Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:47:22 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 [175] 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818315 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
outsidefactor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:27:00 AM
 #3481

is it possible to underclock the memory down to 300 using cgminer?

I clock my 7970s down to 150 with it quite successfully.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480963642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963642
Reply with quote  #2

1480963642
Report to moderator
1480963642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963642
Reply with quote  #2

1480963642
Report to moderator
1480963642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963642
Reply with quote  #2

1480963642
Report to moderator
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:30:08 AM
 #3482

is it possible to underclock the memory down to 300 using cgminer?

I clock my 7970s down to 150 with it quite successfully.

how?
outsidefactor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:36:27 AM
 #3483

Hello to the cgminer community.

I have been trying to implement a background mining setup here at my work (with the consent and support of my boss). I have 20 CAD stations I want to run miners on, but only when the machines are idle (the engineers never shut them off and we source all our power from solar panels on the roof).

I have tried various options, from the old RCP screen savers (sooooooo out of date) to commandsaver. Commandsaver was close, but cgminer doesn't seem to like console redirection, plus when the screensaver ends and goes to shut down cgminer it rarely seems to exit cleanly.

People directed me to this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/?topic=8403.0, but I can't see how it's any better than command saver and still probably has the clean exiting issue.

Any ideas? cgminer is my preference (it's awesomely efficient and only needs one worker account per machine). Maybe if enough of us annoy con he'll fix the console redirection and clean shutdown issues?
outsidefactor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:39:19 AM
 #3484

is it possible to underclock the memory down to 300 using cgminer?

I clock my 7970s down to 150 with it quite successfully.

how?

GPU Settings -> Change Settings -> Select GPU -> Memory

From there you can set the memory speed.

You can also use the "gpu-memclock" config stanza in your .conf file.

I usually get a miner running how I like and then just write out the config file (Settings -> Write Config File).
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:42:05 AM
 #3485

is it possible to underclock the memory down to 300 using cgminer?

I clock my 7970s down to 150 with it quite successfully.

how?

GPU Settings -> Change Settings -> Select GPU -> Memory

From there you can set the memory speed.

You can also use the "gpu-memclock" config stanza in your .conf file.

have you verified with a sensor like gpu-z that your card is actually running at 150?

when i do that with my 6970, it defaults back to stock settings.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:52:12 AM
 #3486

Hello to the cgminer community.

I have been trying to implement a background mining setup here at my work (with the consent and support of my boss). I have 20 CAD stations I want to run miners on, but only when the machines are idle (the engineers never shut them off and we source all our power from solar panels on the roof).

I have tried various options, from the old RCP screen savers (sooooooo out of date) to commandsaver. Commandsaver was close, but cgminer doesn't seem to like console redirection, plus when the screensaver ends and goes to shut down cgminer it rarely seems to exit cleanly.

People directed me to this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/?topic=8403.0, but I can't see how it's any better than command saver and still probably has the clean exiting issue.

Any ideas? cgminer is my preference (it's awesomely efficient and only needs one worker account per machine). Maybe if enough of us annoy con he'll fix the console redirection and clean shutdown issues?
You could just run it intensity 'D' ...

Or if that is an issue, set it to intensity '-10' and then have a web page/script/program that talks to each one at certain times of the day to switch the intensity up and back down as required using the RPC API ...
Basically play with the lower intensity values and work out what doesn't cause any noticeable effect on each machine and have it run at that all the time and switch it up/back at the appropriate out of hours times.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:53:47 AM
 #3487

is it possible to underclock the memory down to 300 using cgminer?

I clock my 7970s down to 150 with it quite successfully.

how?

GPU Settings -> Change Settings -> Select GPU -> Memory

From there you can set the memory speed.

You can also use the "gpu-memclock" config stanza in your .conf file.

have you verified with a sensor like gpu-z that your card is actually running at 150?

when i do that with my 6970, it defaults back to stock settings.
When you check cgminer not long after trying to change it - it will tell you what the card is really running at
... assuming the ATI ADL isn't bug ridden for you Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
outsidefactor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 04:13:07 AM
 #3488


have you verified with a sensor like gpu-z that your card is actually running at 150?

when i do that with my 6970, it defaults back to stock settings.

I just downloaded GPU-z and confirmed the underclock.

Try the latest catalyst driver? I am running 7970s, FYI.
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 07:17:48 AM
 #3489

when i do that with my 6970, it defaults back to stock settings.

I think this is an issue with the 6xxx series, not the miner software.

All 6000 series cards are restricted to GPU clock -125 for memclock.  For example, if you are running at 900 on GPU, the lowest you can clock the memory is 775.  Anything lower than 125 below the GPU clock will reset the memclock to stock speed.

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 03, 2012, 07:28:17 AM
 #3490

when i do that with my 6970, it defaults back to stock settings.

I think this is an issue with the 6xxx series, not the miner software.

All 6000 series cards are restricted to GPU clock -125 for memclock.  For example, if you are running at 900 on GPU, the lowest you can clock the memory is 775.  Anything lower than 125 below the GPU clock will reset the memclock to stock speed.
Windows applications have extra backdoors to the hardware to get around this. We have no cross platform->linux code that can do this, nor do I have access to how it's done on windows. So afterburner and others can work around this limitation.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 03, 2012, 07:30:52 AM
 #3491

Updated git tree. (Thanks go to sveetsnelda for most of these fixes)

Update poclbm kernel for better performance on GCN and new SDKs with bitalign support when not BFI INT patching. Update phatk kernel to work properly for non BFI INT patched kernels, providing support for phatk to run on GCN and non-ATI cards.

If you're desperate to try these on windows, downloading the new files and using the old filenames will work

https://raw.github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/master/phatk120203.cl
https://raw.github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/master/poclbm120203.cl

use them to overwrite the existing
phatk110817.cl
poclbm110817.cl

This is not a magic performance enhancement. It might improve on nvidia if you can use the phatk kernel, and it will be significantly better on GCN (79xx cards) but will not match other kernels out there yet.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 09:08:15 AM
 #3492

Okay so on the temp-cutoff feature.

... . Thus auto-gpu must be enabled before temp-target, temp-overheat, or temp-cutoff are active. ....
.... The default for temp-cutoff, as described in the readme  Roll Eyes, is 95 degrees.

Just to be clear, I had my cutoff temp configured at 80C. Without auto-gpu, cgminer will not do anything with that (my card was over 90C). Or are you saying it would have cut off at 95C?

jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 09:36:13 AM
 #3493

the default value of 95°C for temp-cutoff is only good for determining cutoff temperature in case the user failed to specify one.
You still need auto-gpu to enforce the temp-cutoff check.

Let me reiterate: if you want any thermal throttling in cgminer, auto-gpu must be defined.
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 10:57:23 AM
 #3494

Updated git tree. (Thanks go to sveetsnelda for most of these fixes)

Update poclbm kernel for better performance on GCN and new SDKs with bitalign support when not BFI INT patching. Update phatk kernel to work properly for non BFI INT patched kernels, providing support for phatk to run on GCN and non-ATI cards.

If you're desperate to try these on windows, downloading the new files and using the old filenames will work

https://raw.github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/master/phatk120203.cl
https://raw.github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/master/poclbm120203.cl

use them to overwrite the existing
phatk110817.cl
poclbm110817.cl

This is not a magic performance enhancement. It might improve on nvidia if you can use the phatk kernel, and it will be significantly better on GCN (79xx cards) but will not match other kernels out there yet.

OK. So currently what is the best possible combination for 5870s ? SDK 2.1 and poclbm ? SDK 2.1 and other kernel ?

Which kernel has the lowest ALU OPs for 5870s ? I don't care about SDK because I can use 2.4 or 2.1 or 2.6 etc. I only care what gets me most MHash/s right now on my 5870s !

Thanks !
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 01:47:20 PM
 #3495

Phatk will almost surely be faster than poclbm on old hardware AFAIK.
Why don't you do some benchmarking and post the results here? Wink
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 01:56:08 PM
 #3496

Phatk will almost surely be faster than poclbm on old hardware AFAIK.
Why don't you do some benchmarking and post the results here? Wink


Really ? I saw people swear by poclbm kernel and ATI SDK 2.1 for 5870s but that is very moderate performance for me right now. About 430 mhash/s at 960 core and 320 memory.  

I thought phatk is to bring poclbm+2.1 performance but with sdk 2.4 ?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 02:57:25 PM
 #3497

Like I said, this is your chance to shine Smiley
Cgminer has a very useful shares parameter (e.g. "shares" : "10000") which tells it to exit once it solves a specified number of shares.
Write a script to launch cgminer consecutively with different SDKs, kernels, vectors, and worksizes and post your results here.
This will be the real deal, far more accurate than any info you can find online.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:51:58 PM
 #3498

when i do that with my 6970, it defaults back to stock settings.

I think this is an issue with the 6xxx series, not the miner software.

All 6000 series cards are restricted to GPU clock -125 for memclock.  For example, if you are running at 900 on GPU, the lowest you can clock the memory is 775.  Anything lower than 125 below the GPU clock will reset the memclock to stock speed.

not quite true.  if you use Afterburner with the modif here, you can get memclock down to 685 while running core clock in the 900's:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=37271.0
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:55:40 PM
 #3499

Like I said, this is your chance to shine Smiley
Cgminer has a very useful shares parameter (e.g. "shares" : "10000") which tells it to exit once it solves a specified number of shares.
Write a script to launch cgminer consecutively with different SDKs, kernels, vectors, and worksizes and post your results here.
This will be the real deal, far more accurate than any info you can find online.
However ... shares are random so the time to generate 10,000 of them can vary quite a lot on the same card each time you do it.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 04:01:09 PM
 #3500

Like I said, this is your chance to shine Smiley
Cgminer has a very useful shares parameter (e.g. "shares" : "10000") which tells it to exit once it solves a specified number of shares.
Write a script to launch cgminer consecutively with different SDKs, kernels, vectors, and worksizes and post your results here.
This will be the real deal, far more accurate than any info you can find online.
However ... shares are random so the time to generate 10,000 of them can vary quite a lot on the same card each time you do it.
So capture average MH/s over the 10,000 shares as well, and do each run more than once.  More information is better.  Have backup pools and log downtime so your numbers aren't unknowingly reduced due to outside factors.
Pages: « 1 ... 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 [175] 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!