Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:36:18 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 [193] 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4819437 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 04:03:49 AM
 #3841

Dang thing keeps crashing, and I've lost my reply twice.
Okay...*deep breath*...one more time...

I've rebooted, reinstalled cgminer (2.2.5) directly to c:
Lauched cgminer with full argument string:
It ramps up (can see activity in Precision), then crashes my GPU driver.

Here's the output:
Code:
cgminer version 2.2.5 - Started: [2012-02-12 22:55:48]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.0 (avg):0.0 Mh/s | Q:12  A:0  R:1  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m
 TQ: 2  ST: 3  SS: 1  DW: 15  NB: 1  LW: 2  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to http://127.0.0.1:9332 with LP as user noob
 Block: 00000823816ead253c6222e8d262e6c8...  Started: [22:55:48]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0: DEAD /  0.0Mh/s | A:0 R:1 HW:0 U:0.00/m I:14
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

K!
[2012-02-12 22:55:56] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-02-12 22:55:56] Thread 0 still exists, killing it off
[2012-02-12 22:55:56] Thread 1 still exists, killing it off
[2012-02-12 22:55:56] Error: Creating Context. (clCreateContextFromType)
[2012-02-12 22:55:56] Failed to reinit GPU thread 0
[2012-02-12 22:55:59] Device 0 not responding for more than 10 minutes, GPU 0 de
clared DEAD!
[2012-02-12 22:56:02] LONGPOLL requested work restart, waiting on fresh work

I've just about had it with this program.
Anyone have any ideas?

The Ufasoft miner is pretty easy to use.  At least I thought so.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481027778
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027778

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027778
Reply with quote  #2

1481027778
Report to moderator
Elmojo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 04:11:11 AM
 #3842


@Elmojo: you forgot to add at least some of the following arguments, otherwise the header wouldn't show:
-D -T --verbose

Here's a sample of what it should look like:

Yeah, I put in all the args.
It looked just like your example, until it crashed the GPU driver, then it went crazy.
By the time I could get control back, that's the part I could copy/paste.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 04:18:11 AM
 #3843

New version: 2.2.5

Finally fixed the opencl created zero sized binary bug.


Hey, I finally have a brand spanking new set of .bin files for Windoze.  Smiley
Sam
Excellent. I could cry seeing you say that  Kiss Especially since the kernel filenames and format has changed and it's essential that it can actually create the binaries. In fact it was this bug that made me reluctant to try and make any new kernels in the past.

Just for the record, I'm now getting 714Mhash out of the 7970 clocked at 1200/1050+5% with default cgminer 2.2.5 settings.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 04:19:09 AM
 #3844


@Elmojo: you forgot to add at least some of the following arguments, otherwise the header wouldn't show:
-D -T --verbose

Here's a sample of what it should look like:

Yeah, I put in all the args.
It looked just like your example, until it crashed the GPU driver, then it went crazy.
By the time I could get control back, that's the part I could copy/paste.

OK, I'm too tired to do more than point you in a direction, so here goes:
I'm pretty sure the command prompt supports some output redirection, and since the display is obviously screwed, you may want to try it. Just run cgminer with your normal arguments, the debugging ones and "> cgminer-stdout.log 2> cgminer-stderr.log". If that doesn't work, you may need to google how to redirect both stdout and stderr to a file on windows.
Anyway, after that, the contents of the cgminer-stdout.log and cgminer-stderr.log files will hopefully provide some insight into what is going wrong.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 04:29:57 AM
 #3845


@Elmojo: you forgot to add at least some of the following arguments, otherwise the header wouldn't show:
-D -T --verbose

Here's a sample of what it should look like:

Yeah, I put in all the args.
It looked just like your example, until it crashed the GPU driver, then it went crazy.
By the time I could get control back, that's the part I could copy/paste.
No, because when you use -T you will not get that output you pasted ...

However, the problem is CUDA related (from the -n output)
nVidia mining, not ATI mining - in case anyone didn't notice
So unless the nVidia part of cgminer has stopped working, it's probably your drivers are not installed/setup properly

I have no idea how to do that but I'm sure someone else here does?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 04:42:25 AM
 #3846


@Elmojo: you forgot to add at least some of the following arguments, otherwise the header wouldn't show:
-D -T --verbose

Here's a sample of what it should look like:

Yeah, I put in all the args.
It looked just like your example, until it crashed the GPU driver, then it went crazy.
By the time I could get control back, that's the part I could copy/paste.
No, because when you use -T you will not get that output you pasted ...

However, the problem is CUDA related (from the -n output)
nVidia mining, not ATI mining - in case anyone didn't notice

I did, that's why I suggested the ufasoft miner.

Not having ADL support and not needing failover, since he's mining to localhost, there is not much need to use CGMiner, regardless of where the problem lies.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 05:25:09 AM
 #3847

New version: 2.2.5

Finally fixed the opencl created zero sized binary bug.


Hey, I finally have a brand spanking new set of .bin files for Windoze.  Smiley
Sam
Excellent. I could cry seeing you say that  Kiss Especially since the kernel filenames and format has changed and it's essential that it can actually create the binaries. In fact it was this bug that made me reluctant to try and make any new kernels in the past.

Well it sounds like we can all move forward more confidently now.
Since your not doing the --donation anymore is just sent you 1 BTC.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 06:38:47 AM
 #3848

Con, Kano,

Is there a readme somewhere on how to compile for Windows?

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 07:01:13 AM
 #3849

Since you're not doing the --donation any more is just sent you 1 BTC.
Thanks a lot! Looking at the numbers from --donation, the most I got was about 400Mhash which amounts to about .2BTC per day... not really worth the effort, plus the flaming I got for setting it up and suggesting it was on by default. Strangely, a lot of people haven't noticed nor care that p2pool has donation enabled by default. Anyway it's gone now so I don't need to stress over it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 07:45:39 AM
 #3850

Con, Kano,

Is there a readme somewhere on how to compile for Windows?
Actually - it's in the README Smiley
(well that's what I used to do it)
Someone else is trying to make a detailed one at the moment that may or may not work well.
Stay tuned ... for a few more weeks maybe? Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 07:50:18 AM
 #3851

Con, Kano,

Is there a readme somewhere on how to compile for Windows?
Actually - it's in the README Smiley
(well that's what I used to do it)
Someone else is trying to make a detailed one at the moment that may or may not work well.
Stay tuned ... for a few more weeks maybe? Smiley

Hehe ;-) I actually read over that in the README... I'll see whether I can get it build as well ;-)

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 09:52:35 AM
 #3852

Con, Kano,

Is there a readme somewhere on how to compile for Windows?
Actually - it's in the README Smiley
(well that's what I used to do it)
Someone else is trying to make a detailed one at the moment that may or may not work well.
Stay tuned ... for a few more weeks maybe? Smiley

Hehe ;-) I actually read over that in the README... I'll see whether I can get it build as well ;-)
It's a disaster, don't waste your time. It just happened to build with certain versions of all the necessary packages when I got it working at one time in the past approximately 6 months ago, and if you get the latest versions of all the packages, it won't build. One day we'll slowly shake out that mess, but given windows users are not used to compiling their own software, it has priority zero at the moment.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 11:55:02 AM
 #3853

This is what I experienced during the weekend:

I received a 5970 and replaced one of my 5870 with it, after graphic card change, the previous LinuxCoin installation cannot start correctly

So, I took another USB stick, installed freshly a new LinuxCoin on it, boot it into LinuxCoin, run phoenix miner, and all 5 GPU gave decent hash rates stable for 6 hours

Then, I downloaded cgminer 2.2.4, updated and installed other dependency packages, then compiled and started it, after 1 minute, it claimed 2 of 5 GPUs dead and rest of GPUs' hash rate dropped 20%

I downloaded cgminer 2.1.2 (which worked flawlessly on the original USB stick), compiled and started (after removing the .bin file from home directory), same problem

Then, I rebooted the machine, fall back to my original phoenix miner method, surprisingly found out that even phoenix only worked on one of the GPU and hang on rest of them

There is one thing I remember: Last time when I tried to compile cgminer 2.1.2, I tried to install libcurl4-openssl-dev and  libncurses5-dev but one of them just can not be found, so eventually I installed something else to bypass the dependency check. But this time, it went all smooth. I think one or both of the packages have changed since one month ago and caused these new issues

Finally I have to switch back to the previous working HW/SW configuration, hoping that I could just fix the xorg.conf to get new graphic card recognized




-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 12:43:22 PM
 #3854

export DISPLAY=:0
before running, and try latest  cgminer only please

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 01:41:54 PM
 #3855

I tried upgrading from 2.0.8 to 2.2.5 but my 5s average dropped from 715 Mh/s to 600 Mh/s.

Dual 5850, one at 850, the other at 900 Mhz, memory at 300 Mhz on both. Windows 7, intensity 9.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 01:50:43 PM
 #3856

I tried upgrading from 2.0.8 to 2.2.5 but my 5s average dropped from 715 Mh/s to 600 Mh/s.

Dual 5850, one at 850, the other at 900 Mhz, memory at 300 Mhz on both. Windows 7, intensity 9.

Likely has nothing to do w/ cgminer and everything to do w/ updated drivers / SDK.

To Conman:
I really think including the SDK in the product title is a good idea.

This scenario keeps happening over and over.

a) person is running one version of cgminer and one version of SDK (say 2.1)
b) they upgrade drivers but cgminer caches the bin files (SDK 2.1) so they see no change in performance.  "wow 12.1 w/ SDK 2.6 works great on my 5970".
c) some time later person upgrades cgminer = no bin files
d) on first run bin files are created (SDK 2.6) and performance is lower.  wow cgminer 2.2.x really sucks.
e) to confirm they try running older version of cgminer (w/ cached SDK 2.1 bin) and performance is good again.

It really complicates troubleshooting as I am sure you are aware.

Would it be possible to modify bin files so they contain "metadata like SDK version at time of compilation"?

Then it might be more obvious to users.

cgminer 2.1.2 (w/ SDK 2.1 binaries) = 715 MH/s.
cgminer 2.1.2 (w/ SDK 2.6 binaries) = 600 MH/s.
cgminer 2.2.5 (w/ SDK 2.6 binaries) = 600 MH/s.

Pretty obvious there where the problem lies. Smiley

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 02:02:11 PM
 #3857

I tried upgrading from 2.0.8 to 2.2.5 but my 5s average dropped from 715 Mh/s to 600 Mh/s.

Dual 5850, one at 850, the other at 900 Mhz, memory at 300 Mhz on both. Windows 7, intensity 9.

Likely has nothing to do w/ cgminer and everything to do w/ updated drivers / SDK.

To Conman:
I really think including the SDK in the product title is a good idea.

This scenario keeps happening over and over.

a) person is running one version of cgminer and one version of SDK (say 2.1)
b) they upgrade drivers but cgminer caches the bin files (SDK 2.1) so they see no change in performance.  "wow 12.1 w/ SDK 2.6 works great on my 5970".
c) some time later person upgrades cgminer = no bin files
d) on first run bin files are created (SDK 2.6) and performance is lower.  wow cgminer 2.2.x really sucks.
e) to confirm they try running older version of cgminer (w/ cached SDK 2.1 bin) and performance is good again.

It really complicates troubleshooting as I am sure you are aware.

Would it be possible to modify bin files so they contain "metadata like SDK version at time of compilation"?

Then it might be more obvious to users.

cgminer 2.1.2 (w/ SDK 2.1 binaries) = 715 MH/s.
cgminer 2.1.2 (w/ SDK 2.6 binaries) = 600 MH/s.
cgminer 2.2.5 (w/ SDK 2.6 binaries) = 600 MH/s.

Pretty obvious there where the problem lies. Smiley


Containing "metadata like SDK" is just as useful as asking for the output of -n which tells you the same thing. It won't stop people from asking and it won't make them read the readme which has lots about hashrate dropping... but then it's TOO WELL DOCUMENTED now since there's so much in the readme... Short of a loud message repeatedly saying "you are running sdk 2.6 SDK which sucks dicks" I don't think anyone is gonna get the message =(

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 02:04:57 PM
 #3858

Likely has nothing to do w/ cgminer and everything to do w/ updated drivers / SDK.

I think your assumption is correct, I recall upgrading drivers/SDK/something about a month ago.
So what you are saying is I should downgrade the drivers / SDK and upgrade CGminer?

ckolivas: You could try including "you are running sdk 2.6 SDK which sucks dicks" as a flashing warning in the actual program :-)

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 02:13:50 PM
 #3859

Likely has nothing to do w/ cgminer and everything to do w/ updated drivers / SDK.

I think your assumption is correct, I recall upgrading drivers/SDK/something about a month ago.
So what you are saying is I should downgrade the drivers / SDK and upgrade CGminer?

ckolivas: You could try including "you are running sdk 2.6 SDK which sucks dicks" as a flashing warning in the actual program :-)
Sad

How often should this flashing warning be said?  Roll Eyes

If for whatever reason you need to run sdk2.6, it sucks lesser dicks on cgminer 2.2.5.


Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 02:20:55 PM
 #3860

Containing "metadata like SDK" is just as useful as asking for the output of -n which tells you the same thing. It won't stop people from asking and it won't make them read the readme which has lots about hashrate dropping... but then it's TOO WELL DOCUMENTED now since there's so much in the readme... Short of a loud message repeatedly saying "you are running sdk 2.6 SDK which sucks dicks" I don't think anyone is gonna get the message =(

"Short of a loud message repeatedly saying "you are running sdk 2.6 SDK which sucks dicks"

Could implement that as a popup. Smiley

Seriously I understand your frustration was just trying to think of ways to make it more "idiot" proof.

Reminds me of this quote (which I am sure you have heard):

Quote
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning.
- Rich Cook

Still the point I was (possibly badly) trying to make is -n & -d -t simply shows the system as configured however w/ cached bin files it doesn't necessarily reflect the "execution plan" (to borrow some SQL Server terminology).
Pages: « 1 ... 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 [193] 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!