Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:30:41 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 [227] 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827632 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 01:34:59 PM
 #4521

Hm, alright, thanks for all this information. I grabbed the old phatk110817.cl and phatk110817Cypressbitalignv2w128long4.bin from my cgminer 2.0.6, renamed them to phatk120223.cl and phatk120223Cypressv2w128l4.bin and this did restore my hashrate. Smiley
Judging from their date, they were built either under Catalyst 11.9 or 11.10. Should I expect any additional benefit from messing with my drivers as you describe? The changelog doesn't seem to mention performance improvements, "just" tons of features, bugfixes, and tweaks for newest GPUs.

-
1481416241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416241
Reply with quote  #2

1481416241
Report to moderator
1481416241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416241
Reply with quote  #2

1481416241
Report to moderator
1481416241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416241
Reply with quote  #2

1481416241
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481416241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416241
Reply with quote  #2

1481416241
Report to moderator
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 01:47:19 PM
 #4522

Hm, alright, thanks for all this information. I grabbed the old phatk110817.cl and phatk110817Cypressbitalignv2w128long4.bin from my cgminer 2.0.6, renamed them to phatk120223.cl and phatk120223Cypressv2w128l4.bin and this did restore my hashrate. Smiley
Judging from their date, they were built either under Catalyst 11.9 or 11.10. Should I expect any additional benefit from messing with my drivers as you describe? The changelog doesn't seem to mention performance improvements, "just" tons of features, bugfixes, and tweaks for newest GPUs.
I'm surprised that worked, actually.  At some point on 2.3.0 or 2.3.1, someone tried that and it didn't work at all.  I thought ck subsequentsy posted that the old binaries weren't compatible with 2.3 and that was why he did the minor vesion change from 2.2.x.  I guess somewhere along the way to 2.3.1-2 he did some major reverting.

EDIT:  Also, with Cypress and phatk, I am under the impression that SDK 2.1 is better when the GPU memory is underclocked.  You might want to dowload phatk120223Cypressv2w128l4.bin from http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/bins/2.1/ and try out the SDK 2.1 binary that is actually compiled in 2.3.1-2.

EDIT2:  The .cl file isn't used when you have a .bin file, you probably sohuldn't have overwritten it with the older one, but if you never change settings, it won't matter.
localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 01:55:21 PM
 #4523

I'm surprised that worked, actually.
Yeah, I wasn't really expecting it to work either, but I thought this was worth trying since I've got some stuff running that I can't really interrupt right now. Working and looking good, although I'm not using "advanced" features such as overclocking/fan control/etc - the only thing I configure from cgminer, apart from the proxy now, is the intensity.

EDIT2:  The .cl file isn't used when you have a .bin file, you probably sohuldn't have overwritten it with the older one, but if you never change settings, it won't matter.
Kept a backup anyway

EDIT:  Also, with Cypress and phatk, I am under the impression that SDK 2.1 is better when the GPU memory is underclocked.  You might want to dowload phatk120223Cypressv2w128l4.bin from http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/bins/2.1/ and try out the SDK 2.1 binary that is actually compiled in 2.3.1-2.
Just tried it, doesn't work (error 42, then recompiles the slower new version over it)

-
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
March 09, 2012, 03:09:03 PM
 #4524

Hm, alright, thanks for all this information. I grabbed the old phatk110817.cl and phatk110817Cypressbitalignv2w128long4.bin from my cgminer 2.0.6, renamed them to phatk120223.cl and phatk120223Cypressv2w128l4.bin and this did restore my hashrate. Smiley
Judging from their date, they were built either under Catalyst 11.9 or 11.10. Should I expect any additional benefit from messing with my drivers as you describe? The changelog doesn't seem to mention performance improvements, "just" tons of features, bugfixes, and tweaks for newest GPUs.

Well you need to get rid of that AMD-APP Run-time (2.6) and go to 2.5 or you will always have to be copying and renaming bin files every time you switch to a newer version of cgminer. Follow step 2.

I get 442 Mh/s on my 5870's clocked at 970/170 on 2.5 (793.1). So 2.5 does just fine at lower mem clock settings (yes verified by GPUz).

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 03:35:03 PM
 #4525

I get 442 Mh/s on my 5870's clocked at 970/170 on 2.5 (793.1). So 2.5 does just fine at lower mem clock settings (yes verified by GPUz).
I'm getting 396MH/s @890/300 currently - 333MH/s @750/300 on the other one (underclocked for silence), about 2% slower clock for clock. Tried setting the RAM @170, lost about 10% hashrate. I guess I'll have to play with the drivers a bit some time then (next time I upgrade cgminer I suppose Cheesy). Not that urgent though, given the small speed difference.

-
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 04:52:57 PM
 #4526

EDIT:  Also, with Cypress and phatk, I am under the impression that SDK 2.1 is better when the GPU memory is underclocked.  You might want to dowload phatk120223Cypressv2w128l4.bin from http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/bins/2.1/ and try out the SDK 2.1 binary that is actually compiled in 2.3.1-2.
Just tried it, doesn't work (error 42, then recompiles the slower new version over it)
Weird!  I guess he did do some major backtracking by 2.3.1-2, and that kernel must have been compiled in 2.3.0-1.  I do wonder why mine is working, though, pretty sure I didn't delete the kernel after I upgraded to 2.3.1-2 from 2.3.0-1.  Oh well, you've got your system working well enough to make you happy, right?
coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2012, 06:10:55 PM
 #4527

When I run cgminer with 6 GPUs, 3-4 of them end up in the DEAD state after a while. Anyone know why that happens or how I can debug it? Quitting cgminer and restarting it fixes things.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 07:09:06 PM
 #4528

When I run cgminer with 6 GPUs, 3-4 of them end up in the DEAD state after a while. Anyone know why that happens or how I can debug it? Quitting cgminer and restarting it fixes things.

Reduce your clocks.  Dead = GPU crashed.  cgminer miner tends to drive GPU harder at a given Mhz than other miners.  Try backing your clocks off by 5Mhz or so.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 06:56:59 AM
 #4529

I have not checked the source code, but it seems that CGMINER keeps getting work from all defined pools, regardless if it mines on them or not. I am on very slow line (GPRS), so this hogs it the line a lot. Can it be run in "no poll" mode, just being switched on failure of primary pool?

BTW, i already use --failover-only, but it has no effect on amount of work being downloaded.
This is a gross exaggeration. It asks for precisely one work item (about 100 bytes) from pools that are not in use with --failover-only when starting up to see if those pools are alive and then never communicates with them again unless your primary pool fails. If you are having network trouble then almost certainly the problem is the rate the requests are sent out rather than the total amount of requests because often multiple requests are sent at exactly the same time. Try --net-delay to cope with that.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 06:58:45 AM
 #4530

any plans to support the x6500 fpgas?
Alas no one has said they're working on support and no one has sent me one to work on to provide support. So that would be a no.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 06:59:53 AM
 #4531

Hm, alright, thanks for all this information. I grabbed the old phatk110817.cl and phatk110817Cypressbitalignv2w128long4.bin from my cgminer 2.0.6, renamed them to phatk120223.cl and phatk120223Cypressv2w128l4.bin and this did restore my hashrate. Smiley
Judging from their date, they were built either under Catalyst 11.9 or 11.10. Should I expect any additional benefit from messing with my drivers as you describe? The changelog doesn't seem to mention performance improvements, "just" tons of features, bugfixes, and tweaks for newest GPUs.
I'm surprised that worked, actually.  At some point on 2.3.0 or 2.3.1, someone tried that and it didn't work at all.  I thought ck subsequentsy posted that the old binaries weren't compatible with 2.3 and that was why he did the minor vesion change from 2.2.x.  I guess somewhere along the way to 2.3.1-2 he did some major reverting.
Exactly. In version 2.3.1-2 the phatk kernel is identical to the much older "good" phatk kernel that was used for months; only with the new version number.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 07:01:14 AM
 #4532

I don't know why did I miss this miner earlier, I started to use, it's very practical, now I don't have to use clocktweak and 4 phoenix miners. And, it's even giving me 20 MH/s more per card with 12.1 than phoenix with 12.1. I think this gem needs more advertising to newbies.
Thanks  Grin Enjoy. What sort of advertising exactly could I possibly do to promote it?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 07:02:34 AM
 #4533

There you go:

Code:
cgminer -n[2012-03-09 12:59:20] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP (898.1)
[2012-03-09 12:59:20] Platform 0 devices: 2
AMD APP 898.1 is the sdk 2.6 that is distributed with catalyst driver 12.2 on 64 bit windows so that explains your slowdown. You've already figured out a workaround.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 07:04:41 AM
 #4534

ckvolias:using latest cgminer 2.3.1-2 win7 64x

after awhile I loose temps and fan speed displays both on screen and from API - a cgminer reboot fixes the issue
Windows driver ATI Display Library fsckage. I can't do anything about it. Does restarting cgminer fix it or rebooting the machine fix it? I could probably try working around the former by detecting "losing adl support" and re-initialising it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 07:07:32 AM
 #4535

its not in the latest windows version, I have a linux binary from the git with it compiled in to show temps but it wasnt compiled with openGL - so I cant run the Bitforce on the same machine as GPUs which I need to do in this situation.

I'll be releasing a new version with the most minor of changes once my own mining rig is back online again. Smoked a PSU so I can't test anything yet again.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 07:09:39 AM
 #4536

con, kano

Have you guys considered web user interface instead of console?
You are already providing a lot of the info via APIs so the switch
from console to http/html might not be that hard to do.
I'm not adding interfaces to the main cgminer code any more. As others have suggested, cgminer is for the engine side of things, not the interface side. The current interface is "enough" and the API makes it easy to add whatever interface you like. I'm not an interface designer.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 07:13:31 AM
 #4537

Not sure if this has been covered in previous posts, but MAN, 227 pages of posts to read, and searches don't turn up anything, so what the hey.

Just went from 2.2.6 to 2.3.1 and went from mid 500s on each 7970 and dropped to... 25.

At first I assumed it was to do with the new GPU interval setting it was annoying me about, but after wasting an hour playing with that to no avail I started looking for other causes. The first thing I noticed was it seemed to be taking 99% of each GPU to turn up 25 Mhash/sec. I tried phatk and went to 150 per GPU. POCLBM came in first with 552 at 12 intensity (I don't want the fans offensively loud).

So, not sure what's changed. I have not tried other kernels in the past so I can't tell if phatk has always sucked or, like Diablo, has just started sucking.

Anyway, I hope this helps anyone else with a 7970 confused by a sudden performance hit after an update!

outsidefactor
Yes the diablo kernel and 79x0 only works with the latest sdk included in driver 12.2 onwards. The earlier 2.6 sdk completely and utterly does an AMD on the kernel and produces massive fail instead of good performance. If you did not specify a kernel, by default cgminer detects what sdk you are on and should be giving you my custom poclbm kernel instead for sdk 2.6, which is what you concurred gives the best performance for a 7970 Wink

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 07:18:18 AM
 #4538

sam: install 11.9 if your using win7 with 5xxx series cards - it does not get better than that and believe me I have done the testing

Well, I'll run it up the flagpole and see what happens.
Thanks,
Sam

I just ran it up the flag pole.  Catalyst 11.9 which has SDK 2.5 still has the 100% CPU utilization bug, which was what I kind of thought.  I'll do some benchmarking to compare with what I was getting with the 11.6 and 100% CPU Utilization.
Sam
Win7 and WinXP (and vista lol) had different magic combinations of catalyst driver to not cause the 100% CPU bug. The 100% CPU bug is never the SDK.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 07:47:21 AM
 #4539

Dropping in once a week and answering all unanswered questions is much better for my sanity than what I was doing before  Cheesy

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
March 10, 2012, 07:28:54 PM
 #4540

ckvolias:using latest cgminer 2.3.1-2 win7 64x

after awhile I loose temps and fan speed displays both on screen and from API - a cgminer reboot fixes the issue
Windows driver ATI Display Library fsckage. I can't do anything about it. Does restarting cgminer fix it or rebooting the machine fix it? I could probably try working around the former by detecting "losing adl support" and re-initialising it.

Restarting cgminer always fixes it, no need to restart the whole box.

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
Pages: « 1 ... 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 [227] 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!