Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:30:35 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 [209] 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4816657 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 01:16:20 PM
 #4161

Does the API actually reorder the pools or just change the priority?  I don't see any need for the pools to be reordered, I'm just curious.  In fact, if I have pools 1,2,3,4 and they are at default priority but I want to make the priority order 3,2,4 with 1 disabled, I simply disable 1 from the UI and then set 3 to priority 0. A t this point, the priority order is technically 3,1,2,4, but 1 is disabled, so it's fine.  Once one is familiar with the priority changing it should never take more priority changes than you have pools in order to achieve the priority he wants.
1480854635
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854635

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854635
Reply with quote  #2

1480854635
Report to moderator
1480854635
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854635

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854635
Reply with quote  #2

1480854635
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
leveer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 02:28:21 PM
 #4162

Any chance the pool settings could be stored in a separate configuration file? It would sure make changing those in bulk/on multiple rigs a lot easier, when my pool preference order changes... distribute one pools.conf to each rig.

It also would be nice to have an ability to re-order pools from within cgminer.

I've got 3 BTC in bounty for each.
Can I have the 2nd one Smiley
With the API, you simply move any pool of choice to position 0 (highest priority).
The number of moves to get the required order is at maximum, the number of pools.
How many pools do you have anyway?
Frankly, I have no idea how to use the API. Have started cgminer with the --api-listen command, and can get 127.0.0.1:4028 to return a file called "download," but that's as much as I can get. Would prefer to use miner.php based on the description, but opening it in a browser just yields the text contents of the file...

EDIT: Notably, using Windows...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 03:09:51 PM
 #4163

Any chance the pool settings could be stored in a separate configuration file? It would sure make changing those in bulk/on multiple rigs a lot easier, when my pool preference order changes... distribute one pools.conf to each rig.

It also would be nice to have an ability to re-order pools from within cgminer.

I've got 3 BTC in bounty for each.
Can I have the 2nd one Smiley
With the API, you simply move any pool of choice to position 0 (highest priority).
The number of moves to get the required order is at maximum, the number of pools.
How many pools do you have anyway?
Frankly, I have no idea how to use the API. Have started cgminer with the --api-listen command, and can get 127.0.0.1:4028 to return a file called "download," but that's as much as I can get. Would prefer to use miner.php based on the description, but opening it in a browser just yields the text contents of the file...

EDIT: Notably, using Windows...
Well you can actually do it from within cgminer anyway:
Press "P" for Pool management
"S" for Switch pool
and then the number of the pool -> this will make it the top priority pool

So if you have pools 0, 1 & 2 but want the priority to be 2, 1, 0
You would first switch to 1 then switch to 2

As for the other half Smiley
I've just put up a pull request to ckolivas (after I asked him if he was interested in it - he said no)
to allow one "include":"filename" in the json file (which is allowed to be recursive - up to 10 times - to avoid infinite loops)
It's simple and will not be made more complex.

If you save the configuration from within cgminer, the output will contain ALL settings (except will not contain the "include" setting)
The reasoning behind this is that if you change anything within cgminer, there could be complex multiple definition issues and all settings loaded and changed would need attributes about where they came from and if they were changed - way too complex.
Also, if you set a setting within cgminer that was in an included file, the included file would always override it, your setting would never stick.

Separating just the pools and only having them in their own file would be a backward compatibility problem.

Hopefully the simple solution is enough, coz I can't see a more complex version ever being implemented (since it would require a major redesign of how configuration settings are handled within cgminer)

We'll see if he allows it in or not Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 03:10:47 PM
 #4164

Does the API actually reorder the pools or just change the priority?  I don't see any need for the pools to be reordered, I'm just curious.  In fact, if I have pools 1,2,3,4 and they are at default priority but I want to make the priority order 3,2,4 with 1 disabled, I simply disable 1 from the UI and then set 3 to priority 0. A t this point, the priority order is technically 3,1,2,4, but 1 is disabled, so it's fine.  Once one is familiar with the priority changing it should never take more priority changes than you have pools in order to achieve the priority he wants.
The API currently just changes the priority of a single chosen pool to '0' and enables it.
(Just like the switch command in the keyboard interface)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
omo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 03:23:54 PM
 #4165

I'm interested in AMDOverdriveCtrl  you talked about,
I downloaded the package and find out that it is a GUI software,
I wonder if it can be used remotely to control clock/voltage?

BTC:1Fu4TNpVPToxxhSXBNSvE9fz6X3dbYgB8q
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 03:34:34 PM
 #4166

I'm interested in AMDOverdriveCtrl  you talked about,
I downloaded the package and find out that it is a GUI software,
I wonder if it can be used remotely to control clock/voltage?

AMdOverdriveCtrl can't change anything that cgminer can't.  
cgminer already gives you remote access to clock/voltage/fan/inensity/etc.

This to answer the question while AMDOverdriveCtrl has a GUI component it can also be used from the command line (like bitcoin vs bitcoind) so you could control it remotely via scripts, web applications, etc.

However given cgminer does everything and already has an API ...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 03:58:38 PM
 #4167

I'm interested in AMDOverdriveCtrl  you talked about,
I downloaded the package and find out that it is a GUI software,
I wonder if it can be used remotely to control clock/voltage?

AMdOverdriveCtrl can't change anything that cgminer can't.  cgminer already gives you remote access to clock/voltage/fan/inensity/etc.
Cheesy Straight from my script:

14) An OC option:
 This is no longer needed since cgminer 2.* includes OC, however:

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
QuantumFoam
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 05:15:32 PM
 #4168

A number of niggling issues cause drop in hashrate over longpolls and network outages in 2.2.7. Fixed in next version.  Hold on to your hats...
Awesome. I'll wait to see how the next version reacts to the main pool going offline and back online multiple times per minute.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 05:17:37 PM
 #4169

A number of niggling issues cause drop in hashrate over longpolls and network outages in 2.2.7. Fixed in next version.  Hold on to your hats...
Awesome. I'll wait to see how the next version reacts to the main pool going offline and back online multiple times per minute.

While hopefully the next version works better,  why would you mine at a pool that goes offline once a day much less multiple times per minute?

I mean even if cgminer handles the drop perfectly you are still looking at a massive drop in aggregate output.
stevegee58
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783



View Profile
February 22, 2012, 05:19:50 PM
 #4170

If your primary is p2pool it won't go down at all anyway (unless your p2pool client crashes).

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
QuantumFoam
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 05:25:13 PM
 #4171

While hopefully the next version works better,  why would you mine at a pool that goes offline once a day much less multiple times per minute?

I mean even if cgminer handles the drop perfectly you are still looking at a massive drop in aggregate output.
It doesn't always do that, it does it when the server has issues or when the pool ops are working on it. I completely agree with the aggregate output part, that's why it would be nice to have an option that would kick over to the backup pool for a while instead of constantly trying to submit work to a failing main pool.

As for why I continue to mine at this pool, it is because it pays ~140% pps.
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 22, 2012, 05:44:29 PM
 #4172

While hopefully the next version works better,  why would you mine at a pool that goes offline once a day much less multiple times per minute?

I mean even if cgminer handles the drop perfectly you are still looking at a massive drop in aggregate output.
It doesn't always do that, it does it when the server has issues or when the pool ops are working on it. I completely agree with the aggregate output part, that's why it would be nice to have an option that would kick over to the backup pool for a while instead of constantly trying to submit work to a failing main pool.

As for why I continue to mine at this pool, it is because it pays ~140% pps.

What pool is that Shocked
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2012, 10:13:15 PM
 #4173

Anyone have cgminer compiles for windows with cpu mining enabled?... want to do some testing.
QuantumFoam
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 10:15:21 PM
 #4174

it is a fairly well known one on here but running in beta right now (hence the server problems). I am being vague due to the inflammatory nature of > 100% pps on this forum in the past and don't want to derail this thread.
leveer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 11:19:06 PM
 #4175

Any chance the pool settings could be stored in a separate configuration file? It would sure make changing those in bulk/on multiple rigs a lot easier, when my pool preference order changes... distribute one pools.conf to each rig.

It also would be nice to have an ability to re-order pools from within cgminer.

I've got 3 BTC in bounty for each.
Can I have the 2nd one Smiley
With the API, you simply move any pool of choice to position 0 (highest priority).
The number of moves to get the required order is at maximum, the number of pools.
How many pools do you have anyway?
Frankly, I have no idea how to use the API. Have started cgminer with the --api-listen command, and can get 127.0.0.1:4028 to return a file called "download," but that's as much as I can get. Would prefer to use miner.php based on the description, but opening it in a browser just yields the text contents of the file...

EDIT: Notably, using Windows...
Well you can actually do it from within cgminer anyway:
Press "P" for Pool management
"S" for Switch pool
and then the number of the pool -> this will make it the top priority pool

So if you have pools 0, 1 & 2 but want the priority to be 2, 1, 0
You would first switch to 1 then switch to 2

As for the other half Smiley
I've just put up a pull request to ckolivas (after I asked him if he was interested in it - he said no)
to allow one "include":"filename" in the json file (which is allowed to be recursive - up to 10 times - to avoid infinite loops)
It's simple and will not be made more complex.

If you save the configuration from within cgminer, the output will contain ALL settings (except will not contain the "include" setting)
The reasoning behind this is that if you change anything within cgminer, there could be complex multiple definition issues and all settings loaded and changed would need attributes about where they came from and if they were changed - way too complex.
Also, if you set a setting within cgminer that was in an included file, the included file would always override it, your setting would never stick.

Separating just the pools and only having them in their own file would be a backward compatibility problem.

Hopefully the simple solution is enough, coz I can't see a more complex version ever being implemented (since it would require a major redesign of how configuration settings are handled within cgminer)

We'll see if he allows it in or not Smiley

3 sent for 2 half solutions. Thanks!
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 22, 2012, 11:36:17 PM
 #4176

it is a fairly well known one on here but running in beta right now (hence the server problems). I am being vague due to the inflammatory nature of > 100% pps on this forum in the past and don't want to derail this thread.

Does it start with G Cheesy ?

I think some people are having loads of issues with cgminer and that pool you are talking about so I think this is pretty on topic.

Maybe there is some networking / share submitting bug in cgminer that is not in phoenix that only affects pool G ?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 12:43:23 AM
 #4177

...
Hopefully the simple solution is enough, coz I can't see a more complex version ever being implemented (since it would require a major redesign of how configuration settings are handled within cgminer)

We'll see if he allows it in or not Smiley

3 sent for 2 half solutions. Thanks!
3 BTC received - thank you very much Smiley
ckolivas also accepted the pull request so it's in the master git also.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2012, 01:12:36 AM
 #4178

Just wondering... is there an issue with the way cgminer caches work?
I don't know what goes on inside, but one plausable explanation to what I'm seeing is:
CGM gets work from all pools.
When Primary pool goes down, work starts on the secondary.
But CGM doesn't get new work, uses what is has, which is old.
Old work submitted, and promptly rejected.

Alternatively:
When Primary pool goes down, work from that pool is submitted to the secondary pool.

Any of these scenarios occur? Because my secondary and tertiary pools end up with a greater number of rejected shares, than accepted.
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 01:43:15 AM
 #4179

it is a fairly well known one on here but running in beta right now (hence the server problems). I am being vague due to the inflammatory nature of > 100% pps on this forum in the past and don't want to derail this thread.

Does it start with G Cheesy ?

I think some people are having loads of issues with cgminer and that pool you are talking about so I think this is pretty on topic.

Maybe there is some networking / share submitting bug in cgminer that is not in phoenix that only affects pool G ?
I mine on pool "G" with the aforementioned ~140% pps  Grin  Yes, it is in beta.  Yes my cgminer will fall back to my BTC Guild often.  However, it tends to fall back gracefully.  Not sure which problems others are having?  The developer of pool "G" is making changes to his servers all the time.  He announces them in the thread with pretty clear warnings that the service will be up and down....BECAUSE IT IS BETA!!!111one
QuantumFoam
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 02:00:39 AM
 #4180

The original point was cgminer choking when the pool goes up and down frequently/multiple times per minute. I understand that the pool is in beta, I just want to improve the problem of cgminer getting hung up when the server runs into problems.
Pages: « 1 ... 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 [209] 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!