Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2014, 03:49:54 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 [170] 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 ... 750
  Print  
Author Topic: CGMINER ASIC miner monitoring RPC linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.3.0  (Read 2664377 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2012, 07:28:17 PM
 #3381

Are these facts, or is it what you assume?

They are facts I just am not sure on the algorithm. Intensity x = # of hashes y.  I knew the alogrithm for pheonix at one time.

Quote
What I find contradictory is that the higher the intensity, the less responsive the PC becomes. With your explanation it should be the other way around, or am I missing something? After CPU asks for one billion hashes from the GPU, it can sleep for 2 seconds and collect the result, while with asking for only 100 millions it needs to get active after 200ms, right?

It has to do with the way AMD writes the drives.  The CPU has no idea when the GPU will finish so it spends clock cycles "checking".  The way it checked w/ older drivers is what caused the 100% CPU bug.  This has improved but the GPU doesn't go "idle" and then get the results at the end of the batch it continually checks to see if the batch has completed.

The OS GUI also can't dedraw the screen while the GPU is working so the longer the batches the more "laggy" the desktop will seem.  If intensity is too high it can crash windows (especially OS running Aero) because Windows isn't exactly OpenCL aware.  It doesn't understand that the GPU may be unavailable for a long time.  Prior to OpenCL there never was a time when GPU would be unavailable for graphical work.  If it can't reach the GPU in a reasonable amount of time it causes unpredictable results.

Remember when a batch is running the GPU is completely unresponsive.  It totally ignores (without even a "sorry busy" notification) any communication from any other component (even the process running the miner code) until it completes.

Quote
I'm not sure what causes the decayed responsivity with higher intensity. For sure it is not a matter of whether a multi GHz CPU is being woken up every 2 seconds or 2 msecs. Nor it should be caused by GPU being dumped with a big chunk of work - 2D and 3D units are independent, loading SPs should generally not impact desktop performance.

The CPU is being woken up when done.  The GPU is checking to see if the batch has completed. 
2D units aren't independent on modern graphics cards and for OS using Aero the desktop is no longer 2D anyways.


Sound's plausible. Well almost... Can't really believe that the AMD folks are not capable to design their driver in a way that does not require busy waiting/polling.

Anyhow, I forgot to mention that I am meanwhile using a headless Linux system for mining. The lags caused by 2D engine should therefore not apply. Now I need to check whether intensity has an impact on the system like I noticed with GUIminer before. If so, I'd wonder why busy-waiting 2 seconds is worse than busy waiting 10*0.2 seconds...

1398397794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398397794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398397794
Reply with quote  #2

1398397794
Report to moderator
1398397794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398397794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398397794
Reply with quote  #2

1398397794
Report to moderator
Private Internet Access™ - No logs, Unlimited Bandwidth, PC Magazine's Editor's Choice
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398397794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398397794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398397794
Reply with quote  #2

1398397794
Report to moderator
1398397794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398397794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398397794
Reply with quote  #2

1398397794
Report to moderator
1398397794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398397794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398397794
Reply with quote  #2

1398397794
Report to moderator
1398397794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398397794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398397794
Reply with quote  #2

1398397794
Report to moderator
kentrolla
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2012, 07:56:26 PM
 #3382

I have windows 7 64 bit and i was just doing some testing to see if i would get faster hashrate on a virtual machine running windows XP 32bit with a fresh install. 2.2.1 works just fine on my win7 64bit OS.  all i did was copy opencl.dll into the cgminer folder and that worked on version 2.1.2 on xp 32bit and windows7 64bit. but with version 2.2.x copying opencl.dll only works on windows7 64bit.  the opencl.dll file that i copied says its version 1.1.0.0 last modified 3/21/2011

i dont think it has anything to do with copying the opencl.dll

also, why don't you just include an opencl.dll in the package?

wow i just read my post and its so sloppy lol.

TLDR.  2.1.2 worked on both winxp 32bit and win7 64bit.  2.2.x only works on win7 64

Your GPU mining in a VM?  I wouldn't have thought that would ever work.  Don't VM's emulate the video card with a very generic driver such as an S3 Chipset?

I think that is a bit out of my depth as I'm using a dedicated machine running native WinXP SP3.
Sam
yea it works. well at least it worked in 2.1.2

miscreanity
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2012, 08:07:40 PM
 #3383

im a failure :/

No worries, trial & error is a learning process - personally, I'd rather fail and learn than succeed without understanding why. Try going through this thread and experiment with different methods, then choose the one that works best for you.

Coinbase | 12qc3PQnukHbWzMmjsdiwnE5Z1qTS1Q5oC
BTC >$30 by 7/2013 | BTC > $100 by 5/2014
ckolivas
Moderator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 01, 2012, 09:49:17 PM
 #3384

also, why don't you just include an opencl.dll in the package?
cgminer is free software distributed under the GNU Public License.

opencl.dll is demon spawn distributed under the "sacrifice all your first born" license.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0  148KkS2vgVi4VzUi4JcKzM2PMaMVPi3nnq
ONLY ignoring luke-jr
-ck
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 01, 2012, 10:12:50 PM
 #3385

im a failure :/

No worries, trial & error is a learning process - personally, I'd rather fail and learn than succeed without understanding why. Try going through this thread and experiment with different methods, then choose the one that works best for you.
I've posted this before in this thread but I guess every now and then it's helpful to refresh as it's a long topic and hard to read everything.

Assuming Ubuntu, which now uses Upstart the correct way to start cgminer at boot is with a conf file located in /etc/init. This doesn't require any auto-login or other stuff. Just one simple extra file in the right place. Here is a working example that I have used for many months,

/etc/init/miner.conf
Code:
description     "Start BTC Mining"

start on runlevel [2345]
stop on runlevel [016]
kill timeout 30
script
  sleep 15
  cd /home/ubuntu
  exec /usr/bin/screen -dmS Miner su -c /usr/local/bin/startcg ubuntu
end script
Note above it runs as user "ubuntu" but you should replace that with your user name. It is more secure to not run as root user, which would be the default during an init process like this. The "sleep" I have there is to allow time for X to be started at boot. There is a better way but this works fine too. I use "screen" to allow me to remote in with ssh and attach/detach as desired. If you're not familiar with that then google it. You can not bother with screen but then it's harder to login remotely and see realtime status. Also, if it's not already installed then "sudo apt-get install screen" would be needed before using this.

This conf file starts cgminer by running the startcg script. You can put what you need in there. Mine contains:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

export AMDAPPSDKROOT=/home/ubuntu/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx32/
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=${AMDAPPSDKROOT}lib/x86:${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}
export DISPLAY=:0

cgminer 2>>/var/log/cgminer.log
Yours may be a bit different but typically pretty similar to this. I use cgminer.conf but some people like to use the cmd line args in this file instead.

Useful things to know:
To start mining manually: sudo start miner
To attach to cgminer after remote login: sudo screen -r  
(I make an alias for this, alias mm='sudo screen -r' and put it in .bashrc file)
To detach from within cgminer: <ctrl>A D
You can disable starting at boot by renaming the conf file, eg. mv miner.conf miner.conf.down
(that's handy when changing GPU cards so they don't start with wrong settings).


kentrolla
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2012, 10:23:23 PM
 #3386

is there going to be an update soon that fixes the windows xp bug?

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:07:06 AM
 #3387

Repost from here so ckolivas is on the case : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=53199.20

Does the cgminer work with AMD SDK 2.1 ?

It seems it does not because it is looking for a file called "libOpenCL.so.1" which only comes with SDK 2.4 it seems while SDK 2.1 comes with a file called "libOpenCL.so" ( without the 1 at the end ) !?

Can we make it work somehow ? Modify the code ?

Thanks !

kano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:17:49 AM
 #3388

Repost from here so ckolivas is on the case : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=53199.20

Does the cgminer work with AMD SDK 2.1 ?

It seems it does not because it is looking for a file called "libOpenCL.so.1" which only comes with SDK 2.4 it seems while SDK 2.1 comes with a file called "libOpenCL.so" ( without the 1 at the end ) !?

Can we make it work somehow ? Modify the code ?

Thanks !


Code:
cd /usr/lib
sudo ln -s libOpenCL.so libOpenCL.so.1
Or wherever your linux has it ...

BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CGMiner developer,  IRC FreeNode #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kentrolla
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:20:38 AM
 #3389

update to fix winxp bug PLZ

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:22:55 AM
 #3390

Repost from here so ckolivas is on the case : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=53199.20

Does the cgminer work with AMD SDK 2.1 ?

It seems it does not because it is looking for a file called "libOpenCL.so.1" which only comes with SDK 2.4 it seems while SDK 2.1 comes with a file called "libOpenCL.so" ( without the 1 at the end ) !?

Can we make it work somehow ? Modify the code ?

Thanks !


Code:
cd /usr/lib
sudo ln -s libOpenCL.so libOpenCL.so.1
Or wherever your linux has it ...

Thank you very much ! You are a genius. Spend so much time trying to figure this one out. LOL !

Thanks ckolivas for this great software ! Can I use the poclbm kernel with this ?

What happens if the GPU fan dies and I am away from the miner ? It just fries the card or does it halt the mining on that specific card with the dead fan ?

Thanks kano and ckolivas again !
kano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:28:43 AM
 #3391

update to fix winxp bug PLZ
Hmm, my first thought that came to mind was Will Smith in the movie Hancock: "Say that one more time ..."

Seriously, why post that twice 4 posts apart?

It's pointless the first time coz you aren't even saying what the stupid problem is you have and then the second time it's just annoying.

But I could also add the other obvious reply Smiley

There is no fix for windows xp - windows xp is just one very large bug and all the MS fixes since then don't seem to have resolved that ... vista, 7, 8 ... Tongue

BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CGMiner developer,  IRC FreeNode #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:30:06 AM
 #3392

update to fix winxp bug PLZ
Hmm, my first thought that came to mind was Will Smith in the movie Hancock: "Say that one more time ..."

Seriously, why post that twice 4 posts apart?

It's pointless the first time coz you aren't even saying what the stupid problem is you have and then the second time it's just annoying.

But I could also add the other obvious reply Smiley

There is no fix for windows xp - windows xp is just one very large bug and all the MS fixes since then don't seem to have resolved that ... vista, 7, 8 ... Tongue

Yeah. IMHO kano is totally right. The author is the kernel scheduler guy. I think there should not even be a cgminer for Windblows at all or if it was then no support. If you are a serious miner stick to Linux ! Thanks again kano and ckolivas !
RoloTonyBrownTown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:33:03 AM
 #3393

update to fix winxp bug PLZ

But I could also add the other obvious reply Smiley

There is no fix for windows xp - windows xp is just one very large bug and all the MS fixes since then don't seem to have resolved that ... vista, 7, 8 ... Tongue

Yeah. IMHO kano is totally right.

Well, there's a first time for everything, but this isn't one of them.   WinXP is very stable, and has been for a long time.  Yes, Vista sucked, but Windows 7 is just as stable as XP and perfectly usable as an everyday OS.

Honestly you just embarrass yourself by posting generic clichés like that.

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:38:05 AM
 #3394

Well, there's a first time for everything, but this isn't one of them.   WinXP is very stable, and has been for a long time.  Yes, Vista sucked, but Windows 7 is just as stable as XP and perfectly usable as an everyday OS.

Honestly you just embarrass yourself by posting generic clichés like that.
It deserves to die, please bury it ASAP. I agree that Windows 7 is much better and is a huge leap in terms of security, but for mining you only need the most basic Linux distro and no fancy GUI.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
kano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:38:57 AM
 #3395

update to fix winxp bug PLZ

But I could also add the other obvious reply Smiley

There is no fix for windows xp - windows xp is just one very large bug and all the MS fixes since then don't seem to have resolved that ... vista, 7, 8 ... Tongue

Yeah. IMHO kano is totally right.

Well, there's a first time for everything, but this isn't one of them.   WinXP is very stable, and has been for a long time.  Yes, Vista sucked, but Windows 7 is just as stable as XP and perfectly usable as an everyday OS.

Honestly you just embarrass yourself by posting generic clichés like that.
I was just joking of course Tongue
I think that was obvious.

But the point is that mr kentrolla was last complaining about cgminer not working properly in a virtual windows - so seriously yeah no one's gonna take any notice of that.

Otherwise - if he has some actual windows xp problem, speak up ...

BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CGMiner developer,  IRC FreeNode #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:43:30 AM
 #3396

Yes, Vista sucked, but Windows 7 is just as stable as XP and perfectly usable as an everyday OS...
There, without knowing what you just said, you said it.
Windows is a decent everyday OS.
Serious bitcoin mining, however, is much simpler, easier, and less resource-intensive using a leaner, task-oriented OS like your favourite Linux flavor.

What good do automatic updates, insane amounts of background housekeeping stuff, the indexing service, or wide open NETBIOS ports do you for bitcoin mining purposes?
How suitable for mining are all those default Power Management options? How useful are System Restore and Shadow Files?
For all those useless (from mining POV) features you don't even get a functional Remote Desktop server...
...and worst of all, you have to dole out money for the doubtful pleasure of installing Windows on your mining rig.
Insanity.
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:45:24 AM
 #3397

OK. For SDK 2.1 to work it seems you need to get this ( for future reference ) :

miner@mining:/# find / -name libOpenCL.so.1

/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/libOpenCL.so.1
/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/libOpenCL.so.1
/usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1

Thanks !
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 12:59:27 AM
 #3398

AH... I see we are Windows bashing again.

Some people need Windows because they mine with 69XX cards. You can lower the mem to 300 with MSI Afterburner on these cards. And modifying the bios is not an option for those not willing to void their warranty.

If you are so zealous to get rid of Windows mining, how about spending your time lobbying AMD to change their Driver on Linux to allow lower mem speed on 69XX cards.

I wish some Linux users were not so narrow minded.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
kano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 01:01:24 AM
 #3399

OK. For SDK 2.1 to work it seems you need to get this ( for future reference ) :

miner@mining:/# find / -name libOpenCL.so.1

/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/libOpenCL.so.1
/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/libOpenCL.so.1
/usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1

Thanks !

That's probably the same file with a different name and somehow you didn't copy both into /use/lib/ ...

Can I use the poclbm kernel with this ?

What happens if the GPU fan dies and I am away from the miner ? It just fries the card or does it halt the mining on that specific card with the dead fan ?
1) README: --kernel
2) README: --auto-gpu --auto-fan (and there is a whole section in the README about overclocking)

BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CGMiner developer,  IRC FreeNode #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 01:10:28 AM
 #3400

AH... I see we are Windows bashing again.
Begging your pardon, my post was clearly targeted at someone else but since you decided to hop in:

Some people need Windows because they mine with 69XX cards.
Some people mine with their nVidia cards - doesn't mean they should either. That's all I have to say in regards to 40nm VLIW4 cards.
Pages: 1 ... 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 [170] 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 ... 750
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!