Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:49:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 [221] 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827138 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 05:34:59 PM
 #4401

Cool. Let me know if you need any help making it build/work on Windows.

Thanks.

Anyone can now build Cgminer on Windows.

http://pastebin.com/3pzivj32

I spent a lot of time documenting and testing the documentation step by step on both Windows 7 and Windows XP. Shouldn't take more than 30 min to set up the build environment.


Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481402943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402943
Reply with quote  #2

1481402943
Report to moderator
1481402943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402943
Reply with quote  #2

1481402943
Report to moderator
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 06:25:01 PM
 #4402

Is there a way to set the OpenCL platform per card? Cgminer keeps crashing with a mixed 5xxx and 6xxx rig.

I'm not sure as to why it is crashing on you. I have a rig that has 3 5870's and 1 6970, and it runs just fine. Cgminer also automatically generates .bin's for each type of card (Caymen and Cypress).

Anyway, right out of the freaking manual (README)...

Q: I have multiple SDKs installed, can I choose which one it uses?
A: Run cgminer with the -n option and it will list all the platforms currently
installed. Then you can tell cgminer which platform to use with --gpu-platform.

--kernel|-k <arg>   Override kernel to use (diablo, poclbm, phatk or diakgcn) - one value or comma separated


I'm trying to use the 2.1 SDK for the 5xxx and 2.6 for the 6xxx. Everything works fine using the 2.6 sdk, but it obviously isnt efficient for the 5xxx series.
Phoenix 2.0 lets me use the setup I want, but it lacks lots of features.

I also tried making cgminer use bins compiled for 2.1 while using the 2.6 sdk but it just recompiles them again. The ideal would be making --gpu-platform a per device option, something like --gpu-platform 0,0,1

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 08:06:02 PM
 #4403

I'm trying to compile cgminer for windows with CPU mining enabled, but I can't get it to link when I specify -msse2.
It seems that sha256_xmm.o isn't being included.
I'm getting the following error:

Code:
  CCLD   cgminer.exe
cgminer-sha256_sse2_i386.o:sha256_sse2_i386.c:(.text+0x155): undefined reference
 to `@CalcSha256_x86@12'
cgminer-sha256_sse2_i386.o:sha256_sse2_i386.c:(.text+0x16a): undefined reference
 to `@CalcSha256_x86@12'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

without -msse2 it compiles fine, but of course, without the SSE2 optimised code.

Any help to kick this into action???
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 08:20:31 PM
 #4404

Is there a way to set the OpenCL platform per card? Cgminer keeps crashing with a mixed 5xxx and 6xxx rig.

I'm not sure as to why it is crashing on you. I have a rig that has 3 5870's and 1 6970, and it runs just fine. Cgminer also automatically generates .bin's for each type of card (Caymen and Cypress).

Anyway, right out of the freaking manual (README)...

Q: I have multiple SDKs installed, can I choose which one it uses?
A: Run cgminer with the -n option and it will list all the platforms currently
installed. Then you can tell cgminer which platform to use with --gpu-platform.

--kernel|-k <arg>   Override kernel to use (diablo, poclbm, phatk or diakgcn) - one value or comma separated


I'm trying to use the 2.1 SDK for the 5xxx and 2.6 for the 6xxx. Everything works fine using the 2.6 sdk, but it obviously isnt efficient for the 5xxx series.
Phoenix 2.0 lets me use the setup I want, but it lacks lots of features.

I also tried making cgminer use bins compiled for 2.1 while using the 2.6 sdk but it just recompiles them again. The ideal would be making --gpu-platform a per device option, something like --gpu-platform 0,0,1

I am using 2.5 SDK for 3 5870's and 1 6970 (960/170 for all cards). I am getting 428 Mh/s on the 6970, and 442 Mh/s on the 5870's. Now if your 5xxx cards are not cypress then I guess you would want a lower version of the SDK. I let Cgminer create it's own .bin's (phatk).

You could use the -d option to force Cgminer to create a .bin for each type of card and then maybe use the -k option using comma's to specify more than one. I have never had to do any of that funky stuff so I really cannot help you with mixed SDK's.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 08:41:39 PM
 #4405

I'm trying to compile cgminer for windows with CPU mining enabled, but I can't get it to link when I specify -msse2.
It seems that sha256_xmm.o isn't being included.
I'm getting the following error:

Code:
  CCLD   cgminer.exe
cgminer-sha256_sse2_i386.o:sha256_sse2_i386.c:(.text+0x155): undefined reference
 to `@CalcSha256_x86@12'
cgminer-sha256_sse2_i386.o:sha256_sse2_i386.c:(.text+0x16a): undefined reference
 to `@CalcSha256_x86@12'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

without -msse2 it compiles fine, but of course, without the SSE2 optimised code.

Any help to kick this into action???
Cheesy
You have to edit the code to fix that Smiley
CPU mining isn't supported.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 10:27:45 PM
 #4406

The code looks OK, and digging into the Makefile, it's OK too. I can't work out why it doesn't work :/
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 11:17:33 PM
 #4407

The code looks OK, and digging into the Makefile, it's OK too. I can't work out why it doesn't work :/
If you remove the --enable-cpumining you added it will work fine in windows.
Yes even without the ".exe" showing in that line I'd know that is a windows CPU mining link error.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 11:28:18 PM
 #4408

I know it'll compile fine without CPU mining, but I want to do some testing with it enabled... I want to see how Anubis handles it. If it's more trouble to get it working than it's worth, I'll forget about supporting CPUs in Anubis.
Vbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 11:47:18 PM
 #4409

Anyone can now build Cgminer on Windows.

http://pastebin.com/3pzivj32

I spent a lot of time documenting and testing the documentation step by step on both Windows 7 and Windows XP. Shouldn't take more than 30 min to set up the build environment.

Thanks for taking the time to write this! Wink
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 11:59:14 PM
 #4410

I'm trying to use the 2.1 SDK for the 5xxx and 2.6 for the 6xxx. Everything works fine using the 2.6 sdk, but it obviously isnt efficient for the 5xxx series.
Phoenix 2.0 lets me use the setup I want, but it lacks lots of features.

I also tried making cgminer use bins compiled for 2.1 while using the 2.6 sdk but it just recompiles them again. The ideal would be making --gpu-platform a per device option, something like --gpu-platform 0,0,1

You can't. 

Why do you want to use 2.6?  It is junk for 5x and 6x series.  Only reason to use 2.6 is if you have 7x series card.

2.1 is slightly better w/ 5x series but only with low memclock (and it is small).  Both 5x & 6x work well with 2.4 & 2.5 so that is the simplest answer.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 12:14:10 AM
 #4411

OK, I pretty sure this is ancient history, but here goes anyway.

I've been using Windoze XP with Catalyst 11.6 with a 5830 and 5770 and had low CPU utilization with that combination.  I went back to my Win7 install where I was using 10.9 to get low CPU utilization prior to CGMiner 2.0.  I updated this Win7 to Catalyst 11.6 and now have 100% CPU utilization.  I had thought Catalyst 11.6 had low CPU utilization across all platforms?

Any thoughts?  Or is this just the way it works with Windoze 7?
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 12:46:10 AM
 #4412

OK, I pretty sure this is ancient history, but here goes anyway.

I've been using Windoze XP with Catalyst 11.6 with a 5830 and 5770 and had low CPU utilization with that combination.  I went back to my Win7 install where I was using 10.9 to get low CPU utilization prior to CGMiner 2.0.  I updated this Win7 to Catalyst 11.6 and now have 100% CPU utilization.  I had thought Catalyst 11.6 had low CPU utilization across all platforms?

Any thoughts?  Or is this just the way it works with Windoze 7?

IIRC was a lot later than 11.6 before 100% bug was solved in Windows.  Why not use 11.11?
Vbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 01:16:55 AM
 #4413

OK, I pretty sure this is ancient history, but here goes anyway.

I've been using Windoze XP with Catalyst 11.6 with a 5830 and 5770 and had low CPU utilization with that combination.  I went back to my Win7 install where I was using 10.9 to get low CPU utilization prior to CGMiner 2.0.  I updated this Win7 to Catalyst 11.6 and now have 100% CPU utilization.  I had thought Catalyst 11.6 had low CPU utilization across all platforms?

Any thoughts?  Or is this just the way it works with Windoze 7?

IIRC was a lot later than 11.6 before 100% bug was solved in Windows.  Why not use 11.11?

Why not use 12.1? As long as you don't install the SDK runtime that comes with it, it's working 100% with my 5850's.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 03:29:09 AM
 #4414

OK, I pretty sure this is ancient history, but here goes anyway.

I've been using Windoze XP with Catalyst 11.6 with a 5830 and 5770 and had low CPU utilization with that combination.  I went back to my Win7 install where I was using 10.9 to get low CPU utilization prior to CGMiner 2.0.  I updated this Win7 to Catalyst 11.6 and now have 100% CPU utilization.  I had thought Catalyst 11.6 had low CPU utilization across all platforms?

Any thoughts?  Or is this just the way it works with Windoze 7?

IIRC was a lot later than 11.6 before 100% bug was solved in Windows.
Catalyst 11.6 was before the bug was introduced, which is why I was using it.

Why not use 11.11?

I don't know why not, was the 100% CPU utilization for multiple GPU's fixed in that version?  When I was messing with this installation  before I had a terrible time get later Catalyst versions installed and functioning at all which was why I was using 10.7 and 10.9 at that time to begin with.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 03:31:33 AM
 #4415

I don't remember which version it was fixed in.

>11.6 and <=11.11  Smiley

I know it is fixed in 11.11.  As pointed out above you can even use 12.1 just make sure to install Runtime/SDK FIRST and then do CUSTOM SETUP and the uncheck OpenCL Runtime.  Once installed 2.6 is a pain to get rid of.  That is why I suggested 11.11.  It is a version I know has no 100% CPU bug and it doesn't have 2.6 so no chance of accidentally installing it.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 03:33:43 AM
 #4416

OK, I pretty sure this is ancient history, but here goes anyway.

I've been using Windoze XP with Catalyst 11.6 with a 5830 and 5770 and had low CPU utilization with that combination.  I went back to my Win7 install where I was using 10.9 to get low CPU utilization prior to CGMiner 2.0.  I updated this Win7 to Catalyst 11.6 and now have 100% CPU utilization.  I had thought Catalyst 11.6 had low CPU utilization across all platforms?

Any thoughts?  Or is this just the way it works with Windoze 7?

IIRC was a lot later than 11.6 before 100% bug was solved in Windows.  Why not use 11.11?

Why not use 12.1? As long as you don't install the SDK runtime that comes with it, it's working 100% with my 5850's.

What SDK are you using with it?

I guess I'll have to give that a try.  I'm still perplexed why the 11.6, the last know good version, doesn't work on Win7, or is just my Win7 installation?
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 03:36:02 AM
 #4417

I don't remember which version it was fixed in.

>11.6 and <=11.11  Smiley

I know it is fixed in 11.11.  As pointed out above you can even use 12.1 just make sure to install Runtime/SDK FIRST and then do CUSTOM SETUP and the uncheck OpenCL Runtime.  Once installed 2.6 is a pain to get rid of.  That is why I suggested 11.11.  It is a version I know has no 100% CPU bug and it doesn't have 2.6 so no chance of accidentally installing it.

Sounds like my best shot.  I'll give a whirl over the weekend.
Thanks again,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 03:38:26 AM
 #4418


What SDK are you using with it?


Generally speaking.

2.1 is best for 5000 series cards.
2.4 or 2.5 is best for 6000 series cards.
2.6 is best for 7000 series cards.

That being said the difference between 2.1 and 2.4/2.5 is minimal.

2.6 is a huge performance hit w/ low memclocks I mean 20%+ so avoid it like the plague unless you have a 7000 series card.

Really no reason to use 2.2 or 2.3 for anything.
Vbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 11:18:31 AM
 #4419

OK, I pretty sure this is ancient history, but here goes anyway.

I've been using Windoze XP with Catalyst 11.6 with a 5830 and 5770 and had low CPU utilization with that combination.  I went back to my Win7 install where I was using 10.9 to get low CPU utilization prior to CGMiner 2.0.  I updated this Win7 to Catalyst 11.6 and now have 100% CPU utilization.  I had thought Catalyst 11.6 had low CPU utilization across all platforms?

Any thoughts?  Or is this just the way it works with Windoze 7?

IIRC was a lot later than 11.6 before 100% bug was solved in Windows.  Why not use 11.11?

Why not use 12.1? As long as you don't install the SDK runtime that comes with it, it's working 100% with my 5850's.

What SDK are you using with it?

I guess I'll have to give that a try.  I'm still perplexed why the 11.6, the last know good version, doesn't work on Win7, or is just my Win7 installation?
Thanks,
Sam

I'm using the SDK runtime 2.5.793.1 that comes with the 11.11 drivers (it's the newest version of 2.5 sdk available), since I'm using the phatk kernel. If I wanted to use the poclbm kernel, I would use SDK 2.1.

I did a quick test sometime ago, and the phatk GPU ISA code generated with SDK 2.4.650.9 was the same as with SDK 2.5.793.1, so they "should" have identical performance, at least for the phatk kernel.


What SDK are you using with it?


Generally speaking.

2.1 is best for 5000 series cards.
2.4 or 2.5 is best for 6000 series cards.
2.6 is best for 7000 series cards.

That being said the difference between 2.1 and 2.4/2.5 is minimal.

2.6 is a huge performance hit w/ low memclocks I mean 20%+ so avoid it like the plague unless you have a 7000 series card.

Really no reason to use 2.2 or 2.3 for anything.

Damn you! Cool You're increasing my itch of comparing the low-level code of poclbm + 2.1 vs phatk + 2.5... Grin

On a side note, on series 5xxx and 6xxx, using poclbm with any sdk above 2.1 is a performance loss, as is using phatk with anything below 2.4.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2012, 03:36:58 PM
 #4420

OK, I pretty sure this is ancient history, but here goes anyway.

I've been using Windoze XP with Catalyst 11.6 with a 5830 and 5770 and had low CPU utilization with that combination.  I went back to my Win7 install where I was using 10.9 to get low CPU utilization prior to CGMiner 2.0.  I updated this Win7 to Catalyst 11.6 and now have 100% CPU utilization.  I had thought Catalyst 11.6 had low CPU utilization across all platforms?

Any thoughts?  Or is this just the way it works with Windoze 7?

IIRC was a lot later than 11.6 before 100% bug was solved in Windows.  Why not use 11.11?

Why not use 12.1? As long as you don't install the SDK runtime that comes with it, it's working 100% with my 5850's.

What SDK are you using with it?

I guess I'll have to give that a try.  I'm still perplexed why the 11.6, the last know good version, doesn't work on Win7, or is just my Win7 installation?
Thanks,
Sam

sam: install 11.9 if your using win7 with 5xxx series cards - it does not get better than that and believe me I have done the testing

Pages: « 1 ... 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 [221] 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!