Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 06:36:17 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 [185] 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4821703 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 11:04:23 PM
 #3681

Hello ck!

Apparently the problem with "OFF" decreased but not disappeared completely:


Same here. Ran 18 hrs and got 3 of 4 cards showing OFF with 2.2.3.  Started 2.1.2 with the same flags last night, I'll check it in 8 hours.  Are you using --auto-fan? Not using auto-fan seemed to solve it in 2.2.1, until my power crashed anyway.
Can you check in the menu when the GPUs were "last initialised" ?

Didn't' forget about this  Tongue I ran 2.1.2 with no errors for 18 hours then started 2.2.3 yesterday with the same flags and got this:
Code:
cgminer version 2.2.3 - Started: [2012-02-08 22:52:08]

GPU 2:  74.0C 1801RPM | OFF  / 36.9Mh/s | A: 545 R:  2 HW:0 U: 0.48/m I: 8

GPU 2: 0.0 / 37.1 Mh/s | A:545  R:2  HW:0  U:0.48/m  I:8
74.0 C  F: 31% (1805 RPM)  E: 157 MHz  M: 200 Mhz  V: 0.950V  A: 0% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-02-08 22:52:12]
Intensity: 8
Thread 4: 0.0 Mh/s Disabled ALIVE
Thread 5: 0.0 Mh/s Disabled ALIVE

Log entry:
Code:
[2012-02-09 00:48:34] Device 2 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 2 declared SICK!
[2012-02-09 00:48:34] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-02-09 00:48:34] Thread 4 still exists, killing it off
[2012-02-09 00:48:34] Thread 5 still exists, killing it off
[2012-02-09 00:48:35] Thread 4 restarted
[2012-02-09 00:48:35] Thread 5 restarted
[2012-02-09 00:48:36] Thread 4 being disabled
[2012-02-09 00:48:36] Thread 5 being disabled

Weird how las initialised is slightly after start time, but it wasn't disabled for a few hours.  You might be on to something here.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
1481135777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135777
Reply with quote  #2

1481135777
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481135777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135777
Reply with quote  #2

1481135777
Report to moderator
1481135777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135777
Reply with quote  #2

1481135777
Report to moderator
Endeavour79
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 11:06:51 PM
 #3682

Over time, with new CGMINER versions, never kernels and for sure updated drivers/app sdk the performance is lower and lower.

Currently with 12.1 driver and APP SDK 2.5 I only get around 280Mhash with poclbm and worksize 128 (I8) (tried many settings and different kernels and this works out best).
See this is the thing. You're saying it's the newer kernels and the updated drivers and sdk.... but there have been no updated kernels. They are essentially unchanged for 7 months now. So look at the other things you've blamed instead.

Thanks for the reply ckolivas and again thanks for the good work..
If I remember right, with version 1.5.1 or a bit later you've upgraded the kernels and again with version 2.2.1or3. I don't blame you for the performance decrease ckolivas! I just want to find out what other users do for best performance, what the best config is.
Btw.. do you still support SDK 2.1, in your FAQ you mention 2.4/2.5 only.

NSW, Australia - Rigs, Mining, Pools - Local help needed? Send me a message!
SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 11:09:04 PM
 #3683


Didn't' forget about this  Tongue I ran 2.1.2 with no errors for 18 hours then started 2.2.3 yesterday with the same flags and got this:

Weird how las initialised is slightly after start time, but it wasn't disabled for a few hours.  You might be on to something here.

Both 2.2.2 and 2.2.3 will not even start on the machine I compile on they fail to initialize the GPUs never tried on the others I have.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 11:12:11 PM
 #3684

Thanks for the reply ckolivas and again thanks for the good work..
If I remember right, with version 1.5.1 or a bit later you've upgraded the kernels and again with version 2.2.1or3. I don't blame you for the performance decrease ckolivas! I just want to find out what other users do for best performance, what the best config is.
Btw.. do you still support SDK 2.1, in your FAQ you mention 2.4/2.5 only.
The kernel updates recently were purely bugfixes for platforms they wouldn't work Tongue

SDK 2.1 should work fine for 5x cards with poclbm. I don't think they work with phatk.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Endeavour79
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 11:14:13 PM
 #3685

Thanks for the reply ckolivas and again thanks for the good work..
If I remember right, with version 1.5.1 or a bit later you've upgraded the kernels and again with version 2.2.1or3. I don't blame you for the performance decrease ckolivas! I just want to find out what other users do for best performance, what the best config is.
Btw.. do you still support SDK 2.1, in your FAQ you mention 2.4/2.5 only.
The kernel updates recently were purely bugfixes for platforms they wouldn't work Tongue

SDK 2.1 should work fine for 5x cards with poclbm. I don't think they work with phatk.

Thanks. Will try 11.6 with SDK 2.1 then. Post an update soon..
Btw.. 1.5.x was best performance ever..  Tongue

NSW, Australia - Rigs, Mining, Pools - Local help needed? Send me a message!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 11:15:19 PM
 #3686

Thanks for the reply ckolivas and again thanks for the good work..
If I remember right, with version 1.5.1 or a bit later you've upgraded the kernels and again with version 2.2.1or3. I don't blame you for the performance decrease ckolivas! I just want to find out what other users do for best performance, what the best config is.
Btw.. do you still support SDK 2.1, in your FAQ you mention 2.4/2.5 only.
The kernel updates recently were purely bugfixes for platforms they wouldn't work Tongue

SDK 2.1 should work fine for 5x cards with poclbm. I don't think they work with phatk.

Thanks. Will try 11.6 with SDK 2.1 then. Post an update soon..
Btw.. 1.5.x was best performance ever..  Tongue
I seriously cannot see how that can happen...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 11:25:12 PM
 #3687

Anyone know how to solve rcocchiararo's "no protocol specified" issue? I've reformatted a couple rigs cuz I couldn't figure that one out.  Sometimes host + works, but usually not.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
rcocchiararo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 11:27:16 PM
 #3688

something to add to my issue:

1) autologin is enabled on that rig

2) if a display is attached, i can remote controll it with vnc (ubuntu/debian integrated)
3) if no display is attached, that wont work
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 11:46:54 PM
 #3689


Didn't' forget about this  Tongue I ran 2.1.2 with no errors for 18 hours then started 2.2.3 yesterday with the same flags and got this:

Weird how las initialised is slightly after start time, but it wasn't disabled for a few hours.  You might be on to something here.

Both 2.2.2 and 2.2.3 will not even start on the machine I compile on they fail to initialize the GPUs never tried on the others I have.
Just an aside ... don't try to use 2.2.2

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 05:54:14 AM
 #3690

Hey Con,

I looked again through every kernel argument and compared line by line with my Python code. I found 2 small differences and 2 brackets, that are not needed (see last commit https://github.com/Diapolo/cgminer/commit/68e36c657318fbe1e7714be470cf954a1d512333), but I guess they don't fix the persisting problem with false-positive nonces (perhaps you can give it a try - I have no compiler or IDE setup to test it by myself). The argument order is exactly as DiaKGCN awaits it, so that can't be the problem either.

It could be a problem of your changes to the output code in the kernel, a problem with the base-nonces, who are passed to the kernel or something with the output-buffer in the CGMINER host code ... :-/. Where resides the output-buffer processing? As I said my kernel used ulong * natively, which I changed to uint * in one commit of my fork, I guess I need to look at it.

Edit: OMFG, I introduced a bug with one of my former commits, which changed the type of the output buffer from uint * to int * ... fixed that one! It's time for another try Con Cheesy.

Dia
Diapolo... I appreciate the effort you're putting in, and I realise you're new to this collaborative coding and source control management, but probably a good idea to see your code actually compiles before you ask someone to test it. Usually people compile and test their own code before asking someone else to test it for them.

Anyway... I fixed the !(find) in my local copy and it still produces hardware errors.

edit: It doesn't matter what vectors or worksize I try this with.

Well ... as I said, I have no IDE setup, so currently I can't compile a version for myself. If you don't have the time to fiddle around with my commits, then I really need help in setting up an IDE in Windows. Have you got this in a readme, wiki or can you give me a brief explanation in how to do this? I worked with MS VC++ Express as a hobby some time ago ...

You said local copy, is it a copy of the last version of my fork? As you've observed I am new to this kind of working, but I hope you see my progress Cheesy.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 05:59:47 AM
 #3691

Well ... as I said, I have no IDE setup, so currently I can't compile a version for myself. If you don't have the time to fiddle around with my commits, then I really need help in setting up an IDE in Windows. Have you got this in a readme, wiki or can you give me a brief explanation in how to do this? I worked with MS VC++ Express as a hobby some time ago ...

You said local copy, is it a copy of the last version of my fork? As you've observed I am new to this kind of working, but I hope you see my progress Cheesy.

Dia
Compiling this on windows is nothing short of a DISASTER so forget it.

Anyway I fixed up a few things on my Diapolo branch on github. Pull the changes to bring your local tree into sync. Alas I'm still only getting HW errors, so there's clearly something wrong. The return code for giving me a nonce I use works fine, provided I'm testing for the right thing before sending the nonce back. I've stared at it for half a day and can't find what's wrong. I even tried diablo's kernel and encountered exactly the same problem. For some reason I keep thinking it's something to do with confusion about the initial offset of the nonce and what is passed to the kernel.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 06:27:55 AM
 #3692

Well ... as I said, I have no IDE setup, so currently I can't compile a version for myself. If you don't have the time to fiddle around with my commits, then I really need help in setting up an IDE in Windows. Have you got this in a readme, wiki or can you give me a brief explanation in how to do this? I worked with MS VC++ Express as a hobby some time ago ...

You said local copy, is it a copy of the last version of my fork? As you've observed I am new to this kind of working, but I hope you see my progress Cheesy.

Dia
Compiling this on windows is nothing short of a DISASTER so forget it.

Anyway I fixed up a few things on my Diapolo branch on github. Pull the changes to bring your local tree into sync. Alas I'm still only getting HW errors, so there's clearly something wrong. The return code for giving me a nonce I use works fine, provided I'm testing for the right thing before sending the nonce back. I've stared at it for half a day and can't find what's wrong. I even tried diablo's kernel and encountered exactly the same problem. For some reason I keep thinking it's something to do with confusion about the initial offset of the nonce and what is passed to the kernel.

Okay, so as I wrote, if Phatk works, then the base-nonces passed to the kernel should be correct for diakgcn. I will check the phatk.cl to be sure. I saw you added a BITALIGN path to diakgcn, that's not using bitalign() or any other OpenCL function, but simply does it's thing directly. What is that for, i'm not sure if that's needed for a GCN kernel anyway Smiley.
Another idea, are you applying a BFI_INT patch on Tahiti (it must not use amd_bytealign())? This is not needed and produces wrong values ... I want that damn thing working Cheesy, I stared at it quite a few hours too ^^.

Edit: Perhaps we could try my old approach of writing to output in the kernel, because I know that worked for me?

That's the code I used, but uses your NFLAG. It would need to scan the output buffer on host side everytime after a kernel execution, which could lead to higher CPU usage (and needs changes in host code), but saves the IF-clause and another write into output (which saves the kernel quite some instructions, even on GCN).

Code:
u result = (V[7] == 0x136032ed) * nonce;
output[NFLAG & result] = result;

This code would be more like your current code, but uses the approach of comparison and mul to save 0 or a positive nonce in result (and is slower than your current code). But for sure that can't be the problem we are looking for ...

Code:
u result = (V[7] == 0x136032ed) * nonce;
if (result)
output[FOUND] = output[NFLAG & result] = result;

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 06:45:46 AM
 #3693

Okay, so as I wrote, if Phatk works, then the base-nonces passed to the kernel should be correct for diakgcn. I will check the phatk.cl to be sure. I saw you added a BITALIGN path to diakgcn, that's not using bitalign() or any other OpenCL function, but simply does it's thing directly. What is that for, i'm not sure if that's needed for a GCN kernel anyway Smiley.
Another idea, are you applying a BFI_INT patch on Tahiti (it must not use amd_bytealign())? This is not needed and produces wrong values ... I want that damn thing working Cheesy, I stared at it quite a few hours too ^^.
BITALIGN is to enable amd media ops for platforms that have it.

BFI INT patching does NOT work on Tahiti. It makes a corrupt kernel. SDK2.6 automatically uses the BFI INT instruction anyway so there is no need for this crappy patching.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 06:49:36 AM
 #3694

Edit: Perhaps we could try my old approach of writing to output in the kernel, because I know that worked for me?

That's the code I used, but uses your NFLAG. It would need to scan the output buffer on host side everytime after a kernel execution, which could lead to higher CPU usage (and needs changes in host code), but saves the IF-clause and another write into output (which saves the kernel quite some instructions, even on GCN).

Code:
u result = (V[7] == 0x136032ed) * nonce;
output[NFLAG & result] = result;

This code would be more like your current code, but uses the approach of comparison and mul to save 0 or a positive nonce in result (and is slower than your current code). But for sure that can't be the problem we are looking for ...

Code:
u result = (V[7] == 0x136032ed) * nonce;
if (result)
output[FOUND] = output[NFLAG & result] = result;

Dia
Writing to output on every iteration isn't going to fix the problem, and I can't see how this would help to be honest. Note that your last code will end up setting output[FOUND] to 0 and would undo anything you wrote to it with other threads  Wink

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 07:11:21 AM
 #3695

Okay, so as I wrote, if Phatk works, then the base-nonces passed to the kernel should be correct for diakgcn. I will check the phatk.cl to be sure. I saw you added a BITALIGN path to diakgcn, that's not using bitalign() or any other OpenCL function, but simply does it's thing directly. What is that for, i'm not sure if that's needed for a GCN kernel anyway Smiley.
Another idea, are you applying a BFI_INT patch on Tahiti (it must not use amd_bytealign())? This is not needed and produces wrong values ... I want that damn thing working Cheesy, I stared at it quite a few hours too ^^.
BITALIGN is to enable amd media ops for platforms that have it.

BFI INT patching does NOT work on Tahiti. It makes a corrupt kernel. SDK2.6 automatically uses the BFI INT instruction anyway so there is no need for this crappy patching.

That's what I said, to be sure that BFI_INT patching is DISABLED for Tahiti, I thought it coule be active, so that would have been a problem Smiley. BITALIGN flag is not needed for DiaKGCN, because amd_bitalign() is use nowhere ... cl_amd_media_ops is only needed for doing BFI_INT patching on non GCN hardware (where amd_bytealign() is "patched" into bfi_int instruction). The amd_bitalign() was used with former SDKs to speedup the rotations, these are now optimized via the OpenCL compiler into bitalign anyway.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 07:21:22 AM
 #3696

Edit: Perhaps we could try my old approach of writing to output in the kernel, because I know that worked for me?

That's the code I used, but uses your NFLAG. It would need to scan the output buffer on host side everytime after a kernel execution, which could lead to higher CPU usage (and needs changes in host code), but saves the IF-clause and another write into output (which saves the kernel quite some instructions, even on GCN).

Code:
u result = (V[7] == 0x136032ed) * nonce;
output[NFLAG & result] = result;

This code would be more like your current code, but uses the approach of comparison and mul to save 0 or a positive nonce in result (and is slower than your current code). But for sure that can't be the problem we are looking for ...

Code:
u result = (V[7] == 0x136032ed) * nonce;
if (result)
output[FOUND] = output[NFLAG & result] = result;

Dia
Writing to output on every iteration isn't going to fix the problem, and I can't see how this would help to be honest. Note that your last code will end up setting output[FOUND] to 0 and would undo anything you wrote to it with other threads  Wink

You are right on the last code, at least I did no commit for it :-P.

Okay, phatk has const u base, which DiaKGCN has too, if GOFFSET is not set, which is currently always true.

phatk:
Code:
base + get_local_id(0) + get_group_id(0) * (WORKSIZE);
diakgcn:
Code:
((uint)get_group_id(0) * (uint)get_local_size(0)) + (uint)get_local_id(0) + base;

I have the (uint) cast, because the returned size_t can have 64 bits on some systems. The brakets I have for group-id * local_size should be unneded, because of * before +. Guess no problem here and as we discussed, output writing should be okay for now.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Peao
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 11:04:46 AM
 #3697


Didn't' forget about this  Tongue I ran 2.1.2 with no errors for 18 hours then started 2.2.3 yesterday with the same flags and got this:
(...)
Weird how las initialised is slightly after start time, but it wasn't disabled for a few hours.  You might be on to something here.

I had to stay on 2.1.2. It's weird just us having reported this problem.
I believe that when people with 5970 rigs running Linux update cgminer, more posts like ours will appear.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 11:18:17 AM
 #3698


Didn't' forget about this  Tongue I ran 2.1.2 with no errors for 18 hours then started 2.2.3 yesterday with the same flags and got this:
(...)
Weird how las initialised is slightly after start time, but it wasn't disabled for a few hours.  You might be on to something here.

I had to stay on 2.1.2. It's weird just us having reported this problem.
I believe that when people with 5970 rigs running Linux update cgminer, more posts like ours will appear.

Working on i t... workaround for now is to set fan to fixed speed and disable --auto-fan

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
der__flo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 11:24:46 AM
 #3699


Didn't' forget about this  Tongue I ran 2.1.2 with no errors for 18 hours then started 2.2.3 yesterday with the same flags and got this:
(...)
Weird how las initialised is slightly after start time, but it wasn't disabled for a few hours.  You might be on to something here.

I had to stay on 2.1.2. It's weird just us having reported this problem.
I believe that when people with 5970 rigs running Linux update cgminer, more posts like ours will appear.


Same here, 2x 6770 on Ubuntu 11.04  ~ 443 MH/s

With 2.2.3 GPU 0 stops working after a few hours. When i restart cgminer it works again for a few hours.
With 2.1.2  both cards are working fine since 30 hrs now...
Peao
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 01:09:08 PM
 #3700

Working on i t... workaround for now is to set fan to fixed speed and disable --auto-fan

Thank you, ck. No need to hurry.
I know you are very busy these days.

Pages: « 1 ... 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 [185] 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!