Bitcoin Forum
March 19, 2024, 05:50:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 [236] 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805147 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 919
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 23, 2012, 10:57:18 PM
 #4701

#define ADL_ERR_DISABLED_ADAPTER      -10

Looks like something is wrong in your setup. I assume you have X running and have permission to access X with the user you're logged in as?
Nice to see you're back, Con.

X is up and running at the machine with me being logged in. Before I started to test the 7970 it perfectly worked with 3*6950. Confused...

Code:
zefir@miner0:~/work/cgminer$ aticonfig --list-adapters
* 0. 07:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 04:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series

* - Default adapter

Any way to explicitly enable the second card if it really is disabled?

When you started experimenting with 7970 you wrote that it helped to swap PCIe-slots, right?

I'll try that and test it with 7970+6950 meanwhile. Thanks.

1710827432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710827432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1710827432
Reply with quote  #2

1710827432
Report to moderator
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! Unlike a bank account, nobody can help you if you lose access to your BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1710827432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710827432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1710827432
Reply with quote  #2

1710827432
Report to moderator
1710827432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710827432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1710827432
Reply with quote  #2

1710827432
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4438
Merit: 1794


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 23, 2012, 10:58:31 PM
 #4702

Kano, just tried to compile your latest, getting this:

Code:
bitforce.c: In function ‘bitforce_scanhash’:
bitforce.c:310: error: ‘REASON_THERMAL_CUTOFF’ undeclared (first use in this function)
bitforce.c:310: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
bitforce.c:310: error: for each function it appears in.)

Haven't looked into it myself yet, but thought I'd post it straight away...
Oops - forgot to do another ./configure to catch that Sad
Fixed it now.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4438
Merit: 1794


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 01:04:58 AM
 #4703

I've put a few commits in my git:
 https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/
that add a simple device history that is accessible via the new API command 'notify'

Compiling my git reports itself as 2.3.1k

You can see it with
Code:
echo -n notify | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo

The base code change adds a few extra fields and counters to the device structure (that are all reported by the API)
Including: per device: last well time, last not well time, last not well reason, and counters for each of the reasons meaning how many times they have happened (e.g. Device Over Heat count, Device Thermal Cutoff count among others)

I ran for 30 minutes at stock gpu clocks and several gpu threads restarted... again on the GPU Managment screen, it only showed that gpu 5 had been re-initialized according to the times tamps.  Seems to be random cards.... first time i looked it was 2,3 and 5.  I restarted and this time its 1,3,4, and 5... after 30 minutes at stock gpu clock.

Here's the output of your command:
Code:
STATUS=S,When=1332519326,Code=60,Msg=Notify,Description=cgminer 2.3.1k|NOTIFY=0,Name=GPU,ID=0,Last Well=1332519326,Last Not Well=0,Reason Not Well=None,Thread Fail Init=0,Thread Zero Hash=0,Thread Fail Queue=0,Dev Sick Idle 60s=0,Dev Dead Idle 600s=0,Dev Nostart=0,Dev Over Heat=0,Dev Thermal Cutoff=0|NOTIFY=1,Name=GPU,ID=1,Last Well=1332519326,Last Not Well=1332518925,Reason Not Well=Device idle for 60s,Thread Fail Init=0,Thread Zero Hash=0,Thread Fail Queue=0,Dev Sick Idle 60s=1,Dev Dead Idle 600s=0,Dev Nostart=0,Dev Over Heat=0,Dev Thermal Cutoff=0|NOTIFY=2,Name=GPU,ID=2,Last Well=1332519326,Last Not Well=0,Reason Not Well=None,Thread Fail Init=0,Thread Zero Hash=0,Thread Fail Queue=0,Dev Sick Idle 60s=0,Dev Dead Idle 600s=0,Dev Nostart=0,Dev Over Heat=0,Dev Thermal Cutoff=0|NOTIFY=3,Name=GPU,ID=3,Last Well=1332519325,Last Not Well=1332518862,Reason Not Well=Device idle for 60s,Thread Fail Init=0,Thread Zero Hash=0,Thread Fail Queue=0,Dev Sick Idle 60s=1,Dev Dead Idle 600s=0,Dev Nostart=0,Dev Over Heat=0,Dev Thermal Cutoff=0|NOTIFY=4,Name=GPU,ID=4,Last Well=1332519326,Last Not Well=1332517934,Reason Not Well=Device idle for 60s,Thread Fail Init=0,Thread Zero Hash=0,Thread Fail Queue=0,Dev Sick Idle 60s=2,Dev Dead Idle 600s=0,Dev Nostart=0,Dev Over Heat=0,Dev Thermal Cutoff=0|NOTIFY=5,Name=GPU,ID=5,Last Well=1332519326,Last Not Well=1332518716,Reason Not Well=Device idle for 60s,Thread Fail Init=0,Thread Zero Hash=0,Thread Fail Queue=0,Dev Sick Idle 60s=1,Dev Dead Idle 600s=0,Dev Nostart=0,Dev Over Heat=0,Dev Thermal Cutoff=0|

I'll try running on a different pool other than gpumax again see what happens.
Did you read my advice about fan control and 5970s?
... and in case you weren't sure boozer - my git changes were added on top of those changes ckolivas did after the version was released, so that version you compiled will have the changes ckolivas mentioned - so you can do as he suggested with that version.

... and yeah you can clearly see which GPU's are getting 60s idle sick problems (1, 3, 4 & 5) and GPU 4 has twice.

I've updated miner.php in my git to show the notify command (it shows the times as H:M:S and also any warning/errors are orange/red)

The change is on by default - you can switch it off - see the comment near the top of the code - i.e. set '$notify = false;' to switch it off

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2012, 01:22:24 AM
 #4704

#define ADL_ERR_DISABLED_ADAPTER      -10

Looks like something is wrong in your setup. I assume you have X running and have permission to access X with the user you're logged in as?
Nice to see you're back, Con.

X is up and running at the machine with me being logged in. Before I started to test the 7970 it perfectly worked with 3*6950. Confused...

Code:
zefir@miner0:~/work/cgminer$ aticonfig --list-adapters
* 0. 07:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 04:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series

* - Default adapter

Any way to explicitly enable the second card if it really is disabled?

When you started experimenting with 7970 you wrote that it helped to swap PCIe-slots, right?

I'll try that and test it with 7970+6950 meanwhile. Thanks.

I'm not back. I drop in once a week to answer the accumulated questions. I'll be back once my PSU is replaced. Developing without hardware that can run the software ends up leading to issues which leads to more unnecessary development which leads to more issues and so on...

I had to put the 7970 into the first slot and the 6970s in the rest of the slots. It doesn't even look like your first card is even working properly since it is detecting only one device and then saying it can't use it. Your xorg setup looks fine. The usual thing to point the finger at after doing the obvious things is the ati driver/sdk combo. Try an older one or different one. The first driver they released for the 7970 I hear is the least worst one so far, so try downgrading to that.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 01:46:47 AM
 #4705

zefir,

Are you running a 32 or a 64 bit kernel?

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 06:06:51 AM
Last edit: March 24, 2012, 06:37:29 AM by boozer
 #4706

Did you read my advice about fan control and 5970s?

Yea, I tried your latest git, which you said had the fix for 5970 autofan.  I then tried kano's latest with the extra monitoring... just saying threads idle. Then I tried just manually setting the fans which still had no effect. I tried another pool and only had 3 restarts in an hour instead of 12 like on gpumax.... that seemed more reasonable and I adjusted overclock accordingly, but didnt run long enough to see if that stabled it completely.  Finally I started messing around with different options while on gpumax.  The only one that helped was setting GPU threads to 1.  

Since I have done that, I have been stable for 8 hours with no restarts, so looks promising, but we'll see if it lasts...  Undecided   Any disadvantage to only running 1 thread per gpu?  Hash rates seem about the same.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2012, 08:03:54 AM
 #4707

The only one that helped was setting GPU threads to 1.  

Since I have done that, I have been stable for 8 hours with no restarts, so looks promising, but we'll see if it lasts...  Undecided   Any disadvantage to only running 1 thread per gpu?  Hash rates seem about the same.
That's interesting and unusual. I have certainly heard that particular driver and sdk combos would make 5970s unstable, but I don't know if that's true. If you're getting good hashrates it doesn't matter what settings you particularly chose now does it? I found 2 threads simply smoothed out the hashrate rather than improved it substantially, but some cards had slightly higher hashrates with 2 instead of 1.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4270
Merit: 3457


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 10:56:32 AM
 #4708


[2012-03-20 14:04:09] Failed to create submit_work_thread

Failing to create  submit_work_thread is the key here. It has nothing to do with how it fails after that. Inability to create the thread suggests a system resource problem, like running out of memory or too many threads starting up for some reason.

been waiting to update this.

I updated cgminer on the 6770 and 6870 systems to 2.3.1-2 (was straight 2.3.1) and no problems since. the updated version may or may not have anything to do with it as I kinda glazed over the differences. need to pay more attention  Grin

just seems odd that 2 completely different systems (with different windows OSs, sdks and driver versions) gave the exact same error multiple times in the same time frame. only thing the same was 2.3.1 cgminer.

wonder if it was a MS "patch tuesday" thing as I recall a pile of patches came down around that time.

anyway all is well now.

stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 916
Merit: 1003



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 11:11:44 AM
 #4709

Yup.  I'm currently running 2.3.1-2 on my 6770 (using diablo kernel) very happily and stably.  I'll need  a really good reason to upgrade again but I don't foresee ever needing to.

BTW how'd you get your 6770 cranked up to 1005?  I'm currently running 960/300 and  I've been unable to run higher reliably.


You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 919
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 12:09:58 PM
 #4710

zefir,

Are you running a 32 or a 64 bit kernel?
Hi,

using 32bit kernel. Finally while trying every possible PCIe-slot / driver combination it works.

The XFX Black is getting hot already at stock clock (82°C@1GHz), cgminer is not even trying to OC, ending up at ~570 MH/s. The Gigabyte is being pushed to the max locked freq of 1.2GHz, pulling highly fluctuating 660-740 MH/s and staying at ~72°C.

I let my old 6950 in the rig for reference that pulls what it did before: 360 MH/s @ 890 MHz @ 75°C.

Using intensity of 13 for the 7970 and 9 for the 6950 the machine becomes very irresponsible (exported GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1, CPU is used 50% by compiz/X and 50% by cgminer). Not sure if CPU is the bottleneck now or if there are better settings for this setup  Undecided

-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2012, 12:29:28 PM
 #4711

Using intensity of 13 for the 7970 and 9 for the 6950 the machine becomes very irresponsible (exported GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1, CPU is used 50% by compiz/X and 50% by cgminer). Not sure if CPU is the bottleneck now or if there are better settings for this setup  Undecided

Don't go over 11 for 7970 on linux with sync objects or 9 on windows.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4270
Merit: 3457


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 02:28:59 PM
 #4712


BTW how'd you get your 6770 cranked up to 1005?  I'm currently running 960/300 and  I've been unable to run higher reliably.


luck of the draw I guess. very good cooling in the HTPC case, probably 80% of the case air intake is right at the card (horizontal case). cgminer keeps it @ 70C max, 60% fan max.

although its @ 1000 now, it blew up while mining and watching a .MKV bluray rip a while back. generally runs 227 MH/s @ -I 7. gets 75 MH/s while watching movies @ 1080p at -I D though, heh.

use MSI Afterburner to set to 1000/300 on boot, then fire up cgminer.
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 919
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 05:23:03 PM
 #4713

Using intensity of 13 for the 7970 and 9 for the 6950 the machine becomes very irresponsible (exported GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1, CPU is used 50% by compiz/X and 50% by cgminer). Not sure if CPU is the bottleneck now or if there are better settings for this setup  Undecided

Don't go over 11 for 7970 on linux with sync objects or 9 on windows.

Thanks, that helped to reduce MH fluctuation (flatting out near the values I had before with 13) and increase responsivity.

Ah, and FYI, removing all compiz related garbage also helped. I am using Gnome Classic without 3d effects, but with the latest driver compiz was eating all available CPU.


sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 07:58:06 PM
 #4714

I'm re-posting this for people wanting to compile on Windows. Tends to get lost in all the posts. Hopefully ckolivas will one day put the link in the README included with cgminer.

Cgminer native Windows compile instructions:

http://pastebin.com/3pzivj32

If anyone finds something not working correctly, please msg me here and I will find a solution and update the pastebin as needed.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 02:33:21 AM
 #4715

The only one that helped was setting GPU threads to 1.  

Since I have done that, I have been stable for 8 hours with no restarts, so looks promising, but we'll see if it lasts...  Undecided   Any disadvantage to only running 1 thread per gpu?  Hash rates seem about the same.
That's interesting and unusual. I have certainly heard that particular driver and sdk combos would make 5970s unstable, but I don't know if that's true. If you're getting good hashrates it doesn't matter what settings you particularly chose now does it? I found 2 threads simply smoothed out the hashrate rather than improved it substantially, but some cards had slightly higher hashrates with 2 instead of 1.

Yes, it is weird... leave it to me to have a one-off, "out there", issue on my machines... but my 5970 rigs have been rock solid since i switched to 1 thread per gpu.... however my pools havent which leads me to a question...

I have backup pools defined, and cgminer switched as expected... and when the primary came up, it switched back as expected, thing is though... the primary was having intermittent issues, so cgminer was bouncing back and forth as it went up and down... is there a way to tell cgminer to mine on the backup pool(s) for x amount of time or x amount of shares before switching back to the primary?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 03:21:50 AM
 #4716

... is there a way to tell cgminer to mine on the backup pool(s) for x amount of time or x amount of shares before switching back to the primary?

Unfortunately, no.
This behavior can be achieved by writing an overseer script for cgminer:
(1) cgminer is launched with just one pool defined (your primary pool).
(2) in case of connectivity issues1 cgminer is killed off and restarted with a share limit2 and another pool (or set of pools) configured.
(3) upon hitting the share limit cgminer shuts down and the overseer repeats step 1.

Notes:
1. detected by e.g. measuring the GPU temperature drop and low GPU load. A more sophisticated approach could include looking for certain key phrases in cgminer output to detect a range of pool issues where the pool is crippled but not down.
2. alternatively, the overseer could kill cgminer when a time limit expires.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4438
Merit: 1794


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 04:34:40 AM
 #4717

You'd go to a lot of trouble to do that Tongue
You could just have a script that uses the API and enables/disables each of the 2 pools as required Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1063


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 04:39:09 AM
 #4718

You'd go to a lot of trouble to do that Tongue
You could just have a script that uses the API and enables/disables each of the 2 pools as required Smiley

API for the winz.  So glad that thing exists.  Boy it certainly was a smart idea for *someone* to start a bounty for that.
de4l
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 07:52:07 AM
 #4719

do you need to delete bins when switching kernels in the config file?
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2012, 08:58:39 AM
 #4720

do you need to delete bins when switching kernels in the config file?
No. Only if you are changing SDKs and want the newly installed SDK to build the kernel.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 [236] 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!