Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:49:21 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 [242] 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827145 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
April 07, 2012, 09:20:22 PM
 #4821

Seems like diablo and poclbm now fail to compile on SDK 2.1 and seg fault.

Not a problem just letting others know on 5870s.

Use diakgcn or phatk with 5870s and SDK 2.1

It seems that diakgcn is not as good as phatk.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
April 08, 2012, 08:39:08 PM
 #4822

I'm a bit out of the loop, but, did something drastic change in 2.3.2 ?

I have rigs reporting as high as 170% Efficiency right now, with 125-150% being the average range for the others.

Win7 x64, CGMiner 2.3.2
5 rigs each with either SDK 2.1 or 2.4 and CAT 11.12 on all.
Mixed 5xxx/6xxx series card machines, exclusive 5xxx series card machines and exclusive 6xxx series card machines.

The performance is not specific to any card/config. The ONLY thing they all have in common is the 11.12 driver and CGminer version 2.3.2.

WTF ?

I double checked and didn't rely on the Efficiency% readout only. The ratio of GetWork's to Accepted's (even with Rejected included/excluded) does not lie.

Colour me impressed Wink

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 08, 2012, 10:40:17 PM
 #4823

likely your pool implemented longer/better NTimeRolling.

BTW high (or low) efficiency has absolutely no effect on your bottom line.  It is a pretty useless stat.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 08, 2012, 11:07:48 PM
 #4824

I'm a bit out of the loop, but, did something drastic change in 2.3.2 ?

I have rigs reporting as high as 170% Efficiency right now, with 125-150% being the average range for the others.

Win7 x64, CGMiner 2.3.2
5 rigs each with either SDK 2.1 or 2.4 and CAT 11.12 on all.
Mixed 5xxx/6xxx series card machines, exclusive 5xxx series card machines and exclusive 6xxx series card machines.

The performance is not specific to any card/config. The ONLY thing they all have in common is the 11.12 driver and CGminer version 2.3.2.

WTF ?

I double checked and didn't rely on the Efficiency% readout only. The ratio of GetWork's to Accepted's (even with Rejected included/excluded) does not lie.

Colour me impressed Wink
Efficiency is the number of shares you find per work requests from the pool.

However, with RollNTime, a miner can generate multiple work from the one work request.

So on my cgminer at the moment that shows Efficiency of 271% (which isn't actually very high) it means for each work request I ask from the pool, I generate on average 2.71 work requests (and on average reply with 2.71 shares)

The time it takes to mine those 2.71 shares is on average 2.71 times as long as mining 1 share.

A higher efficiency means that the pool had to provide you with less work and thus less communication and thus also less communication for your miner to the pool when trying to get work ...

Overall it's a big advantage for the pool and usually a small advantage for each miner
(but it doesn't mean you are getting more shares)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
April 08, 2012, 11:18:34 PM
 #4825

It is a pretty useless stat.
....unless you are a Pool OP that is and I am sure the OPs appreciate the newly found efficiency of CGMiner and the affect it has on Getwork requests and their server loads Wink

bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
April 08, 2012, 11:20:56 PM
 #4826

(but it doesn't mean you are getting more shares)
I realize this. It's just nice to see overall network efficiency improving and less discarded work because of it.

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 09, 2012, 01:18:48 AM
 #4827

likely your pool implemented longer/better NTimeRolling.
Ozcoin just announced that they have adjusted their X-Roll-Ntime to 120 seconds, if you mine there it may have made a difference for you.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 09, 2012, 01:53:50 AM
 #4828

likely your pool implemented longer/better NTimeRolling.
Ozcoin just announced that they have adjusted their X-Roll-Ntime to 120 seconds, if you mine there it may have made a difference for you.
They already had it (for quite a while) they just increased the time allowed to use it per work.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
April 09, 2012, 04:42:09 PM
 #4829

Woke up to a hung cgminer Sad 0% activity and no hashing

The log below hasn't changed in the last 5 hours, so I've restarted cgminer (had to X out of the window, as "q" wasn't working)

GPU 0/1 = 5970
GPU 2 = 5830
GPU 3 = 5830
GPU 4 = 5830

[2012-04-09 04:07:28] Accepted 00000000.398219cb.0ccf2195 GPU 4 thread 9
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] Accepted 00000000.5bb7eedb.2e813ef8 GPU 3 thread 7
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] GPU 3 stopped reporting fanspeed
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] Will attempt to re-initialise ADL
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] ADL re-initialisation complete
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] Accepted 00000000.031c03e9.d02f5836 GPU 3 thread 6
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] GPU 3 stopped reporting fanspeed
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] Will attempt to re-initialise ADL
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] ADL re-initialisation complete
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 09, 2012, 09:26:39 PM
 #4830

Woke up to a hung cgminer Sad 0% activity and no hashing

The log below hasn't changed in the last 5 hours, so I've restarted cgminer (had to X out of the window, as "q" wasn't working)

GPU 0/1 = 5970
GPU 2 = 5830
GPU 3 = 5830
GPU 4 = 5830

[2012-04-09 04:07:28] Accepted 00000000.398219cb.0ccf2195 GPU 4 thread 9
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] Accepted 00000000.5bb7eedb.2e813ef8 GPU 3 thread 7
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] GPU 3 stopped reporting fanspeed
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] Will attempt to re-initialise ADL
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] ADL re-initialisation complete
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] Accepted 00000000.031c03e9.d02f5836 GPU 3 thread 6
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] GPU 3 stopped reporting fanspeed
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] Will attempt to re-initialise ADL
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] ADL re-initialisation complete
That would probably be the new code that attempts to restart ADL when it stops reporting GPU info.
Someone else mentioned a problem with it in IRC.
Looks like it doesn't work ... has anyone had it work yet?

It's this commit:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/commit/d4c513030f6d6da4cb54c0d1499d332a3987c376

If you remove the lines added at 686 to 690 (the whole 'if') it should stop it from attempting to do that for the time being until ckolivas gets back.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 12:40:29 AM
 #4831

Can confirm, I have this same error on my 6950. The fan stops "reporting" or w/e and cgminer goes poop. I just restart CGMINER for now, but this happens maybe once a day or 2.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 12:44:05 AM
 #4832

Woke up to a hung cgminer Sad 0% activity and no hashing

The log below hasn't changed in the last 5 hours, so I've restarted cgminer (had to X out of the window, as "q" wasn't working)

GPU 0/1 = 5970
GPU 2 = 5830
GPU 3 = 5830
GPU 4 = 5830

[2012-04-09 04:07:28] Accepted 00000000.398219cb.0ccf2195 GPU 4 thread 9
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] Accepted 00000000.5bb7eedb.2e813ef8 GPU 3 thread 7
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] GPU 3 stopped reporting fanspeed
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] Will attempt to re-initialise ADL
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] ADL re-initialisation complete
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] Accepted 00000000.031c03e9.d02f5836 GPU 3 thread 6
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] GPU 3 stopped reporting fanspeed
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] Will attempt to re-initialise ADL
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] ADL re-initialisation complete
That would probably be the new code that attempts to restart ADL when it stops reporting GPU info.
Someone else mentioned a problem with it in IRC.
Looks like it doesn't work ... has anyone had it work yet?

It's this commit:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/commit/d4c513030f6d6da4cb54c0d1499d332a3987c376

If you remove the lines added at 686 to 690 (the whole 'if') it should stop it from attempting to do that for the time being until ckolivas gets back.

Good to know I'm not alone then.  It just started in 2.3.2 and was fine in 2.3.1-2 Windows Smiley

I'll just wait for a fix in the meantime.
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
April 10, 2012, 07:40:14 AM
 #4833

 Huge issue with cgminer cant shut down gpu if its overheats. Cgminer trying it to disable the gpu over and over again, but its continuing to mine!
 
 

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
April 10, 2012, 07:45:12 AM
 #4834

Huge issue with cgminer cant shut down gpu if its overheats. Cgminer trying it to disable the gpu over and over again, but its continuing to mine!
 
 

Do you have auto fan and auto gpu both enabled ?

I think that is the condition for the safety to kick in.

Read a few pages back, it is all there !
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
April 10, 2012, 08:04:04 AM
 #4835

 I have only autogpu enabled (dont want cgminer to control fans), and it worked before, on older version.

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 12:54:26 PM
 #4836

I have only autogpu enabled (dont want cgminer to control fans), and it worked before, on older version.

isn't the fan more important?  I actually do the opposite.  I set the gpu fixed, with auto-fan.  when things start to warm up I use the api to lower clocks and volts

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 01:05:01 PM
 #4837

only auto-gpu should be required.  that is how I have my 5970 farm configured.

The fact that cgminer is showing REST indicates a deeper problem.  cgminer IS trying to shutdown the card.  If it was a config issue it simply would never even attempt a shutdown.

I have never seen this bug before and it is somewhat worrisome.  I just had a 5970 idle due to overheat yesterday without issue. 
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
April 11, 2012, 06:11:21 AM
 #4838

After starting cgminer, is it safe to delete the .bin-files or will that break functionality?
Reason is I want to run cgminer from one folder on different machines (dropbox folder) and they don't have the same SDK installed.

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
April 11, 2012, 09:42:59 AM
 #4839

only auto-gpu should be required.  that is how I have my 5970 farm configured.

The fact that cgminer is showing REST indicates a deeper problem.  cgminer IS trying to shutdown the card.  If it was a config issue it simply would never even attempt a shutdown.

I have never seen this bug before and it is somewhat worrisome.  I just had a 5970 idle due to overheat yesterday without issue.  
Yeah, don't want to mess with version with such critical bug. Back to 2.2.1 and its working as intended.

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
April 11, 2012, 10:41:53 AM
 #4840

Why not leave autofan on ?

That way it maintains a constant temperature for the GPUs which should be good for longer-term usage.

Pages: « 1 ... 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 [242] 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!