Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:15:30 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 [261] 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823662 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 10:19:16 PM
 #5201

Is there a windows binary with bitforce support turned on?
Pretty sure it should be in all BitFORCE-capable versions (since like 2.2.0); if not, I know it is for ...
Yes all binaries have it. Peddle not ye wares here.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481235330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235330
Reply with quote  #2

1481235330
Report to moderator
1481235330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235330
Reply with quote  #2

1481235330
Report to moderator
1481235330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235330
Reply with quote  #2

1481235330
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:44:57 PM
 #5202

cgminer does not seem to detect my connected bfl single ... is there a setting that i'm missing?
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:46:54 PM
 #5203

Topic: true, there is no hot-plug support for FPGAs implemented. I understood that it's not safe since auto-detecting routines between different board types collide, i.e. if you scan on serial port X for a single and have actually an Icarus attached, you'd hang in a loop (or vice-versa, not sure).
Hmm, I would have thought the autodetect routines for FPGAs are fine in cgminer. My command line for 2 Singles looks something like this:

Code:
cgminer -o <pool> -u <user> -p <pass> --disable-gpu -S COM6 -S COM7

Notice there is nothing in that command line to tell cgminer that I have a Single, an Icarus, or Ztex. But cgminer detects and starts the Singles on COM6 and COM7 fine.

Some senior moment at my side, I guess. This thread became too long but I remember a discussion with xiangfu that due to the way how an Icarus is detected (you have to feed some work and check the resulting share for success) there are corner-cases where it becomes unreliable (like looking for a BFL first can kill its state-machine). That was when the initial Icarus support was planned, and since it works for you it was obviously solved meanwhile.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:52:02 PM
 #5204

Topic: true, there is no hot-plug support for FPGAs implemented. I understood that it's not safe since auto-detecting routines between different board types collide, i.e. if you scan on serial port X for a single and have actually an Icarus attached, you'd hang in a loop (or vice-versa, not sure).
Hmm, I would have thought the autodetect routines for FPGAs are fine in cgminer. My command line for 2 Singles looks something like this:

Code:
cgminer -o <pool> -u <user> -p <pass> --disable-gpu -S COM6 -S COM7

Notice there is nothing in that command line to tell cgminer that I have a Single, an Icarus, or Ztex. But cgminer detects and starts the Singles on COM6 and COM7 fine.

The detection code is quite straight forward for each FPGA.

If you wish to force it to be specifically BFL or ICA you can e.g. "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
ZTX detection is completely different so there is no real overlap (you don't specify the ztex devices, it always directly detects them)

It checks for BFL first:
It sends it a command (ZGX) which the BFL replies and is checked for the string "SHA256" in it - part of the reply is also where the "Model" in the API command 'devdetails' comes from

Next it checks for Icarus:
It simply just sends it some work and waits 0.1s for the answer
(I checked the block chain for a low nonce and found Ozcoin block 171874 nonce = (0xa2870100) = 0x000187a2 takes ~0.53ms on Rev3 Icarus to be the lowest nonce in the thousands I got a script to look at until the script bugged out)
This is mandatory for ICA since there is no identification anywhere other than the USB device identification
(which course could be used by other non Icarus devices since it's not unique)

Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"

ZTX is detect third since that was added 3rd (though I might consider moving it up to first since it's very direct how it works and unlikely to ever affect any other device)
You don't specify -S for ZTX

Edit: for auto detection of course ZTX is always auto
ICA doesn't ever do auto
BFL does auto only in linux and only when you specify -S auto - however it has 2 methods:
 1) where it looks in /dev/serial/by-id (which can sometimes only show 1 BFL on some linux versions if you have more than 1 BFL)
 2) by libudev checking the USB Model when libudev is compiled in

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:53:55 PM
 #5205

cgminer does not seem to detect my connected bfl single ... is there a setting that i'm missing?
If you are in Windows, your basic command line should look something like this:

Code:
cgminer -o <pool> -u <user> -p <pass> --disable-gpu -S COM6

The '-S COM6' is the relevant part for your Single. It happens to be COM6 for me, but it will likely be something else for you.

You'll need to open up Device Manager, go to the Ports section, and you should see an entry that looks like 'USB Serial Port (COMx)'. Whatever 'COMx' is in your case, that's what you put into cgminer's '-S COMx' setting. Then your Single should be detected.

edit: I should add that if your COM port is greater than 9, you need to use the 'longhand' form for cgminer. So if, for example, your assigned COM port for your Single was COM12, your command line would need to look like this:

Code:
cgminer -o <pool> -u <user> -p <pass> --disable-gpu -S \\.\COM12

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 11:01:34 PM
 #5206

got it ... thank you very much ... didn't realize you had to disable the gpu to get the bfl to work ... guess i'll have to run two instances ...thanks again
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 11:05:34 PM
 #5207

Well as i was on my way to update to 2.3.6, I felt the desire to remove my current running drivers, Because i was getting 60mh/s less with the newer version of cgminer, Knowing that this was Not cgminers fault, And that it was a fault of the whole SDK .bin install compile= performance dealio, I ran into an issue where i can nolonger install ANY display drivers

Please help me! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78479

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 11:17:14 PM
 #5208

got it ... thank you very much ... didn't realize you had to disable the gpu to get the bfl to work ... guess i'll have to run two instances ...thanks again
Wait where did you hear that? That was never said, and you can run GPUs with BFL. Gigavps runs 14 BFL with 2 GPUs getting 13GH on one machine.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 11:20:17 PM
 #5209

epoch indicated in his post that i needed to disable the gpu functionality then manually select the com port of the bfl ... that worked and i'm now able to run one instance of cgminer for the gpu and a separate instance for the bfl with gpu disabled
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 11:21:54 PM
 #5210

epoch indicated in his post that i needed to disable the gpu functionality then manually select the com port of the bfl ... that worked and i'm now able to run one instance of cgminer for the gpu and a separate instance for the bfl with gpu disabled
No, it is not necessary to disable the GPU functionality, but you do need to specify the com ports.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 11:28:32 PM
 #5211

I don't know what to tell you ... it didn't work before, now it works with gpu disabled.  Is there a reason why bfl's are not auto detected like they are in ufasoft's miner?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 11:30:09 PM
 #5212

I don't know what to tell you ... it didn't work before, now it works with gpu disabled.  Is there a reason why bfl's are not auto detected like they are in ufasoft's miner?
Darn now I got mixed up. BFL should be autodetected, it's Icarus that doesn't sorry. See Kano's post.

edit, here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg874680#msg874680

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 11:33:30 PM
 #5213

the post you linked to indicates that autodetect for bfl only works in linux ... not windows .... as I indicated, I am running windows
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 11:37:33 PM
 #5214

the post you linked to indicates that autodetect for bfl only works in linux ... not windows .... as I indicated, I am running windows
Oh, I'll shut up then  Embarrassed
If there's no autodetect in the windows code it's because it hasn't been done yet.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 11:39:05 PM
 #5215

no worries ... i'm just happy to have it running ... thanks to epoch for the advice Smiley
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 01:11:21 AM
 #5216

I don't know what to tell you ... it didn't work before, now it works with gpu disabled.  Is there a reason why bfl's are not auto detected like they are in ufasoft's miner?
Ufasoft doesn't really autodetect, it just spams every serial port with a probe every few seconds. I'm working on a proper autodetect for Windows.

jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 424



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 01:16:33 AM
 #5217

I don't know what to tell you ... it didn't work before, now it works with gpu disabled.  Is there a reason why bfl's are not auto detected like they are in ufasoft's miner?
Ufasoft doesn't really autodetect, it just spams every serial port with a probe every few seconds. I'm working on a proper autodetect for Windows.

That would be fantastic.

Possible to detect if one has throttled and/or a way to know which one is which? I have a number of them and one is running a bit hot. I have no way of figuring out which one it is except removing them all and trying them one at a time.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 01:55:43 AM
 #5218

...
Edit: for auto detection of course ZTX is always auto
ICA doesn't ever do auto
BFL does auto only in linux and only when you specify -S auto - however it has 2 methods:
 1) where it looks in /dev/serial/by-id (which can sometimes only show 1 BFL on some linux versions if you have more than 1 BFL)
 2) by libudev checking the USB Model when libudev is compiled in
I added that on to the end of my post at the bottom of the last page, but I guess I was slow doing it Smiley
So there it is again Smiley

Edit:
I'll be getting a BFL soon (bought it today from someone else here in the forum)

I can see a clear path to doing proper auto-detection so I'll do that after I get it.
Basically use nelisky's code in ZTX to detect BFL's the same way.

If Mr annoying wants to do it before me - feel free to do it Smiley
I'm just not sure if all BFL identify the same way so will need some feedback in that area when I get to it.

Then that would also be a neat way to do pseudo-auto detection on Icarus
(same way but it could get false positives so will still need to do the quick 0.1s Hash test also)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 02:08:02 AM
 #5219

Hey Kano, why the name calling?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 02:09:48 AM
 #5220

Hey Kano, why the name calling?
New around here I guess?
He is annoying - very.
That's my polite name calling Smiley

From: Kano the cry baby Smiley (<- as you called me before Cheesy )

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 [261] 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!