Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:33:51 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 [237] 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4816948 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 04:39:09 AM
 #4721

You'd go to a lot of trouble to do that Tongue
You could just have a script that uses the API and enables/disables each of the 2 pools as required Smiley

API for the winz.  So glad that thing exists.  Boy it certainly was a smart idea for *someone* to start a bounty for that.
1480869231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869231
Reply with quote  #2

1480869231
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480869231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869231
Reply with quote  #2

1480869231
Report to moderator
de4l
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 07:52:07 AM
 #4722

do you need to delete bins when switching kernels in the config file?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2012, 08:58:39 AM
 #4723

do you need to delete bins when switching kernels in the config file?
No. Only if you are changing SDKs and want the newly installed SDK to build the kernel.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 10:41:15 AM
 #4724

You'd go to a lot of trouble to do that Tongue
You could just have a script that uses the API and enables/disables each of the 2 pools as required Smiley
My approach stemmed from the fact that it was boozer who reported a range of horrible events like cards dying constantly, cgminer eating the whole available memory space and bringing the system to a screeching halt...
Oh and yes, using the API calls to interact with cgminer would be by far preferable - I never suggested using messenger pigeons or necromancy in the overseer script.  Cheesy
The rest - such as actually detecting the pool-related issues remains the same, doesn't it? At least until the PoolIsInTrouble API is added.


API for the winz.  So glad that thing exists.  Boy it certainly was a smart idea for *someone* to start a bounty for that.
*stroking DAT's head* good Death, wise Death. We're certainly glad to have thee aboard Grin
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 11:53:42 AM
 #4725

You'd go to a lot of trouble to do that Tongue
You could just have a script that uses the API and enables/disables each of the 2 pools as required Smiley
My approach stemmed from the fact that it was boozer who reported a range of horrible events like cards dying constantly, cgminer eating the whole available memory space and bringing the system to a screeching halt...
Oh and yes, using the API calls to interact with cgminer would be by far preferable - I never suggested using messenger pigeons or necromancy in the overseer script.  Cheesy
The rest - such as actually detecting the pool-related issues remains the same, doesn't it? At least until the PoolIsInTrouble API is added.


API for the winz.  So glad that thing exists.  Boy it certainly was a smart idea for *someone* to start a bounty for that.
*stroking DAT's head* good Death, wise Death. We're certainly glad to have thee aboard Grin

Oh - you want to to add "Last Share Time" to each pool?
Each device already says it - I guess it wouldn't hurt to have each pool say it too ... maybe one day ... if I'm bored ... or someone needs it Tongue

However, the point was to actually handle swapping 2 pools and that is already easily possible.

Since you only have one active pool at a time:
Look at each device to determine when the last share was ... and the device "Utility".

Edit: I guess next we'll be telling pool OPs to run cgminer and get it to tell them when their pool has crapped out Smiley

But I should also mention that pools are unreliable anyway - you cannot know immediately that a pool is bad - it takes a bit of time.
If you decided every time a pool returned some problem or didn't reply, you'd be swapping pools faster than my API pool hopping script ...
Did I say that? No - never Smiley

When I implemented the pool control in the API I actually wrote a script that same night to hop before I even released the API code change Tongue
Just as a test example of course Smiley That works Smiley
However, if you hop lots with cgminer you lose hashes - last time I tried it was about a 2%-3% drop in hash rate due to swapping pools.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 12:02:04 PM
 #4726

Utility... an indicator I didn't even consider. Sounds good.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 12:17:37 PM
 #4727

Utility... an indicator I didn't even consider. Sounds good.
Actually, on second thoughts, it would be better to simply compare results every minute - shares accepted in the past 60 seconds - thus you'd have to remember "Accepted" between "API pools" calls (and maybe "Rejected" also)
If you have a low hash rate you may need 120 seconds

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 891

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 02:52:16 PM
 #4728

I'm re-posting this for people wanting to compile on Windows. Tends to get lost in all the posts. Hopefully ckolivas will one day put the link in the README included with cgminer.

Cgminer native Windows compile instructions:

http://pastebin.com/3pzivj32

+1. a link in the readme would great.

I can attest this howto works perfectly. if I can do it, anyone can.

P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2012, 04:52:34 PM
 #4729


I've put a few commits in my git:
 https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/
that add a simple device history that is accessible via the new API command 'notify'

Compiling my git reports itself as 2.3.1k

You can see it with
Code:
echo -n notify | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo

The base code change adds a few extra fields and counters to the device structure (that are all reported by the API)
Including: per device: last well time, last not well time, last not well reason, and counters for each of the reasons meaning how many times they have happened (e.g. Device Over Heat count, Device Thermal Cutoff count among others)

Wondering if you can make it retrievable per device?

I don't think this is info that needs to go on anubis' host page (where the devices are listed). Seems to be more detailed then necessary for that page, so I would put it on the individual device page, but then I'd have to get the whole list and find the relevant entry.
Thoughts?
ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 05:38:52 PM
 #4730

I had the problem witch boozer has.
GPU0 crasches and i get 50/50% of usage by Xorg/cgminer or any other combination with xorg.
only reboot helps.

configuration: 5870 VaporX+2x5970 with acceleroX, Xubuntu 11.04, CAT 12.2(SDK 2.6), cgminer 2.3.1, kernel diablonow i`m testing phatk).
For last lew days, i was using 2.0.6 with cheat(few pages ago), but my hdd was dying, it was matter of time....
All new install. 2.0.6 wont work
2.3.1 crasches my GPO0 :/

EDIT:
phatk and diablo do this same...after prox 20 minutes, crash of xorg.
now i`m trying: -g 1
5870 works on 940/150, where i know i can pull 970 .... max temp 62 *C
system was totally 13minutes uptime, and xorg failed :/

Edit#2
Now i think it`s just broken xorg. I was ipgrading al, and xorg dieded. I`ll end it tomorow - i hope.

Edit#3
rule No.69 - always tourn off your screen sever.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 11:59:40 PM
 #4731


I've put a few commits in my git:
 https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/
that add a simple device history that is accessible via the new API command 'notify'

Compiling my git reports itself as 2.3.1k

You can see it with
Code:
echo -n notify | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo

The base code change adds a few extra fields and counters to the device structure (that are all reported by the API)
Including: per device: last well time, last not well time, last not well reason, and counters for each of the reasons meaning how many times they have happened (e.g. Device Over Heat count, Device Thermal Cutoff count among others)

Wondering if you can make it retrievable per device?

I don't think this is info that needs to go on anubis' host page (where the devices are listed). Seems to be more detailed then necessary for that page, so I would put it on the individual device page, but then I'd have to get the whole list and find the relevant entry.
Thoughts?
It's more of a miner hardware status and 'debug' style info - so better to show it all on some extended status or 'debug' style page.

Basically, you already have Alive, Sick, Dead, NoStart, Disabled.

When things are Sick or Dead, then on that rare occasion someone may want to see some info about what's going on.
If it's one device, that's fine, but if it's more than one ... having to go to N different device pages would be a PITA in my opinion - but that's just my opinion Smiley

I'm thinking more along the lines of: there is something wrong and this overview of where things are going wrong is the best use of it
i.e. "I see a problem", is it only one card, or multiple cards or even 2 GPU's on the same card or 2 GPU's on different cards - so an across the board rundown of the status of everything is way more useful as that is the point of what boozer was looking at and since he gave me some BTC for helping I thought best to also write the code to help some more - i.e. an overview of what's going wrong: where it's happening and why Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 09:07:41 AM
 #4732

How can I set the getwork delay (if such a setting exists)?

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 10:13:24 AM
 #4733

How can I set the getwork delay (if such a setting exists)?
You can't - you can set the Queue size with -Q though ...
The code decides what its best Smiley
(which of course makes perfect since)

If you are talking Icarus - then set it to at least 4
Otherwise ... what for?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 10:37:33 AM
 #4734

I was asked to set it to 10 seconds (because of a high stale rate).

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 10:52:35 AM
 #4735

I was asked to set it to 10 seconds (because of a high stale rate).
If you mean P2Pool, then that's not the getwork delay.

I they did mean P2Pool then that would probably be some noob who didn't read the README that tells you what to do on P2Pool.
Of course, yes read the README if you are referring to P2Pool Smiley

README:
Q: How do I tune for p2pool?
A: p2pool has very rapid expiration of work and new blocks, it is suggested you decrease intensity by 1 from your optimal value, and decrease GPU threads to 1 with -g 1.

If on the other hand it has nothing to do with P2Pool, then ask whoever told you what on earth they mean Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2012, 08:19:27 PM
 #4736

It's more of a miner hardware status and 'debug' style info - so better to show it all on some extended status or 'debug' style page.

Basically, you already have Alive, Sick, Dead, NoStart, Disabled.

When things are Sick or Dead, then on that rare occasion someone may want to see some info about what's going on.
If it's one device, that's fine, but if it's more than one ... having to go to N different device pages would be a PITA in my opinion - but that's just my opinion Smiley

I'm thinking more along the lines of: there is something wrong and this overview of where things are going wrong is the best use of it
i.e. "I see a problem", is it only one card, or multiple cards or even 2 GPU's on the same card or 2 GPU's on different cards - so an across the board rundown of the status of everything is way more useful as that is the point of what boozer was looking at and since he gave me some BTC for helping I thought best to also write the code to help some more - i.e. an overview of what's going wrong: where it's happening and why Smiley


OK, that makes sense. My other thought was to add a new page to display this.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2012, 11:43:15 AM
 #4737

I'm back online. So time to start rounding up a few pending patches and bring out a new version in the next few days.

Interestingly, I finally got to try the official 12.2 driver for linux with my 7970 and it actually makes my GPU go sick and then dead at clocks that were fine with that early GCN only driver release amd-driver-installer-8.921-x86.x86_64.run . Downgrading to that fixed the problem. Worth considering a different driver version if you're having apparent hardware instability it seems.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
March 27, 2012, 02:15:00 PM
 #4738

On Windows, can I use a driver version which does NOT officialy support the 7970 as long as the newest SDK is installed?

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2012, 07:53:03 PM
 #4739

On Windows, can I use a driver version which does NOT officialy support the 7970 as long as the newest SDK is installed?
no

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
manifold
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 06:19:42 AM
 #4740

Hi, I just wanted to report that with the latest git My Hashrate drops from 190 MH/s to 170 MH/s. When I check the git repository out from the date 3/3/2012 then I get again  190MH/s.
I use the default kernel and I use ubuntu 11.10 with a HD5770.  What changes made the hashrate drop so drastically?

Osiris Bitcoin Forum
This is a recursive text, if you restart reading from the beginning. And you will never get to this point informing you that it had no exit condition.
Pages: « 1 ... 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 [237] 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!