Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:28:36 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 [191] 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4814358 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 02:12:02 PM
 #3801

Well I just made an interesting discovery. My newly modified poclbm kernel included in 2.2.4 works really well on my 6970 with sdk 2.6... I get the same hashrate with my modified poclbm kernel as I used to get with the phatk kernel on 2.4/2.5. Looks like a new default kernel may be in order.

Would others like to test this out on their various hardware?

-k poclbm

Also suggest decreasing worksize:

-k poclbm -w 64



ckvolias:

this kernel does not work well at all in 2.4/2.5 so (IMO) I think it may be premature to make it the default kernel as most people are not mining with 2.6

i will install 2.6 on my test machine with and see if the Cypress chips 58xx like this kernel at all

1480717716
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717716

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717716
Reply with quote  #2

1480717716
Report to moderator
1480717716
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717716

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717716
Reply with quote  #2

1480717716
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. EWallets are like banks -- a central organization has complete control over your money. You shouldn't put much money in EWallets.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480717716
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717716

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717716
Reply with quote  #2

1480717716
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 02:16:34 PM
 #3802

Well I just made an interesting discovery. My newly modified poclbm kernel included in 2.2.4 works really well on my 6970 with sdk 2.6... I get the same hashrate with my modified poclbm kernel as I used to get with the phatk kernel on 2.4/2.5. Looks like a new default kernel may be in order.

Would others like to test this out on their various hardware?

-k poclbm

Also suggest decreasing worksize:

-k poclbm -w 64



nice Ill test it out on my various cards and let you know

Thanks a lot. As I said it's only the 6970 I tested it on and I was more than surprised. Other architecture may respond differently.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Elmojo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 03:06:51 PM
 #3803

HI all,
I'm just getting started here, so please excuse any noob statements or questions.
I followed the instructions for mining in P2Pool, and have it running smoothly, I think.
However, whenever I launch cgminer, it crashes my display driver (it recovers and reloads), then proceeds to give a bunch of errors and not do any mining that I can tell.
Where should I start looking to troubleshoot?
I can't attach images yet, but here's are links to screenshots showing the issue:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/842/cap002k.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/26/cap003t.jpg/

After I see this, if I click in cgminer window and press enter, it closes.

Thoughts?

Shameless bump, in case my issue got lost in the mix. Smiley
Anyone? I'm totally lost over here!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 03:16:32 PM
 #3804

... repost of what I said last time ...

No idea, however, the startup may show something ...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg742897#msg742897 (the bit after 4) )

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 03:21:08 PM
 #3805

HI all,
I'm just getting started here, so please excuse any noob statements or questions.
I followed the instructions for mining in P2Pool, and have it running smoothly, I think.
However, whenever I launch cgminer, it crashes my display driver (it recovers and reloads), then proceeds to give a bunch of errors and not do any mining that I can tell.
Where should I start looking to troubleshoot?
I can't attach images yet, but here's are links to screenshots showing the issue:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/842/cap002k.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/26/cap003t.jpg/

After I see this, if I click in cgminer window and press enter, it closes.

Thoughts?

Shameless bump, in case my issue got lost in the mix. Smiley
Anyone? I'm totally lost over here!

1. bumps usually are not necessary in bitcointalk
2. if cgminer crashes right away, you probably asked cgminer to clock your cards way out of the cards comfort zone.
3  Just start reading....... from the beginning

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Elmojo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 03:45:13 PM
 #3806

1. bumps usually are not necessary in bitcointalk
2. if cgminer crashes right away, you probably asked cgminer to clock your cards way out of the cards comfort zone.
3  Just start reading....... from the beginning

1. Sorry about that, I'm a little desperate. Smiley

2. I don't have any extra flags in the cgminer shortcut, so I can't see how it would be doing any clocking to my card.
Does it try to overclock by default? My card is already heavily OC'd using eVGA Precision.

3. I did, but my eyes just went crossed! I found an 'easy' step by step, and followed that, but that got me where I am now.
I need a bit of hand-holding, or at least some direction on where to get some clear, easy for noobs to understand instructions.

Elmojo
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 03:48:54 PM
 #3807

I need a bit of hand-holding, or at least some direction on where to get some clear, easy for noobs to understand instructions.

Perhaps if you considered following kano's advice, somebody could actually help you. So far, you haven't given anywhere near enough information.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 04:22:42 PM
 #3808



2. I don't have any extra flags in the cgminer shortcut, so I can't see how it would be doing any clocking to my card.
Does it try to overclock by default? My card is already heavily OC'd using eVGA Precision.

3. I did, but my eyes just went crossed! I found an 'easy' step by step, and followed that, but that got me where I am now.
I need a bit of hand-holding, or at least some direction on where to get some clear, easy for noobs to understand instructions.

Elmojo

1.  if your going to use cgminer, try not to use other clocking tools, let cgminer manage
2.  "heavily OC'd"  is probably your issue

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 04:38:42 PM
 #3809

Well I just made an interesting discovery. My newly modified poclbm kernel included in 2.2.4 works really well on my 6970 with sdk 2.6... I get the same hashrate with my modified poclbm kernel as I used to get with the phatk kernel on 2.4/2.5. Looks like a new default kernel may be in order.

Would others like to test this out on their various hardware?

-k poclbm

Also suggest decreasing worksize:

-k poclbm -w 64



nice Ill test it out on my various cards and let you know

Thanks a lot. As I said it's only the 6970 I tested it on and I was more than surprised. Other architecture may respond differently.

ok so I got upgraded to the latest CCC with sdk 2.6 on my testing Machine, its Windows 7 x64 / cgminer 2.2.4

ok so i tested the poclbm kernel as well as -w 64 on 6990 & 5870
Clocks:
6990 900/775
5870 950/180

SDK 2.5 default kernel

6990 - 405 mhash Per core
5870 - 430 Mhash

SDK 2.6 -k poclbm
6690 - 380-400 Mhash Per core (noticeably more fluctuation than with 2.5 and default kernel)
5870 - 390-420 Mhash Per core (again noticeably more fluctuation in mhash)

SDK 2.6 -k poclbm -w 64
6990 - Peeks at about 400 Mhash per core but usually stays below that and goes as low as 350
5870 - Same result I see 330-400+ Mhash a lot of fluctuation in mhash

Not sure why this is but with the 2.5 sdk and default kernel my speeds do not fluctuate hardly at all, If I look at the console of my 6990 rig every single core is running right about 405 mhash, same with the 5870, it stays pretty stable around 430 mhash, now with the 2.6 sdk and poclbm the speed is constantly changing and only peaks where it is normally stable with 2.5 and default kernel

conclusion:

in my humble opinion I think it is premature to make poclbm the default kernel, this is a nice option for people who game but if your running dedicated mining rigs you cant beat the 2.5 sdk with the default kernel

Vbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 05:03:21 PM
 #3810

From https://bitcointalk.org/?topic=7964.0

Below is a graph I came up with for my 5870 with the core clocked at 950.
V1 is the speed with no VECTORS option enabled, V2 is with using the standard "VECTORS" and V4 is using the new "VECTORS4" command line option.  The numbers with them show the WORKSIZE.



The phatk kernel still has one huge advantage over poclbm, which is being able to achieve peak performance at very low mem speeds (I'm using 150MHz myself on two 5850's), and which saves alot of $$$$ on the long run and allows for better o/c on the gpu core. Until someone develops a kernel that gets same/better results with a low mem clock (big worksize), people will be reluctant to change. Tongue
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 08:27:03 PM
 #3811

Quote from: Phateus on May 11, 2011, 05:05:55 PM

... so nothing has changed since then?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 08:37:13 PM
 #3812

Ok, so I uninstalled AMD SDK 2.6 runtime and installed 2.5
Using 2.2.4 and latest phatk kernel (deleted previous bins) -w 256 and -w 128 are bout the same

Compared to cgminer 2.2.1 and phatk kernel from november w/ AMD SDK 2.6 its performance is on avg 1mh/s slower!
So the new kernel is poopy since it seems to suck when using SDK 2.6. Whereas the kernel from november works just fine w/ 2.6

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 08:42:03 PM
 #3813

Well I just made an interesting discovery. My newly modified poclbm kernel included in 2.2.4 works really well on my 6970 with sdk 2.6... I get the same hashrate with my modified poclbm kernel as I used to get with the phatk kernel on 2.4/2.5. Looks like a new default kernel may be in order.

Would others like to test this out on their various hardware?

-k poclbm

Also suggest decreasing worksize:

-k poclbm -w 64



nice Ill test it out on my various cards and let you know

Thanks a lot. As I said it's only the 6970 I tested it on and I was more than surprised. Other architecture may respond differently.

ok so I got upgraded to the latest CCC with sdk 2.6 on my testing Machine, its Windows 7 x64 / cgminer 2.2.4

ok so i tested the poclbm kernel as well as -w 64 on 6990 & 5870
Clocks:
6990 900/775
5870 950/180

SDK 2.5 default kernel

6990 - 405 mhash Per core
5870 - 430 Mhash

SDK 2.6 -k poclbm
6690 - 380-400 Mhash Per core (noticeably more fluctuation than with 2.5 and default kernel)
5870 - 390-420 Mhash Per core (again noticeably more fluctuation in mhash)

SDK 2.6 -k poclbm -w 64
6990 - Peeks at about 400 Mhash per core but usually stays below that and goes as low as 350
5870 - Same result I see 330-400+ Mhash a lot of fluctuation in mhash

Not sure why this is but with the 2.5 sdk and default kernel my speeds do not fluctuate hardly at all, If I look at the console of my 6990 rig every single core is running right about 405 mhash, same with the 5870, it stays pretty stable around 430 mhash, now with the 2.6 sdk and poclbm the speed is constantly changing and only peaks where it is normally stable with 2.5 and default kernel

conclusion:

in my humble opinion I think it is premature to make poclbm the default kernel, this is a nice option for people who game but if your running dedicated mining rigs you cant beat the 2.5 sdk with the default kernel


Thanks for that. The question was about the poclbm kernel being default, not the SDK being default. How does poclbm perform on 2.5 sdk for you?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 08:42:57 PM
 #3814

Ok, so I uninstalled AMD SDK 2.6 runtime and installed 2.5
Using 2.2.4 and latest phatk kernel (deleted previous bins) -w 256 and -w 128 are bout the same

Compared to cgminer 2.2.1 and phatk kernel from november w/ AMD SDK 2.6 its performance is on avg 1mh/s slower!
So the new kernel is poopy since it seems to suck when using SDK 2.6. Whereas the kernel from november works just fine w/ 2.6

+1 for using "poopy" when referring to an AMD SDK
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 08:46:36 PM
 #3815

Well I just made an interesting discovery. My newly modified poclbm kernel included in 2.2.4 works really well on my 6970 with sdk 2.6... I get the same hashrate with my modified poclbm kernel as I used to get with the phatk kernel on 2.4/2.5. Looks like a new default kernel may be in order.

Would others like to test this out on their various hardware?

-k poclbm

Also suggest decreasing worksize:

-k poclbm -w 64



nice Ill test it out on my various cards and let you know

Thanks a lot. As I said it's only the 6970 I tested it on and I was more than surprised. Other architecture may respond differently.

ok so I got upgraded to the latest CCC with sdk 2.6 on my testing Machine, its Windows 7 x64 / cgminer 2.2.4

ok so i tested the poclbm kernel as well as -w 64 on 6990 & 5870
Clocks:
6990 900/775
5870 950/180

SDK 2.5 default kernel

6990 - 405 mhash Per core
5870 - 430 Mhash

SDK 2.6 -k poclbm
6690 - 380-400 Mhash Per core (noticeably more fluctuation than with 2.5 and default kernel)
5870 - 390-420 Mhash Per core (again noticeably more fluctuation in mhash)

SDK 2.6 -k poclbm -w 64
6990 - Peeks at about 400 Mhash per core but usually stays below that and goes as low as 350
5870 - Same result I see 330-400+ Mhash a lot of fluctuation in mhash

Not sure why this is but with the 2.5 sdk and default kernel my speeds do not fluctuate hardly at all, If I look at the console of my 6990 rig every single core is running right about 405 mhash, same with the 5870, it stays pretty stable around 430 mhash, now with the 2.6 sdk and poclbm the speed is constantly changing and only peaks where it is normally stable with 2.5 and default kernel

conclusion:

in my humble opinion I think it is premature to make poclbm the default kernel, this is a nice option for people who game but if your running dedicated mining rigs you cant beat the 2.5 sdk with the default kernel


Thanks for that. The question was about the poclbm kernel being default, not the SDK being default. How does poclbm perform on 2.5 sdk for you?

thats easy

POCLBM IS ABSOLUTE GARBAGE ON 2.5 !

seriously, I lose 100-150 Mhash per GPU using -k poclbm with 2.5 SDk
(tested with multiple 5870 and 6990)

that what I was trying to say it is premature to make poclbm the default kernel because most miners are using 2.5
the only people that want 2.6 and poclbm are people who want to do mining and gaming with the same machine

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 08:49:23 PM
 #3816

Thanks for that. The question was about the poclbm kernel being default, not the SDK being default. How does poclbm perform on 2.5 sdk for you?

thats easy

POCLBM IS ABSOLUTE GARBAGE ON 2.5 !

seriously, I lose 100-150 Mhash per GPU using -k poclbm with 2.5 SDk
(tested with multiple 5870 and 6990)

that what I was trying to say it is premature to make poclbm the default kernel because most miners are using 2.5
the only people that want 2.6 and poclbm are people who want to do mining and gaming with the same machine


Woho. That's more definitive testing. Just for my comfort, can you confirm that's the latest poclbm in 2.2.4 you're talking about? Thanks!

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 08:56:28 PM
 #3817

Thanks for that. The question was about the poclbm kernel being default, not the SDK being default. How does poclbm perform on 2.5 sdk for you?

thats easy

POCLBM IS ABSOLUTE GARBAGE ON 2.5 !

seriously, I lose 100-150 Mhash per GPU using -k poclbm with 2.5 SDk
(tested with multiple 5870 and 6990)

that what I was trying to say it is premature to make poclbm the default kernel because most miners are using 2.5
the only people that want 2.6 and poclbm are people who want to do mining and gaming with the same machine


Woho. That's more definitive testing. Just for my comfort, can you confirm that's the latest poclbm in 2.2.4 you're talking about? Thanks!

yes, I tested it on a freshly unzipped cgminer 2.2.4

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 08:59:39 PM
 #3818

Thanks very much!

I guess I could whitelist the SDK and when cgminer detects sdk 2.6 it could default to poclbm instead of always. On linux it is "OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP (844.4)". Can anyone tell me what "cgminer -n" tells them on windows with sdk 2.6 please?

edit: I guess I can install it into my windows VM and see for myself what 32 bit sdk2.6 is

edit: I have them all now. (does anyone use osx?)

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 09:14:04 PM
 #3819


Code:
C:\cgminer-2.2.4-win32>cgminer -ndev.
[2012-02-12 16:10:55] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
[2012-02-12 16:10:55] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
[2012-02-12 16:10:55] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP (851.4)
[2012-02-12 16:10:55] Platform 0 devices: 4
[2012-02-12 16:10:55] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series hardware monitoring enable
d
[2012-02-12 16:10:55] GPU 1 AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series hardware monitoring enable
d
[2012-02-12 16:10:55] GPU 2 AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series hardware monitoring enable
d
[2012-02-12 16:10:55] GPU 3 AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series hardware monitoring enable
d
[2012-02-12 16:10:55] 4 GPU devices max detected

C:\cgminer-2.2.4-win32>
Elmojo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 09:39:13 PM
 #3820

Perhaps if you considered following kano's advice, somebody could actually help you. So far, you haven't given anywhere near enough information.
I didn't realize kano was responding to me. I didn't see anything in his post that made me think he was answering my question.
I looked at the post he linked to, but I don't see anything there that appears to apply to me.
He posted:
1) Read the README <-Did that first, looks like Greek (or Klingon) to me!
or
2) just restart it over and over until it succeeds to generate the new *.bin  <-From what I can tell, mine is generating BINs correctly
or
3) make sure you extracted all the files (including the new *.cl files) <- The cl files are in the directory, not sure what else to check
or
4) Last resort: just rename the old *.bin files to the new names: replace 110817 with 120203 in the names <-My bin files already have 120203 in the name

And the other repeated again and again info often needed with problems:
the full output of 'cgminer -n' and some of 'cgminer -D -T --verbose ...' (obviously not all of it if cgminer is actually running ...)
where '...' are the options you use  <-I have NO idea what this means. I tried running cgminer with the -n flag, and it flashes on the screen so fast I can't read anything, then closes.

I still think the biggest issue is figuring why it crashes my graphics driver every time.

1.  if your going to use cgminer, try not to use other clocking tools, let cgminer manage
2.  "heavily OC'd"  is probably your issue

1. I will, if I ever figure out how to use it.
2. Unlikely, it does the same even when my card is set back to stock clocks.

Does any of this help?
I'll be happy to post additional stats and logs, if I can get it working.
Pages: « 1 ... 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 [191] 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!