Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:49:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 [231] 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818323 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 10:59:49 AM
 #4601

Uninstalled version "2.6", deleted the DLL's manually in System32 and SysWOW64 (necessary step going between versions!), then installed this new leaked version.  Deleted my kernel bins in cgminer dir as usual, then launched...

Can't really see any change in performance.  Hopefully this gives ckolivas and the kernel devs something to chew on and progress forward, though.

I'm very confused by the overall driver version thing. Is there a post (on this forum or somewhere else) that clarifies driver versions, OpenCL versions, which versions to use, how to change them and so on? I'm using Windows 7.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480963798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963798
Reply with quote  #2

1480963798
Report to moderator
1480963798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963798
Reply with quote  #2

1480963798
Report to moderator
1480963798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963798
Reply with quote  #2

1480963798
Report to moderator
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 01:01:22 PM
 #4602

...
http://pastebin.com/8MDeRMkD
Anyone have any ideas to help me troubleshoot whats happening?

Your machines run out of memory.
It is the job of the linux 'oom killer' to sacrifice one or more processes in order to free up memory for the system when all else fails.

You mentioned those are not dedicated mining rigs running web servers as well.
Just add a $12 memory module. As a stop gap, create a swap file.
Quest complete, you gain 200 experience points.
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 03:58:02 PM
 #4603


You mentioned those are not dedicated mining rigs running web servers as well.
Just add a $12 memory module. As a stop gap, create a swap file.
Quest complete, you gain 200 experience points.

The web server part is only for rig mining stats (BAMT).  It's cgminer that keeps growing in memory size.  I've been watching and I think every-time a thread is idle for 60 seconds and is restarted, it increases overall RAM usage (like the previous thread isn't getting removed from RAM).  I use gpumax, which can have high idle times occasionally....  cgminer starts at 174 meg of RAM for me and currently its using 800 meg, so I think adding another stick of RAM would help, but only by delaying the time it takes for the system to run out of RAM.  If I restart cgminer, then its back to normal mem usage and slowly increases again.

I've been reviewing the command switches and am not sure which one increases the time a thread can be idle before cgminer restarts it... can someone assist me with what switch does that?  I would like to set the thread idle limit to 120 or 180 seconds to see if that reduces my thread restarts (and therefore RAM usage).  I'm on cgminer v 2.3.1f.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:22:20 PM
 #4604

2.3.1f Smiley OK That's from my git that was added to BAMT after 2.3.1 was released
That was to add API support for FPGA's ... 29-Feb ... yep.

That problem description might suggest a possible problem ... not related to my git change ...
If no one else has said or done anything when I wake up I'll look at making a quick test binary for you then
- but it's 3am and I'm tired and likely to make mistakes now Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:29:35 PM
 #4605

Uninstalled version "2.6", deleted the DLL's manually in System32 and SysWOW64 (necessary step going between versions!), then installed this new leaked version.  Deleted my kernel bins in cgminer dir as usual, then launched...

Can't really see any change in performance.  Hopefully this gives ckolivas and the kernel devs something to chew on and progress forward, though.

I'm very confused by the overall driver version thing. Is there a post (on this forum or somewhere else) that clarifies driver versions, OpenCL versions, which versions to use, how to change them and so on? I'm using Windows 7.
No and it's a shame because the good info is just spread out all over the place on these forums  Embarrassed
Qu4k3r
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 06:38:03 PM
 #4606

Hi  Smiley

I have a doubt...
Sorry if this is already asked but 235 pages are too long to read  Shocked

Can I set "Solo Mode" mining in CGminer as follows?

Code:
cgminer -o http://localhost:3332 -u MyUserName -p MyPassWord -I 9 --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 800,800,775 --gpu-memclock 300

Username and pass for solo mode mining are previously set with guiminer.

Thanks in advance  Wink
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 06:43:59 PM
 #4607

You can only set the 7970 memory 150 lower than the engine clock speed. That's precisely why the memdiff feature exists in cgminer, so add this to your commands:
--gpu-memdiff -150

I didn't know that command existed.  Nice.

A BIOS flash will take care of that clock/voltage issue nicely.  Smiley   (Assuming it's a dedicated rig, of course)

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 06:44:37 PM
 #4608

Hi  Smiley

I have a doubt...
Sorry if this is already asked but 235 pages are too long to read  Shocked

Can I set "Solo Mode" mining in CGminer as follows?

Code:
cgminer -o http://localhost:3332 -u MyUserName -p MyPassWord -I 9 --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 800,800,775 --gpu-memclock 300

Username and pass for solo mode mining are previously set with guiminer.

Thanks in advance  Wink

Sure you can.  Why wouldn't you be able to do that?

As long as you have your bitcoind/Bitcoin client started in server mode and the block chain up to date.

I don't know anything about GUIMiner and have no idea what that would have to do with anything.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Qu4k3r
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 06:50:27 PM
 #4609


Sure you can.  Why wouldn't you be able to do that?

As long as you have your bitcoind/Bitcoin client started in server mode and the block chain up to date.

I don't know anything about GUIMiner and have no idea what that would have to do with anything.
Sam

Thank you very much! Wink

I mentioned guiminer becuase I used it in the past to do solo mining.
It sets my username/pass for solo mining and also launches btc client in server mode.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 09:47:31 PM
 #4610

I've been watching and I think every-time a thread is idle for 60 seconds and is restarted, it increases overall RAM usage (like the previous thread isn't getting removed from RAM).  I use gpumax, which can have high idle times occasionally....  cgminer starts at 174 meg of RAM for me and currently its using 800 meg, so I think adding another stick of RAM would help, but only by delaying the time it takes for the system to run out of RAM.  If I restart cgminer, then its back to normal mem usage and slowly increases again.
Then you're onto something. It is dangerous to try and delete the ram used by the old threads because that just leads to a crash, so I specifically made the threads' ram not get cleaned up - so it is expected that ram usage will go up. However, you're doing something horribly wrong if your GPUs are going idle all the time. That's supposed to ONLY happen if your GPUs wedge because you're overclocking them too much and the GPU stops responding. I highly recommend reviewing your temperatures and clock speeds.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 11:23:27 PM
 #4611

...
The web server part is only for rig mining stats (BAMT).  It's cgminer that keeps growing in memory size.  I've been watching and I think every-time a thread is idle for 60 seconds and is restarted, it increases overall RAM usage (like the previous thread isn't getting removed from RAM).  I use gpumax, which can have high idle times occasionally....  cgminer starts at 174 meg of RAM for me and currently its using 800 meg, so I think adding another stick of RAM would help, but only by delaying the time it takes for the system to run out of RAM.  If I restart cgminer, then its back to normal mem usage and slowly increases again.

I've been reviewing the command switches and am not sure which one increases the time a thread can be idle before cgminer restarts it... can someone assist me with what switch does that?  I would like to set the thread idle limit to 120 or 180 seconds to see if that reduces my thread restarts (and therefore RAM usage).  I'm on cgminer v 2.3.1f.
Some questions regarding this Smiley
1) When you run "./cgminer --help" what does the 2nd line "Built with ..." say?

2) run "ps -eL | grep cgminer | grep -v grep | wc" and it will say how many threads there are

3) run "ps -eLF | grep cgminer | grep -v grep | tail -1" will show you the command running cgminer so you can be sure it matches exactly what you said Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 11:33:53 PM
 #4612

Hey Con. Will you release a version with kanos work that supports mining with Icarus and BFL (windows7, 2.3.1f) ? There is a 7.5 BTC bounty for that. Would be nice Tongue

boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 11:59:09 PM
 #4613

Some questions regarding this Smiley
1) When you run "./cgminer --help" what does the 2nd line "Built with ..." say?

2) run "ps -eL | grep cgminer | grep -v grep | wc" and it will say how many threads there are

3) run "ps -eLF | grep cgminer | grep -v grep | tail -1" will show you the command running cgminer so you can be sure it matches exactly what you said Smiley

Here's the information you requested:

root@oconner:/opt/miners/cgminer# ./cgminer --help
cgminer 2.3.1f
Built with GPU bitforce icarus mining support.

root@oconner:/opt/miners/cgminer# ps -eL | grep cgminer | grep -v grep | wc
     53     265    2014

root@oconner:/opt/miners/cgminer# ps -eLF | grep cgminer | grep -v grep | tail -1
root     27782 27781 27188  0   53 185303 388892 0 18:25 pts/1    00:00:00 /opt/miners/cgminer cgminer -Q 2 --api-listen --gpu-engine 700-825 700-825 700-830 700-815 700-820 700-830 --gpu-memclock 240 --auto-gpu --auto-fan --temp-target 75 -I 8 -o http://gpumax.com:8332 -u x-p x -o http://x:80 -u x -p x
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 18, 2012, 01:21:23 AM
 #4614

OK 53 isn't a big number so it's not what I was considering may be the cause.

The other two numbers there are not big yet either
SZ=185303 RSS=388892
if you have a sizeable number of devices on your rig (your options suggest 6 GPU devices? Are any of them dual?)

My rig has only 4 devices and it reads:
SZ=151618 RSS=127032
(and yes I use the code also from my GIT except I don't enable Bitforce being compiled in, I only add Icarus at the moment)

However, in my case it doesn't run rampant later on.

Definitely getting nowhere with this so far looking at the system process info.

How often does BAMT request status info from the API? And what API requests does it use? (I don't know exactly)
I guess if there was some accidental fast loop missing a delay accessing the API over and over again that might cause issues?
My monitoring in my current setup is a set of 3 API requests every 10 seconds, but in my previous configuration (same code and hardware a week ago) I also added on top of that another 1 API request every second - but that didn't cause extra RAM usage.

I guess I'll defer to the expert (ckolivas) Smiley
Going idle can be for two reasons, as you suggested if GPUMax isn't providing you with any work, but of course the normal reason is as ckolivas said, if your setting are too high.

Are those temp settings and clock settings in any way high for your GPU's?
(The numbers themselves don't seem high for many cards - but I guess that depends on what the cards are - and if they are old and no longer stable if OC'd)
Do you ever get any status change on any of the GPU's? (i.e. not Alive)

Oddly enough I am working on a notification Java app that uses the API that might help monitor this problem (that comment above about 3 API every 10 seconds - summary,devs,pools) if it is temp/clock related Tongue
(The code already done would be enough)
But I've been expending a lot of effort on threading the data handling part of it (and probably making it too complex) to ensure that blocking code is in threads unrelated to time sensitive code (and then there's the issue of RAM usage in Java that I need to resolve next ...)
So I seem to be talking way longer than I expected to get even a beta out Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 18, 2012, 01:33:35 AM
 #4615

OK 53 isn't a big number so it's not what I was considering may be the cause.

The other two numbers there are not big yet either
SZ=185303 RSS=388892
if you have a sizeable number of devices on your rig (your options suggest 6 GPU devices? Are any of them dual?)

How often does BAMT request status info from the API? And what API requests does it use? (I don't know exactly)
I guess if there was some accidental fast loop missing a delay accessing the API over and over again that might cause issues?

My monitoring in my current setup is a set of 3 API requests every 10 seconds, but in my previous configuration (same code and hardware a week ago) I also added on top of that another 1 API request every second - but that didn't cause extra RAM usage.

I guess I'll defer to the expert (ckolivas) Smiley
Going idle can be for two reasons, as you suggested if GPUMax isn't providing you with any work, but of course the normal reason is as ckolivas said, if your setting are too high.

Are those temp settings and clock settings in any way high for your GPU's?
(The numbers themselves don't seem high for many cards - but I guess that depends on what the cards are - and if they are old and no longer stable if OC'd)
Do you ever get any status change on any of the GPU's? (i.e. not Alive)


They are all 5970's (dual gpu) so those temps are okay. I was actually using Phoenix until I just recently started with cgminer and had those clocks stable on phoenix for several weeks.  Not sure how often BAMT requests via API.  I have BAMT running on 2 rigs with 3 7970's each with same version of cgminer and do not see the issue on there.  I'll try running stock for awhile and see what happens.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 18, 2012, 01:47:00 AM
 #4616

Hmm OK, so it's effectively 12 devices.
That's a lot of GPU devices Smiley

The RSS number is (obviously) what shows if you are using up more RAM and running out of it.
I guess what's needed now is to find out what is happening when that changes ... and does it jump up in steps, or is a gradual rise?

Edit: oh I just noticed another thing ... you have 2 pools and the main is GPUMax - does it swap pools a lot?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2012, 01:47:40 AM
 #4617

Going idle can be for two reasons, as you suggested if GPUMax isn't providing you with any work, but of course the normal reason is as ckolivas said, if your setting are too high.
Going idle can only be for ONE reason and that is the GPU not responding. Waiting on work from a server or network lag/outage does NOT register a mining thread as being idle. It makes no sense restarting a thread that is just waiting on work.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 18, 2012, 02:12:29 AM
 #4618

Going idle can be for two reasons, as you suggested if GPUMax isn't providing you with any work, but of course the normal reason is as ckolivas said, if your setting are too high.
Going idle can only be for ONE reason and that is the GPU not responding. Waiting on work from a server or network lag/outage does NOT register a mining thread as being idle. It makes no sense restarting a thread that is just waiting on work.
OK, yep I'm just using bad nomenclature.
I simply meant if the device itself was not processing there could only be 2 reasons I can think of Smiley
Not getting work or being a problem with it.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 18, 2012, 02:30:54 AM
 #4619

Hmm OK, so it's effectively 12 devices.
That's a lot of GPU devices Smiley

Edit: oh I just noticed another thing ... you have 2 pools and the main is GPUMax - does it swap pools a lot?

Sorry for the confusion, I have 2 rigs with 3 5970's each that have the this issue (so 6 GPU's max in one of my rigs), the 2 rigs with 3 7970's each that work fine.
I haven't noticed a lot of pool swapping... occasionally one core will swap back and forth.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2012, 02:36:52 AM
 #4620

They are all 5970's (dual gpu) so those temps are okay. I was actually using Phoenix until I just recently started with cgminer and had those clocks stable on phoenix for several weeks.  Not sure how often BAMT requests via API.  I have BAMT running on 2 rigs with 3 7970's each with same version of cgminer and do not see the issue on there.  I'll try running stock for awhile and see what happens.
58x0 are amazing hashing beasts for so many reasons, and this is one of them - they're one of the few GPUs that actually recovers after dying a "soft" death and cgminer restarts their threads a short while later. Nonetheless, you should try and find clocks that don't make the GPUs ever crash as I'm pretty certain this is your problem.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 [231] 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!