Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:45:58 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 [230] 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815162 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 12:55:41 PM
 #4581

cgminer just stopped for me sometime last night... This was the start of a long set of logs at this time:

Code:
<snip>
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684124] cgminer invoked oom-killer: gfp_mask=0x280da, order=0, oom_adj=0
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684129] cgminer cpuset=/ mems_allowed=0
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684133] Pid: 4022, comm: cgminer Tainted: P         C 2.6.32-5-686 #1
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684135] Call Trace:
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684143]  [<c1089a74>] ? oom_kill_process+0x60/0x201
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684148]  [<c1089ff1>] ? __out_of_memory+0xf4/0x107
<snip>

I can post all the rest if needed, but figured I would start with the above.
1480772758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772758
Reply with quote  #2

1480772758
Report to moderator
1480772758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772758
Reply with quote  #2

1480772758
Report to moderator
1480772758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772758
Reply with quote  #2

1480772758
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480772758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772758
Reply with quote  #2

1480772758
Report to moderator
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 01:08:57 PM
 #4582

...
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684124] cgminer invoked oom-killer: gfp_mask=0x280da, order=0, oom_adj=0
...
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684148]  [<c1089ff1>] ? __out_of_memory+0xf4/0x107
You sure your system didn't just run out of memory?
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 02:12:21 PM
 #4583

You sure your system didn't just run out of memory?

Lol... well... no Smiley  But it seemed cgminer was the only thing affected.  Other things I checked on the server were still running (web server/sshd).
Its a dedicated rig, and pheonix never had any issues... I was just trying out cgminer and it lasted for about 4 hours before it died to the above message.  Its 2 gig ram with small web server...  after reboot, it appears cgminer is taking about 800 meg of virtual RAM and 400 Meg of physical RAM, is this normal for 6 gpu's?

 3804 root      20   0  748m 356m  50m S  1.7 20.1   1:29.67 cgminer
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 02:17:56 PM
 #4584

Is it possible to lower the memory clocks on the 7970.  Mine keep going up every time I try and reset them lower.


7970 in linux is stuck at engine -150 -- cannot go lower.

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 03:04:23 PM
 #4585

The lowest memory clock AB will let you set is 685.  You can lower the voltage in AB, but cgminer will run at 1.17V, no matter
what you set it using AB or other tools.
You still don't get it, do you?  cgminer doesn't do anything unless you tell it to, AB doesn't do anything to the voltage, it runs at 1.17 and other tools tell you what it's set at while cgminer tells you what it's actually at.  A new version of AB might change it in the future, and then cgminer will show that value, but cgminer still won't be doing anything to it.
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
March 17, 2012, 01:24:00 AM
 #4586

I found a new version of OpenCL (AMD APP, Stream SDK, whatever they want to call it) in a leaked version of a beta driver.  This driver supposedly gives Windows 8 support.  Anyway, I don't give a bleep about the driver, just the OpenCL versions.

On Catalyst 12.3 with OpenCL version "2.6" my DLL versions are:
amdocl(64).dll       10.0.831.4
opencl.dll             1.2.0.0

From this leaked driver the DLL versions are:
amdocl(64).dll       10.0.898.1
opencl.dll             1.2.1.0

Uninstalled version "2.6", deleted the DLL's manually in System32 and SysWOW64 (necessary step going between versions!), then installed this new leaked version.  Deleted my kernel bins in cgminer dir as usual, then launched...

Can't really see any change in performance.  Hopefully this gives ckolivas and the kernel devs something to chew on and progress forward, though.

Driver link:  http://jumbofiles.com/h2l4qczhjkb4
I will host just the 32 and 64bit versions of the OpenCL.msi myself for those who don't care about the whole driver:  http://www.delta9IT.com/OpenCL32.rar  http://www.delta9IT.com/OpenCL64.rar
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 02:37:52 AM
 #4587

Um ... to state the obvious, unless it's from the AMD website - no one in their right mind should download it.

Edit: however that 898 number isn't new if I remember correctly you can get 898 from AMD?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 03:21:46 AM
 #4588

You sure your system didn't just run out of memory?

Lol... well... no Smiley  But it seemed cgminer was the only thing affected.  Other things I checked on the server were still running (web server/sshd).
Its a dedicated rig, and pheonix never had any issues... I was just trying out cgminer and it lasted for about 4 hours before it died to the above message.  Its 2 gig ram with small web server...  after reboot, it appears cgminer is taking about 800 meg of virtual RAM and 400 Meg of physical RAM, is this normal for 6 gpu's?

 3804 root      20   0  748m 356m  50m S  1.7 20.1   1:29.67 cgminer


Happened again after about 5 hours.  I have a couple 2 gig RAM rigs running cgminer just fine with 3 gpu's each... its the rigs that have 6 gpus each that it occurs on after 5ish hours..  No sign of trouble right now... after 2 hours running, I have 738Meg free out of 2 Gigs.  Full logs are located at:

http://pastebin.com/8MDeRMkD

Anyone have any ideas to help me troubleshoot whats happening?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 03:47:58 AM
 #4589

thanks for your work on this tool.  it is just what i was looking for as i've developed in the bitcoin arena.  having total control in one app is great.

my experience did get off to a bad start though and was about to give up.  the system i decided to try it on first would not work.  i tried the compiled windows version, then tried to compile myself - oh that was fun. 

i just could not get it to initialize the GPU so i moved it over to another system and bam worked right off.  it turns out that my first attempt was on a pc that i was messing with the Intel OpenCL SDK earlier.  i removed that SDK then CGMINER worked.  this may not be news or unexpected but figured i would share in case someone else is in the same boat.

thanks again ckolivas, and all contributing members. now off to research centralized monitoring........
You're most welcome. Enjoy.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
March 17, 2012, 03:49:12 AM
 #4590

Um ... to state the obvious, unless it's from the AMD website - no one in their right mind should download it.

Edit: however that 898 number isn't new if I remember correctly you can get 898 from AMD?
Comes from Guru3d forums, which has been around for a long time. Sorry, forgot that link to close the loop on where this came from, here:  http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=360108
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 03:49:46 AM
 #4591

Since I've had a few cgminer updates waiting for quite a while, and I've also added another update to the miner.php that some might consider useful, I'll post about it here:

The latest version in my git waiting to be pulled:
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/blob/master/miner.h

This adds 3 changes to ckolivas git:
1) Split the devs output tables if there is more than 1 device type
2) A PHP deprecated update for 1)
3) A new option at line 10 "$readonly" that when set to true will force the script to not show any buttons to change cgminer
If it is set to false then it will use the cgminer API command 'privileged' to determine if it should show buttons

Change 3) is useful to force it to read only with true if you want to give public access to the web page but ensure it always is readonly no matter what API access level you set in cgminer
Will merge all this stuff whenever my mining rig is back online and I can actually test any code I commit.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 03:50:34 AM
 #4592

Is there a way to run the -na command when using diablo kernel?
No. That's a workaround for the diablo kernel when you're using it on a 2.6 SDK that performs terribly (like 25mhash) by default. The poclbm kernel is actually faster than diablo with -na so there is no point.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 03:50:59 AM
 #4593

con (or anybody with 7970),

Can you undervolt your 7970 with --gpu-vddc setting?

Thanks
Nope, they never respond.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 03:51:57 AM
 #4594

Con, Kano

Do you know if anything can be done in cgminer to prevent this crash in aticaldd.dll?  I keep getting these from time to time, but it is always the same offset.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Faulting module name: aticaldd.dll, version: 6.14.10.1703, time stamp: 0x4f3b188e

Exception code: 0xc0000005

Fault offset: 0x001671fa

Faulting process id: 0xb04

Faulting application start time: 0x01cd02bc779abfc0

Faulting application path: C:\Users\admin\Desktop\cgminer\cgminer.exe

Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\aticaldd.dll

Report Id: dea2867e-6eaf-11e1-b01a-8c89a5566fbd
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
It's a crash in the driver or sdk code, therefore I can't do a thing about it apart from recommend a different driver version.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 03:53:24 AM
 #4595

Is it possible to lower the memory clocks on the 7970.  Mine keep going up every time I try and reset them lower.

You can only set the 7970 memory 150 lower than the engine clock speed. That's precisely why the memdiff feature exists in cgminer, so add this to your commands:
--gpu-memdiff -150

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 03:56:20 AM
 #4596

cgminer just stopped for me sometime last night... This was the start of a long set of logs at this time:

Code:
<snip>
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684124] cgminer invoked oom-killer: gfp_mask=0x280da, order=0, oom_adj=0
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684129] cgminer cpuset=/ mems_allowed=0
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684133] Pid: 4022, comm: cgminer Tainted: P         C 2.6.32-5-686 #1
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684135] Call Trace:
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684143]  [<c1089a74>] ? oom_kill_process+0x60/0x201
Mar 16 04:10:40 skynet kernel: [13242.684148]  [<c1089ff1>] ? __out_of_memory+0xf4/0x107
<snip>

I can post all the rest if needed, but figured I would start with the above.
Yep you really have run out of ram. The only time I've seen cgminer itself waste lots of ram is when people have the submit-stale feature enabled and it caches lots of old work and keeps trying to submit them for extensive outages, creating more and more network threads since there is no upper limit to how long it will hold onto this work and try repeatedly to send them. I guess I should make them all time out and give up in a future version. I don't ever suggest using the submit-stale feature and I also recommend enabling the --net-delay feature. Why does the submit stale feature exist then? Because people asked for it. Nowadays it's redundant in my opinion.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 03:58:25 AM
 #4597

I found a new version of OpenCL (AMD APP, Stream SDK, whatever they want to call it) in a leaked version of a beta driver.  This driver supposedly gives Windows 8 support.  Anyway, I don't give a bleep about the driver, just the OpenCL versions.
amdocl(64).dll       10.0.898.1
opencl.dll             1.2.1.0
898.1 is the sdk that's distributed from driver version 12.2 onwards, but it depends on which OS/combo etc. Having a different opencl.dll I'm not sure what it means.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:34:35 AM
 #4598


Yep you really have run out of ram. The only time I've seen cgminer itself waste lots of ram is when people have the submit-stale feature enabled and it caches lots of old work and keeps trying to submit them for extensive outages, creating more and more network threads since there is no upper limit to how long it will hold onto this work and try repeatedly to send them. I guess I should make them all time out and give up in a future version. I don't ever suggest using the submit-stale feature and I also recommend enabling the --net-delay feature. Why does the submit stale feature exist then? Because people asked for it. Nowadays it's redundant in my opinion.


Thanks... I don't use the submit-stale option...  When i start it uses about 174 meg of mem, then a couple hours later, its using closer to 400 meg

this is my start script
Quote
/usr/bin/screen -dmS cgminer /opt/miners/cgminer/cgminer -Q 2 --api-listen --gpu-engine 700-780,700-780,700-810,700-805,700-820,700-815 --gpu-memclock 240 --auto-gpu --auto-fan --temp-target 75 -I 10 -o http://x:8332 -u x-p x -o http://x:80 -u x -p z


I'm not sure whats going on...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:53:40 AM
 #4599

Since I've had a few cgminer updates waiting for quite a while, and I've also added another update to the miner.php that some might consider useful, I'll post about it here:

The latest version in my git waiting to be pulled:
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/blob/master/miner.h

This adds 3 changes to ckolivas git:
1) Split the devs output tables if there is more than 1 device type
2) A PHP deprecated update for 1)
3) A new option at line 10 "$readonly" that when set to true will force the script to not show any buttons to change cgminer
If it is set to false then it will use the cgminer API command 'privileged' to determine if it should show buttons

Change 3) is useful to force it to read only with true if you want to give public access to the web page but ensure it always is readonly no matter what API access level you set in cgminer
Will merge all this stuff whenever my mining rig is back online and I can actually test any code I commit.
Smiley I just noticed that link was wrong - it points to miner.h not miner.php Smiley
Oh well I'm sure anyone (other than Xiangfu who is also using it other than me) who did want it, they would have worked that out.
The correct link was:
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/blob/master/miner.php

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 05:16:39 AM
 #4600

Thanks... I don't use the submit-stale option...  When i start it uses about 174 meg of mem, then a couple hours later, its using closer to 400 meg

this is my start script
Quote
/usr/bin/screen -dmS cgminer /opt/miners/cgminer/cgminer -Q 2 --api-listen --gpu-engine 700-780,700-780,700-810,700-805,700-820,700-815 --gpu-memclock 240 --auto-gpu --auto-fan --temp-target 75 -I 10 -o http://x:8332 -u x-p x -o http://x:80 -u x -p z


I'm not sure whats going on...

Neither am I. But I can recommend dropping intensity since 10 does not help anything less than a 7970 and consumes more CPU and makes hashrate more unstable. 7-9 depending on card is optimal.  There is a value, beyond which, the hashrate does not go up. 8 for most cards, 9 for 69x0s and 11 for 79x0s (only with export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1 on linux, otherwise again 9).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 [230] 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!