Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:21:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 [225] 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4814186 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 03:36:31 AM
 #4481

Forgive me, I just updated the scripts, the one to modify is the cgm-dev-parse.  The new corresponding number is line 45.  I think you can just modify that to you liking.  I'm sorry I don't already have a device restart function.
Thanks for the help.  The 'nc' command was the trick I needed and wasn't familiar with.  I already have a script (init.sh) that kills all running miners and starts new ones in background screen sessions, so I just needed a way to detect that it was necessary.  This is pretty simple script I ended up with (I run it every 15 minutes via cron):
The first version I had out there was just bad...this is much cleaner.

One of these days I might look into email, but I really don't think that I'll need it. Glad someone benefited from the script.
1480702869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702869
Reply with quote  #2

1480702869
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480702869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702869
Reply with quote  #2

1480702869
Report to moderator
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
March 07, 2012, 04:49:11 AM
 #4482

The first version I had out there was just bad...this is much cleaner.

One of these days I might look into email, but I really don't think that I'll need it. Glad someone benefited from the script.

I didn't do emails or anything.  The script just quietly fixes the problem by restarting everything.  I may add a pause followed by a re-check of the statuses to which I might resort to a full scale automated reboot of the rig if the miner restart didn't fix the issue.  I don't really want to just be notified that something is wrong and have to manually fix it.  I want the script to fix the problem itself.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2012, 11:59:33 AM
 #4483

can anyone compile the latest cgminer from git for windows for me?

thanks!
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
March 07, 2012, 12:22:01 PM
 #4484

can anyone compile the latest cgminer from git for windows for me?

thanks!

You can do it. Follow these instructions and you can be compiling in under 30 minutes.

http://pastebin.com/3pzivj32

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2012, 02:13:05 PM
 #4485

con, kano

Have you guys considered web user interface instead of console?
You are already providing a lot of the info via APIs so the switch
from console to http/html might not be that hard to do.

The reason I got this idea is that I'm thinking about packaging it into
Windows service.  If we just had the web interface we could run
cgminer under LocalSystem account on Windows, no user logins,
just boot and go.  Same on Linux.  No need to ssh through firewalls etc.
No logmeins on Windows boxes to slow things down.

Logs, performance charts etc can be viewed remotely. Also, control
or just quick "check ins" can be done from anywhere.

Think about it.  This would make cgminer, "the miner to run".



cgminer already is "the miner to run" its far superior to most any other miner out there and for many good reasons Smiley
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 02:23:13 PM
 #4486

The reason I got this idea is that I'm thinking about packaging it into Windows service.  If we just had the web interface we could run cgminer under LocalSystem account on Windows, no user logins, just boot and go.  Same on Linux.  No need to ssh through firewalls etc.  No logmeins on Windows boxes to slow things down.

Logs, performance charts etc can be viewed remotely. Also, control or just quick "check ins" can be done from anywhere.
Thinking about it. Running as a service it's like Windows without windows. I like that. So for every miner setup, I would have the privilege of buying a copy of Windows to not use windows. Hmm. Somehow, I think this is not the most profitable route to take. But I understand why MS would like it.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 02:43:58 PM
 #4487

...snip...


Would only work on XP. Windows 7 requires the user to be logged in, since the display drivers run in usermode, not kernelmode.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
March 07, 2012, 03:18:27 PM
 #4488

I don't know why did I miss this miner earlier, I started to use, it's very practical, now I don't have to use clocktweak and 4 phoenix miners. And, it's even giving me 20 MH/s more per card with 12.1 than phoenix with 12.1. I think this gem needs more advertising to newbies.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 03:22:28 PM
 #4489

con, kano

Have you guys considered web user interface instead of console?
You are already providing a lot of the info via APIs so the switch
from console to http/html might not be that hard to do.

The reason I got this idea is that I'm thinking about packaging it into
Windows service.  If we just had the web interface we could run
cgminer under LocalSystem account on Windows, no user logins,
just boot and go.  Same on Linux.  No need to ssh through firewalls etc.
No logmeins on Windows boxes to slow things down.

Logs, performance charts etc can be viewed remotely. Also, control
or just quick "check ins" can be done from anywhere.

Think about it.  This would make cgminer, "the miner to run".



There are web interfaces!  That is the whole point of some of us putting up a huge bounty to get RPC access into cgminer.

cgminer IMHO should focus on being the best ENGINE.  With RPC it can be controlled via web interface, and android app, a windows GUI, or any other interface someone desires.  Take a look at ANUBIS and cgminer web monitor for examples of alternate interfaces.  If the existing web interfaces don't do everything you want them to then support those authors via bounties.  

IMHO cgminer would have absolutely no interface at all.  Simply operate as a silent daemon and users would interact with it via RPC calls much like how bitcoind works.  Still there are advantages to a minimal interface for debugging and testing.  Tightly coupling cgminer to a web interface would be bad.  It would also defeat the purpose of RPC API.  The API exists to allow 3rd party apps to interact with cgminer. 

A last technical issue is conman has a lot of code to maintain and improve.  He has indicated he doesn't like GUI work.  RPC provides a perfect split.  Those that like user interfaces can treat cgminer as a black box and code interfaces using the RPC.  Conman meanwhile is able to focus on making cgminer engine the most efficient and possible and know that others are making "pretty" interfaces. 

BTW as a side note:
you can't run cgminer under local system because in Win7/Vista video drivers are user mode drivers.  No user logged in = no GPU access.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 03:52:45 PM
 #4490

BTW as a side note:
you can't run cgminer under local system because in Win7/Vista video drivers are user mode drivers.  No user logged in = no GPU access.

Oh well...That pretty much stops my idea in its tracks :-)
I'll just install ANUBIS then and use my wife as "a remote re-login agent" in case I need to reboot.

Or pay ANUBIS developer a bounty to support remote rebooting.  It would be OS specific but can be done. Smiley

Theoretically everything can be done through a web interface (troubleshooting, monitoring, modifying configurations, restarting miner, rebooting rigs, powering off rigs).  SSH could simply be used as a "last resort" to troubleshoot a rig with broken web control panel.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2012, 04:25:52 PM
 #4491

any idea if Bitforce temps and API stats will be included in next version?
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 05:46:20 PM
 #4492

any idea if Bitforce temps and API stats will be included in next version?
I thought temps were already in v 2.3.1
API: kano worked on this. I already have this running, on ubuntu. 

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer

Screenshot here
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=66779.0
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2012, 08:17:05 PM
 #4493

its not in the latest windows version, I have a linux binary from the git with it compiled in to show temps but it wasnt compiled with openGL - so I cant run the Bitforce on the same machine as GPUs which I need to do in this situation.
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 08:49:27 PM
 #4494

its not in the latest windows version, I have a linux binary from the git with it compiled in to show temps but it wasnt compiled with openGL - so I cant run the Bitforce on the same machine as GPUs which I need to do in this situation.
I originally was running a single instance of cgminer, but I changed to two instances. One for the GPUs, one for the BFL Singles. For the GPU ionstance I compiled without the bitforce configuration. For the BFL cgminer I run kano's version with --disable-gpu.

Maybe you can just run two instances until a windows binary becomes available.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2012, 09:10:04 PM
 #4495

its not in the latest windows version, I have a linux binary from the git with it compiled in to show temps but it wasnt compiled with openGL - so I cant run the Bitforce on the same machine as GPUs which I need to do in this situation.
I originally was running a single instance of cgminer, but I changed to two instances. One for the GPUs, one for the BFL Singles. For the GPU ionstance I compiled without the bitforce configuration. For the BFL cgminer I run kano's version with --disable-gpu.

Maybe you can just run two instances until a windows binary becomes available.

yeah I might do that, I have a compiled luke-jr binary that shoes the temps right now i have the original version of cgminer running with gpu/bf and not just showing temps (it does throttle after all) but it would be nice to see the temps

thanks

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 01:10:35 AM
 #4496

Yeah there's been a few FPGA changes (and related pull requests) since the last release and ckolivas started his 'break'
There also needs to be more work done on the interaction between Icarus and Bitforce
(so that by default Bitforce doesn't die with an Icarus device plugged in - though Luke-jr has sent a pull 'work around')

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
March 08, 2012, 01:11:48 AM
 #4497

Yeah there's been a few FPGA changes (and related pull requests) since the last release and ckolivas started his 'break'
There also needs to be more work done on the interaction between Icarus and Bitforce
(so that by default Bitforce doesn't die with an Icarus device plugged in - though Luke-jr has sent a pull 'work around')

Well I just hope all this FPGA messing about does not break the GPU functionality.

Only a fraction of miners are using FPGA ATM and the majority are using GPU.

Panda Mouse
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


Gliding...


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 12:23:38 PM
 #4498

BTW as a side note:
you can't run cgminer under local system because in Win7/Vista video drivers are user mode drivers.  No user logged in = no GPU access.

Oh well...That pretty much stops my idea in its tracks :-)
I'll just install ANUBIS then and use my wife as "a remote re-login agent" in case I need to reboot.

You can automatically start your user interface without your wife  :-)
I made a new user with no rights, turn the pass off, and set task scheduler triggered "login user".
Its worg great after power off.
You can define another triggers.

Panda.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 01:08:43 PM
 #4499

Yeah there's been a few FPGA changes (and related pull requests) since the last release and ckolivas started his 'break'
There also needs to be more work done on the interaction between Icarus and Bitforce
(so that by default Bitforce doesn't die with an Icarus device plugged in - though Luke-jr has sent a pull 'work around')

Well I just hope all this FPGA messing about does not break the GPU functionality.

Only a fraction of miners are using FPGA ATM and the majority are using GPU.


What?!?! You don't have an FPGA yet? Cheesy

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Panda Mouse
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


Gliding...


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 05:25:27 PM
 #4500

BTW as a side note:
you can't run cgminer under local system because in Win7/Vista video drivers are user mode drivers.  No user logged in = no GPU access.

Oh well...That pretty much stops my idea in its tracks :-)
I'll just install ANUBIS then and use my wife as "a remote re-login agent" in case I need to reboot.

You can automatically start your user interface without your wife  :-)
I made a new user with no rights, turn the pass off, and set task scheduler triggered "login user".
Its worg great after power off.
You can define another triggers.

Panda.

Panda,

I tried to setup what you suggests but I cannot get this to work.  I must be retarded.
I'm running Win 7 Ultimate, no matter what I do, boot comes back with ALT+CTRL+DEL login screen.

I remember I could login into XP without user interaction, but how do YOU do this in Windows 7?
Any settings in the registry perhaps?


Yes, you can  :-)

0. Write simple batch file starting your cgminer exe with all parameters name him startcg.bat,
1. In windows task scheduler set start your batch file named startcg.bat, the trigger use "after user login"
2. Remove the need for password:
 a. login in your windows account normally,
 b. [Windows][R] start run,
 c. write control userpasswords2
 d. select user name, you want password remove at start windows.
    unselect control "to use this computer user must write name and password'
 e. select OK.

Next time you will start this account without password.

Dont forger set BIOS "power up after power faliure"

I'am sorry for my english, but I have polish windows and and in your english windows there is another, but the sense is the same.

I use Windows 7 and it works great. The most important is to use tool "control userpasswords2"

Panda.
Pages: « 1 ... 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 [225] 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!