've improved net-delay to not delay submission of shares since they're sporadic and any delays can be costly, especially for p2pool.
I also implemented something I've been meaning to do for a while: Only use one thread when dynamic mode is enabled on a GPU. It will make for even better interactivity of a desktop despite the miner running. The threads are re-enabled if you switch back to a static intensity.


Full changelog:

Version 2.2.1 - January 30, 2012

NOTE - The GPU Device reordering in 2.2.0 by default was considered a bad idea
so the original GPU ordering is used by default again unless reordering is
explicitly requested.

- Fix bitforce failing to build into cgminer.
- Add missing options to write config function.
- Add a --gpu-reorder option to only reorder devices according to PCI Bus ID
when requested.
- Fix for midstate support being broken on pools that supported no-midstate
work by ensuring numbers are 32 bits in sha2.c
- Set virtual GPUs to work when ADL is disabled or all mining will occur on GPU
0.
- Add information about paused threads in the menu status.
- Disable all but the first thread on GPUs in dynamic mode for better
interactivity.
- Set the latest network access time on share submission for --net-delay even if
we're not delaying that submission for further network access.
- Clear adl on exiting after probing values since it may attempt to overclock.
- As share submission is usually staggered, and delays can be costly, submit
shares without delay even when --net-delay is enabled.
- Display GPU number and device name when ADL is successfully enabled on it.
- Display GPU ordering remapping in verbose mode.
- Don't fail in the case the number of ADL and OpenCL devices do not match, and
do not attempt to reorder devices unless they match. Instead give a warning
about
- Display error codes should ADL not return ADL_OK in the more critical function
calls.
- Fix unused warning.
- Fix compile warnings in api.c
- Add extensive ADL based device info in debug mode.
- Make --ndevs display verbose opencl information as well to make debugging
version information easier.
- Display information about the opencl platform with verbose enabled.
- Explicitly check for nvidia in opencl platform strings as well.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2012, 04:13:37 PM
 #3320

thanks for this release ckolivas - 1 BTC Donation Sent!

can you explain more about what the problem was with the gpu reordering by default?

you said "The whole GPU-reorder  saga caused massive damage"

which is a vague and frightening statement - and since i am using it on all five of my rigs I would love to hear the official statement of what exact damage we are talking about..

thanks again !!!! Smiley

Pages: « 1 ... 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 [166] 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!